DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in reply to the response, filed 19 August 2025, which was in response to the non-final action dated 22 May 2025.
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 2 and 4-9 are pending. Claims 1, 7 and 8 have been amended, claim 3 has been canceled and claim 9 is new.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. rejection of claims 1-9 (pgs. 3-20, Action), Applicant contends with regard to the cited disclosure in Satake (2020/0136393) at [0033], that “controlling the voltage of the DC/DC converter 121 to be constant does not necessarily mean that the intermediate DC/DC converter 111 and the DC-DC converts 121 is made constant” (pgs. 3-4, Reply). The examiner finds this contention unpersuasive for the following reasons.
First, while the applicant contends that Satake at [0033] “does not necessarily mean that the intermediate DC/DC converter 111 and the DC-DC converts 121 is made constant”, they have not addressed [0027], which under the broadest reasonable interpretation discloses the claim limitation “control an output power of either the second DC-DC converter or the third DC-DC converter so that an intermediate voltage on the output side of the first DC-DC converter and on the input side of the second DC-DC converter and on the input side of the third DC-DC converter becomes a predetermined value.” Paragraph [0027] of Satake discloses that the control device 114 is configured to operate the DC/DC converter 111 <interpreted as applicant’s DC-DC-converter 22, applicant Fig. 1> to provide a constant voltage when the output voltage measured by the measuring circuit 113 <output from the first DC-DC converter, input to the second DC-DC converter> has reached to a predetermined upper limit voltage V1, which under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the aforementioned limitation was interpreted as the “intermediate voltage in the output side of the first DC-DC converter.
Secondly, Satake discloses a similar structure (i.e. the arrangement of the three DC-DC converters, shown in Fig. 1) as applicant. And further, Satake at [0008] also discloses that a plurality of control devices are configured to control each of the plurality of converters independently.
Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1, 2 and 4-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained as discussed and further clarified below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication Number 2018/0105042 to Kuribara in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0136393 to Satake and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017/0366023 to Tanaka et al. (hereafter Tanaka).
As per claim 1, Kuribara discloses [a] power generation control device (see at least Kuribara, Abstract) comprising:
a first DC-DC converter including an input side to which a solar panel mounted on a vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, Fig. 1, a schematic configuration of an electric vehicle showing Solar DC-DC 63, with input side connected to solar panel; [0027]; [0028] ; [0030] ; [0035]);
a second DC-DC converter including an input side to which an output side of the first DC-DC converter is connected and an output side to which a drive battery for driving the vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, Fig. 1, showing boost DC-DC 64, with input side connected to the output side of solar DC-DC 62, and output side connected to main battery 36; [0029] ; [0030]; [0032] ; [0035]);
a third DC-DC converter including an input side to which the output side of the first DC-DC converter is connected and an output side to which an auxiliary battery for supplying power to accessories of the vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, [0030] ; [0035]),
a memory (see at least Kuribara, [0026] disclosing that main ECU 50 includes the main microcomputer 51 that is configured to include, for example, a CPU 52, a ROM 53, a RAM 54, input-output ports and a communication port; [0030] disclosing that solar ECU 70 includes the solar microcomputer 71 that is configured to include, for example, a CPU 72, a ROM 73, RAM 74, input-output ports and a communication port); and
a processor coupled to the memory (see at least Kuribara, [0023] microprocessor 51 controls DC/DC converter; [0029] disclosing that boost DC/DC converter 64 is controlled by the solar microcomputer 71). But, Kuribara does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Satake and Tanaka:
the processor being configured to control an output power of either the second DC-DC converter or the third DC-DC converter so that an intermediate voltage on the output side of the first DC-DC converter and on the input side of the second DC-DC converter and on the input side of the third DC-DC converter becomes a predetermined value (see at least Satake, see Fig. 1, showing solar power generating device 11, DC-DC converter 111 <interpreted as the first DC-DC converter>, charger 12, top DC-DC converter 121 (output connected to the high voltage battery 4) <interpreted as the second DC-DC converter>, and charger 12, bottom DC-DC converter 121 ( output connected to the aux battery 3) <interpreted as the third DC-DC converter>; [0008] disclosing that a plurality of control devices configured to control each of the plurality of converters independently; [0022]; [0026] disclosing that The output characteristics of the DC/DC converter 111 arranged to be controlled by this control device 114 are shown in Fig. 4; [0027] disclosing that the control device 114 is configured to operate the DC/DC converter 111 to provide a constant voltage when the output voltage measured by the measuring circuit 113 has reached to a predetermined upper limit voltage V1. And further that the output current of the DC/DC converter 111 is increased as the output voltage is decreased from the upper voltage V1 by the control of the control device 114; [0032] disclosing that, during the charging, the control device 124 controls the DC/DC converter 121 such that the input voltage corresponds to the lower limit voltage V2; [0033] disclosing that, once the batteries 3, 4 are charged and output voltages (i.e., battery voltages) are near the fully charged state, the control device 124 controls the DC/DC converter 121 so as to make the output voltage constant), and ... (1) ...
control the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value (see at least Satake, [0008]; [0027]; [0033] ), and
(1) when the vehicle is in motion, control the output power of the third DC-DC converter ... (see at least Tanaka, [0033] disclosing that (with regard to Fig. 1) control, based on the progress of degradation of the first storage battery 8a, the second storage battery 8b, and the third storage battery 8c detected by a degradation detection device 12, the control device 10 narrows the usable temperature ranges of the first storage battery 8a, the second storage battery 8b, and the third storage battery 8c, updates at least one of the maximum charge and discharge current and the usable voltage range at predetermined intervals, and controls the first storage battery DC-DC converter 9a, the second storage battery DC-DC converter 9b, and the third storage battery DC-DC converter 9c so that limitations of the maximum charge and discharge currents, the usable voltage ranges, and the usable temperature ranges of the first storage battery 8a, the second storage battery 8b, and the third storage battery 8c are not exceeded with reference to the detection results by a current detection device 13 for detecting the charge and discharge currents of the first storage battery 8a, the second storage battery 8b, and the third storage battery 8c, a voltage detection device 14 for detecting the voltages of the first storage battery 8a, the second storage battery 8b, and the third storage battery 8c, and a temperature detection device 15 for detecting the temperatures of the first storage battery 8a, the second storage battery 8b, and the third storage battery 8c; [0148] disclosing that, during a power interruption, the control device 10 obtains the measurement value from the voltmeter (not illustrated) for measuring the bus line voltage and controls the output voltage of the storage battery DC-DC converter 9 so that the measurement value becomes the preset first control target voltage. This means that the control device 10 performs control so that the output voltages of the first storage battery DC-DC converter 9a, the second storage battery DC-DC converter 9b, and the third storage battery DC-DC converter 9c become the first control target voltage <interpreted as a predetermined voltage> and the control device 10 drives and controls the first storage battery DC-DC converter 9a, the second storage battery DC-DC converter 9b, and the third storage battery DC-DC converter 9c via voltage control; [0157] disclosing that the AC side of the DC-AC converter 7 may be connected to the motor so that the AC side of the DC-AC converter 7 is used as the power supply system of an electric vehicle. At this time, the function of the HEMS 11 may be covered by the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) of the electric vehicle or may be covered by the control device 10 <interpreted as the vehicle in motion>).
Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka are analogous art to claim 1 because they are in the same field of controlling power generation. Kuribara relates to a vehicle including a device and method for suppressing unrequired voltage drops of electrical storage devices (see at least Kuribara, [0005]). Satake relates to a power controller that controls a plurality of DC/DC concreters for each group of solar panels and converts an output power of the solar panels (see Satake, abstract, [0001]). Tanaka relates to a power conversion system to which a plurality of storage batteries is connected in parallel and which supplies the power of the storage batteries to a load (see at least Tanaka, [0001]).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, to provide the benefit of controlling an output power of either the second DC-DC converter or the third DC-DC converter so that an intermediate voltage on the output side of the first DC-DC converter and on the input side of the second DC-DC converter and on the input side of the third DC-DC converter becomes a predetermined value, and when the vehicle is in motion, controlling the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value, as disclosed in Satake and Tanaka, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of controlling output power voltages for each power converter to maintain the maximum power (see at least Satake, [0003]).
As per claim 3, the combination of Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Kuribara and Satake further discloses the following limitation:
wherein, when the vehicle is in motion, the processor is configured to control the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value (see at least Kuribara, [0021]The IGCT relay 42 of this configuration operates as described below. When the main microcomputer 51 is inactive (i.e., when the stop instruction signal input from the main microcomputer 51 into the signal line 47c is an OFF signal), changing the status of either the ignition signal input from the ignition switch 55 into the signal line 47a or the start instruction signal for charging input from the solar microcomputer 71 into the signal line 47b to an ON signal causes electric current to flow through the coil 42a ; [0035] disclosing that The abnormality occurring in the solar power generation system 60 may be, for example, any of abnormalities of the solar battery 61, the solar panel 62, the solar DC/DC converter 63, the boost DC/DC converter 64, the step-down DC/DC converter 65 and the various sensors (the voltage sensor 61a, the current sensor 61b and the like). The state of charge SOCmb of the main battery 36 input here is the state of charge SOCmb computed based on the integrated value of the electric current Imb of the main battery 36 input from the current sensor 36b; [0047]; see at least Satake, [0032]; [0033] ).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka, to provide the benefit of, when the vehicle is in motion, controlling the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the voltage becomes a predetermined value, as further disclosed in Kuribara and Satake, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of controlling output power voltages for each power converter to maintain the maximum power (see at least Satake, [0003]).
As per claim 4, the combination of Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Kuribara and Satake further discloses the following limitation:
wherein, in a case in which the vehicle is stopped and charging based on power from the solar panel is in preparation, the processor is configured to stop controlling the second DC-DC converter and control the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value (see at least Kuribara, [0022] disclosing that when the main microcomputer 51 is active … changing the statuses of both the ignition signal input from the ignition switch 56 into the signal line 47a and the start instruction signal for charging input from the solar microcomputer 71 into the signal line 47b to OFF signals and changing the status of the stop instruction signal input from the main microcomputer 51 into the signal line 47c to an ON signal cause no current to flow through the coil 42a; [0025]; [0029] disclosing that the step-down DC/DC converter 65 is connected with the third power lines 69 and with the second power lines 39b. This step-down DC/DC converter 65 is controlled by the solar microcomputer 71, such as to step down the electric power of the third power lines 69 and supply the stepped-down electric power to the second power lines 39b; see at least Satake, [0032]; [0033]).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka, to provide the benefit of, when vehicle is stopped and charging based on power from the solar panel is in preparation, stop controlling the second DC-DC converter and control the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the voltage becomes a predetermined value, as further disclosed in Kuribara and Satake, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of controlling output power voltages for each power converter to maintain the maximum power (see at least Satake, [0003]).
As per claim 5, the combination of Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Kuribara and Satake further discloses the following limitation:
wherein, when the drive battery is being charged based on power from the solar panel (see at least Kuribara, [0031]; [0032]; [0036] disclosing that When it is determined that the main battery 36 is not fully charged, the CPU 52 checks the settings of the abnormality flags F1 and F2 (steps S120 and S130). When both the settings of the abnormality flags F1 and F2 are value 0, the CPU 52 determines that both the drive system 21 and the solar power generation system 60 are normal. The CPU 52 accordingly sets a permission flag Fok to value 1 and sends the setting of the permission flag Fok to the solar microcomputer 71 (step S140), the processor is configured to control the output power of the second DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value (see at least Kuribara, [0025]; [0032] disclosing that when the state of charge SOCsb of the solar battery 61 becomes equal to or lower than a reference value SOCsb2 that is lower than the reference value SOCsb1 described above or when information indicating that the main battery 36 is fully charged (i.e., the state of charge SOCmb of the main battery 36 reaches a full state of charge SOCmbf1) is received from the main microcomputer 51, the solar microcomputer 71 stops operation of the boost DC/DC converter 64 to terminate the solar charging; [0036] disclosing that When a request for solar charging is provided at the system-off time, the solar microcomputer 71 changes the status of the start instruction signal for charging in the signal line 47b to the ON signal. This turns on the IGCT relay 42 and starts the main microcomputer 51 to be active, while notifying the solar microcomputer 71 that the main microcomputer 51 is active. The charging relay CHR is subsequently turned on by the main microcomputer 51, and the boost DC/DC converter 64 is controlled by the solar microcomputer 71 to perform solar charging; see at least Satake, Fig. 1, showing solar power generating device 11, DC-DC converter 111 <interpreted as the first DC-DC converter>, charger 12, top DC-DC converter 121 (output connected to the high voltage battery 4) <interpreted as the second DC-DC converter>, and charger 12, bottom DC-DC converter 121 ( output connected to the aux battery 3) <interpreted as the third DC-DC converter>; [0022]; [0026] [0032]; [0033]).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka, to provide the benefit of having the drive battery charged based on power from the solar panel, as further disclosed in Kuribara and Satake, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of detecting the output voltage for each converter (see Kagawa, pg. 2, para. 4) and controlling output power voltages for each power converter to maintain the maximum power (see at least Satake, [0003]).
As per claim 6, the combination of Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Kuribara further discloses the following limitations:
the solar panel that is installed on a vehicle body exterior (see at least Kuribara, [0028] disclosing that the solar panel 62 is placed on, for example, a roof of the vehicle and is configured to generate electric power from sunlight);
the drive battery that is provided in the vehicle body (see at least Kuribara, [0016] disclosing that the electric vehicle 20 of the embodiment includes a drive system 21; [0017] disclosing that he drive system 21 includes a motor 32, an inverter 34, a main battery 36 as a first electrical storage device, an auxiliary machine battery 40 as a second electrical storage device, an IGCT relay 42, a main DC/DC converter 44, a system main relay SMR and a charging relay CHR); and
the auxiliary battery that is provided in the vehicle body (see at least Kuribara, [0017] disclosing the auxiliary machine battery 40).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka, to provide the benefit of, having the solar panel installed on a vehicle body exterior, and having the auxiliary battery provided in the vehicle body, as further disclosed in Kuribara, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of controlling output power voltages for each power converter to maintain the maximum power (see at least Satake, [0003]).
As per claim 7, similar to claim 1, Kuribara discloses [a] power generation control method (see at least Kuribara, Abstract) of controlling
a first DC-DC converter including an input side to which a solar panel mounted on a vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, Fig. 1, a schematic configuration of an electric vehicle showing Solar DC-DC 63, with input side connected to solar panel; [0027]; [0028]; [0030]; [0035]);
a second DC-DC converter including an input side to which an output side of the first DC-DC converter is connected and an output side to which a drive battery for driving the vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, Fig. 1, showing boost DC-DC 64, with input side connected to the output side of solar DC-DC 62, and output side connected to main battery 36; [0029]; [0030]; [0032] ; [0035]);
a third DC-DC converter including an input side to which the output side of the first DC-DC converter is connected and an output side to which an auxiliary battery for supplying power to accessories of the vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, [0030] ; [0035]) … . But, Kuribara does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Satake and Tanaka:
the power generation control process comprising controlling an output power of either the second DC-DC converter or the third DC-DC converter so that an intermediate voltage on the output side of the first DC-DC converter and on the input side of the second DC-DC converter and on the input side of the third DC-DC converter becomes a predetermined value (see at least Satake, see Fig. 1, showing solar power generating device 11, DC-DC converter 111 <interpreted as the first DC-DC converter>, charger 12, top DC-DC converter 121 (output connected to the high voltage battery 4) <interpreted as the second DC-DC converter>, and charger 12, bottom DC-DC converter 121 ( output connected to the aux battery 3) <interpreted as the third DC-DC converter>; [0008] ; [0022]; [0026]; [0027]; [0032]; [0033]), and ... (1) ...
control the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value (see at least Satake, [0008]; [0027]; [0033])
(1) when the vehicle is in motion, control the output power of the third DC-DC converter ... (see at least Tanaka, [0033]; [0148]; [0157] disclosing that the AC side of the DC-AC converter 7 may be connected to the motor so that the AC side of the DC-AC converter 7 is used as the power supply system of an electric vehicle. At this time, the function of the HEMS 11 may be covered by the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) of the electric vehicle or may be covered by the control device 10 <interpreted as the vehicle in motion>).
Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka are analogous art to claim 7 because they are in the same field of controlling power generation. Kuribara relates to a vehicle including a device and method for suppressing unrequired voltage drops of electrical storage devices (see at least Kuribara, [0005]). Satake relates to a power controller that controls a plurality of DC/DC concreters for each group of solar panels and converts an output power of the solar panels (see Satake, abstract, [0001]). Tanaka relates to a power conversion system to which a plurality of storage batteries is connected in parallel and which supplies the power of the storage batteries to a load (see at least Tanaka, [0001]).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication Number 2011/0109346 to Moussaoui et al. (hereafter Moussaoui).
As per claim 2, the combination Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. But, neither Kuribara, Satake nor Tanaka explicitly teach the following limitation taught in Moussaoui:
a capacitor including one terminal connected to the output side of the first DC-DC converter and another terminal connected to a ground of the vehicle (see at least Moussaoui, [0031] disclosing that the capacitor discharging circuit 540 includes the current source 542, the capacitor C2 and the comparator 544 for generating a ramp waveform. The current source 542 can charge the capacitor C2 with a constant current … . The capacitor C2 is coupled to the current source 542 and the ground; Fig. 6, showing capacitor C2 coupled to the source and the ground).
Kuribara, Satake, Tanaka and Moussaoui are analogous art to claim 2 because they are in the same field of controlling power generation. Kuribara relates to a vehicle including a device and method for suppressing unrequired voltage drops of electrical storage devices (see at least Kuribara, [0005]). Satake relates to a power controller that controls a plurality of DC/DC concreters for each group of solar panels and converts an output power of the solar panels (see Satake, abstract, [0001]). Tanaka relates to a power conversion system to which a plurality of storage batteries is connected in parallel and which supplies the power of the storage batteries to a load (see at least Tanaka, [0001]). Moussaoui relates to a method of monitoring voltage and current generated by a solar panel (see at least Moussaoui, Abstract).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka, to provide the benefit of including a capacitor with one terminal connected to the output side of the first DC-DC converter and the other connected to ground, as disclosed in Moussaoui, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of accurately tracking the maximum power point of a solar array (see at least Moussaoui, [0012]).
As per claim 9, the combination of Kuribara, Satake, Tanaka and Moussaoui discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, as shown above. Stake further discloses the following limitation:
wherein the capacitor inhibits fluctuations in the intermediate voltage caused by fluctuations in power generated by the solar panel (see at least Satake, 0024] disclosing that the DC/DC converter 111 is a well-known DC/DC converter having a smoothing capacitor and/or a switch element (not shown), and is configured to convert an output power (direct-current power) of the solar panel 2 and output it.).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, Satake and Tanaka, to provide the benefit of having the capacitor inhibit fluctuations in the intermediate voltage caused by fluctuations in power generated by the solar panel, as further disclosed in Satake, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of accurately tracking the maximum power point of a solar array (see at least Moussaoui, [0012]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuribara in view of Satake, Tanaka and U.S. Patent Publication Number 2020/0338990 to Jang et al. (hereafter Jang).
As per claim 8, similar to claims 1 and 7, Kuribara discloses … (1) … execut[ing] a power generation control process in a vehicle (see at least Kuribara, Abstract), the vehicle including
a first DC-DC converter including an input side to which a solar panel mounted on a vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, Fig. 1, a schematic configuration of an electric vehicle showing Solar DC-DC 63, with input side connected to solar panel; [0027]; [0028] ; [0030] ; [0035]);
a second DC-DC converter including an input side to which an output side of the first DC-DC converter is connected and an output side to which a drive battery for driving the vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, Fig. 1, showing boost DC-DC 64, with input side connected to the output side of solar DC-DC 62, and output side connected to main battery 36; [0029] ; [0030]; [0032] ; [0035]);
a third DC-DC converter including an input side to which the output side of the first DC-DC converter is connected and an output side to which an auxiliary battery for supplying power to accessories of the vehicle is connected (see at least Kuribara, [0030] ; [0035]) … (2) ... , ... (3) ... , ... (4) ... . But Kuribara does not explicitly teach the following limitations taught in Satake, Tanaka and Jang:
(1) [a] non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a power generation control process in a vehicle (see at least Jang, [0033] disclosing a controller 100 implemented by a non-transitory memory storing, e.g., a program(s), software instructions reproducing algorithms, etc., which, when executed, controls operations of various components of the vehicle, and a processor configured to execute the program(s ), software instructions reproducing algorithms) … ;
(2) the power generation control process comprising: controlling an output power of either the second DC-DC converter or the third DC-DC converter so that an intermediate voltage on the output side of the first DC-DC converter and on the input side of the second DC-DC converter and on the input side of the third DC-DC converter becomes a predetermined value (see at least Kagawa, Abstract; see at least Satake, Fig. 1, showing solar power generating device 11, DC-DC converter 111 <interpreted as the first DC-DC converter>, charger 12, top DC-DC converter 121 (output connected to the high voltage battery 4) <interpreted as the second DC-DC converter>, and charger 12, bottom DC-DC converter 121 ( output connected to the aux battery 3) <interpreted as the third DC-DC converter>; [0008] ; [0022]; [0026] [0032]; [0033]),
(3) ... control the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value (see at least Satake, [0008]; [0027]; [0033]); and
(4) when the vehicle is in motion, control the output power of the third DC-DC converter ... (see at least Tanaka, [0033]; [0148]; [0157] disclosing that the AC side of the DC-AC converter 7 may be connected to the motor so that the AC side of the DC-AC converter 7 is used as the power supply system of an electric vehicle. At this time, the function of the HEMS 11 may be covered by the ECU (Electronic Control Unit) of the electric vehicle or may be covered by the control device 10 <interpreted as the vehicle in motion>).
Kuribara, Satake, Tanaka and Jang are analogous art to claim 8 because they are in the same field of controlling power generation. Kuribara relates to a vehicle including a device and method for suppressing unrequired voltage drops of electrical storage devices (see at least Kuribara, [0005]). Satake relates to a power controller that controls a plurality of DC/DC concreters for each group of solar panels and converts an output power of the solar panels (see Satake, abstract, [0001]). Tanaka relates to a power conversion system to which a plurality of storage batteries is connected in parallel and which supplies the power of the storage batteries to a load (see at least Tanaka, [0001]). Jang relates to a system and method for controlling a vehicle including a solar cell (see at least Jang, [0002]).
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious for someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control device, as disclosed in Kuribara, to provide the benefit of (1) having a non-transitory storage medium storing a program causing a computer to execute a power generation control process in a vehicle, (2) controlling an output power of either the second DC-DC converter or the third DC-DC converter so that an intermediate voltage on the output side of the first DC-DC converter and on the input side of the second DC-DC converter and on the input side of the third DC-DC converter becomes a predetermined value, and (3) when the vehicle is in motion, controlling the output power of the third DC-DC converter so that the intermediate voltage becomes the predetermined value, as disclosed in Satake, Tanaka and Jang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so would provide the benefit of controlling output power voltages for each power converter to maintain the maximum power (see at least Satake, [0003]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK M BRADY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666