DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 7/21/2025.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that sharp cutting edge 142 of Boudreaux does not disclose the claim language “wherein a slope of the incline portion reduces the sectional area in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end”. Regarding claim 22, applicant argues that sharp cutting edge 142 of Boudreaux does not disclose the claim language “wherein the incline portion is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the tip”. However, the “incline portion” of claims 1 and 12 has been clarified below so that it is now explicitly disclosed by one specific part of the sharp cutting edge 142, as seen in Figure 1 below. This portion of sharp cutting edge 142 of Boudreaux does disclose the claim language “wherein a slope of the incline portion reduces the sectional area in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end” and “wherein the incline portion is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the tip” as explained below. Thus, the previous rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boudreaux stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 11, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boudreaux et al., US 20170340344, herein referred to as “Boudreaux”.
Regarding claim 1, Boudreaux discloses a treatment device (Figures 7-8), comprising: an ultrasonic transducer (Figure 8: ultrasonic transducer assembly 130); a transmission rod (Figure 8: waveguide 132) with a proximal end and a distal end connecting to the ultrasonic transducer at the proximal end (Figure 8: the proximal end of waveguide 132 is connected to transducer assembly 130) and configured to transmit energy ([0001]: “These instruments include piezoelectric elements that convert electrical power into ultrasonic vibrations, which are communicated along an acoustic waveguide to the blade element.” And Figure 10); and a tip (Figures 7-8 and 9B: ultrasonic blade 140) with a first end and a second end detachably attached to the distal end of the transmission rod at the first end ([0085]), wherein the tip includes a hollow portion (Figure 9B: transverse opening 144) and an incline portion (see Figure 1 below), wherein the incline portion is configured to reduce a sectional area of the tip in a direction from the first end to the second end of the tip (Figure 9B and Figure 1 below: incline portion reduces a sectional area of the tip), and wherein a slope of the incline portion reduces the sectional area in a direction from the proximal end to the distal end (Figure 9B and Figure 1 below: a slope of the incline portion reduces a sectional area of the tip).
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 9B of Boudreaux
Regarding claim 2, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the tip and the transmission rod member are comprised of different materials (Figure 10: waveguide 132 and blade 140 are comprised of different materials; different can mean separate).
Regarding claim 7, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, wherein a cover is detachably mounted to cover the transmission rod (Figures 7-8: housing 122 and [0047]: “Handle assembly (120) of this example includes housings (122) and a distal nose portion (124).” and [0085]) and the cover is fixedly attached to the tip (Figure 9B: distal nose portion 124 and [0047]: “Handle assembly (120) of this example includes housings (122) and a distal nose portion (124).” and [0085]: during operation of the device, distal nose portion 124 is fixedly attached to blade 140).
Regarding claim 8, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the incline portion reduces the sectional area monotonically (See Figure 1 above and Figure 9B: incline portion reduces the sectional area consistently, without any reversals).
Regarding claim 11, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the tip is less than 2/10 of a length of a waveguide (Figures 8 and 10: when retracted, blade 140 does not reach halfway through distal nose portion 124, and waveguide 132 starts about halfway through distal nose portion 124 and extends the length of fluid conduits 118, which is much more than five times the length of blade 140).
Regarding claim 21, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the incline portion is located in the tip on a proximal end side (See Figure 1 above and Figure 9B: incline portion is located on a proximal end side, this language is broad and thus the proximal end side is considered every portion of the tip except for the distal-most end).
Regarding claim 22, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, wherein the incline portion is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the tip (Figure 9B: incline portion is inclined with respect to the longitudinal direction of the tip).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreaux in view of Bruns et al., US 20200345391, herein referred to as “Bruns”.
Regarding claim 3, Boudreaux in view of Shirley discloses the treatment device according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the tip is comprised of Ti-6AL-4V, SUS316L, or SUS630.
However, Bruns teaches a treatment device (Figure 2) wherein the tip is comprised of Ti-6AL-4V, SUS316L, or SUS630 ([0039]: “Ultrasonic waveguide (28) and blade (24) may be fabricated from a solid core shaft constructed out of a material or combination of materials that propagates ultrasonic energy efficiently, such as titanium alloy (i.e., Ti-6Al-4V), aluminum alloys, sapphire, stainless steel, or any other acoustically compatible material or combination of materials.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the tip is comprised of Ti-6AL-4V as taught by Bruns to ensure that the tip propagates ultrasonic energy efficiently (Bruns [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Boudreaux in view of Shirley discloses the treatment device according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the tip is comprised of a material having a Rockwell C hardness around 10 or higher.
However, Bruns teaches a treatment device (Figure 2) wherein the tip is comprised of a material having a Rockwell C hardness around 10 or higher ([0039]: “Ultrasonic waveguide (28) and blade (24) may be fabricated from a solid core shaft constructed out of a material or combination of materials that propagates ultrasonic energy efficiently, such as titanium alloy (i.e., Ti-6Al-4V), aluminum alloys, sapphire, stainless steel, or any other acoustically compatible material or combination of materials.”; wherein Ti-6Al-4V has a Rockwell C hardness of around 30-35).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the tip is comprised of a material having a Rockwell C hardness around 10 or higher as taught by Bruns to ensure that the tip propagates ultrasonic energy efficiently (Bruns [0039]).
Regarding claim 5, Boudreaux in view of Shirley discloses the treatment device according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the transmission rod is comprised of Ti-6AL-4V, SUS316L, or SUS630.
However, Bruns teaches a treatment device (Figure 2) wherein the transmission rod is comprised of Ti-6AL-4V, SUS316L, or SUS630 ([0039]: “Ultrasonic waveguide (28) and blade (24) may be fabricated from a solid core shaft constructed out of a material or combination of materials that propagates ultrasonic energy efficiently, such as titanium alloy (i.e., Ti-6Al-4V), aluminum alloys, sapphire, stainless steel, or any other acoustically compatible material or combination of materials.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the transmission rod is comprised of Ti-6AL-4V as taught by Bruns to ensure that the tip propagates ultrasonic energy efficiently (Bruns [0039]).
Claims 6, 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreaux in view of Shirley, further in view of Sanai et al., US 20100168741, herein referred to as “Sanai”.
Regarding claim 6, Boudreaux in view of Shirley discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the tip includes a high frequency electrode and the transmission rod is configured to transmit high-frequency currents.
However, Sanai teaches a treatment device (Figure 1) wherein the tip includes a high frequency electrode ([0002]: “This apparatus is provided with an end effector for transmitting ultrasonic energy and high-frequency energy at a distal end part of a waveguide of an acoustic assembly body.”) and the transmission rod is configured to transmit high-frequency currents ([0062])
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the tip includes a high frequency electrode and the transmission rod is configured to transmit high-frequency currents as taught by Sanai so that treatments performed by ablation ultrasonic vibrations of high-frequency signals can be performed by the device (Sanai [0002]).
Regarding claim 9, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the tip includes more than one hollow portion.
However, Sanai teaches a treatment instrument (Figures 1 and 30) wherein the tip (Figure 30: blade 55d) includes more than one hollow portion (Figure 30: there are three hole parts 111).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the tip includes more than one hollow portion as taught by Sanai 2 to reduce the area of contact with the living tissue to thereby increase the current density of the high-frequency current.
Regarding claim 10, Boudreaux discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the tip includes a bridge dividing the hollow portion.
However, Sanai teaches a treatment instrument (Figures 1 and 30) wherein the tip (Figure 30: blade 55d) includes a bridge dividing the hollow portion (Figure 30: there are bridges of blade 55d between each of the hole parts 111).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the tip includes a bridge dividing the hollow portion as taught by Sanai 2 so that there is an area with reduced contact area with the living tissue to thereby increase the current density of the high-frequency current.
Regarding claim 12, Boudreaux in view of Shirley discloses the treatment device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose a treatment device wherein the first end of the tip is closer to an antinode position of vibration of the transmission rod than to a node position of the vibration of the transmission rod.
However, Sanai teaches a treatment instrument (Figures 1 and 26) wherein the first end of the tip (Figure 26: blade 55d) is closer to an antinode position of vibration of the transmission rod than to a node position of the vibration of the transmission rod (Figure 26 and [0115]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the treatment device disclosed by Boudreaux so that the first end of the tip is closer to an antinode position of vibration of the transmission rod than to a node position of the vibration of the transmission rod as taught by Sanai to maximize vibration at the distal end of the device (Sanai [0073]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NORA W RHODES/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794