DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/15/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2,4-12 and 16 remain pending in the application. Claims 3 and 13 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026, see section 1.1 pages 6-8, regarding claims 1 and 16 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Ditter, alone or in combination with Stewart, fail to disclose the claimed configuration of a stiff first loop softer second loop and stiff third loop. However, applicant does not address why Ditter in view of Stewart does not disclose the claimed limitation. Ditter discloses a first loop with a stiffness greater than the second loop ([Ditter, column 2 lines 52-58]) and a third loop with a greater stiffness than the second loop ([Ditter, Column 5 lines 35-40]).
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026, see section 1.2 page 9, regarding claim 11 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: Ditter, alone or in combination with Stewart, fail to disclose the claimed configuration of electrodes with varying inner diameters along a three dimensional spiral. However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Ditter discloses a first set of AR electrodes accommodating along a three dimension spiral with an inner diameter of 2.33 ([0067]) and a second set of AR electrodes accommodating along the same three dimensional spiral with an inner diameter of 2.3 ([0076]).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5, see section 1.3 page 9-12, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ditter (US 20160143689 A1) herein referred to as “Ditter”.
Regarding claim 11, Ditter teaches: An ablation catheter for treatment of a patient's tissue by delivery of high-voltage pulses comprising: a catheter shaft and an ablation portion being arranged at a distal end of the catheter shaft with a plurality of electrodes accommodated spaced from one another along the ablation portion ([Figure 2]; Specifically, Ditter teaches a catheter shaft 14 and ablation portion 22 at the distal end of the catheter shaft and a plurality of electrodes 19 along the ablation portion), wherein the plurality of electrodes comprises at least one first electrode of a first electrode type and at least one second electrode of a second electrode type ([Figure 11]; Specifically Ditter teaches use of AR and IR electrodes), wherein a first surface area of the first electrode type is smaller than a second surface area of the second electrode type (Column 12 lines 37-40]; Specifically, Ditter teaches the IR electrodes are narrower than the AR electrodes which is seen as having a smaller surface area), and wherein the ablation portion forms a three-dimensional spiral, wherein a sequence of accommodation of the electrodes along the ablation portion is such that a plurality of the second electrodes is accommodated along a spiral section having a greater inner diameter and that a plurality of the first electrodes is accommodated along a spiral section having a smaller inner diameter. ([0067]; a first set of AR electrodes accommodating along a three-dimensional spiral with an inner diameter of 2.33, [0076]; a second set of AR electrodes accommodating along the same three-dimensional spiral with an inner diameter of 2.3)
Regarding claim 12, Ditter teaches: The ablation catheter of claim 11. Ditter further teaches: wherein a sequence of accommodation of the electrodes along the ablation portion is such that one first electrode and one second electrode alternate. ([Figure 11] Specifically, Ditter teaches AR and IR electrodes alternating)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditter in view of Stewart (US 20020111618 A1) herein referred to as “Stewart”.
Regarding claim 1, Ditter discloses: An ablation catheter for treatment of a patient's tissue by delivery of high-voltage pulses comprising: a catheter shaft and an ablation portion being arranged at a distal end of the catheter shaft with a plurality of ablation electrodes accommodated along the ablation portion ([Figure 2]; Specifically, Ditter discloses a catheter shaft 14 and ablation portion 22 at the distal end of the catheter shaft and a plurality of electrodes 19 along the ablation portion. Shown in the picture shown below), wherein the ablation portion forms a spiral and comprises a first loop section and a neighboring second loop section ([Figure 2]; Specifically, Ditter discloses the ablation portion made comprising a first spiral loop and neighboring loops see annotated figure below), wherein the first loop section has a greater stiffness than the second loop section ([Column 2 lines 52-58] Specifically, Ditter discloses that the first loop has a greater stiffness than the second loop) wherein the third loop section has a greater stiffness than the second loop section ([Column 5 lines 35-40]; Ditter discloses a distal loop being more resilient than the proximal loop which is seen as stiffer).
Ditter does not explicitly disclose: Ablation electrodes along the ablation portion; wherein an inner diameter of the first loop section increases towards an inner diameter of the second loop section starting from a first end of the first loop section located opposite the second loop section; wherein the second loop section is distal to the first loop section, and wherein the ablation catheter further comprises a third loop section, which is a neighboring section to the second loop section, wherein an inner diameter of the third loop section increases along the third loop section starting with the end that is closest to the second loop section.
However, Stewart discloses: Ablation electrodes along the ablation portion ([Figure 3B]; Stewart discloses ablation electrodes along both the first and second loops) and wherein an inner diameter of the first loop section increases towards an inner diameter of the second loop section starting from a first end of the first loop section located opposite the second loop section. ([Figure 3B]; Stewart discloses the inner diameters of the loops increasing toward the second loop. As shown below) wherein the second loop section is distal to the first loop section ([Figure 3B]; The second loop is distal to a first loop section), and wherein the ablation catheter further comprises a third loop section which is a neighboring section to the second loop section, ([Figure 3B]; There is disclosed third loop section that is neighboring the second loop section, see annotated figure below) wherein an inner diameter of the third loop section increases along the third loop section starting with the end that is closest to the second loop section ([Figure 3B]; The third loop section increases in diameter starting from the end of the second loop),
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ablation catheter as disclosed by Ditter with the ablation electrodes and the increasing diameter geometry as disclosed by Stewart the motivation being to provide electrodes in each loop segment ([0087]), the simple substitution of an ablation section of a catheter to obtain the predictable result of lesion ablation and obvious to try choosing from identified predictable solution to engage vasculature with a reasonable expectation of success respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 1. Ditter further discloses: wherein the ablation portion is connected to the catheter shaft by a transition joint. ([Figure 2]; Specifically, Ditter discloses the ablation portion 22 connected to catheter shaft 14 via transition joint 20)
Regarding claim 4, Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 1. Ditter further discloses: wherein the respective stiffness of the first loop section and the second is provided by the form and/or the material of a wire, of the respective loop section. ([Column 8 lines 54 – 60] Specifically, Ditter discloses a support member 50 that gives stiffness and form to the loops of distal section 17)
Regarding claim 6, Ditter in view of Stewart discloses: The catheter of claim 4. Ditter further discloses: wherein the wire of the second loop section comprises at least one indentation and/or the wire of the first loop section ([Figure 2] Specifically, Ditter discloses indentations along a second loop that has indents)
Regarding claim 7, Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 1. Ditter further discloses: wherein a pitch and/or clearance is provided between the first loop section and the second loop section. ([Figure 2] Specifically, Ditter discloses a clearance between first loop and second loop)
Regarding claim 8, Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 7. Ditter further discloses: wherein the pitch and/or clearance between the first loop section and the second loop section is between 2 mm and 8 mm, in particular between 4 mm and 6 mm. ([Column 8 lines 5-11] Specifically, Ditter discloses a pitch of 7.2 mm which is within the range specified)
Regarding claim 9, “or” is seen as a coordinating conjunction that connects two or more possibilities for examination purposes “wherein the first end of the first loop section is directly attached to the distal end of the catheter shaft” the possibility being taught.
Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 1. Ditter further discloses: wherein the first end of the first loop section is directly attached to the distal end of the catheter shaft or a second end of the second loop section or, if applicable, a second end of the third loop section is directly attached to the distal end of the catheter shaft ([Figure 2] Specifically, Ditter discloses a first loop attached to a catheter shaft), wherein the second end of the second loop section and, if applicable, the second end of the third loop section is located opposite the first loop section ([Figure 2]; Specifically, Ditter discloses a second opposite the first loop).
Regarding claim 10, Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 7. Ditter further discloses: wherein the catheter shaft is located at or close to an axis of the spiral form of the ablation portion. ([Figure 3] Specifically, Ditter discloses the spiral ablation assembly on the same axis as the catheter shaft)
Regarding claim 16 Ditter discloses:, An ablation catheter for treatment of a patient's tissue by delivery of high-voltage pulses comprising: a catheter shaft having an ablation portion arranged at a distal end of the catheter shaft ([Figure 2]; Specifically, Ditter teaches a catheter shaft 14 and ablation portion 22 at the distal end of the catheter shaft and a plurality of electrodes 19 along the ablation portion. Shown in the picture shown below), the ablation portion comprising a plurality of ablation electrodes ([Figure 2]; Ditter teaches ablation electrodes 19 arranged on the ablation portion), wherein the ablation portion forms a spiral and comprises a first loop section and a neighboring second loop section, wherein an inner diameter of the first loop section decreases towards an inner diameter of the second loop section starting from a first end of the first loop section located opposite the second loop section ([Figure 2]; Ditter disclose neighboring loops wherein the diameter of the loops decreases toward the distal end), wherein the first loop section has a greater stiffness than the second loop section ([Column 2 lines 52-58]; “Whereas the distal loop has a smaller radius, a softer structure with a greater flexibility, and a softer straight distal end section that helps guide the distal loop into the tubular region, the proximal loop has a stiffer structure and a larger radius to ensure contact between its electrodes and the ostium of the tubular region. “). Ditter does not explicitly disclose: wherein the second loop section is distal to the first loop section, and wherein the ablation catheter further comprises a third loop section, which is a neighboring section to the second loop section, wherein an inner diameter of the third loop section decreases along the third loop section starting with the end that is closest to the second loop section, wherein the third loop section has a greater stiffness than the second loop section.
However, Stewart discloses: wherein the second loop section is distal to the first loop section ([Figure 3B]; The second loop is distal to a first loop section), and wherein the ablation catheter further comprises a third loop section which is a neighboring section to the second loop section, ([Figure 3B]; There is disclosed third loop section that is neighboring the second loop section, see annotated figure below) wherein an inner diameter of the third loop section increases along the third loop section starting with the end that is closest to the second loop section ([Figure 3B]; The third loop section increases in diameter starting from the end of the second loop)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the ablation catheter as disclosed by Ditter with the ablation electrodes and the increasing diameter geometry as disclosed by Stewart the motivation being obvious to try choosing from identified predictable solution to engage vasculature with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ditter in view of Stewart further in view of Wood (US 20020151886 A1) Herein referred to as “Wood”.
Regarding claim 5, Ditter in view of Stewart disclose: The catheter of claim 4. Ditter further discloses: wherein a first diameter of the wire, of the first loop section is greater than a second diameter of the wire, of the second loop section ([Figure 2] Specifically, Ditter discloses the diameter of the wire increasing from a first loop to a second loop) wherein the first diameter is greater and the second diameter. ([Column 9 lines 6-11]; “Moreover, the support member can have a varying thickness along its length, for example, being thinner distally and thicker proximally so that a distal portion can be more readily contracted and a proximal portion can better withstand the load from an axial force that is applied when the distal assembly 17 comes into contact with target tissue.”)
Ditter does not explicitly disclose: Wire diameter ranges between 350 up and 700 um and between 200 um and 349 um.
However, Wood discloses: Wire diameter ranges between 350 up and 700 um and between 200 um and 349 um ([0045]; The catheter diameters are disclosed as being between 1 and 24 French ( ~333 μm to 8000 μm), which is within the claimed range).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the catheter as disclosed by Ditter in view of Stewart with the catheter diameter range as disclosed by Wood. The motivation being to support vascular applications such as arterial occlusion ([0042]).
Conclusion
/CASEY GEORGE CHA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794