DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims filed 08/18/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 5-13 and 21-27 are pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11 under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument, pages 8-10 under section A, that “neither reference discloses any asymmetry whatsoever” has been considered but are moot because new interpretation of Coogan. Please see rejection below.
In response to applicant’s argument, pages 10-12 under section B, that Zeineh teaches away from “limiting the main section to fit within the orbit”, has been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the secondary reference Zeineh in [0004] says nothing about eyebrows, that paragraph is directed to exclusively to damage to a patient’s eyelashes caused by adhesive tape used to hold the eyelids closed during surgery. This is not found persuasive. The examiner acknowledged [0004], considered alone, does not expressly teach avoiding contact with the patient’s eyebrow. However, the rejection does not rely on [0004] alone. Rather, the rejection relies on figure 6 and [0004] that expressly teaches claimed “wherein the width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient” (figure 6 and [0014] eye patch 100 fit within the orbit and avoiding contacting the eyebrow 605), and [0004] recognizes that the adhesive used for the eyepatch can causes hair damage, identifying eyelash as an example. Therefore, One of skill in the art would have understood that Zeieneh concerns regarding adhesive related hair damage is not only limited to eyelashes, but also encompasses other hair surrounding the orbital area, including eyebrows.
Applicant further argues that the dimensions of the dressing disclosed by Zeieneh, e.g., 5 cm x 7 cm, allegedly cannot fit wholly within an orbit. This is not found persuasive. Applicant has not provided persuasive evidence that an eyepatch having such a dimension cannot fit wholly within the patient’s eye orbit. Moreover, the rejection does not rely on the exemplary 5 cm x 7 cm dimension, rather the rejection relies on the express disclosure of figure 6. In addition, Zeieneh teaches the dimensions of the eye patch may be increased or reduced as appropriate based on the facial features of a particular patient ([0013]). Therefore, one of skill in the art who is seeking to prevent adhesive related hair damage of eyebrows would have been motivated to adjust the dimension of the primary art reference Coogan so that the eye patch fits wholly within the eye orbit and avoid contact with the eyebrow.
In response to applicant’s argument, pages 12-13 under section C, Coogan’s semi-permeable membrane is designed to retain tear fluid, not to pass air through the main section. This is not found persuasive, regardless of Coogan teaches multilayer laminate, or Coogan is intended retain tear fluid, Coogan teaches the perforated semi-permeable film membrane is configured to allowing passage of smaller vapor molecules, for example that range from 0.0004 to 40 um ([0024]), which is fully capable of allowing air pass through the membrane as claimed.
In response to applicant’s argument, pages 13-14 under section D, Coogan is committed to a silicone adhesive; a water-soluble hydrocolloid is inconsistent with its design and introducing the hydrocolloid of the secondary reference would compromise the adhesion Coogan requires over the wear periods Coogan contemplates. The proposed substitution would therefore work against Coogan into which it is proposed to be incorporated, and a person of ordinary skill would not have been motivated to make it. This is not found persuasive. Applicant has not identified persuasive evidence substituting silicone adhesive of Coogan with hydrocolloid adhesive would fail to provide the intended adhesive function. The secondary art reference expressly teaches that its hydrocolloid provides sufficient adhesiveness while being easily removable with minimal discomfort (Knepshield; [0009 and 0033]). Accordingly, Applicant’s unsupported assertion that the substitution would work against Coogan’s intended purpose does not overcome the prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2143 g)
In response to applicant’s argument, pages 14-15, with regard the rejections of claims 10, 12 and 13 under 35 USC 103 that Bruhl does not cure the deficiencies of the primary combination discussed above, because Bruhl is directed to an integrally formed two-piece eyeshield, which is a mostly metal, or rigid polycarbonate, protective shield that is strapped over an injured eye to shield it from impact during healing. This is not found persuasive. The rejection does not require incorporating the entirety of Bruhl’s rigid eye shield into Coogan. Rather, Bruhl is relied upon for its teaching of apertures arranged in a grid pattern. Coogan already teaches fenestrations to provide permeability and breathability through the main section of the eyepatch, but Coogan does not disclose how the fenestrations are arranged. Accordingly, one of skill in the art seeking to improve Coogan for uniform permeability and breathability throughout the main section of the eyepatch would have been motivated to incorporate Bruhl’s uniformly distributed grid arrangement of apertures.
In response to applicant’s argument page 15, with respect to claim 13, that, but the recited spacing, i.e., 1 mm spacing, is not a relative proportion of a device otherwise disclosed in the prior art; it is an absolute dimension that, in combination with the within-orbit sizing recited in claim 1, defines a fenestration density having a stated functional consequence. This is not found persuasive. Applicant has not established that the particular 1 mm spacing is critical to achieving those alleged functional consequences or that the claimed spacing produces any unexpected results. Coogan teaches providing fenestrations to balance permeability and breathability against the adhesive properties and structure strength of the eye patch ([0039]). This teaching is consistent with the alleged functions of permitting the skin to breath and prevents decrease in adhesion and thereby enables the device to be worn through a full night of sleep. In the instant case, one of skill in the art motivate to do so for the purpose of providing sufficient ventilation while preserving the structural integrity and adhesiveness.
In response to applicant’s argument with respect to new claims 14-20 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-11, 21, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coogan (US 20220257426 A1) in view of Zeineh (US 20220062050 A1) and Price (US 5887590 A)
Regarding claim 1, Coogan substantially teaches applicant’s claimed invention, and specifically discloses a device with every structural limitation of applicant’s claimed invention (except for the limitations shown in italics and grayed-out) including:
An eyelid seal (figure 1, eyelid closure patches 102) for maintaining lid closure for an eye of a patient, comprising:
a main section (annotated figure below and [0014] main body 108 having medial and temporal ends sufficient to cover orbital area including an upper, lower eyelid and the length of the eye) having a medial end and a temporal end, the main section being of a width sufficient to cover an upper and lower eyelid of the patient and a length at least equal to a length of the eye of the patient, but wherein the width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient, further wherein the main section comprises an asymmetric contour shape (annotated figure 1, the main body being asymmetric with curved medial end with flat temporal end which conforms to the orbit of eye ) to conform to the orbit of the eye adnexa of the patient with a medial canthus of the eye narrower than a temporal canthus of the eye, wherein a perimeter of the main section is continuously curved from the medial end to the temporal end (annotated figure 1, the perimeter of the main section is continuously curved from the medial end to the temporal end), and further wherein the main section is formed of a porous plastic material ([0023-0024, 0031-0037 and 0060] the main body is formed of semi-permeable membrane comprises a porous network and/or a number of pores configured to allow ventilation of excess moisture or moisture vapors thereby preventing a decrease in adhesion due to excessive moisture vapors. Examiner’s note: the limitation below is directed to an intended use and functional result of providing porous plastic material. As set forth in MPEP 2114, if prior art reference teaches the claimed structures, the prior art is considered to inherently possess the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. In the instant case, the prior art teaches the main section made of a porous plastic material as claimed, and the prior art inherently possess the claimed function) configured to allow air through to reduce the activation of sudoriferous glands, thereby preventing a decrease in adhesion of the eyelid seal to the upper and lower eyelid that would otherwise occur, wherein adhesion is critical in order to control inadequate lid seal in the patient;
further wherein a lower side of the main section comprises an adhesive (figure 2 and [0017] adhesive 112 positioned on a lower surface of main body 108 comprising sufficient stickiness to maintain lid closure during sleeping ) that is a pressure-sensitive, water-soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive, comprising sufficient stickiness to maintain complete lid closure for the eye of the patient during an entire night's sleep, the adhesive being positioned on the main section so as to contact skin of the upper eyelid and the lower eyelid only within the orbit of the eye and to remain spaced from an eyebrow of the patient; and
at least one tab (annotated figure, tab 110 extending laterally from the temporal end) extending laterally from the temporal end of the main section, wherein a lower side of the tab is free of the adhesive ([0059] non-adhesive tab 110).
Coogan does not teach wherein the width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient.
In the same field of endeavor, Zeineh teaches an eye patch (figure 6, 100) having a width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient (see figure 6 and [0039], the size of eye patch 100 is limited such that the patch fit within an orbit of the eye excluding eyebrows 605).
Zeineh teaches that adhesive may damage hair, including eyelashes, and expressly illustrates that the eye patch is sized and fitted wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient to avoid covering the patient’s hair, including eyebrow (figure 6 and [0004 and 0014]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Coogan to incorporate the teachings of Zeieneh and provide the width and length of the eye patch as claimed, for the purpose of reducing hair damage caused by contact between the adhesive and the eyebrows as taught by Zeieneh (figure 6 and [0004 an d0014]).
The combination does not teach the adhesive is a pressure-sensitive, water-soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a perioperative eye patch, Price teaches the adhesive is a pressure-sensitive, water-soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive (abstract; “layer of a transparent pressure sensitive water soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh, to incorporate the teachings of Price and provide the adhesive as claimed for the purpose of providing sufficient adhesiveness while allowing eye patch to be easily removed with minimal discomfort as taught by Price (col 2 line 41-51).
Regarding claim 5, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the plastic is selected from the group consisting of polypropylene, polyethylene, an acrylic polymer and polyvinyl alcohol (Coogan; [0031-0037 and 0060] the main body is formed of acrylate film)
Regarding claim 6, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adhesive comprises a hydrogel (Price; claim 4, adhesive comprises a hydrogel)
Regarding claim 7, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adhesive comprises a natural gum (Price; claim 5, wherein said adhesive comprises a natural gum).
Regarding claim 8, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 7.
The combination further teaches wherein the gum is a karaya gum, a guar gum, or a combination thereof (Price; claim 6, wherein said gum is karaya gum)
Regarding claim 9, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 8.
The combination further teaches wherein the adhesive comprises a polysaccharide gum (Price; claim 8, wherein said adhesive comprises a polysaccharide gum)
Regarding claim 10, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the main section is hypoallergenic (Coogan; [0015])
Regarding claim 11, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the main section comprises a plurality of fenestrations (Coogan; [0037] number of pores, holes channels or perforations extending from one side to the other) configured to further reduce activation of sudoriferous glands wherein the eyelid seal may be worn by the patient for a full night of sleep with the eye closed (Coogan; [0010 and 0025 and 0060], the pores are configured allows ventilation which recues activation of sudoriferous glands, and the adhesive provide sufficient adhesive that maintains the eyepatch with the eye closed for a full night of sleep).
Regarding claim 21, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the porous plastic material is porous throughout a thickness of the main section such that air passes through the main section in both directions between the eye of the patient and an ambient environment (Coogan; figure 5 and [0024 and 0061], the main body 108 comprises a semi-permeable film membrane 116 is porous through the thickness of the main body being approximately 0.0004 to 40 um which allows the air pass through in both direction).
Regarding claim 22, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 11.
The combination further teaches wherein each of the plurality of fenestrations extends entirely through the main section (Coogan; figure 5, the pores extending through entire thickness of the main body 108).
Regarding claim 24, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination further teaches wherein the adhesive extends around only a periphery of the lower side of the main section (Coogan; [0028] adhesive only covers the perimeter of the front or back face).
Regarding claim 25, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 1.
The combination does not expressly teach wherein the tab lies in a plane of the main section and has a length of approximately 10 mm.
In the same field of endeavor, namely an eyelid closure patch, Price teaches wherein the tab lies in a plane of the main section and has a length of approximately 10 mm (co 2 lines 39-41, the tab 11 be generally about ¼ to ½ inch in length).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, to incorporate the teachings of Price and provides the tab as claimed, and one of skill in the art motivated to do so, ftp a tab having sufficient size to facilitate gripping and removal of the patch from the eye as taught by Price (col 2 lines 39-41)..
Claims 12, 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coogan (US 20220257426 A1) in view of Zeineh (US 20220062050 A1) and Price (US 5887590 A), and in further view of Bruhl (US 5004333 A).
Regarding claim 12, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 11.
The combination does not expressly teach wherein each of the plurality of fenestrations are arranged in a grid pattern on the main section.
In the same field of endeavor, namely eyeshield, Bruhl teaches eyeshield (figure 2, 10) wherein the eye seal comprises plurality of fenestrations, and each of the plurality of fenestrations are arranged in a grid pattern on the main section (Bruhl; figure 2, apertures are distributed in a grid pattern).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coogan, as modified by Zeineh and Knepshield, to incorporate the teachings of Bruhl and provide the plurality of fenestrations as claimed, and one of skill in the art motivated to do so, for the purpose of providing uniform ventilation throughout a surface of the main body.
Regarding claim 13, Coogan, as modified by Zeineh, Price and Bruhl, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 12.
The combination does not expressly teach wherein each of the plurality of fenestrations are spaced 1mm apart from one another.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Coogan, as modified by Zeineh, Price and Bruhl, to have the each of the fenestrations are spaced 1mm apart from one another as claimed, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) MPEP 2144.04 IV. In the instant case, one of skill in the art motivate to do so for the purpose of providing sufficient ventilation while preserving the structural integrity and adhesiveness. Furthermore, applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed dimension ([0024]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 23, Coogan, as modified by Zeineh, Price and Bruhl, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 13.
The combination does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of fenestrations comprises at least 800 fenestrations.
However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified Coogan, as modified by Zeineh, Price and Bruhl, to have the claimed number of fenestrations, since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984) MPEP 2144.04 IV. In the instant case, one of skill in the art motivate to do so for the purpose of providing sufficient ventilation while preserving the structural integrity and adhesiveness. Furthermore, applicant has not shown unexpected result gleaming from the claimed dimension ([0024]), and therefore the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coogan (US 20220257426 A1) in view of Zeineh (US 20220062050 A1), Bruhl (US 5004333 A) and Price (US 5887590 A).
Regarding claim 26, Coogan teaches an eyelid seal for maintaining lid closure for an eye of a patient, comprising:
a main section (annotated figure below and [0014] main body 108 having medial and temporal ends sufficient to cover orbital area including an upper, lower eyelid and length and width of the eye) having a medial end, a temporal end, an upper side and a lower side, the main section being of a width sufficient to cover an upper eyelid and a lower eyelid of the patient and a length at least equal to a length of the eye of the patient, wherein the width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient and remains spaced from an eyebrow of the patient;
wherein the main section is formed of a porous plastic material (figure 5, [0023-0024, 0031-0037 and 0060] the main body is formed of semi-permeable membrane comprises a porous network and/or a number of pores extend through the entire thickness of membrane 116 and sized approximately 0.0004 to 40 um that allows air pass through) and further comprises a plurality of fenestrations extending entirely through the main section and distributed in a regular grid pattern across the main section, such that air passes through the main section both through the porous plastic material and through the plurality of fenestrations;
an adhesive on the lower side of the main section (figures 2, 5 and [0017] adhesive 112 on the lower surface of main body 108 comprises sufficient stickiness to maintain lid closure during sleeping), the adhesive comprising a water-soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive having sufficient stickiness to maintain complete lid closure for the eye of the patient during an entire night's sleep; and
a tab (figure 3 and [0059] non-adhesive tab 110 extending laterally from the temporal end) extending laterally from the temporal end of the main section, wherein a lower side of the tab is free of the adhesive.
Coogan does not expressly teach wherein the width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient and remains spaced from an eyebrow of the patient;
In the same field of endeavor, Zeineh teaches an eye patch (figure 6, 100) having a width and length of the main section are limited such that the main section fits wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient (see figure 6 and [0039], the size of eye patch 100 is limited such that the patch fit within an orbit of the eye excluding eyebrows 605).
Zeineh teaches that adhesive may damage hair, including eyelashes, and expressly illustrates that the eye patch is sized and fitted wholly within an orbit of the eye of the patient to avoid covering the patient’s hair, including eyebrow (figure 6 and [0004 and 0014]). Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Coogan to incorporate the teachings of Zeieneh and provide the width and length of the eye patch as claimed, for the purpose of reducing hair damage caused by contact between the adhesive and the eyebrows as taught by Zeieneh (figure 6 and [0004 and 0014]).
The combination does not teach the fenestrations are distributed in a regular grid pattern across the main section.
In the same field of endeavor, namely eyeshield, Bruhl teaches eyeshield (figure 2, 10) wherein the eye seal comprises plurality of fenestrations, and each of the plurality of fenestrations are arranged in a grid pattern on the main section (Bruhl; see figure 2, apertures are distributed in grid pattern).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coogan, as modified by Zeineh, to incorporate the teachings of Bruhl and provide the plurality of fenestrations as claimed, and one of skill in the art motivated to do so, for the purpose of providing uniform ventilation throughout a surface of the main body.
The combination is still silent as to adhesive comprising a water-soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive.
In the same field of endeavor, namely a perioperative eye patch, Price teaches adhesive comprising a water-soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive (abstract; “layer of a transparent pressure sensitive water soluble gelatinous or hydrocolloidal adhesive”).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh, to incorporate the teachings of Price and provide the adhesive as claimed for the purpose of providing sufficient adhesiveness while allowing eye patch to be easily removed with minimal discomfort as taught by Price (col 2 line 41-51).
Regarding claim 27, Coogan, as modified by Zeieneh, Bruhl and Price, teaches the eyelid seal of claim 26.
The combination further teaches wherein the main section comprises an asymmetric contour shape with a perimeter that is continuously curved from the medial end to the temporal end, the medial end being narrower than the temporal end (Coogan; annotated figure above, the main body being continuously curved from the medial end to the temporal end and being asymmetric with curved medial end and flat temporal end. The medial end being narrower than the flat temporal end)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SETH HAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3781