DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s Amendment/Remarks filed 4/22/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. No claims were cancelled or newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-25 remain pending in the application and are currently under examination.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Wang and Hossainy moot. Specifically, the references do not teach the newly added limitation, “wherein the substrate is a metal or metal alloy and whereby the plasma polymer layer is deposited on the surface of the metal or metal alloy”. Wang teaches depositing a plasma polymer layer on a polymer substate. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new grounds of rejection has been made under 35 USC 103 over Frautschi and Evoy.
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Wang, Hossainy and Kokai-Kun moot. Specifically, the references do not teach the newly added limitation, “wherein the substrate is a metal or metal alloy and whereby the plasma polymer layer is deposited on the surface of the metal or metal alloy”. Wang teaches depositing a plasma polymer layer on a polymer substate. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Wang, Hossainy and Bilek moot. Specifically, the references do not teach the newly added limitation, “wherein the substrate is a metal or metal alloy and whereby the plasma polymer layer is deposited on the surface of the metal or metal alloy”. Wang teaches depositing a plasma polymer layer on a polymer substate. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Wang, Hossainy and Katsarava moot. Specifically, the references do not teach the newly added limitation, “wherein the substrate is a metal or metal alloy and whereby the plasma polymer layer is deposited on the surface of the metal or metal alloy”. Wang teaches depositing a plasma polymer layer on a polymer substate. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment renders the rejection under 35 USC 103 over Wang, Hossainy and Murthy moot. Specifically, the references do not teach the newly added limitation, “wherein the substrate is a metal or metal alloy and whereby the plasma polymer layer is deposited on the surface of the metal or metal alloy”. Wang teaches depositing a plasma polymer layer on a polymer substate. Thus, said rejection has been withdrawn.
New Rejections
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the following rejections have been newly added:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-17 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frautschi (US 2004/0234703 A1, Nov. 25, 2004, hereafter as “Frautschi”) in view of Evoy et al. (US 2010/0291541 A1, Nov. 18, 2010, hereafter as “Evoy”).
The claimed invention is drawn to a method for coating a surface of a substrate of a medical device with a bactericide layer, the method comprising: exposing the surface of the substrate to a plasma and depositing a plasma polymer layer bound to the surface of the substrate, wherein the substrate is a metal or a metal alloy and whereby the plasma polymer layer is deposited on the surface of the metal or metal alloy; and binding the bactericide layer to the plasma polymer layer; wherein the bactericide layer includes bioactive bacteriophages.
Regarding instant claim 1, Frautschi teaches a method of forming a polymer tie layer on a metal surface by cleaning the metal surface with solvent; cleaning the metal surface with oxygen plasma; sputter cleaning the metal surface with argon using a lower chuck bias plasma generating unit; functionalizing the metal surface; and depositing the tie layer on the metal surface by radio frequency plasma deposition under pulsed conditions of a duty cycle, where the duty cycle is reduced over time (abstract). The tie layer can have functional groups on its surface for the chemical attachment of a second coating, wherein second coating can include active agents (abstract; [0030]). Frautschi teaches any kind of medical prosthesis can be coated by the method of the present invention ([0030]).
Frautschi is silent to binding bacteriophages to the plasma polymer layer.
Evoy teaches a method for anchoring a bacteriophage on a substrate such as a biosensor, the bacteriophage having a phage amine moiety, the method comprising: producing a free amine terminal moiety on the substrate by chemical modification of the substrate; activating the free amine terminal moiety with a cross-linking agent to produce an active functional group to couple to the phage amine moiety; and anchoring the bacteriophage to the substrate using the active functional group (abstract). Evoy teaches that the substrates can be metals or polymers ([0022]).
Both references are drawn to modification of surfaces for biomedical purpose, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to bind a bacteriophage layer to the plasma polymer layer of Frautschi, as suggested by Evoy, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Frautschi generally teaches attaching a second active coating to a plasma polymer layer and Evoy, more specifically, teaches that chemical modification of a polymer is effective in binding bacteriophages (actives) to said polymer. A skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation that the suggested method would yield a medical device having antibacterial properties.
Regarding instant claim 3, Frautschi further teaches exposing a surface to plasma using low wattage (e.g., 60 W) which implies cold, nonthermal plasma ([0024]).
Regarding instant claims 4, 6 and 8, Frautschi further teaches utilizing gases such as O2, CO2, and NH3 ([0020]).
Regarding instant claims 5, 7 and 9, Frautschi further teaches that the functional groups created on a metal surface like NHx, OH, OOH, COx, O, etc.
Regarding instant claim 10, Frautschi further teaches removing any remaining active components like radicals which implies free radicals are present due to the plasma treatment ([0022] and [0025]).
Regarding instant claim 11, Frautschi implicitly teaches forming free radicals, as discussed above. Frautschi further teaches treating the metal surface with argon and functionalizing the metal surface and depositing a tie layer on the metal surface, wherein said tie layer being deposited by radio frequency plasma deposition and wherein the step of functionalizing is produced by a plasma gas such as O2 (instant claims 1 and 5).
Regarding instant claim 12, Frautschi further teaches the particular metals, stainless steel, iron, nickel, chromium, copper, titanium and metal alloys ([0030]).
Regarding instant claim 13, Frautschi further teaches that the feed gas can be acrylic acid ([0021]).
Regarding instant claim 14, Frautschi further teaches particular embodiments having coating thicknesses of about 610 angstroms and about 341 angstroms which convert to about 61 and 34 nm, respectively.
Regarding instant claim 15, Evoy further teaches coupling the bacteriophage amine moiety to an active functional group in a cross-linking agent that is then coupled to a free amine terminal moiety of the substrate ([0031]). Evoy also teaches chemical crosslinking agents (claim 9). Said teachings imply that the coupling is via covalent binding.
Regarding instant claims 16 and 17, Evoy further teaches that the bacteriophage are suspended and the substrate surface may be immersed in the bacteriophage solution ([0027]-[0028]).
Regarding instant claim 25, Frautschi further teaches the particular medical devices, stents and orthopedic joints ([0030]).
Thus, the combined teachings of Frautschi and Evoy render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frautschi (US 2004/0234703 A1, Nov. 25, 2004, hereafter as “Frautschi”) in view of Evoy et al. (US 2010/0291541 A1, Nov. 18, 2010, hereafter as “Evoy”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kokai-Kun et al. (US 2003/0215433 A1, Nov. 20, 2003, hereinafter as “Kokai-Kun”).
The instant invention is described above.
Frautschi and Evoy teach the elements discussed above.
Frautschi and Evoy are silent to the claimed bacteriophage related products (e.g., lysostaphins).
Kokai-Kun teaches medical devices comprising an antibacterial enzyme (i.e., lysostaphin) coating (abstract; [0019]-[0020], [0032]; Example 3). Kokai-Kun further teaches that the lysostaphin can be covalently attached to a polymer surface/coating ([0031] [0056]; claim 57).
All of the references are drawn to modified/coated surfaces for biomedical purposes, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a bacteriophage related product such as lysostaphins into the invention of Frautschi/Evoy, as suggested by Kokai-Kun, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Kokai-Kun teaches that incorporating a lysostaphin into a medical device coating effectively inhibits bacterial growth and it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose (MPEP 2144.06 (I)).
Thus, the combined teachings of Frautschi, Evoy and Kokai-Kun render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frautschi (US 2004/0234703 A1, Nov. 25, 2004, hereafter as “Frautschi”) in view of Evoy et al. (US 2010/0291541 A1, Nov. 18, 2010, hereafter as “Evoy”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Katsarava et al. (US 2016/0375139 A1, Dec. 29, 2016, hereinafter as “Katsarava”).
The instant invention is described above.
Frautschi and Evoy teach the elements discussed above.
Frautschi and Evoy are silent to the bioactive bacteriophages being dispersed in a coating material.
Katsarava teaches implantable devices comprising polymeric compositions comprising at least one bacteriophage (abstract; [0329]). Katsarava teaches that the bacteriophages are dispersed, mixed, dissolved, homogenized, or covalently bonded in a composition comprising an amino acid based polymer ([0023]). Katsarava also teaches block copolymers are suitable for the polymeric composition ([0069], [0077], [0083] and [0091]).
All of the references are drawn to coating compositions for use in biomedical applications, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a bacteriophage dispersed in the coating composition into the invention of Frautschi/Evoy, as suggested by Katsarava, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Katsarava teaches that bacteriophages can be incorporated into a polymeric composition such as block copolymer composition by dispersing or covalently bonding said bacteriophages to said polymeric composition. The prior art recognized that bacteriophages could be dispersed or covalently bonded to polymeric compositions, thus, a skilled artisan would have reasonably expected dispersing and/or covalently bonding bacteriophages in/to a polymer (e.g., a block co-polymer) coating composition would have provided an antibacterial composition suitable for use on an implantable device.
Thus, the combined teachings of Frautschi, Evoy and Katsarava render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frautschi (US 2004/0234703 A1, Nov. 25, 2004, hereafter as “Frautschi”) in view of Evoy et al. (US 2010/0291541 A1, Nov. 18, 2010, hereafter as “Evoy”) and Katsarava et al. (US 2016/0375139 A1, Dec. 29, 2016, hereinafter as “Katsarava”), as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Schmidt et al. (DE 60105979 T2, Oct. 6, 2005, machine translation, hereafter as “Schmidt”).
The instant invention is described above.
Frautschi, Evoy and Katsarava teach the elements discussed above.
Frautschi, Evoy and Katsarava are silent to forming microchannels in the polymer layer via plasma etching.
Schmidt teaches an etching method for producing microstructures or openings in a multilayered body made from selected materials, wherein the surface properties of the layers are individually controlled and preferably controlled simultaneously so that channels, grooves, reservoirs, openings and so on are formed and have different surface properties, which allow a further functionalization of selected surfaces as well as a fluid handling (page 6, last para.). Schmidt teaches plasma etching to form microchannels in a polymer layer (claim 1). Schmidt teaches said microstructures can be used for biomedical applications (paragraph bridging pages 4-5).
All of the references are drawn to surface modification/coating compositions for biomedical purposes, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form microchannels via plasma etching into the polymer layer of the invention of Frautschi/Evoy/Katsarava, as suggested by Schmidt, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Schmidt teaches that forming said microchannels via plasma etching allow for producing different surface properties.
Thus, the combined teachings of Frautschi, Evoy, Katsarava and Schmidt render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frautschi (US 2004/0234703 A1, Nov. 25, 2004, hereafter as “Frautschi”) in view of Evoy et al. (US 2010/0291541 A1, Nov. 18, 2010, hereafter as “Evoy”) and Katsarava et al. (US 2016/0375139 A1, Dec. 29, 2016, hereinafter as “Katsarava”), as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Tran et al. (“A new generation of sodium chloride porogen for tissue engineering”, Biotechnology and Applied Biochemistry, Sep. 2011, 58: 335-344; hereafter as “Tran”).
The instant invention is described above.
Frautschi, Evoy and Katsarava teach the elements discussed above.
Frautschi, Evoy and Katsarava are silent to forming microchannels in the coating material by salt leaching.
Tran teaches that porogen leaching is a widely used and simple technique for the creation of porous scaffolds in tissue engineering (abstract). Tran developed a facile method based on the principles of crystallization to precisely control salt crystal sizes down to a few microns within a narrow size distribution (abstract). The resulting NaCl porogens were used to fabricate scaffolds with increased interconnectivity, porous microchanneled scaffolds, and multiphasic vascular grafts (abstract). Tran teaches that salt leaching can be applied to a wide range of polymers to introduce porosity (page 336, right col., 2nd para.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form microchannels in the coating material of Frautschi/Evoy/Katsarava via salt leaching, as suggested by Tran, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Tran teaches that salt leaching is effective in forming microchannels in a polymeric material for biomedical purposes.
Regarding instant claim 22, said claim recites, “wherein leaching the salt crystals is performed while contacting the coating material with biological tissues when the medical device is in use in a subject”. It is noted that the claims are drawn to a method for coating a surface of a medical device substrate whereas the limitation of claim 22 is drawn to the intended use of the medical device. A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In other words, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Thus, the combined teachings of Frautschi, Evoy, Katsarava and Schmidt render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frautschi (US 2004/0234703 A1, Nov. 25, 2004, hereafter as “Frautschi”) in view of Evoy et al. (US 2010/0291541 A1, Nov. 18, 2010, hereafter as “Evoy”), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Murthy et al. (US 2009/0130196 A1, May 21, 2009, hereinafter as “Murthy”).
The instant invention is described above.
Frautschi and Evoy teach the elements discussed above.
Frautschi and Evoy are silent to a coating material in which biodegradable microcapsules containing the bioactive bacteriophages are embedded and step of spraying said coating.
Murthy teaches bacteriophage compositions, where the bacteriophage is adsorbed onto a matrix via, e.g., spraying, a bacteriophage solution/suspension onto the matrix and then optionally encapsulating the bacteriophage (abstract; [0014] and [0047]). Murthy states that polymers may be used to encapsulate the bacteriophage, and any polymer known in the art may be used ([0064]).
Evoy and Murthy are drawn to bacteriophage compositions, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a step of spraying a coating material comprising encapsulated bacteriophages into the invention of Frautschi/Evoy, as suggested by Murthy, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Murthy teaches that encapsulating bacteriophages is effective in protecting the bacteriophages from extended periods of exposure to low pH that would otherwise render the bacteriophages, or phage components, non-viable, thereby, providing improved bacteriophage stability ([0026]).
Thus, the combined teachings of Frautschi, Evoy and Murthy render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed 4/22/2026 regarding the 103 rejections based on the combination of Wang and Hossainy are moot in view of the withdrawn rejections discussed above.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
Casey S. Hagopian
Examiner, Art Unit 1617
/CARLOS A AZPURU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617