363
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 07/22/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claims 1,9-11, 13, 17, and 20 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103:
Applicant argument in the Remarks filed on 07/22/2025 have been considered and are moot as new prior arts are found and a new ground of rejections has been set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3-14-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by James R. Parkinson (US 20040050178 A1, hereinafter Parkinson”178).
Regarding claim 1, Parkinson”178 teaches,
A system for measuring twist on a shaft of a rotating drive system, the system (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, system 400) comprising:
a first set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, 410 reference teeth) circumferentially that are distributed around the shaft at a first axial location and configured to rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0067] Reference teeth 410 and measurement teeth 408 are attached to the inside of the flanges 402,404 and extend over the hollow tube 406;
a second set of targets circumferentially that are distributed around the shaft
at a second axial location and configured to rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0067] measurement teeth 408),
wherein the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and
interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements)
a sensor assembly comprising two or more sensors (Parkinson”178, Figure 10-11, 412, 416) that are positioned within a single axial plane that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft, such that the two or more sensors are coplanar with each other, wherein the two or more sensors are mounted around the shaft ((Parkinson”178, Figure 10-11, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.)
and configured to detect, at a sensor location that is between the first axial location and the second axial location, (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, sensor 412, Figure 11, sensor 416) where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements) the first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates (Parkinson”178, [0002] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”); and
a sensor processor (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, controller 302) configured for:
receiving an electrical waveform from the sensor assembly ((Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0076] “FIG. 14 shows the processing system 300 of the monitoring apparatus 10, 100, 200, 400, 500 from FIGS. lA, 6, 8 to 13. A sensor interface 304 acts as an interface between the processing system 300 and the sensors 16,214,
216,412,512,514 to receive signals therefrom”;
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a twist measurement
of twist motion between the first axial location and the second axial location
on the shaft (Parkinson”178, (Parkinson”178, [0002] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”); and
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1A-1D, [0041], The changes in shaft axial alignment are realized in phase differences between signals generated from detection of the alignment teeth 30 and signals generated from detection of the reference teeth 26. Consequently, summation or differencing of the phases of signals from sensors A2 and A4 shown in FIG. 1D with respect to the reference signal B (or referenced to signal B) provides an indication of axial location and axial alignment, respectively” NOTE: axial alignment measurement is interpreted as “second measurement” of shaft motion).
Regarding claim 3, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein a subset of the first set of targets or a subset of the second set of targets is slanted (teeth 30) in an axial direction and determining the second measurement comprises determining axial motion of the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 2, [0027] The first alignment assembly 28 has a first alignment wheel 54 positioned over the coupling 38. The first alignment wheel 54 contains parallel first alignment teeth 30 on the surface thereof oriented at an angle to the axis of rotation 52. [0029] The first alignment wheel 54 is positioned such that its center and the center of the first alignment teeth 30 are in a plane perpendicular to the axis of rotation 52 and corresponds with the center of the coupling 38 and a first axis of coupling deflection 40. The position of the center of the first alignment teeth 30 and therefore the first alignment wheel 54 is used in determining axial location of the shaft 36 along the axis of rotation 52”).
Regarding claim 4, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein: the sensor processor (Controller, 302, Fig. 14)) is configured for: determining a timing of a passage of each target of the first and second sets of targets; and determining the twist measurement based on the timings (Parkinson”178, [0040] Torque can be assessed by examining the periodic nature of signal A As torque varies, the relationship of time at which a measurement tooth is detected to the overall period time of detection from tooth to tooth also changes. Determination of this timing relationship provides an indication of torque transmitted through the shaft 36”); and
determining the twist measurement comprises determining a ratio between:
a first timing between adjacent targets of the first and second sets of targets; and a second timing between adjacent targets of the first set of targets, the second set of targets, or both the first and second sets of targets. (Parkinson”178, Figure 5, [0040], For example, if the duration of each peak is not the same as the duration of each valley then this indicates unequal spacing of the teeth 22,26 and therefor torque on the shaft 36. [0078] The torque interpretation mechanism 310 assesses the relationship of time during which a tooth is detected to the period of one full cycle of tooth detection and space between teeth. The duration of each "high" relative to the period of the signal is related to the rotational deflection of the shaft 36,218 and therefore is representative of the torque on the shaft 36,218. The torque interpretation mechanism 310 provides an indication to the controller 302 of the amount of torque detected from the torque signal”).
Regarding claim 5, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 4,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the twist measurement comprises averaging twist motion using the ratio over an integer number of shaft rotations. (Parkinson”178, figure 14, [0078] “The torque interpretation mechanism 310 assesses the relationship of time during which a tooth is detected to the period of one full cycle of tooth detection and space between teeth”. NOTE: measurement is done based on a full cycle time period, or an integer number of full cycle/ rotation of the shaft).
Regarding claim 6, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the sensor processor (Figure 14, controller 302) is configured for using the second measurement of shaft motion to improve an accuracy of the twist measurement. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, 314 alignment derivation mechanism, [0083], vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 derives vertical axial alignment information from signals obtained from vertical sensors 16,214,216,412,512,514 while a horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 derives horizontal axial alignment information from signals obtained from horizontal sensors 16,214,216,412,512,514. Both the vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 and the horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 determine a difference between the reference signal and the signals from their respective sensors. The vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 and the horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 measure the difference between the signals from diametrically opposed sensors that have been differentiated with the reference signal to form the signal indicating the
alignment for that plane”. [0077] The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts”)
Regarding claim 7, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the second measurement of shaft motion comprises determining a measurement of radial motion of the shaft based on the electrical waveform from the sensor assembly. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0077] “The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts”. Figure 14, [0083], “Both the vertical location derivation mechanism 322 and the horizontal location derivation mechanism 324 determine a difference between the reference signal and the signals from their respective sensors”).
Regarding claim 8, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the twist measurement comprises determining the twist measurement based on a radial motion of the shaft. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0077] The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts 36,218 being monitored by the monitoring apparatus 10,100, 200,400,500. The controller 302 supplies the torque signal to a torque interpretation mechanism 310 for analysis.”).
Regarding claim 9, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the two or more sensors are positioned at azimuth locations such that each sensor of the two or more sensors is configured to produce a respective electrical waveform from one or the other of the first and second set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 10-11, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.).
Regarding claim 10, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 9,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the twist measurement comprises determining a difference in timing target passages from the two or more sensors and substantially rejecting common mode noise. (Parkinson”178, [0040] Torque can be assessed by examining the periodic nature of signal A as torque varies, the relationship of time at which a measurement tooth is detected to the overall period time of detection from tooth to tooth also changes. Determination of this timing relationship provides an indication of torque transmitted through the shaft 36” [0034], whereas the difference of the two-phase delays provides an indication of the axial alignment of the coupling 38. Axial vibration is obtained from the summation of the phase delays over time);
Regarding claim 11, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 9,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein each sensor of the at two or more sensors is mounted uniquely over each of the first and second set of targets. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1A-1C, and Figure 10, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.)
Regarding claim 12, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the second measurement of shaft motion comprises determining a speed of shaft motion. (Parkinson”178, [0040], For example, if the duration of each peak is not the same as the duration of each valley then this indicates unequal spacing of the teeth 22,26 and therefor torque on the shaft 36. That is, if the time between sequential signal changes (or zero
crossings) is not the same then this indicates an uneven spacing of the teeth 22,26. Tooth passage detection frequency may also be used as an indicator for rotation speed of the shafts 36.
Regarding claim 13, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein: determining the second measurement comprises determining a difference in timing between the two or more sensors (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, 1D [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD”). And
determining the twist measurement comprises using the difference in timing between the two or more sensors to correct the twist measurement for axial and/or radial motion (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, 1D and Figure 14, [0044], “[0044] Vertical alignment, location and vibration for the shaft 36 can be determined in a manner similar to that used for horizontal alignment, location and vibration using a third
alignment sensor (A3) and a fourth alignment sensor (A4) that is offset in a manner similar to the second sensor (A2). [0045] Determination of axial alignment and location based on a difference or sum, respectively, of multiple
referenced signals enables discernment between axial movement
and changes in shaft, axial alignment.”)
Regarding claim 14, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches, wherein the sensor processor is configured for calculating a torque applied to the shaft using the twist measurement and a shaft torsional stiffness. (Parkinson”178, [0075] The various torque measurement systems 10, 100, 200, 400 that use torsional deflection as the basis for
measurement may also include a means for temperature detection (not shown) of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400. Young's Modulus varies with temperature, depending on the material and temperatures to which the torque assembly 18,
234, 400 is exposed. As the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 temperature increases, the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 rotationally deflects to a greater amount at a given torque load”).
Regarding claim 15, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the sensor processor is configured for redundantly calculating a torque applied to the shaft to meet a safety criticality threshold of accuracy. (Parkinson”178, [0001], “Monitoring of the rotatable shafts and couplings is performed to maintain a collinear relationship between the centerlines of coupled shafts and to maintain the torque transmitted through the shafts within predefined limits”. Figure 14, Steps308- 310. [0077]-[0082]-).
Regarding claim 16, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the sensor processor is configured for cross checking a calculated torque with the two or more sensors. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0077] The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts 36,218 being monitored by the monitoring apparatus 10,100, 200,400,500. The controller 302 supplies the torque signal to a torque interpretation mechanism 310 for analysis”. [0081] “The reference processing mechanism 308 adapts the torque signal according to known characteristics of the torque assembly 18,204,230,210 and the configuration of the other teeth 30,34,210. The period of the torque signal is adapted to have a period that conforms to the period of the signal(s) from the other teeth 30,34,310”).
Regarding claim 17, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein: the two or more sensors is three or more sensors; (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, 1D [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD”. ).
and the sensor processing unit is configured for using the three or more sensors to calculate an XY position of the shaft. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, Figure 14, method 300, 314, 116, 118, [0083],” A vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 derives vertical axial alignment information from signals obtained from vertical sensors 16,214,216,412,512,514 while a horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 derives horizontal axial alignment information from signals obtained from horizontal sensors 6,214,216,412,512,514. Both the vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 and the horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 determine a difference between the reference signal and the signals from their respective sensors”).
Regarding claim 18, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches comprising: at least one temperature sensor ((Parkinson”178, [0075], a temperature sensitive device, such as a resistance temperature device, infrared surface temperature sensor, or other device, is placed in the vicinity of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 to derive a compensation signal for processing of the signal obtained from the torque assembly 18, 234, 400)
wherein the signal processor is configured to use a temperature signal from the temperature sensor in determining the twist measurement, in determining a stiffness of the shaft, or both in determining the twist measurement and in determining the stiffness of the shaft. ((Parkinson”178, [0075], The various torque measurement systems 10, 100, 200, 400 that use torsional deflection as the basis for measurement may also include a means for temperature detection (not shown) of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400. Young's Modulus varies with temperature, depending on the material and temperatures to which the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 is exposed. As the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 temperature increases, the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 rotationally deflects to a greater amount at a given torque load. The opposite is true when the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 temperature decreases. Consequently, (…) The temperature sensor is housed to create a thermal tracking of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 and the temperature sensor over time”).
Regarding claim 20, Parkinson”178 teaches
A method for measuring twist on a shaft of a rotating drive systems (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, system 400), the method comprising:
providing a sensor assembly (Parkinson”178, Figure 10-11, 412, 416) comprising:
two or more sensors that are mounted around the shaft and detect first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates ((Parkinson”178, Figure 10-11, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.);
wherein the first set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, 410 reference teeth) is circumferentially distributed around the shaft at a first axial location and rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0067] Reference teeth 410 and measurement teeth 408 are attached to the inside of the flanges 402,404 and extend over the hollow tube 406) and
wherein the second set of targets is circumferentially distributed around the shaft at a second axial location and rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0067] measurement teeth 408),
; and
wherein the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements);
mounting the two or more sensors of the sensor assembly around the shaft at a sensor location that is between the first axial location and the second axial location, where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other rotating the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 1C-1D sensor 16; Figure 10-11, sensor [0067], “a sensor 412 positioned along the axis of deflection 416 and over the teeth 408,410
in close proximity thereto.”).
detecting, using the one or more sensors, the first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates (Parkinson”178, [0002], (“a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements and said third set of detectable elements, each of said plurality of sensors producing a signal in response to detection of detectable elements”);
receiving an electrical waveform from the sensor assembly (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0076] “FIG. 14 shows the processing system 300 of the monitoring apparatus 10, 100, 200, 400, 500 from FIGS. lA, 6, 8 to 13. A sensor interface 304 acts as an interface between the processing system 300 and the sensors 16,214,
216,412,512,514 to receive signals therefrom”);
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a twist measurement of twist motion between the first axial location and the second axial location on the shaft; (Parkinson”178, [0002] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”);
and
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion; (Parkinson”178, Figure 1A-1D, [0041], The changes in shaft axial alignment are realized in phase differences between signals generated from detection of the alignment teeth 30 and signals generated from detection of the reference teeth 26. Consequently, summation or differencing of the phases of signals from sensors A2 and A4 shown in FIG. 1D with respect to the reference signal B (or referenced to signal B) provides an indication of axial location and axial alignment, respectively” NOTE: axial alignment measurement is interpreted as “second measurement” of shaft motion).
wherein the two or more sensors are positioned at the sensor location within a single axial plane that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft, such that the two or more sensors are coplanar with each other. ((Parkinson”178, Figure 10-11, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.).
Regarding claim 21, Parkinson”178 teaches the method of claim 20,
Parkinson”178 further teaches, wherein the electrical waveform represents relative motion between targets of the first and second sets of targets that are immediately adjacent to each other at the sensor location. (Parkinson”178, [0033] “The sensors 16 are positioned in the second axis of coupling deflection 42 over the second alignment assembly 32, in the first axis of coupling deflection 44 over the first alignment assembly 28, and in the torque sensor plane 44 centered over the gap between the measurement wheel 20 and the reference wheel 24. At least one sensor 16 is positioned over the torque assembly 18 along the torque
sensor plane 44 in close enough proximity to detect the measurement teeth 22 and the reference teeth 26. The phase relationship of consecutive pulses in the signal produced by this sensor 16 from detection of the teeth 22,26 corresponds
to the torque transmitted through the torque assembly 18”)
where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements);
Regarding claim 22, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches, wherein the electrical waveform represents relative motion between targets of the first and second sets of targets that are immediately adjacent to each other at the sensor location. (Parkinson”178, [0033] “The sensors 16 are positioned in the second axis of coupling deflection 42 over the second alignment assembly 32, in the first axis of coupling deflection 44 over the first alignment assembly 28, and in the torque sensor plane 44 centered over the gap between the measurement wheel 20 and the reference wheel 24. At least one sensor 16 is positioned over the torque assembly 18 along the torque
sensor plane 44 in close enough proximity to detect the measurement teeth 22 and the reference teeth 26. The phase relationship of consecutive pulses in the signal produced by this sensor 16 from detection of the teeth 22,26 corresponds
to the torque transmitted through the torque assembly 18”)
where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC§ 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed
invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the
claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed
invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkinson”178 and in view of Kurt L. BORMAN. (US 2009/0312959 A1 hereinafter Borman, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 2, Parkinson”178 teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches and each sensor of the two or more sensors comprises a variable reluctance sensor. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1A, sensors 16, [0032], “the sensors 16 may be monopole variable reluctance sensors”).
Even though Parkinson”178 teaches that the teeth are made of magnetic materials,
Parkinson”178 is silent on wherein: each target of the first and second sets of targets comprises a ferrous target.
However, Borman teaches wherein: each target of the first and second sets of targets comprises a ferrous target (Borman, [0133] The system and method of the present invention is appropriate for use with sensor types designed to detect the
passage past the sensor of ferrous material, magnetic poles, optical targets, reflective targets, or any other target devices which together with their appropriate sensors produce an electrical signal that indicates the passage of the targets by the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parkinson”178’s torque measuring system to incorporate Barman's target element of ferrous material as with the predicted results of sensing target passages by the VR sensors and determine torque for rotating shaft between the two locations of target. (Borman, [0133]). Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would attain the same result of sensing target position using a well-known technique of ferrous material target sensing applied within the art (KSR).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkinson”173 and in view of Walter L. Meacham (US 2010/0088003 A1, hereinafter Meacham).
Regarding claim 19, Perkinson”173 teaches the system of claim 1,
Perkinson”173 is silent on wherein the sensor processor
However, Meacham teaches wherein the sensor processor(Meacham [0003], the engine controller receives signals from various sensors within the engine, one typical sensor that is used is a torque sensor, which senses the output torque of the gas turbine engine and supplies a torque sensor signal to the engine controller., [0017], Figure 1, the engine control 104 may be any one of numerous types of engine controllers such as, for example, a FADEC (Full Authority Digital Engine Controller) or an EEC (Electronic Engine Controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Perkinson”178 torque measuring system processing unit to incorporate Meacham's engine controller as a processing unit and measure the output torque of the shaft rotation of an engine turbine as taught by Meacham. (Meacham, [0022]). It is well-known in the art that an engine controller is used to measure the rotational speed and torque of a shaft. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would obtain the same shaft torque value using a well-known technique of using engine controller as a processing unit (KSR).
Conclusions
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Parkinson et al. (US 5,508,609) recites “Axial alignment detection apparatus for a shaft rotatable about an axis includes alignment indicating means rotatable
by the shaft and comprising a plurality of detectable elements; and detector means for detecting the elements and alignment of the shaft as a function of the elements; the
elements comprising at least one reference element and at least one alignment dependent element, wherein the reference and alignment elements have a detectable alignment dependent relationship to each other” (abstract)
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 November 7, 2025