DETAILED ACTIONS
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments/arguments submitted by the Applicant(s) on 02/12/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-7and 9-23 are pending.
Claims 1, 7, and 20 are amended.
Claim 8 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant's arguments, see remarks page 10-12, filed 02/12/2026.
with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 has been considered, and are moot because the amendment has necessitated a new ground of rejections. The new rejections are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9 -18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over James R. Parkinson (US 20040050178 A1, hereinafter Parkinson”178, previously cited ) and in view of Steve C. Southward (US 2005/0044968 A1, hereinafter Southward, IDS ref)
Regarding claim 1, Parkinson”178 teaches,
A system for measuring twist on a shaft of a rotating drive system, the system (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, system 100) comprising:
a first set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, 110 reference teeth) circumferentially that are distributed around the shaft at a first axial location and configured to rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0049] Reference teeth 110 and measurement teeth 108, “The first alignment assembly 106 has a first alignment wheel 114 on the surface of which are where sets of teeth 108,110,112 along the axis of rotation 52”);
a second set of targets circumferentially that are distributed around the shaft
at a second axial location and configured to rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0049] measurement teeth 108),
wherein the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and
interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements)
a sensor assembly comprising two or more sensors (Parkinson”178, Figure sensors 16) that are positioned within a single axial plane that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft, such that the two or more sensors are coplanar with each other, wherein the two or more sensors are mounted around the shaft ((Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.)
and configured to detect, at a sensor location that is between the first axial location and the second axial location, (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, sensor16,) where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002],” a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements”) the first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates (Parkinson”178, [0002] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”[0049] “sets of teeth 108,110,112 along the axis of rotation 52”); and
a sensor processor (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, controller 302) configured for:
receiving an electrical waveform from the sensor assembly ((Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0076] “FIG. 14 shows the processing system 300 of the monitoring apparatus 10, 100, 200, 400, 500 from FIGS. lA, 6, 8 to 13. A sensor interface 304 acts as an interface between the processing system 300 and the sensors 16,214,
216,412,512,514 to receive signals therefrom”;
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a twist measurement
of twist motion between the first axial location and the second axial location
on the shaft (Parkinson”178, (Parkinson”178, [0002] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”); and
Parkinson”178 is silent on determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion. a second measurement of shaft motion, the second measurement of shaft motion being a radial motion of the shaft and/or a speed of the shaft; and
using the second measurement of shaft motion to correct or calibrate the twist measurement by accounting for the radial motion of the shaft and/or the speed of the shaft.
However, Southward teaches determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion. a second measurement of shaft motion, the second measurement of shaft motion being a radial motion of the shaft and/or a speed of the shaft (Southward, equation 1, speed of the shaft is measured using the equation 1, see [0047]” The invention preferably utilizes speed measurement with both the twist and alignment measurements utilizing instantaneous knowledge of the shaft speed 44. Shaft speed can be determined from any individual tachometer sensor T by measuring the time between two consecutive rising or falling) edges of the target's sensible lines” then see equation 1); and
using the second measurement of shaft motion to correct or calibrate the twist measurement by accounting for the radial motion of the shaft and/or the speed of the shaft. (Southward, equations 1-12, [0059] “Preferably the invention provides a twist measurement with twist measured as the angular displacement of Disk B relative to Disk A around the z-axis”. [0061] “any one of the measurements in (7) along with the instantaneous rotational speed of the shaft from (1) will provide a simple and redundant measurement of twist”. [0067] In addition, pure twist of Disk B relative to Disk A will induce a uniform angular offset in all of the sensors
on Disk B relative to the corresponding sensors on Disk A This uniform offset associated with twist is ultimately the quantity we want to measure. Using the results from equations (8) and (10) or (11), we can relate the apparent twist
angle to the actual twist angle by equation 12” also see [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parkinson”178’s shaft twist measurement method for predicting actual twist to incorporate a shaft speed measurement and compensate for misalignment as taught by Southward and obtain an actual twist measurement (Southward, [0047]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known actual twist measurement with the consideration of rising fall timing and the speed of the shaft to compensate the misalignment, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate twist value for the rotating shaft, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein a subset of the first set of targets or a subset of the second set of targets is slanted in an axial direction and determining the second measurement comprises determining axial motion of the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0048] FIG. 6 shows a monitoring apparatus 100 that monitors characteristics such as torque, axial alignment, axial location and vibration in coupled rotatable shafts in accordance , with a second embodiment of the present invention. [0049] “The first alignment assembly 106 has a first alignment wheel 114 on the surface of which are three sets of teeth 108,110,112 along the axis of rotation 52. A first set of teeth, first alignment teeth 108 (target teeth), are positioned parallel to the axis of rotation 52. A second set of teeth, first reference teeth 110, are positioned next to the first alignment teeth 108 parallel to the axis of rotation 52. The first reference teeth 110 are situated at an offset from the first alignment teeth 108 such that sensors 16 for each set of teeth 108, 110 consecutive along the axis of rotation 52 would not simultaneously sense their respective teeth 108,110. A third set of teeth, axial teeth 112 are situated over the coupling at an offset angle from the axis of rotation 52 and the first alignment and reference teeth 108,110. The center of the axial teeth 112 along the axis of rotation 52 is situated to align with the center of the alignment teeth 108” NOTE: the offset angle teeth 112 reads on the slanted target. Set 108/110 could be first set and 112 could be considered as second set of targets interleaved. Examiner interpreted that the “slanted subset set” as either a first or a second target set all slanted. As shown in figure 11 and 15. Otherwise there is no drawing showing a first target or second target set with a combination of subset slanted and non-slanted target.).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein: the sensor processor (Controller, 302, Fig. 14)) is configured for: determining a timing of a passage of each target of the first and second sets of targets; and determining the twist measurement based on the timings (Parkinson”178, [0040] Torque can be assessed by examining the periodic nature of signal A As torque varies, the relationship of time at which a measurement tooth is detected to the overall period time of detection from tooth to tooth also changes. Determination of this timing relationship provides an indication of torque transmitted through the shaft 36”); and
determining the twist measurement comprises determining a ratio between:
a first timing between adjacent targets of the first and second sets of targets; and a second timing between adjacent targets of the first set of targets, the second set of targets, or both the first and second sets of targets. (Parkinson”178, Figure 5, [0040], For example, if the duration of each peak is not the same as the duration of each valley then this indicates unequal spacing of the teeth 22,26 and therefor torque on the shaft 36. [0078] The torque interpretation mechanism 310 assesses the relationship of time during which a tooth is detected to the period of one full cycle of tooth detection and space between teeth. The duration of each "high" relative to the period of the signal is related to the rotational deflection of the shaft 36,218 and therefore is representative of the torque on the shaft 36,218. The torque interpretation mechanism 310 provides an indication to the controller 302 of the amount of torque detected from the torque signal”).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 4,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the twist measurement comprises averaging twist motion using the ratio over an integer number of shaft rotations. (Parkinson”178, figure 14, [0078] “The torque interpretation mechanism 310 assesses the relationship of time during which a tooth is detected to the period of one full cycle of tooth detection and space between teeth”. NOTE: measurement is done based on a full cycle time period, or an integer number of full cycle/ rotation of the shaft).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the sensor processor (Figure 14, controller 302) is configured for using the second measurement of shaft motion to improve an accuracy of the twist measurement. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, 314 alignment derivation mechanism, [0083], vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 derives vertical axial alignment information from signals obtained from vertical sensors 16,214,216,412,512,514 while a horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 derives horizontal axial alignment information from signals obtained from horizontal sensors 16,214,216,412,512,514. Both the vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 and the horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 determine a difference between the reference signal and the signals from their respective sensors. The vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 and the horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 measure the difference between the signals from diametrically opposed sensors that have been differentiated with the reference signal to form the signal indicating the
alignment for that plane”. [0077] The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts”)
Regarding claim 8, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the twist measurement comprises determining the twist measurement based on a radial motion of the shaft. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0077] The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts 36,218 being monitored by the monitoring apparatus 10,100, 200,400,500. The controller 302 supplies the torque signal to a torque interpretation mechanism 310 for analysis.”).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the two or more sensors are positioned at azimuth locations such that each sensor of the two or more sensors is configured to produce a respective electrical waveform from one or the other of the first and second set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 9,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein determining the twist measurement comprises determining a difference in timing target passages from the two or more sensors and substantially rejecting common mode noise. (Parkinson”178, [0040] Torque can be assessed by examining the periodic nature of signal A as torque varies, the relationship of time at which a measurement tooth is detected to the overall period time of detection from tooth to tooth also changes. Determination of this timing relationship provides an indication of torque transmitted through the shaft 36” [0034], whereas the difference of the two-phase delays provides an indication of the axial alignment of the coupling 38. Axial vibration is obtained from the summation of the phase delays over time);
Regarding claim 11, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 9,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein each sensor of the at two or more sensors is mounted uniquely over each of the first and second set of targets. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1A-1C, and Figure 6, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.)
Regarding claim 13, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein: determining the second measurement comprises determining a difference in timing between the two or more sensors (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, 1D [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD”). And
determining the twist measurement comprises using the difference in timing between the two or more sensors to correct the twist measurement for axial and/or radial motion (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, 1D and Figure 14, [0044], “[0044] Vertical alignment, location and vibration for the shaft 36 can be determined in a manner similar to that used for horizontal alignment, location and vibration using a third
alignment sensor (A3) and a fourth alignment sensor (A4) that is offset in a manner similar to the second sensor (A2). [0045] Determination of axial alignment and location based on a difference or sum, respectively, of multiple
referenced signals enables discernment between axial movement
and changes in shaft, axial alignment.”)
Regarding claim 14, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches, wherein the sensor processor is configured for calculating a torque applied to the shaft using the twist measurement and a shaft torsional stiffness. (Parkinson”178, [0075] The various torque measurement systems 10, 100, 200, 400 that use torsional deflection as the basis for
measurement may also include a means for temperature detection (not shown) of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400. Young's Modulus varies with temperature, depending on the material and temperatures to which the torque assembly 18,
234, 400 is exposed. As the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 temperature increases, the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 rotationally deflects to a greater amount at a given torque load”).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the sensor processor is configured for redundantly calculating a torque applied to the shaft to meet a safety criticality threshold of accuracy. (Parkinson”178, [0001], “Monitoring of the rotatable shafts and couplings is performed to maintain a collinear relationship between the centerlines of coupled shafts and to maintain the torque transmitted through the shafts within predefined limits”. Figure 14, Steps308- 310. [0077]-[0082]-).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein the sensor processor is configured for cross checking a calculated torque with the two or more sensors. (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0077] The controller 302 manages the processing of the received signals to provide axial alignment, axial location, axial vibration and torque information for the rotating shafts 36,218 being monitored by the monitoring apparatus 10,100, 200,400,500. The controller 302 supplies the torque signal to a torque interpretation mechanism 310 for analysis”. [0081] “The reference processing mechanism 308 adapts the torque signal according to known characteristics of the torque assembly 18,204,230,210 and the configuration of the other teeth 30,34,210. The period of the torque signal is adapted to have a period that conforms to the period of the signal(s) from the other teeth 30,34,310”).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches wherein: the two or more sensors is three or more sensors; (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, Figure 6,1D [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD”. ).
and the sensor processing unit is configured for using the three or more sensors to calculate an XY position of the shaft. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1, Figure 14, method 300, 314, 116, 118, [0083],” A vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 derives vertical axial alignment information from signals obtained from vertical sensors 16,214,216,412,512,514 while a horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 derives horizontal axial alignment information from signals obtained from horizontal sensors 6,214,216,412,512,514. Both the vertical alignment derivation mechanism 316 and the horizontal alignment derivation mechanism 318 determine a difference between the reference signal and the signals from their respective sensors”).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches comprising: at least one temperature sensor ((Parkinson”178, [0075], a temperature sensitive device, such as a resistance temperature device, infrared surface temperature sensor, or other device, is placed in the vicinity of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 to derive a compensation signal for processing of the signal obtained from the torque assembly 18, 234, 400)
wherein the signal processor is configured to use a temperature signal from the temperature sensor in determining the twist measurement, in determining a stiffness of the shaft, or both in determining the twist measurement and in determining the stiffness of the shaft. ((Parkinson”178, [0075], The various torque measurement systems 10, 100, 200, 400 that use torsional deflection as the basis for measurement may also include a means for temperature detection (not shown) of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400. Young's Modulus varies with temperature, depending on the material and temperatures to which the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 is exposed. As the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 temperature increases, the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 rotationally deflects to a greater amount at a given torque load. The opposite is true when the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 temperature decreases. Consequently, (…) The temperature sensor is housed to create a thermal tracking of the torque assembly 18, 234, 400 and the temperature sensor over time”).
Regarding claim 20, Parkinson”178 teaches
A method for measuring twist on a shaft of a rotating drive systems (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, system 100) the method comprising:
providing a sensor assembly (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, sensors 16) comprising:
two or more sensors that are mounted around the shaft and detect first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates ((Parkinson”178, Figure 6, sensors 16, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.);
wherein the first set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, 110 reference teeth) is circumferentially distributed around the shaft at a first axial location and rotate with the shaft Parkinson”178, [0002]” In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation” [0049] “sets of teeth 108,110,112 along the axis of rotation 52”); and
wherein the second set of targets is circumferentially distributed around the shaft at a second axial location and rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0049] measurement teeth 108); and
wherein the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements);
mounting the two or more sensors of the sensor assembly around the shaft at a sensor location that is between the first axial location and the second axial location Parkinson”178, Figure 1C-1D sensor 16; Figure 6), where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other rotating the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 1C-1D sensor 16; Figure 6, [0002], “a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements”).
detecting, using the one or more sensors, the first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates (Parkinson”178, [0002], (“a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements and said third set of detectable elements, each of said plurality of sensors producing a signal in response to detection of detectable elements”);
receiving an electrical waveform from the sensor assembly (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0076] “FIG. 14 shows the processing system 300 of the monitoring apparatus 10, 100, 200, 400, 500 from FIGS. lA, 6, 8 to 13. A sensor interface 304 acts as an interface between the processing system 300 and the sensors 16,214,
216,412,512,514 to receive signals therefrom”);
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a twist measurement of twist motion between the first axial location and the second axial location on the shaft; (Parkinson”178, [0002] In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”);
and
wherein the two or more sensors are positioned at the sensor location within a single axial plane that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft, such that the two or more sensors are coplanar with each other. ((Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.).
Parkinson”178 is silent on determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion. a second measurement of shaft motion, the second measurement of shaft motion being a radial motion of the shaft and/or a speed of the shaft; and
using the second measurement of shaft motion to correct or calibrate the twist measurement by accounting for the radial motion of the shaft and/or the speed of the shaft.
However, Southward teaches determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion. a second measurement of shaft motion, the second measurement of shaft motion being a radial motion of the shaft and/or a speed of the shaft (Southward, equation 1, speed of the shaft is measured using the equation 1, see [0047]” The invention preferably utilizes speed measurement with both the twist and alignment measurements utilizing instantaneous knowledge of the shaft speed 44. Shaft speed can be determined from any individual tachometer sensor T by measuring the time between two consecutive rising or falling) edges of the target's sensible lines” then see equation 1); and
using the second measurement of shaft motion to correct or calibrate the twist measurement by accounting for the radial motion of the shaft and/or the speed of the shaft. (Southward, equations 1-12, [0059] “Preferably the invention provides a twist measurement with twist measured as the angular displacement of Disk B relative to Disk A around the z-axis”. [0061] “any one of the measurements in (7) along with the instantaneous rotational speed of the shaft from (1) will provide a simple and redundant measurement of twist”. [0067] In addition, pure twist of Disk B relative to Disk A will induce a uniform angular offset in all of the sensors
on Disk B relative to the corresponding sensors on Disk A This uniform offset associated with twist is ultimately the quantity we want to measure. Using the results from equations (8) and (10) or (11), we can relate the apparent twist
angle to the actual twist angle by equation 12” also see [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parkinson”178’s shaft twist measurement method for predicting actual twist to incorporate a shaft speed measurement and compensate for misalignment as taught by Southward and obtain an actual twist measurement (Southward, [0047]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known actual twist measurement with the consideration of rising fall timing and the speed of the shaft to compensate the misalignment, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate twist value for the rotating shaft, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 21, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the method of claim 20,
Parkinson”178 further teaches, wherein the electrical waveform represents relative motion between targets of the first and second sets of targets that are immediately adjacent to each other at the sensor location. (Parkinson”178, [0033] “The sensors 16 are positioned in the second axis of coupling deflection 42 over the second alignment assembly 32, in the first axis of coupling deflection 44 over the first alignment assembly 28, and in the torque sensor plane 44 centered over the gap between the measurement wheel 20 and the reference wheel 24. At least one sensor 16 is positioned over the torque assembly 18 along the torque
sensor plane 44 in close enough proximity to detect the measurement teeth 22 and the reference teeth 26. The phase relationship of consecutive pulses in the signal produced by this sensor 16 from detection of the teeth 22,26 corresponds
to the torque transmitted through the torque assembly 18”)
where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], “apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements”).
Regarding claim 22, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches, wherein the electrical waveform represents relative motion between targets of the first and second sets of targets that are immediately adjacent to each other at the sensor location. (Parkinson”178, [0033] “The sensors 16 are positioned in the second axis of coupling deflection 42 over the second alignment assembly 32, in the first axis of coupling deflection 44 over the first alignment assembly 28, and in the torque sensor plane 44 centered over the gap between the measurement wheel 20 and the reference wheel 24. At least one sensor 16 is positioned over the torque assembly 18 along the torque
sensor plane 44 in close enough proximity to detect the measurement teeth 22 and the reference teeth 26. The phase relationship of consecutive pulses in the signal produced by this sensor 16 from detection of the teeth 22,26 corresponds
to the torque transmitted through the torque assembly 18”)
where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements);
Regarding claim 23, Parkinson”178 teaches,
A system for measuring twist on a shaft of a rotating drive system, the system (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, system 100) comprising:
a first set of targets (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, 110 reference teeth) circumferentially that are distributed around the shaft at a first axial location and configured to rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0049] Reference teeth 110 and measurement teeth 108, “The first alignment assembly 106 has a first alignment wheel 114 on the surface of which are where sets of teeth 108,110,112 along the axis of rotation 52”);
a second set of targets circumferentially that are distributed around the shaft
at a second axial location and configured to rotate with the shaft (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0049] measurement teeth 108),
wherein the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other (Parkinson”178, Figure 10, [0002], apparatus comprising: a first set of detectable elements operably connected to the shaft and positioned parallel to the axis of rotation; a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and
interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements)
a sensor assembly comprising two or more sensors (Parkinson”178, Figure sensors 16) that are positioned within a single axial plane that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the shaft, such that the two or more sensors are coplanar with each other, wherein the two or more sensors are mounted around the shaft and configured to detect, at a sensor location that is between the first axial location and the second axial location ((Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002], “a plurality of sensors positioned to detect passage of said first set of detectable elements, said second set of detectable elements”. Figure 1C-1D, [0034], “the sensors 16 may be positioned at equal circumferential distances, as in FIG. lC showing four sensors 16, or the sensors 16 may be offset to create timing differences, as in FIG. lD, also showing four sensors 16. Sensors Al, A2, A3 and A4 in FIG. 1D are sensors 16 that have been individually designated Al-A4 for description purposes”.)
, where the first and second sets of targets are interleaved with each other, the first and second sets of targets as the shaft rotates (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0002],” a second set of detectable elements parallel to the axis of rotation and interlaced in a sensing plane with said first set of detectable elements”); and
a sensor processor (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, controller 302) configured for:
receiving an electrical waveform from the sensor assembly (Parkinson”178, Figure 14, [0076] “FIG. 14 shows the processing system 300 of the monitoring apparatus 10, 100, 200, 400, 500 from FIGS. lA, 6, 8 to 13. A sensor interface 304 acts as an interface between the processing system 300 and the sensors 16,214,
216,412,512,514 to receive signals therefrom”);
determining, based on the electrical waveform, a twist measurement of twist motion between the first axial location and the second axial location on the shaft (Parkinson”178, [0002] “In accordance with one aspect of the present invention there is provided an apparatus for obtaining an indication of torque, axial alignment and axial location for a shaft rotating about an axis of rotation”); and
wherein a subset of the first set of targets or a subset of the second set of targets is slanted in an axial direction and determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion; (Parkinson”178, Figure 6, [0048] FIG. 6 shows a monitoring apparatus 100 that monitors characteristics such as torque, axial alignment, axial location and vibration in coupled rotatable shafts in accordance ,with a second embodiment of the present invention. [0049] “The first alignment assembly 106 has a first alignment wheel 114 on the surface of which are three sets of teeth 108,110,112 along the axis of rotation 52. A first set of teeth, first alignment teeth 108 (target teeth), are positioned parallel to the axis of rotation 52. A second set of teeth, first reference teeth 110, are positioned next to the first alignment teeth 108 parallel to the axis of rotation 52. The first reference teeth 110 are situated at an offset from the first alignment teeth 108 such that sensors 16 for each set of teeth 108, 110 consecutive along the axis of rotation 52 would not simultaneously sense their respective teeth 108,110. A third set of teeth, axial teeth 112 are situated over the coupling at an offset angle from the axis of rotation 52 and the first alignment and reference teeth 108,110. The center of the axial teeth 112 along the axis of rotation 52 is situated to align with the center of the alignment teeth 108” NOTE: the offset angle teeth 112 reads on the slanted target. Set 108/110 could be first set and 112 could be considered as second set of targets interleaved. Examiner interpreted that the “slanted subset set” as either a first or a second target set all slanted. As shown in figure 11 and 15. Otherwise there is no drawing showing a first target or second target set with a combination of subset slanted and non-slanted target.).
Parkinson”178 is silent on determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion.
However, Southward teaches determining, based on the electrical waveform, a second measurement of shaft motion (Southward, equation 1, speed of the shaft is measured using the equation 1, see [0047]” The invention preferably utilizes speed measurement with both the twist and alignment measurements utilizing instantaneous knowledge of the shaft speed 44. Shaft speed can be determined from any individual tachometer sensor T by measuring the time between two consecutive rising or falling) edges of the target's sensible lines” then see equation 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parkinson”178’s shaft twist measurement method for predicting actual twist to incorporate a shaft speed measurement and compensate for misalignment as taught by Southward and obtain an actual twist measurement (Southward, [0047]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known actual twist measurement with the consideration of rising fall timing and the speed of the shaft to compensate the misalignment, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate twist value for the rotating shaft, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 23,
Parkinson”178 is silent on Wherein determining the second measurement of shaft motion comprises determining a measurement of a radial motion of the shaft based on the electrical waveform from the sensor assembly; and/or determining the twist measurement comprises determining the twist measurement based on the radial motion of the shaft.
However, Southward teaches Wherein determining the second measurement of shaft motion comprises determining a measurement of a radial motion of the shaft based on the electrical waveform from the sensor assembly (Southward, equation 1, speed of the shaft is measured using the equation 1, see [0047] “The invention preferably utilizes speed measurement with both the twist and alignment measurements utilizing instantaneous knowledge of the shaft speed 44. Shaft speed can be determined from any individual tachometer sensor T by measuring the time between two consecutive rising or falling) edges of the target's sensible lines” then see equation 1”. equations 1-12, [0059] “Preferably the invention provides a twist measurement with twist measured as the angular displacement of Disk B relative to Disk A around the z-axis”. [0061] “any one of the measurements in (7) along with the instantaneous rotational speed of the shaft from (1) will provide a simple and redundant measurement of twist”. [0067] In addition, pure twist of Disk B relative to Disk A will induce a uniform angular offset in all of the sensors on Disk B relative to the corresponding sensors on Disk A This uniform offset associated with twist is ultimately the quantity we want to measure. Using the results from equations (8) and (10) or (11), we can relate the apparent twist angle to the actual twist angle by equation 12” also see [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parkinson”178’s shaft twist measurement method for predicting actual twist to incorporate a shaft speed measurement and compensate for misalignment as taught by Southward and obtain an actual twist measurement (Southward, [0047]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known actual twist measurement with the consideration of rising fall timing and the speed of the shaft to compensate the misalignment, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate twist value for the rotating shaft, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 23,
Parkinson”178 is silent on determining the second measurement of shaft motion comprises determining a speed of shaft motion.
However, Southward teaches determining the second measurement of shaft motion comprises determining a speed of shaft motion (Southward, equation 1, speed of the shaft is measured using the equation 1, see [0047]” The invention preferably utilizes speed measurement with both the twist and alignment measurements utilizing instantaneous knowledge of the shaft speed 44. Shaft speed can be determined from any individual tachometer sensor T by measuring the time between two consecutive rising or falling) edges of the target's sensible lines” then see equation 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Parkinson”178’s shaft twist measurement method for predicting actual twist to incorporate a shaft speed measurement and compensate for misalignment as taught by Southward and obtain an actual twist measurement (Southward, [0047]-[0073]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to include the well-known actual twist measurement with the consideration of rising fall timing and the speed of the shaft to compensate the misalignment, in order to yield the predicted results of generating accurate twist value for the rotating shaft, yet with higher accuracy (KSR).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parkinson”178 and in view of Southward as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Kurt L. BORMAN. (US 2009/0312959 A1 hereinafter Borman, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Parkinson”178 further teaches and each sensor of the two or more sensors comprises a variable reluctance sensor. (Parkinson”178, Figure 1A, sensors 16, [0032], “the sensors 16 may be monopole variable reluctance sensors”).
Even though Parkinson”178 teaches that the teeth are made of magnetic materials,
Parkinson”178 is silent on wherein: each target of the first and second sets of targets comprises a ferrous target.
However, Borman teaches wherein: each target of the first and second sets of targets comprises a ferrous target (Borman, [0133] The system and method of the present invention is appropriate for use with sensor types designed to detect the
passage past the sensor of ferrous material, magnetic poles, optical targets, reflective targets, or any other target devices which together with their appropriate sensors produce an electrical signal that indicates the passage of the targets by the sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Parkinson”178’s torque measuring system to incorporate Barman's target element of ferrous material as with the predicted results of sensing target passages by the VR sensors and determine torque for rotating shaft between the two locations of target. (Borman, [0133]). Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would attain the same result of sensing target position using a well-known technique of ferrous material target sensing applied within the art (KSR).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkinson”173 and in view of Southward as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Walter L. Meacham (US 2010/0088003 A1, hereinafter Meacham, previously cited).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Parkinson”178 and Southward teaches the system of claim 1,
Perkinson”173 is silent on wherein the sensor processor
However, Meacham teaches wherein the sensor processor(Meacham [0003], the engine controller receives signals from various sensors within the engine, one typical sensor that is used is a torque sensor, which senses the output torque of the gas turbine engine and supplies a torque sensor signal to the engine controller., [0017], Figure 1, the engine control 104 may be any one of numerous types of engine controllers such as, for example, a FADEC (Full Authority Digital Engine Controller) or an EEC (Electronic Engine Controller).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Perkinson”178 torque measuring system processing unit to incorporate Meacham's engine controller as a processing unit and measure the output torque of the shaft rotation of an engine turbine as taught by Meacham. (Meacham, [0022]). It is well-known in the art that an engine controller is used to measure the rotational speed and torque of a shaft. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would obtain the same shaft torque value using a well-known technique of using engine controller as a processing unit (KSR).
Conclusion
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MATSUDA et al. (US 2017 /0227111 A1) recites “A rotation transmission device having a high torque measurement resolution is provided. The rotation transmission device is provided with: a rotary-shaft unit (6) having a first
and second rotary shaft (13, 14) combined so as to be coaxial and such that the end sections thereof can rotate relative to each other and a torsion bar (15) that is provided on the inner-diameter side of the first and second rotary shafts so as
to be coaxial therewith, has one end section connected to the first rotary shaft (13), and has the other end section connected to the second rotary shaft (14); a first gear (7) fastened to the outer peripheral surface of the first rotary shaft (13); a second gear (8) fastened to the outer peripheral surface of the second rotary shaft (14); a coupling shaft (9) provided on the inner-diameter side of the torsion bar (15) so as to be coaxial therewith, having one end section connected to one rotary shaft (13), and having the other end section protruding from an end of the torsion bar (15) in the axial direction; a first encoder disposed and fixed on the
other end of the coupling shaft (9) so as to be coaxial with the first rotary shaft (13) and having a first detected section (39); a second encoder fastened on the other end of the second rotary shaft (14) so as to be close to the first encoder
and having a second detected section (40); and a sensor unit having at least one sensor (42a, 42b) that faces the first and second detected sections (39, 40)” (Abstract).
KOJI et al (JP 2007-10398 A) recites “This is to simultaneously detect the torque and rotational speed of the shaft of the rotating body in a simple manner and in a non-contact state. [Solution] When detecting the torque of the rotating body, it is often necessary to obtain the rotational speed at that time together with the torque. In addition, since the product of torque and rotational speed becomes power, the value of rotational speed is also required when calculating power. The rotational speed can be detected by connecting an incremental encoder or the like to the shaft. However, since the apparatus becomes large, it is desirable that the torque detection unit incorporate a rotational speed detection function if possible. A change in the center of gravity position of the light spot that has passed through the intersection of the slit row fixed on the input shaft side of the rotating shaft and the slit row fixed on the output shaft side is detected using a two-dimensional area sensor, and the radial direction The main feature is that the torque component and the rotational speed component in the circumferential direction are separated and extracted” (Abstract)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
supervisor, EMAN ALKAFAWI can be reached on (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DILARA SULTANA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
05/13/2026
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 5/20/2026