DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
As of the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/9/2026, claims 1-19 were pending and claims 8-17 and 19 were withdrawn for being drawn to nonelected invention.
In Applicant's Response filed on 8/11/2026, claims 1, 4-6, and 8-14 were amended and claims 3 and 7 were canceled.
As such, claims 1-2, 4-6, and 8-19 are pending and claims 1-2, 4-6, and 18 have been examined herein.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
The objections and rejections presented herein represent the full set of objections and rejections currently pending in this application. Any objections or rejections not specifically reiterated are hereby withdrawn.
The rejection of record of claims 3 and 7 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Oshimura et al (JP5175814B2) is moot in view of their cancelation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – New Grounds of Rejection
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites multiple instances of the limitation “the genomic sequence of . . .” in lines 3-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no previous recitation of any genomic DNA sequence in the claim. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Claims 2, 4-6, and 18 are included in this rejection for being dependent on indefinite claim 1.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the TERT, SIRT1, and NFE2L2 genes" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no previous recitation of any TERT, SIRT1, and NFE2L2 genes in claim 1 of which claim 4 depends. Thus, the claim is indefinite. Claims 5-6 and 18 are included in this rejection for being ultimately dependent on indefinite claim 4.
It is noted that any interpretation of the claims set forth above does not relieve Applicant of the responsibility of responding to rejections made based on said interpretations. If the actual interpretation of the claims is different than that posited by the Examiner, additional rejections and art may be readily applied in a subsequent final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) - Maintained
Claims 1-2 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the inventor was in possession of the claimed genus. See, e.g., Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1340, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1167 (Fed. Cir. 2010); University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (Fed. Cir. 1997) at 1406; Juno Therapeutics, Inc. v. Kite Pharma, Inc., 10 F.4th 1330, 1337, 2021 USPQ2d 893 (Fed. Cir. 2021) ("[T]he written description must lead a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand that the inventor possessed the entire scope of the claimed invention. Ariad, 598 F.3d at 1353–54 ('[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor's contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.' (internal quotation marks omitted).").
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The issue is whether the skilled artisan would understand inventor to have invented, and been in possession of, the invention as claimed.
Independent claim 1 is broadly drawn to “a mammalian synthetic chromosome comprising at least one stably-integrated expression cassette expressing at least two genes selected from the group consisting of: a) the genomic DNA sequence of a gene that controls telomere length; b) the genomic DNA sequence of a gene involved in an anti-oxidant response pathway; and c) the genomic DNA sequence of a gene involved in an anti-inflammatory response.” This is extremely problematic because the specification fails to support possession of all mammalian synthetic chromosomes having these broadly claimed components.
In support of the claimed genera, the specification discloses a single species of retrofitted BACs containing hTERT, SIRT1, and NFE2l2 loaded into hSynC platform chromosome, as well as transfection validation (working examples 1-11). The data generated for the human synthetic chromosome of the instant specification cannot be reasonably extrapolated to and applied to support possession of the entire claimed genus of mammalian synthetic chromosomes because no one species, combination, or variant accounts for the variability amongst the claimed genus. As in Ariad, merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing that one has invented a genus and not just a species. “A patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.” Brenner v. Manson, 383 U.S. 519, 536 (1996).
The specification, then, is considered devoid of sufficiently detailed, relevant, identifying characteristics demonstrating that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of mammalian synthetic chromosomes, variants, or fragments, i.e., additional complete or partial structures, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination thereof demonstrating possession of the claimed genus. Therefore, claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
On p. 4-5 of Remarks, Applicant argues, in sum, that many genes were known at the time of filing to have the functions of controlling telomere length, involvement in anti-oxidant response pathway, and involvement in anti-inflammatory response and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make and/or recognize a mammalian synthetic chromosome having a stably integrated expression cassette expressing at least two genes having those claimed functions. Applicant argues that examples 1-11 describe and exemplify genes having such functional characteristics and ways of testing the ability of these kinds of genes to perform their function when expressed in mammalian cells.
While Applicant’s arguments have been considered, they have not been found persuasive. The written description requirement isn’t one of “making and/or recognizing” the claimed invention; rather, Applicant must show that they were in possession of the entire scope of the genus of mammalian synthetic chromosomes having the claimed characteristics. Although Applicant points to the working examples as providing support, the examiner notes that the synthetic chromosome created and utilized in the working examples is only one species of mammalian synthetic chromosomes as claimed containing hTERT, SIRT1, and NFE2L2. Applicant is claiming a synthetic chromosome containing genes that “controls telomere length; . . . involved in an anti-oxidant response pathway; and . . . involved in an anti-inflammatory response”, which can have substantial variation given that Applicant does not describe what it means to be “involved” in anti-oxidant response or anti-inflammatory response. When there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.") (see also MPEP 2163). The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated."). "A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed." In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Satisfactory disclosure of a "representative number" depends on whether one of skill in the art would recognize that the inventor was in possession of the necessary common attributes or features possessed by the members of the genus in view of the species disclosed. For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.). Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Modified
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshimura et al (JP5175814B2, 8/10/2009, published 4/3/2013) in view of Palacios et al (J Cell Biol. 2010 Dec 27; 191(7):1299-313).
Regarding claim 1 in-part, 2 and claim 4 in-part, Oshimura teaches human artificial chromosome vector (“HAC”, title). The reference teaches construction of hTERT gene insertion vector into human chromosome 21-derived HAC vector (Example 15 of Oshimura).
Oshimura continues to teach that since the HAC vector is prepared on the basis of human chromosomes, the upper limit of the size of foreign DNA that can be introduced into the HAC vector has been extended to the order of 100 kb (“Introduction of foreign DNA into HAC vector”, para 4). Genomic DNA containing a gene expression control region can be introduced (same para). In order to reproduce physiological gene expression, it is desirable to introduce a gene region containing a regulatory sequence as genomic DNA (“Introduction of foreign DNA into HAC vector” para 7). The use of this HAC vector is suitable for such purpose (same para).
Finally, Oshimura teaches that a plurality of foreign DNA can be inserted into the HAC vector by inserting a plurality of recognition sites (“Production of HAC vector” para 15).
Oshimura does not teach that:
Either the chromosome contains the genomic DNA sequence of a gene involved in an anti-oxidant response pathway, or contains the genomic DNA sequence of a gene involved in an anti-inflammatory response.
However, regarding i), Palacios teaches SIRT1 is a positive regulator of telomere length in vivo and attenuates telomere shortening associated with aging, an effect dependent on telomerase activity (abstract). SIRT1 deacetylase activity has been involved in chromatin remodeling, gene silencing, and the DNA damage response (p. 1300, para 1). SIRT1super MEFs showed a modest but significant increase in mean telomere length compared with wild-type MEFs both by TRF and Q-FISH analyses (Fig. 1 A; and Fig. S1, A and B; Results para 1). Q-FISH analysis further indicated that increased telomere length in SIRT1super MEFs is accompanied by a significant decrease of signal-free ends (SFEs) or chromosome ends with undetectable telomere signals and by a decrease in the proportion of short telomeres (<30 kb) and an increase in the proportion of long telomeres (>80 kb; Fig. 1 B; same para). These results indicate that elevated SIRT1 expression leads to improved telomere length maintenance in cultured primary MEFs (same para). SIRT1 also improved telomere length maintenance (“Increased SIRT1 expression attenuates telomere erosion with age in adult tissues” para 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create a human synthetic chromosome containing hTERT as taught by Oshimura, where the chromosome also includes SIRT1 as taught by Palacios, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Palacios shows SIRT1 is a positive regulator of telomere length, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the artificial chromosome containing hTERT of Oshimura to include SIRT1 with a reasonable expectation of advantageously attenuating telomere shortening in a telomerase activity-dependent manner and having SIRT1 deacetylase activity to assist in chromatin remodeling, gene silencing, and DNA damage response as taught by the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On p. 6-8 of Remarks, Applicant purports that the HAC of Oshimura is not readily engineerable for adding a second gene once it was made and did not enable the cloning of large inserts (either genomic sequences or multiple genes). Applicant argues that before the instant application, skilled artisans lack available synthetic chromosomes that could be readily engineered to accommodate the long lengths of multiple and/or genomic nucleic acid sequences. Applicant argues that the references do not conceive expressing two or more of these claimed genes and argues that Oshimura does not teach how the chromosome can be engineered to contain a second gene and none of the secondary references supply this missing teaching.
While Applicant’s arguments have been considered, they have not been found persuasive. Oshimura explicitly teaches that the HAC can contain a plurality of genes and that the genes can be genomic DNA and have a length of up to 100 kb. This means that the HAC contemplated by Oshimura is not limited to just one gene that can be introduced into mammalian cells as argued. Thus, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshimura in view of Palacios as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Ahmad et al (Cell Death Dis. 2016 May 5; 7(5):e2213).
The teachings of Oshimura and Palacios in combination were recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as applied to claim 4 of which claim 5 depend. The teachings will not be repeated here.
Neither Oshimura nor Palacios teach that the chromosome contains NFE2L2 (NRF2).
Ahmad teaches NRF2-driven TERT expression (title). The reference teaches TERT knock-down abrogated Nrf2 levels, overexpression of Nrf2 increased TERT expression (abstract). A decrease in Nrf2 levels was observed in Costunolide-treated cells in an ROS-dependent manner (“Existence of Nrf2-TERT loop” para 1; Figure 2A). However, no change in Nrf2 levels was observed in p53 mutant cell line T98G (Supplementary Figure 2A). A similar decrease in Nrf2 was observed in cells transfected with dominant-negative hTERT (Figure 2b) or hTERT siRNA (Figure 2c). This decrease in Nrf2 is crucial in regulation of hTERT, as overexpression of Nrf2 increased hTERT levels (Figure 2d). In addition, Nrf2 overexpression increased telomerase activity (Figure 2e) and decreased Costunolide-induced increase in ROS generation (Figure 2f).
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create a human synthetic chromosome containing hTERT and SIRT1 as taught by Oshimura and Palacios in combination, where the chromosome also includes NRF2 as taught by Ahmad, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. As Ahmad shows NRF2 drives TERT expression, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the artificial chromosome of Oshimura and Palacios in combination to include NRF2 with a reasonable expectation of advantageously regulating and increasing TERT activity and decrease ROS generation as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshimura, Palacios and Ahmad as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Zhao et al (Genes Chromosomes Cancer. 2009 Nov; 48(11):963-74).
The teachings of Oshimura, Palacios, and Ahmad was recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as applied to claim 5 of which claim 6 depends. The teachings will not be repeated here.
None of these references teach that the expression cassette comprises:
TERT clone RP11-117B23,
the SIRT1 is RP11-22C9, and
the NFE2L2 clone is RP11-844A8.
Regarding i), Zhao teaches an hTERT BAC reporter was constructed from a BAC clone RP11CI-117B23, which contained 160 kb human genomic DNA encompassing the CRR9, hTERT, and Xtrp2 (also called SLC6A18) loci (“hTERT Promoter Activity From Chromosomally Integrated BAC Reporters” para 1; Fig. 2A). This shows that RP11-117B23 clone can be used in an artificial chromosome construct.
While neither Oshimura, Palacios, Ahmad, nor Zhao explicitly teach that the SIRT1 is RP11-22C9 and the NFE2L2 clone is RP11-844A8, it would have been obvious to use any BAC clone of SIRT1 and NFE2L2 in the synthetic human chromosome given that SIRT1 is a positive regulator of telomere length and Nrf2 is crucial in regulation of hTERT, as overexpression of Nrf2 increased hTERT levels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create an artificial chromosome containing hTERT as taught by Oshimura Palacios, and Ahmad in combination, where the TERT is BAC clone RP11-117B23 as taught by Zhao, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. It would have been a matter of routine optimization to select this particular clone to make an artificial chromosome for one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to simply substitute the hTERT of Oshimura, Palacios, and Ahmad in combination for the clone hTERT of Zhao with a reasonable expectation of advantageously having a functional artificial chromosome construct as taught by the prior art.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oshimura in view of Palacios and Ahmad as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Perez-Luz et al (J Biomed Biotechnol. 2010;2010:642804; Epub 2010 Aug 24).
The teachings of Oshimura, Palacios, and Ahmad in combination were recited in the above 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection as applied to claim 5 of which claim 18 depend. The teachings will not be repeated here.
The difference between the combined teachings and the invention as instantly claimed is that they do not teach that the expression cassette comprises an endogenous TERT promoter driving expression of TERT, an endogenous SIRT1 promoter driving expression of SIRT1, and an endogenous NFE2L2 promoter driving expression of NFE2L2.
Perez-Luz teaches the prospects for the use of artificial chromosomes and mini chromosome-like episomes in gene therapy (title). The reference teaches artificial chromosomes and mini chromosome-like episomes are large DNA molecules capable of containing whole genomic loci, and be maintained as nonintegrating, replicating molecules in proliferating human somatic cells (abstract). Most constructs used for gene therapy are “minigenes”, consisting of cDNA sequences (instead of entire genes) under the control of heterologous promoters (usually small compacted promoter sequences of viral origin) (“Rationale behind the Use of Large DNA Molecules in Gene Therapy”, para 6). These “minigene constructs” often exhibit variable expression or lack tissue specificity, and they may not be properly regulated in somatic cells, being completely “silenced” in many cases, which obviously restricts their usefulness in gene therapy (same para). The reference further teaches that studies performed in transgenic mice have highlighted the advantages of using large fragments of genomic DNA that permit the delivery of intact mammalian genes with all their introns, promoters, enhancers, and long-range controlling elements (para 7). By using gene's normal promoter and controlling elements, the level and control of expression is comparable to the endogenous expression of the gene (same para). The experience gained from using yeast artificial chromosomes (YACs) and bacterial artificial chromosomes (BACs) has shown that large genomic fragments drive tissue-specific expression at endogenous levels (same para). While this reference does not explicitly teach the use of TERT, NRF2, and SIRT1 specific promoters, it does show the advantages of using of endogenous promoters instead of heterologous promoters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to create an artificial chromosome as taught by Oshimura, Palacios, and Ahmad in combination, where endogenous promoters are used in the chromosome as taught by Perez-Luz, to arrive at the instantly claimed invention. Perez-Luz shows that endogenous promoters can be successfully used in artificial chromosomes. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to include endogenous promoters in the chromosome constructs of Oshimura, Palacios, and Ahmad in combination with a reasonable expectation of advantageously having construct expression comparable to endogenous gene expression as taught by the prior art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the improvements caused by the addition of endogenous promoter sequences would improve similar artificial chromosome constructs in the same way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has not provided any arguments related to the teachings of Ahmad, Zhao, or Perez-Luz as presented in the Non-Final Office action mailed 2/9/2026.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1632
/MARCIA S NOBLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632