DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 4 June 2026 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the previous Claim objections. The Claim objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, the ground of rejection under 35 USC 112(b) still stand.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8 January 2026 with respect to the rejection of the independent claims under 35 USC § 102 and 103 have been fully considered. After conducting an updated search, an additional reference was identified, which teaches the amended portion of the claims. Therefore, the grounds of rejection under 35 USC § 103 still stand.
Claims 2 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 4 June 2026, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 17, 20, 24, and 26 have been amended.
Claims 1-3, 8-13, and 16-26 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the lock pin is a spring pin.” Claim 10 is dependent on claim 1, which recites the claimed lock pin as an alternative to a threaded fastener. The scope of claim 10 is indefinite because it is not clear if the threaded fastener is selected according to claim 1, then whether the lock pin is within the claim scope of 10. For the purpose of the examination, claim 10 will be interpreted as: “wherein the lock comprises the lock pin and wherein the lock pin is a spring pin.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 16-18, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) and Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure).
Regarding claim 1, Jordan ‘069 teaches a wire-feeder system (fig. 1; “electrical wire,” para 0020; “unwinding” in para 0020 is construed as feeding) comprising:
a spool hub (tubular member 92, fig. 1) configured to support a wire spool (spool 30, fig. 1); and
a multiple-angle hub stand (plates 64 and post assembly 50, fig. 1) having an adjustable portion (post assembly 50, fig. 1) coupled to a fixed portion (plates 64, fig. 1)
wherein an entirety of the adjustable portion is configured to pivot relative to the fixed portion via a hinge (post assembly 50 pivots relative to plates 64 via bolt 56, fig. 3 and para 0025; Specification of the instant application discloses that the hinge can be a “pivot pin” or a “rod;” the bolt 56 is construed as a rod), wherein the adjustable portion is configured to support the spool hub (post assembly 50 supports tubular member 90, fig. 1) and the fixed portion is configured to fixedly attach to a mounting surface (plates 64 attach to the side surfaces of elongated member 42, fig. 1; “welds,” para 0022),
wherein the multiple-angle hub stand comprises a lock (fig. 3; locks between two positions as shown in fig. 4) configured to secure the spool hub relative to the mounting surface at one of a plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4) , the lock comprises a first opening in the adjustable portion (openings 66, fig. 3) and a second opening in the fixed portion (openings 51, fig. 4) corresponding to a selectable angle of said plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4 below), and
wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4 below) is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (the spool 30 can be rotated when it is at an angle of 180 degrees and raised vertically, para 0045; fig. 9)
wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to align and to receive a lock pin (pin 58, fig. 3) or a threaded fastener (not explicitly disclosed) to secure the spool hub at the selectable angle (para 0026).
Jordan ‘069, fig. 1
Jordan ‘069, fig. 4 (annotated)
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of selectable angles, wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (although Jordan ‘069 teaches an opening 53, where the tube section is horizontal, as shown in fig. 4, the post assembly 50 is not configured to permit the wire spool to rotate when the post assembly is horizontally positioned; as a result, Jordan ‘069 only teaches one angle that permits rotation and not a “plurality of selectable angles” as required by the claim).
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of using a multiple-angle stand that maintains its center of mass and that does not tip over, Canivet teaches a plurality of selectable angles (secondary hole 26 as shown in fig. 5, provides an angle that is “non-vertical and non-horizontal,” para 0042).
Canivet, fig. 4
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Canivet, by inserting a secondary hole 26, as taught by Canivet, between the holes 51 ad 53 in the plates 46, as taught by Jordan ‘069 in fig. 4, in order to provide a lockable secondary upper hole that enables an additional non-vertical and hon-horizontal inclination, advantageously providing versatility to a user as a result a range of inclinations that can be selected depending on the desired application (Canivet, paras 0015-0017).
Jordan ‘069/Canivet do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multiple-angle hub stands, Avezaat teaches wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (the reel 3 unwinds and rotates in the angle in the “first position” shown in fig. 1 and in the angle in the “second position” shown in fig. 2, pages 4-5; fig 1 of Avezaat is construed as the angle taught by Jordan ‘069 and fig. 2 is construed as the angle taught by Canivet).
Avezaat, figs. 1-2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Avezaat, by using the secondary hole 26, as taught by Canivet, to produce an angle of 45 degrees, as taught by Avezaat, in order to use an angle that ensures the controlled unwinding of the spool, because when the spool is horizontal, then the spool will unwind relatively easy because gravity will have little effect on the unwinding, and when the spool is vertical, then the spool will unwind with much more resistance because gravity will have a significant effect on the unwinding of the spool, which can be optimized by tilting the spool based on the amount of resistance that is desired when the spool is unwound (Avezaat, bottom of page 4).
Regarding claim 8, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the first opening (openings 66, fig. 3) is one of a plurality of openings (there are two openings 66, fig. 3) formed in the adjustable portion (post assembly 50, fig. 3) and arranged radially about the hinge (holes 66 are arranged radially relative to the bolt 56, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the second opening (openings 51, fig. 4) is one of a plurality of openings (there are two openings 51 on both plates 46, fig. 3) formed in the fixed portion (plates 46, fig. 4) and arranged radially about the hinge (openings 51 are arranged radially relative to the opening 49, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Jordan ‘069 teaches further comprising a handle (handle 125, fig. 7) coupled to the adjustable portion (assembly 50, fig. 7) of the multiple-angle hub stand.
Regarding claim 17, Jordan ‘069 teaches a wire-feeder system (fig. 1; “electrical wire,” para 0020; “unwinding” in para 0020 is construed as feeding) comprising:
a spool hub (tubular member 92, fig. 1) configured to support a wire spool (spool 30, fig. 1); and
a multiple-angle hub stand (plates 64 and post assembly 50, fig. 1) comprising an adjustable portion (post assembly 50, fig. 1) pivotally coupled to a fixed portion (plates 64, fig. 1) via a hinge (bolt 56, fig. 3; Specification of the instant application discloses that the hinge can be a “pivot pin” or a “rod;” the bolt 56 is construed as a rod), such that an entirety of the adjustable portion pivots with respect to the fixed portion (post assembly 50 pivots relative to plates 64 via bolt 56, fig. 3 and para 0025),
wherein the multiple-angle hub stand is configured to support the spool hub and the wire spool (post assembly 50 supports tubular member 90 and spool 30, fig. 1) relative to a mounting surface of a base platform (plates 64 attach to the side surfaces of elongated member 42, fig. 1) at one of a plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4 above); and a lock (fig. 3; locks between two positions as shown in fig. 4) configured to secure the adjustable portion relative to the fixed portion at a selected one of the plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51 and angle of 90 degrees when pinned to opening 53, fig. 4), the lock comprises a first opening in the adjustable portion (openings 66, fig. 3) and a plurality of openings in the fixed portion (openings 51, fig. 4) corresponding to different selectable angles of said plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, fig. 4),
wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4 above) is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (the spool 30 can be rotated when it is at an angle of 180 degrees and raised vertically, para 0045; fig. 9), and
wherein the first opening and a respective one of the plurality of openings are configured to align and to receive a lock pin (holes 66 and holes 51 align to receive pin 58, figs. 3-4) or a threaded fastener (not explicitly disclosed) to secure the spool hub at a respective one of said different selectable angles (para 0026).
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose a plurality of selectable angles, wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (although Jordan ‘069 teaches an opening 53, where the tube section is horizontal, as shown in fig. 4, the post assembly 50 is not configured to permit the wire spool to rotate when the post assembly is horizontally positioned; as a result, Jordan ‘069 only teaches one angle that permits rotation and not a “plurality of selectable angles” as required by the claim).
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of using a multiple-angle stand that maintains its center of mass and that does not tip over, Canivet teaches a plurality of selectable angles (secondary hole 26 as shown in fig. 5, provides an angle that is “non-vertical and non-horizontal,” para 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Canivet, by inserting a secondary hole 26, as taught by Canivet, between the holes 51 ad 53 in the plates 46, as taught by Jordan ‘069 in fig. 4, in order to provide a lockable secondary upper hole that enables an additional non-vertical and hon-horizontal inclination, advantageously providing versatility to a user as a result a range of inclinations that can be selected depending on the desired application (Canivet, paras 0015-0017).
Jordan ‘069/Canivet do not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multiple-angle hub stands, Avezaat teaches wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (the reel 3 unwinds and rotates in the angle in the “first position” shown in fig. 1 and in the angle in the “second position” shown in fig. 2, pages 4-5; fig 1 of Avezaat is construed as the angle taught by Jordan ‘069 and fig. 2 is construed as the angle taught by Canivet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Avezaat, by using the secondary hole 26, as taught by Canivet, to produce an angle of 45 degrees, as taught by Avezaat, in order to use an angle that ensures the controlled unwinding of the spool, because when the spool is horizontal, then the spool will unwind relatively easy because gravity will have little effect on the unwinding, and when the spool is vertical, then the spool will unwind with much more resistance because gravity will have a significant effect on the unwinding of the spool, which can be optimized by tilting the spool based on the amount of resistance that is desired when the spool is unwound (Avezaat, bottom of page 4).
Regarding claim 18, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the lock (fig. 3) comprises the lock pin (pin 58, fig. 3) configured to engage each of the adjustable portion (assembly 50, fig. 3) and the fixed portion (plates 46, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 25, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the plurality of openings (openings 51, fig. 4) is arranged radially about the hinge (openings 51 are arranged radially relative to the opening 49, fig. 4).
Claims 3, 11, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) and Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above and further in view of Hinricher (US-2163039-A).
Regarding claim 3, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the spool hub (tubular member 92, fig. 1) is configured such that the wire spool is rotatable about an axis of rotation (axis through the middle of tube 90, fig. 1), and wherein the lock (fig. 3) comprises a mechanism (lift assembly 90, fig. 3) to secure the adjustable portion (post assembly 50, fig. 1; member 92 secures assembly 50, fig. 1) at one of the plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51a, fig. 4).
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose a ratchet mechanism.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of controlling a wire supplied from a spool, Hinricher teaches wherein the lock (fig. 3) comprises a ratchet mechanism (ratchet teeth 55 and detent 57, fig. 3).
Hinricher, fig. 3
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Hinricher, by using a detent with ratchet teeth, as taught by Hinricher, instead of the pin 112 and assembly 102, as taught by Jordan ‘069, because as the height of the spool increases, more force or torque will be placed on the post holding the spool, which can be mitigated by using a ratchet-spring-detent mechanism, which is designed to accommodate an increase in force at the uppermost notch in comparison to the lower notches where less force is applied (Hinricher, page 3, left column, lines 43-73).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Jordan ‘069 in view of Hinricher as set forth above regarding claim 3 teaches the invention of claim 11. Specifically, Hinricher teaches wherein the lock comprises a detent (detent 57, fig. 3) positioned on the adjustable portion (lever 58, fig. 3) and a plurality of openings (notches 55, fig. 3) positioned on the fixed portion (arms 53 and 54, fig. 3) about the hinge (rocker arm 14, fig. 3), wherein the detent is configured to engage one of the plurality of openings (detent 57 engages with the notches 55, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the lock (fig. 3) comprises a mechanism (lift assembly 90, fig. 3) to secure the adjustable portion (post assembly 50, fig. 1, member 92 secures assembly 50, fig. 1) at one of the plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, fig. 4).
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose a ratchet mechanism.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of controlling a wire supplied from a spool, Hinricher teaches wherein the lock (fig. 3) comprises a ratchet mechanism (ratchet teeth 55 and detent 57, fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Hinricher, by using a detent with ratchet teeth, as taught by Hinricher, instead of the pin 112 and assembly 102, as taught by Jordan ‘069, because as the height of the spool increases, more force or torque will be placed on the post holding the spool, which can be mitigated by using a ratchet-spring-detent mechanism, which is designed to accommodate an increase in force at the uppermost notch in comparison to the lower notches where less force is applied (Hinricher, page 3, left column, lines 43-73).
Claims 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) and Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kovaleski (US-3998403-A).
Regarding claim 10, Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the lock (pin 58, key 59, openings 66 and 51, fig. 3; openings 51 and 53, fig. 4) comprises the lock pin (pin 58, fig. 3). Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose wherein the lock pin is a spring pin.
However, in the same field of endeavor of supports for spooled wire hubs, Kovaleski teaches wherein the lock pin is a spring pin (spring 106, fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Kovaleski, by using a spring, as taught by Kovaleski, with the pin 58, as taught by Jordan ‘069, in order to use a spring that biases the pin away from the carrier, so that it can be easily disengaged, facilitating a quick release when the position of the spool flange needs to be adjusted (Kovaleski, column 3, lines 54-69).
Regarding claim 12, Jordan ‘069 teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a wire guide configured to guide wire from the wire spool supported on the spool hub to a drive roll assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor of supports for spooled wire hubs, Kovaleski teaches further comprising a wire guide (wire guide 168, fig. 11) configured to guide wire from the wire spool (spool 114, fig. 9) supported on the spool hub (spindle 48 and sleeve 50, fig. 1) to a drive roll assembly (“coil winding equipment,” column 4, line 38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Kovaleski, by using a wire guide, as taught by Kovaleski, in the wire spook stand, as taught by Jordan ‘069, in order to use a wire guide to guide the wire as it is being de-reeled for the advantage of minimizing the looseness and kinking of the wire (Kovaleski, column 5, lines 22-25).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of the embodiment of Jordan ‘069 in view of Kovaleski as set forth above regarding claim 12 teaches the invention of claim 13. Specifically, Kovaleski teaches wherein the wire guide (wire guide 168, fig. 11) is coupled to the mounting surface (top surface of base 132, fig. 11).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) and Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Kovaleski (US-3998403-A).
Jordan ‘069 teaches wherein the first opening and a respective one of the plurality of openings are configured to align and to receive the fastener (holes 66 and holes 51 align to receive pin 58, figs. 3-4).
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose wherein the threaded fastener is configured to engage one of the adjustable portion and the fixed portion.
However, in the same field of endeavor of supports for spooled wire hubs, Kovaleski teaches wherein the threaded fastener (screw 98 and cam 100, fig. 6) is configured to engage (“tightened,” column 4, line 21) one of the adjustable portion (jaws 72, 74, and 84 as well as slider bar 82 and carrier 76, fig. 6) and the fixed portion (members 14 and 16, fig. 2; the screw 98 engages members 14 and 16 through the tightening of the cam 100 on the jaws 72 and 74, fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Kovaleski, by using a screw that tightens and secures along with a spring, as taught by Kovaleski, instead of a pin 58, as taught by Jordan ‘069, in order to use a screw that tightens towards the carrier and a spring that biases the screw away from the carrier, so that it can be securely engaged and easily disengaged, facilitating a quick release when the position of the spool flange needs to be adjusted (Kovaleski, column 3, lines 54-69).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure), Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure), and Stanzel et al. (US-20140312021-A1).
Regarding claim 20, Jordan ‘069 teaches a method for operating a multiple-angle hub stand (plates 64 and post assembly 50, fig. 1; “lifting and supporting a spool of windable material above a floor,” abstract) of a wire- feeder system (fig. 1; “electrical wire,” para 0020; “unwinding” in para 0020 is construed as feeding), the method comprising:
mounting a wire spool (spool 30 is mounted, fig. 1) to a spool hub (tubular member 92, fig. 1) of the multiple-angle hub stand, wherein the spool hub is positioned at a first selectable angle selected from a plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, fig. 4), wherein the multiple-angle hub stand comprises an adjustable portion (post assembly 50, fig. 1) coupled to a fixed portion (plates 64, fig. 1) via a hinge (bolt 56, fig. 3; Specification of the instant application discloses that the hinge can be a “pivot pin” or a “rod;” the bolt 56 is construed as a rod), such that an entirety of the adjustable portion pivots with respect to the fixed portion (post assembly 50 pivots relative to plates 64 via bolt 56, fig. 3 and para 0025);
adjusting (“lifted,” para 0021; para 0026), via the multiple-angle hub stand, the spool hub from the first selectable angle (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, fig. 4),
wherein the multiple-angle hub stand comprises a lock (fig. 3; locks between two positions as shown in fig. 4) configured to secure the spool hub relative to a mounting surface (side surfaces of elongated member 42, fig. 1) at one of a plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4 above), the lock comprises a first opening in the adjustable portion (openings 66, fig. 3) and a second opening in the fixed portion (openings 51, fig. 4) corresponding to a selectable angle of said plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, fig. 4),
wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles (angle of 180 degrees when pinned to opening 51, annotated in fig. 4 above) is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (the spool 30 can be rotated when it is at an angle of 180 degrees and raised vertically, para 0045; fig. 9) and
wherein the first opening and the second opening are configured to align and to receive a lock pin (holes 66 and holes 51 align to receive pin 58, figs. 3-4) or a threaded fastener (not explicitly disclosed) to secure the spool hub at the selectable angle (para 0026).
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose a welding-type system; adjusting the spool hub from the first selectable angle to a second selectable angle selected from the plurality of selectable angles, wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (although Jordan ‘069 teaches an opening 53, where the tube section is horizontal, as shown in fig. 4, the post assembly 50 is not configured to permit the wire spool to rotate when the post assembly is horizontally positioned; as a result, Jordan ‘069 only teaches one angle that permits rotation and not a “plurality of selectable angles” as required by the claim), passing a welding wire from the wire spool to a welding torch via a drive roll assembly.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of using a multiple-angle stand that maintains its center of mass and that does not tip over, Canivet teaches a plurality of selectable angles (secondary hole 26 as shown in fig. 5, provides an angle that is “non-vertical and non-horizontal,” para 0042).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Canivet, by inserting a secondary hole 26, as taught by Canivet, between the holes 51 ad 53 in the plates 46, as taught by Jordan ‘069 in fig. 4, in order to provide a lockable secondary upper hole that enables an additional non-vertical and hon-horizontal inclination, advantageously providing versatility to a user as a result a range of inclinations that can be selected depending on the desired application (Canivet, paras 0015-0017).
Jordan ‘069/Canivet do not explicitly disclose a welding-type system; adjusting the spool hub from the first selectable angle to a second selectable angle selected from the plurality of selectable angles, wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding, passing a welding wire from the wire spool to a welding torch via a drive roll assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor of multiple-angle hub stands, Avezaat teaches adjusting the spool hub from the first selectable angle (fig. 1) to a second selectable angle (fig. 2; “moving the reel from a first position, wherein the fiber optic cable is wound around the core, to a second position,” page 4) selected from the plurality of selectable angles, wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding (the reel 3 unwinds and rotates in the angle in the “first position” shown in fig. 1 and in the angle in the “second position” shown in fig. 2, pages 4-5; fig 1 of Avezaat is construed as the angle taught by Jordan ‘069 and fig. 2 is construed as the angle taught by Canivet).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Avezaat, by using the secondary hole 26, as taught by Canivet, to produce an angle of 45 degrees, as taught by Avezaat, in order to use an angle that ensures the controlled unwinding of the spool, because when the spool is horizontal, then the spool will unwind relatively easy because gravity will have little effect on the unwinding, and when the spool is vertical, then the spool will unwind with much more resistance because gravity will have a significant effect on the unwinding of the spool, which can be optimized by tilting the spool based on the amount of resistance that is desired when the spool is unwound (Avezaat, bottom of page 4).
Jordan ‘069/Canivet/ Avezaat do not explicitly disclose a welding-type system; passing a welding wire from the wire spool to a welding torch via a drive roll assembly.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of controlling a wire supplied from a spool, Stanzel teaches a welding-type system (fig. 2; “welding,” para 0019); passing a welding wire (wire 39, fig. 2; para 0004) from the wire spool (spool 14, fig. 2) to a welding torch (torch 22, fig. 1) via a drive roll assembly (wire feeder 16, figs. 1-2).
Stanzel, fig. 2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Stanzel, by using the stand, as taught by Jordan ‘069, to support the spool 14 in the welding system 10, as taught by Stanzel, because welding systems typically consume a welding wire electrode as a workpiece is welded, where a spool of wire is loaded on the wire feeder prior to welding, for the advantage of enabling a welder to weld using a welding wire electrode for an extended period of time without interruption, as a result of using a wire spool and a wire feeder (Stanzel, para 0003).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) and Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above and further in view of Madsen et al. (US-20080061211-A1).
Regarding claim 21, Jordan ‘069 teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second opening is a crescent- shaped slot that includes, or defines, one or more pre-set marks.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of using a multiple-angle stand that maintains its center of mass and that does not tip over, Canivet teaches wherein the second opening (holes 25 and 26, fig. 4) is a crescent- shaped slot (upper hole 24, fig. 4; construed as being an additional second opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Canivet, by inserting a secondary hole 26 as well as an upper hole 24, as taught by Canivet, in the plates 46, as taught by Jordan ‘069 in fig. 4, in order to provide a lockable secondary upper hole that enables an additional non-vertical and hon-horizontal inclination, advantageously providing versatility to a user as a result a range of inclinations that can be selected depending on the desired application (Canivet, paras 0015-0017).
Jordan ‘069 / Canivet do not explicitly disclose wherein the second opening is a crescent- shaped slot that includes, or defines, one or more pre-set marks.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of ensuring a balanced center of mass, Madsen teaches wherein the second opening (slit 38, fig. 1) is a crescent- shaped slot (as shown in fig. 1) that includes, or defines, one or more pre-set marks (opening 45, fig. 1; para 0025).
Madsen, fig. 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Madsen, by using an arcuate slit 38, as taught by Madsen, instead of a hole 24, as taught by Canivet, in order use a slit with an arcuate shape, which permits rotation to any angle to facilitate any desired position for the spool (Madsen, para 0026).
Regarding claim 22, Jordan ‘069 teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second opening is a crescent- shaped slot that includes, or defines, one or more pre-set marks.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of using a multiple-angle stand that maintains its center of mass and that does not tip over, Canivet teaches wherein the second opening (holes 25 and 26, fig. 4) is a crescent- shaped slot (upper hole 24, fig. 4; construed as being an additional second opening).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Canivet, by inserting a secondary hole 26 as well as an upper hole 24, as taught by Canivet, in the plates 46, as taught by Jordan ‘069 in fig. 4, in order to provide a lockable secondary upper hole that enables an additional non-vertical and hon-horizontal inclination, advantageously providing versatility to a user as a result a range of inclinations that can be selected depending on the desired application (Canivet, paras 0015-0017).
Jordan ‘069 / Canivet do not explicitly disclose wherein the second opening is a crescent- shaped slot that includes, or defines, one or more pre-set marks.
However, reasonably pertinent to the same problem of ensuring a balanced center of mass, Madsen teaches wherein the second opening (slit 38, fig. 1) is a crescent- shaped slot (as shown in fig. 1) that includes, or defines, one or more pre-set marks (opening 45, fig. 1; para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Madsen, by using an arcuate slit 38, as taught by Madsen, instead of a hole 24, as taught by Canivet, in order use a slit with an arcuate shape, which permits rotation to any angle to facilitate any desired position for the spool (Madsen, para 0026).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan et al. (US-20160145069-A1; hereinafter Jordan ‘069) in view of Canivet et al. (EP-3199723-A1, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) and Avezaat (NL-1018182-C2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Winkel et al. (US-20120298788-A1).
Jordan ‘069 teaches a plurality of openings (openings 51 and 53, fig. 4) positioned on the fixed portion about the hinge (openings 51 are on the plates 46 and are arranged radially relative to the opening 49, fig. 4)
Jordan ‘069 does not explicitly disclose wherein the lock comprises a detent positioned on the adjustable portion and wherein the detent is configured to engage one of the plurality of openings.
However, in the same field of endeavor of supports for spooled wire hubs, Winkel teaches wherein the lock comprises a detent (detent 218, fig. 2A; construed as being the “lock pin” from claim 17) positioned on the adjustable portion (second piece 108, fig. 2A) and wherein the detent is configured to engage one of the plurality of openings (openings 216, fig. 2A; para 0032).
Winkel, fig. 2B
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Jordan ‘069, in view of the teachings of Winkel, by using a releasable latch 206, as taught by Winkel, instead of a pin 58, as taught by Jordan ‘069, because this amounts to a simple substitution of one locking mechanism known in the art for another with predictable results (using a detent based locking mechanism instead of a pin based locking mechanism will not change the operation of the stand and still allow the stand to hold the spool of wire).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the independent claims, and specifically does not show “wherein the plurality of selectable angles includes an axis of rotation and the mounting surface forming a 90- degree angle, a 135-degree angle, and a 180-degree angle,” as recited in claims 2 and 23, where “each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding,” as recited in claims 1 and 17.
The examiner found support for this limitation in paragraph 0074 of the Specification.
The closest prior art of record is Jordan (US20160145069A1). Jordan cannot teach three different angles, where “each of the angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding.” Instead, Jordan only teaches one angle that is configured for rotation. The examiner agrees with the Applicant’s arguments on page 10 regarding Jordan, filed 4 June 2026. One might argue that Jordan can be modified such that in the horizontal position shown in fig. 4 of Jordan that the spool 30 is configured to rotate, however this argument would not be persuasive because the spool 30 is not able to rotate due to its orientation between two post assemblies 50, as shown in fig. 1 of Jordan. When the post assemblies are horizontally oriented, the spool cannot be mounted.
There are references such as Avezaat/NL-1018182-C2 and Kovaleski/US-3998403-A which teach only one post. These references teach a mounting post, which would enable an orientation similar to what the fig. 3c of the Instant Application shows. However, this horizontal orientation is not possible in either of these references (see fig. 2 of Avezaat and fig. 1 of Kovaleski) because of a central post that is mounted to the spool, which prevents the spool from becoming completely flat. The claims require three different angles within a ninety-degree range, which neither of these references teach. In contrast, as shown in figs. 3a-c and 4a-c of the Instant Application, there is enough clearance with how the spool is mounted, such that the system is able to achieve this full range of angles, which “offers a number of advantages” for an operator, as described in the Specification of the Instant Application.
Thus, for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the present invention as set forth in the independent claims.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 4 June 2026 have been fully considered.
Request for Examiner Interview
In their arguments, the Applicant requested that the examiner schedule an interview. However, the examiner did not grant the interview request because of issues that have been identified in the present Office action, which prevent expediting the allowance of the instant application (MPEP 713.01).
The Rejections under 35 USC § 112
Pages 9-10 of the arguments state that claim 10 places a limitation on the “lock pin,” which is recited as an alternative embodiment within claim 1. Claim 1 requires either a “lock pin” or a “threaded fastener.” The examiner agrees with these statements.
The Applicant then argues that “a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand claim 10 to be directed to the embodiment of claim 1 in which the lock pin is used, and that the lock pin is specifically a spring pin.” The examiner disagrees with this statement. Instead, the examiner respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill would not understand claim 10 to be an alternative embodiment of claim 1, because claim 10 is a claim that is dependent on claim 1. As a result, claim 10 should further limit the scope of claim 1. However, if claim 10 is an alternative embodiment of claim 1, then claim 10 only further limits the scope of claim 1 if the “lock pin” is selected for the limitation “the first opening and the second opening are configured to receive a lock pin or a threaded fastener.” Therefore, the examiner respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill would be confused about how claim 10 affects the scope of claim 1 and whether identified limitation from claim 1 applies to the “lock pin” or the “threaded fastener,” which is why there is a 35 USC 112(b) rejection for this claim.
For example, in claim 18, it is clear that the “lock pin” is within the scope of the of the claim because the claim recites: “wherein the lock comprises the lock pin.” However, if the Applicant’s intent is to keep claim 10 such the lock pin is an alternative, then recommend amending the claim to recite: “wherein the lock comprises the lock pin or the threaded fastener and wherein the lock pin is a spring pin.” Taking this approach would clarify for the record that the Applicant is not claiming a specific embodiment in claim 10 but is instead claiming an apparatus that can still be two different embodiments in claim 10, which appears to the Applicant’s intent based on the provided arguments. Nonetheless, either of the two options for amending claim 10 are acceptable so long as one of these two amendments are made.
The Rejections under 35 USC § 102 and § 103
Applicant's arguments on page 9 that the “Applicant disagrees and traverses the rejection” fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. This argument is conclusory, and no evidence is provided to support this assertion.
Applicant’s remaining arguments on pages 10-11 regarding Jordan ‘069 (US20160145069A1) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejections of Jordan in view of Canivet and Avezaat.
Page 11 of the arguments suggests that Avezaat does not teach the limitation that was added to claim 1: “wherein each of the plurality of selectable angles is an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding.” However, respectfully submit that Avezaat teaches adjusting the angle of the reel relative to the vertical in order to control the unwinding of the reel because the influence of gravity has an effect on whether the unwinding is controlled or uncontrolled (top of page 3). Therefore, Avezaat can be used to teach “an operational angle at which the wire spool is configured to rotate during wire feeding.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/16/2026