DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The claims filed on December 8th, 2025, have been entered. Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-20 remain pending in the Application. Claims 8-20 were previously withdrawn by the Applicant. Claim 7 has been canceled by the Applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 8th, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Double Patenting rejections, Applicant argues that the amendment to claim 1 overcomes the previous Double Patenting rejections of claims 1-2 and 5-6 under U.S. Patent No. 11,253,266. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claim 1, which now includes the limitation of canceled claim 7, is still anticipated by patent claims 1 and 5 of the ‘266 patent, as was pointed out in the Final Rejection dated August 8th, 2025, for the double patenting rejection of application claim 7. Furthermore, application claim 2 was anticipated solely by patent claim 1 of ‘266, and patent claims 1 and 5 still anticipate the application claim 2. However, Examiner does agree that application claims 5-6 are no longer anticipated by patent claims 2-3, respectively, as the limitations from patent claim 5 are not included in patent claims 2-3.
Applicant argues that Wallace et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,060,777) does not teach a delivery sleeve that is a separate and distinct component from a catheter, and instead teaches a catheter itself. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As pointed out in the Final Rejection dated August 8th, 2025, Applicant’s assertion is based on the position that because Wallace et al. teaches a catheter, that the catheter cannot comprise a delivery sleeve. However, both are structurally a cylindrical object with a longitudinal lumen, and so the catheter 28 of Wallace et al. satisfies the structural limitation of “delivery sleeve.” Furthermore, one catheter may be inside another catheter, so the argument that Wallace et al. already has a catheter and therefore cannot have a catheter surrounding the delivery sleeve is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that Wallace et al. does not disclose a stop in catheter hub 38 because catheter hubs connect part of a catheter to another device. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As pointed out in the Final Rejection, a stop is only a structural component capable of limiting the distance that the delivery sleeve is inserted into the catheter. Since the structure of 38 juts out from the body of 28, a catheter which is smaller in diameter than 38 but greater in diameter than 28 would be stopped by 38 when sliding along 28 towards 38. Therefore, 38 of Wallace et al. satisfies the structural requirements of a stop. Furthermore, since Applicant further defines the stop in the claim as comprising an attachment mechanism to connect the proximal end of the catheter to other devices, the argument that a catheter hub is distinct from the claimed limitations because a catheter hub connects to another device is not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that Wallace et al. teaches away from using a stop based on C1:L45-C2:L11. Examiner respectfully disagrees. While Wallace et al. notes that U.S. Patent No. 7,749,242 has an internal stop attached to a central inner member, Wallace et al. only teaches away from the cited patents by stating that the small coils used in those cited patents are less desirable because they require longer and more complicated procedures, and does not state any disadvantage related to the stop.
The rejection of claims 1-2 and 5-6 under 102(a)(1) and 103 over Wallace et al. in view of Look et al. (Pub. No. 2017/0181760) has been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment made December 8th, 2025; specifically, neither reference discloses the stop comprises an attachment mechanism to connect to the proximal end of the catheter.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is noted that Applicant argues that the newly added claim limitations are not taught by Wallace et al.; however, as discussed below, the newly added reference Sharma (Pub. No. 2024/0108392) teaches said limitation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: advancement mechanism in claim 2.
In claim 2, the generic placeholder “advancement mechanism” is coupled with the functional language “configured to engage the therapeutic device to advance the therapeutic device” without reciting any additional structure to accomplish the advancement function, nor including any structural modifiers. The present Specification indicates in [0032] that the advancement mechanism can be a pusher wire or similar mechanism for pushing the therapeutic device out of the delivery sleeve.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the proximal end of the catheter" in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No proximal end of a catheter has been previously introduced in claim. Claim 1 should be amended to correct the antecedent basis. Claims 2 and 5-6 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a proximal end of the catheter" in lines 14-15. A proximal end of a catheter has been previously introduced in the claim in lines 12-13, and the claim is unclear on whether these are the same limitation or different limitations. For purposes of claim interpretation, the two recited proximal ends of the catheter are being treated as one and the same, as best understood.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,253,266. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because application claims 1-2 are anticipated by patent claim 5.
Regarding application claim 1, patent claim 1 of ‘266 discloses an endovascular apparatus (C14:L17) comprising a delivery sleeve having a longitudinal lumen extending between a proximal end and a distal end (C14:L18-19); a therapeutic device housed within and extending substantially an entire length of the delivery sleeve (C14:L20-21); wherein the therapeutic device includes one or more detachable polymer endovascular embolization coils (C14:L22-23); and a stop positioned on the proximal end of the delivery sleeve which is operable to limit a distance the delivery sleeve is inserted into a catheter (C14:L28-30); wherein an outside diameter of the delivery sleeve is sufficiently small such that the delivery sleeve is insertable into the catheter (C14:L31-32), and further recites an advancement mechanism configured to engage the therapeutic device to advance the therapeutic device into a patent, and a diameter of the lumen is sufficiently large such that the lumen is able to coaxially receive the therapeutic device and the advancement mechanism therein, but sufficiently small that the deliver sleeve adds longitudinal strength to the therapeutic device. Patent claim 5 of ‘266 is dependent on patent claim 1 of ‘266, and further discloses the stop is a luer connection operable to engage an opposing luer connection on a proximal end of the catheter (C14:L59-61). Therefore, patent claim 5 of ‘266 anticipates application claim 1.
Regarding application claim 2, patent claim 1 of ‘266 further discloses an advancement mechanism configured to engage the therapeutic device to advance the therapeutic device into a patent (C14:L25-27). Since patent claim 5 of ‘266 is dependent on patent claim 1 of ‘266, patent claim 5 of ‘266 also anticipates application claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallace et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,060,777) in view of Sharma (Pub. No. 2024/0108392).
Regarding claim 1, Wallace et al. discloses an endovascular apparatus (26; C29:L53-C30:L7; FIGs. 27A-27F) comprising:
a delivery sleeve (28) having a longitudinal lumen (FIG. 27A: 28 has a longitudinal lumen) extending between a proximal end (FIG. 27A: the lumen of 28 starts at the proximal end) and a distal end (FIG. 27A: the lumen of 28 ends at the distal end);
a therapeutic device (22) housed within and extending substantially an entire length of the delivery sleeve (FIG. 27A: 22 is housed within the lumen of 28, and extends for substantially the length of 28);
wherein the therapeutic device includes one or more detachable polymer endovascular embolization coils (C29:L53-58: 22 is detachable from 28; C14:L1-10: the implant is made of polymers; C14:L51-58: the implant comprises coils which are used for endovascular embolization; and C17:L11-14/C26:L35-39: the implants comprise coil assemblies); and
a stop (38) positioned on the proximal end of the delivery sleeve ([0222] 38 is at the proximal end of 28; FIG. 27A) which limits a distance the delivery sleeve is inserted into a catheter (FIG. 27A illustrates 38 would limit the distance that 28 can be inserted into a catheter, as a catheter with a greater diameter than 28 but a smaller diameter of 38 would only partially be able to fit 28 before 38 acts as a stop);
wherein an outside diameter of the delivery sleeve is sufficiently small such that the delivery sleeve is insertable into the catheter (the delivery sleeve only needs to be capable of being inserted into a catheter, and 28 is capable of being placed inside a larger catheter).
Wallace et al. does not disclose the stop comprises an attachment mechanism to connect a proximal end of the catheter, where the attachment mechanism is a luer connection that engages an opposing luer connection on the proximal end of the catheter.
Sharma discloses a device (720; FIG. 7B; [0257]) comprising a catheter (722) and a delivery sheath (721) with an attachment mechanism (726), where the attachment mechanism is a luer connection ([0257] 726 is a luer lock between 721 and 722 at their proximal ends) operable to engage an opposing luer connection on a proximal end of the catheter ([0257] 726 connects 721 and 722, where each of 721 and 722 have part of 726 to connect to the other’s proximal end) for the purpose of providing a vapor-tight seal between the different lumens of the catheter and the delivery sheath ([0257]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to replace the stop of Wallace et al. with a luer connection operable to engage an opposing luer connection on a proximal end of the catheter, as taught by Sharma, for the purpose of allowing the delivery sleeve to form a vapor-tight seal between the different lumens of the delivery sheath and a catheter having a complementary luer connection.
Regarding claim 2, Wallace et al. as modified further discloses an advancement mechanism (30; C29:L53-58; FIG. 27A; as discussed above, “advancement mechanism” is being interpreted under 112(f) as a pusher wire, and 30 is a pusher wire) configured to engage the therapeutic device to advance the therapeutic device into a patient (C30:L8-16: 30 pushes 22 into the target site; FIGs. 27A-27F).
Regarding claim 5, Wallace et al. as modified further discloses both an inner surface and an outer surface of the delivery sleeve are composed of a material with a low coefficient of friction (the present spec [0028] discloses the delivery sleeve is made of PTFE; C28:L26-28 and 50: 28 can be made of PTFE).
Regarding claim 6, Wallace et al. as modified further discloses the therapeutic device extends approximately to the distal end of the delivery sleeve (FIG. 27B: 22 extends approximately to the distal end of 28).
Conclusion
/JRM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771