DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1 and 6 have been amended, claims 8-9 have been canceled, claims 2-7 and 10 are as previously presented. Claims 1-7 and 10 are presently presented.
Status of Objections and Rejections
The rejection below has been modified as necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mikami (US20160082467A1) in view of Kumakari (US20100279158A1).
For claim 1 and 6, Mikami teaches of an electrode production apparatus, comprising: a first roll (fig. 1, 11, Mikami), and a second roll (fig. 1, 12, Mikami) disposed opposing the first roll (fig. 1, ¶ [0017], Mikami) and having a higher rotational speed than that of the first roll (¶ [0049], Mikami), wherein the electrode production apparatus is configured such that an electrode material in a form of a wet granulated product ([0017, 0058-0059], fig. 1, 22, Mikami discloses the use of a wet mixture coating material which is a solution including coating particles as a solute in a solvent. Where the solvent exists only around the surface of the coating particles in the wet mixture coating material. This reads on a “wet granulated product”], supplied and passing between a circumferential surface of the first roll and a circumferential surface of the second roll while contacting both the circumferential surfaces of the first and second rolls (fig. 1, Mikami), is caused to be adhered (¶ [0017-0019] , Mikami), as a coating film (fig. 1, 25, Mikami), on the circumferential surface of the second roll (fig. 1, 25, Mikami), and the coating film is transferred from the circumferential surface of the second roll onto a surface of an electrode collector separately supplied to the second roll (fig. 1, 21, Mikami), to thereby form an electrode mix layer made up of the transferred coating film (fig. 1, 23, Mikami), on the electrode collector (¶ [0017-0019], Mikami).
Mikami also teaches that it is effective to have the surface of the first and second roller undergo surface treatment (“predetermined texture shape”) such that uneven recesses and projections are present on the surface of the roller ([0041], Mikami).
However, they are silent to the pitch and depth of the “predetermined texture shape”.
Kumakari however, teaches on an electrode group for a secondary battery ([abstract], Kumakari) wherein a predetermined textured shape is formed on the circumferential surface of the first roll and on the circumferential surface of the second roll (¶ [0061], Kumakari), the textured shape comprises repetition of a predetermined relief pattern (fig. 2, Kumakari), at a given pitch (fig. 2, Kumakari), in a running direction (fig. 2, Kumakari), and the given pitch (fig. 2, Kumakari), which is a smallest repeating unit (fig. 2, Kumakari).
Annotated figure 2, Kumakari
In regard to the following limitations “and a recess depth of the predetermined relief pattern are configured to satisfy designed so that the following expression holds: y ≤0.2x - 20, where x (µm) denotes the given pitch and y (µm) denotes the recess depth”. The examiner notes that Kumakari teaches of a and upper and lower roller where the projections (“predetermined relief pattern”) has a height (“depth”) of 8-12µm and a pitch of 170 µm [0098-0101, 0115-0118, Kumakari].
The examiner notes that 0.2 * 170 – 20 = 14 and as such satisfies the applicants equation as 8-12µm ≤ 14 µm.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Mikami such that the first and second roll were subjected to a surface treatment such that the circumference of the roll possessed a relief pattern in the running direction with a pitch of 170 µm and a depth of 8-12 µm. Doing so would produce a roller capable of forming trenches in the surface of the mixture layer capable of suppressing nonuniform distribution of the electrolyte [0080-0081, Kumakari].
Furthermore, prior case laws have shown that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.", MPEP 2144.05.
For claim 2, modified Mikami teaches wherein a material of the circumferential surface on which the predetermined texture shaped is formed, in the first roll and the second roll (11 and 12) being ceramic (¶ [0040], e.g. alumina, Mikami).
For claim 3, modified Mikami teaches wherein the pitch of the predetermined texture shape being 170 µm ([0098-0101, 0115-0118], Kumakari’s disclosed range anticipates the applicants claimed range of 150-300 µm).
Furthermore, prior case laws have shown that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05.
For claim 4, modified Mikami teaches of a recess depth wherein in the expression: y ≤ 0.2x - 20, x is prescribed so that the recess depth of the relief pattern lies in the range from 8 um to 12 um (¶ [0118], Kumakari’s disclosed range anticipates the applicant’s claimed range 4-15 um).
Furthermore, prior case laws have shown that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05.
For claim 5, modified Mikami teaches of a relationship between a rotational speed S1 of the first roll and a rotational speed S2 of the second roll satisfies the following expression: 1.5 x S1 < S2 < 5 x S1 (¶ [0049], Mikami teaches the rotational speed of the second roller is 1 to 30 times faster than the first roller).
Furthermore, prior case laws have shown that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Mikami as applied to claim 6 above in further view of Oh (US20200335766A1).
For claim 7, modified Mikami teaches a method for producing an electrode via two rollers disposed opposite of one another that transfer an electrode coating material from a first roll to a second roll and finally to a current collector.
Modified Mikami is silent to using an electrode coating mixture in which the total weight of the electrode material being defined as 100% by weight, the weight% of solids is 55-90 wt%.
Oh however, teaches a method for preparing an electrode for a secondary battery ([abstract], Oh) wherein on using a slurry of electrode active material in which the solid content has a total weight% of 70-90 wt% ([abstract], Oh).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a slurry of electrode active material in the range of 70-90wt%, as disclosed by Oh. This would allow for the drying time of the slurry to be reduced (¶ [0033], Oh). As such, the movement of low-density electrode material, such as binders, may be minimized during drying allowing for a more uniform dispersion of solids (¶ [0033], Oh).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Mikami as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hamabe (US2016052010A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Mikami discloses that a surface roughening treatment can be used to influence transferability of the coating mixture (table 1, Mikami). But is silent to the coating film being transferred from the second roll onto the surface of the electrode collector without leaving an adhesion residue on the first roller.
However, Hamabe the electrode production method, wherein the coating film is transferred from the second roll onto the surface of the electrode collector separately supplied to the second roll (fig. 2, Hamabe), without leaving an adhesion residue on the circumferential surface of the first roll ([0042-0045], fig. 5, Hamabe).
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would be motivated to further modify the electrode roller disclosed by modified Mikami to include the optimized surface hardness as disclosed by Hamabe as this can further improve the transferability of the electrode material to the electrode current collector without leaving behind any adhesive residue (abstract, [0041-0045], fig. 5, Hamabe).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons listed below.
Applicant notes that the Office asserts that Mikami teaches the wet mixture coating material. The examiner maintains that it does as it describes a wet coating mixture in which solvent surrounds the coating particles. This reads on an electrode material in a form of a wet granulated product as they both describe wet particles (equivalent to “granulated products”). See rejection of claim 1 above.
Applicant then argues that Kumakari does not read on “an electrode material in a form of a wet granulated product”. The examiner notes that they do not rely on Kumakari to teach this limitation. As such this argument(s) is not persuasive.
Applicant then argues that the rollers of Kumakari are used on a formed composite material layer to form trenches or grooves in the material to improve electrolyte permeation. The examiner notes that both the first and second roller of Mikami are already subjected to surface roughening treatments to facilitate coating [0041, Mikami]. As such, the examiner maintains their obvious statement and notes that it would be obvious to modify Mikami such that the first and second roller that are subjected to a surface roughening treatment such that the surface roughening treatment possessed a relief pattern in the running direction with a pitch of 170 µm and a depth of 8-12 µm. Doing so would produce a roller capable of forming trenches in the surface of the mixture layer capable of suppressing nonuniform distribution of the electrolyte [0080-0081, Kumakari].
For instance, Hawk (cited below in the conclusion selection and referenced here for a visual aid) teaches of a first (24) and second (22) roller [fig. 3, Hawk]. Where the second roller contains grooves (26) along the circumference of the roller and allows for the coating material to be transferred to a current collector (16) such that the final product possess a predetermined pattern of ridges (12) and valleys (14) [col 1 line 55-61, col 3 line 59- col 4 line 3, fig. 1-2, Hawk].
Hawk fig. 2 (left) final coated product containing grooves from the coating roller and fig. 3 (right) an apparatus for coating a support using a roller with grooves to form a product containing grooves on a coated support.
Applicant argues the intended use of Kumakari is unrelated to the transferability of a wet mixture coating. However, as noted above, Mikami already teaches that a roller with a non-smooth/roughen surface is used to help coating. The recess/pitch of Kumakari would allow for the coated support to have the pattern of Kumakari shown to improve electrolyte penetration as pointed out by the applicant.
The examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hawk (US5565260A) teaches a first and second roller where the second roller as a pitch and recess overlapping with the applicant’s claimed range along with a texture pattern being transferred to final product.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Q.D.E/
Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724