DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kappus et al. (US Publication 2019/0197840; IDS dated 03/14/2022 Cite No. 141; hereinafter Kappus).
With regards to claim 23, Kappus teaches an acoustic phased array system comprising:
a first ultrasonic transducer (one of the individual transducers; [0185]) and a second ultrasonic transducer (one of the individual transducers; [0185]) for producing mid-air haptic feedback ([0150-0152]), the first ultrasonic transducer having a first position and a first orientation, the second ultrasonic transducer having a second position and a second orientation (see transducer arrays 950 and 960 comprising individual transducers; FIG. 9A);
memory ([0025, 0153]);
a set of driving phases stored in memory ([0054-0061]);
a first mapping of the driving phases to the first ultrasonic transducer and the second ultrasonic transducer ([0141-0142, 0309]);
a second mapping of the driving phases to the first ultrasonic transducer and the second ultrasonic transducer, wherein the second mapping is different than the first mapping ([0141, 0143, 0314-0322]);
an electronic driving circuit ([0025]);
wherein the electronic driving circuit uses the first mapping to power the first ultrasonic transducer and the second ultrasonic transducer at a first phase ([0196-0198]) specified by the first mapping ([0328-0330]).
However, Kappus does not explicitly teaches wherein, during a first acoustic cycle, the electronic driving unit uses the second mapping to power the first ultrasonic transducer at a second phase specified by the second mapping while maintaining to power the second ultrasonic transducer at the first phase specified by the first mapping; and wherein, during a second acoustic cycle subsequent to the first acoustic cycle, the electronic driving unit uses the second mapping to power the second ultrasonic transducer at the second phase specified by the second mapping while maintaining to power the first ultrasonic transducer at the second phase specified by the second mapping.
It has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"). In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.") In this particular case, Kappus teaches a general condition of activating a plurality of individual transducers ([0250]) including the first and second ultrasonic transducer (see FIG. 16) during a first and second acoustic cycle (FIG. 16A-E) and adjusting the phase and amplitude ([0306]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Kappus of providing mappings to respective transducers (including power, phase, amplitude) including the cycles as claimed through routine experimentation with reasonable expectation of achieving a predictable result of providing mid-air haptic feedback as originally intended.
With regards to claim 24, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 23, further comprising:
a set of driving amplitudes stored in memory ([0018, 0055]);
wherein the first mapping further comprises mapping the driving amplitudes to the first ultrasonic transducer and the second ultrasonic transducer ([0062-0069, 0306]); and
wherein the second mapping further comprises mapping the driving amplitudes to the first ultrasonic transducer and the second ultrasonic transducer ([0062-0069, 0306]).
With regards to claim 25, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 24, wherein the first mapping and the second mapping sample different values from the set of driving phases ([0303-0326]).
With regards to claim 26, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 24, wherein the second mapping is a translation of the first mapping ([0155-0157, 0334]).
With regards to claim 27, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 24. However, Kappus is silent regarding wherein the second mapping is a rotation of the first mapping.
It has been held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree "will not sustain a patent"). In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.") In this particular case, the mapping correspond to the position of the body part ([0285]) and the rotation of the hand (body part) is routine to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second mapping as taught by Kappus to be a rotation of the first mapping via routine experimentation with reasonable expectation of mapping the effect based on the rotated position of the human body part ([0285]).
With regards to claim 28, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 24, wherein the second mapping changes a solution plane along a z-axis from the first mapping ([0074]).
With regards to claim 29, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 24, further comprising: determining a scaling factor ([0317]) for the driving amplitudes where at least one of the first ultrasonic transducer and the second ultrasonic transducer is driven at full scale when the scaling factor is applied to the driving amplitudes ([0075, 0217]).
With regards to claim 30, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 29, wherein the driving amplitudes are scaled together by a time-varying function ([0074-0075, 0217, 0326, 0329]).
With regards to claim 31, Kappus teaches the acoustic phased array system as in claim 24, wherein the first mapping is summed with the second mapping ([0074-0075, 0244]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Remarks on pages 4-5, Applicant argues that Kappus does not teach the new limitations of claim 23. Specifically, the new limitations recite “wherein, during a first acoustic cycle, the electronic driving unit uses the second mapping to power the first ultrasonic transducer at a second phase specified by the second mapping while maintaining to power the second ultrasonic transducer at the first phase specified by the first mapping; wherein, during a second acoustic cycle subsequent to the first acoustic cycle, the electronic driving unit uses the second mapping to power the second ultrasonic transducer at the second phase specified by the second mapping while maintaining to power the first ultrasonic transducer at the second phase specified by the second mapping.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument because Kappus does suggest the claimed invention. It is acknowledged that although Kappus does not explicitly teaches the specific scenario as claimed. However, Kappus does teach activating a plurality of individual transducers ([0250]) including the first and second ultrasonic transducer (see FIG. 16) during a first and second acoustic cycle (FIG. 16A-E) and adjusting the phase and amplitude ([0306]) as desired. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the teaching of Kappus of providing mappings to respective transducers (including power, phase, amplitude) including the cycles as claimed through routine experimentation with reasonable expectation of achieving a predictable result of providing mid-air haptic feedback as originally intended.
Conclusion
/QXN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853