DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 01/25/2022, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a final Second Office Action on the merits in response to applicant’s filing on 03/20/2023.
Claims 1-9, 11-16, and 18-22 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/142,321, filed on 01/27/2021. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2022 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/25/2022. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 03/20/2023 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Hoffman discloses that links {31, 32} and the actuators {2, 5} adjust the vehicle height [0071] via the torsion bars {4, 7} for each respective wheel {34}, therefore, Hoffman discloses all the claimed aspects of the arms {86}. Furthermore, since the disconnect mechanism is limited to an operably (not physically and completely) disconnecting mechanism, Hoffman discloses this, therefore, Pinkos is no longer relied upon in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the at least one actuator". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoffman (EP 3,409,517).
Regarding claim 1, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} a vehicle, comprising: a chassis {“body” or “vehicle” [0049]}; an axle {“axle” [0052]}; a sway bar assembly {1} coupled between the chassis and the axle [0049]; and a pair of opposed actuators {2, 5} configured to move the sway bar assembly {1} relative to the axle to thereby move at least a portion of the chassis toward or away from the axle to adjust an attitude of the vehicle [0049, 0071], wherein the sway bar assembly comprises: a lateral bar extending {4, 7} in a generally cross-car direction; and a pair of opposed lateral arms {31, 32} coupled to opposite ends of the lateral bar {4, 7}, wherein the opposed actuators {2, 5} are each operably coupled to one of the lateral arms {31, 32} and configured to rotate the respective lateral arm {31, 32} relative to a longitudinal axis of the lateral bar {4, 7} to adjust the vehicle attitude {“ride height of the vehicle body relative to the respective wheel” [0067]}.
Regarding claim 2, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} the opposed actuators {2, 5} are respectively coupled to the opposite ends of the lateral bar {coupled at end of bar 4, and end of bar 7} and configured to rotate the associated lateral arm {31, 32} relative to the lateral bar longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 3, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} a disconnect mechanism {2, 5, 8 [0047-0048]} configured to {operatively} disconnect left and right sides {4, 7} of the sway bar assembly {via turning both actuators in the same direction (dependently), or different directions (independently)} such that the left and right sides {4, 7} of the sway bar assembly {1} are independently and respectively adjustable [0025] by the opposed actuators {2, 5} relative to the axle {“axle” [0042]}.
Regarding claim 4, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} the sway bar assembly {1} comprises: a pair of opposed coupler links {“control arm (not shown)” [0067]} each rotatably coupled between one of the lateral arms {31, 32} and the axle {“wheel suspension” [0067] is referring to the axle}.
Regarding claim 5, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} the sway bar assembly {1} further includes a pair of opposed end plates {26} disposed at each end of the lateral bar {4, 7, 8; one (interior) end of 4, one (interior) end of 7, both ends of 8} and coupled to the chassis [0060].
Regarding claim 6, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} wherein the axle {“axle” [0052]} comprises a front axle {“front axle” [0052]} and a rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]}, and wherein the sway bar assembly {1} includes a front sway bar assembly {28} coupled between the front axle {“front axle” [0052] corresponding to “respective wheel 34” [0071]} and the chassis {“vehicle body” [0071]}, and a rear sway bar assembly {29} coupled between the rear axle and the chassis [0069].
Regarding claim 7, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} the opposed actuators {2, 5} of the front and rear sway bar assemblies include: a front left actuator {2} configured to selectively move a front left of the chassis {“vehicle body” [0071]} relative to the front axle {“front axle” [0052]} to adjust the vehicle attitude [0049]; a front right actuator {5} configured to selectively move a front right of the chassis relative to the front axle {“front axle” [0052]} to adjust the vehicle attitude; a rear left actuator {2} configured to selectively move a rear left of the chassis relative to the rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]} to adjust the vehicle attitude; and a rear right actuator {5} configured to selectively move a rear right of the chassis relative to the rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]} to adjust the vehicle attitude [0049, 0071].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 11-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Lu (US 10,486,699), as cited by applicant.
Regarding claim 8, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {33} having a controller {“control device” [0043]]} in signal communication with the opposed actuators {2, 5} and programmed to operate, based on control specifications {“taking into account the control specifications” [0068]}, the opposed actuators {42, 5} to adjust the attitude of the vehicle [0071].
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose the attitude adjustment system is programmed to operated based on user input {i.e. does not explicitly disclose that the control specifications can include user input}.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude control system to include a user interface in order to “present information to, and receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 11, Hoffman and Lu disclose all the aspects of claim 8. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the controller {“control device” [0068]} is further programmed to operate in an autonomous mode {“as a function of the driving situation” [0068]}, comprising: operatively disconnecting left and right sides of the sway bar assembly by allowing left and right sides of the sway bar assembly {4, 7} to rotate independently; receive, from a central database {33}, vehicle condition data {“measure the current measured variables of the active chassis and/or the transmission and/or the drive motors and/or the torsion bars” [0038]} uploaded to the central database {33}; receive input from one or more sensors {“sensors” [0038]} indicative of vehicle component locations; and adjust one or more of the opposed actuators {2, 5 [0038]} to position wheels {“wheel suspension” [0055]} of the vehicle in locations corresponding to predetermined locations in the vehicle condition data [0043].
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose terrain mapping/GPS track data uploaded to the central database, wherein one or more wheels are positioned corresponding to predetermined locations in the terrain mapping/GPS track data.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} terrain mapping/GPS track data {“map data…from a topographical graph”; Col. 2, lines 60-63} uploaded to the central database {105}; wherein one or more wheels are positioned {via 115} corresponding to predetermined locations in the terrain mapping/GPS track data {Col. 2, lines 20-67}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude adjustment system, as disclosed by Hoffman and Lu to further include terrain mapping/track data collection and analyzation means, as taught by Lu, in order to “control an active suspension system in accordance with the environmental obstacle and controls the autonomous host vehicle to traverse the environmental obstacle” {Col. 2, lines 24-27}…”while considering factors such as roll-over propensity, traction loss, loss of control, and other risk factors associated with traversing the environmental obstacle” {Col. 3, lines 1-3}.
Regarding claim 12, Hoffman and Lu disclose all the aspects of claim 8. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the controller is further programmed to operate in an automatic mode {“as a function of the driving situation” [0068]}, comprising: operatively disconnecting left and right sides of the sway bar assembly by allowing left {4} and right {7} sides of the sway bar assembly to rotate independently; receive input from one or more sensors {“sensors” [0038]} indicative of vehicle component locations [0038]; and automatically adjust the one or more actuators {2, 5 [0038]} to position a body of the vehicle as close to horizontal as possible {“pitch stabilization…roll stabilization” [0049-0050]}.
Regarding claim 13, Hoffman and Lu disclose all the aspects of claim 8. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the axle {“axle” [0052]} includes a front axle {“front axle” [0052]} and a rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]}, wherein the sway bar assembly {1} includes a front sway bar assembly {28} and a rear sway bar assembly {29}, wherein each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies {1 (28, 29)} includes a disconnect mechanism to selectively operably disconnect left {4} and right {7} sides of the sway bar assembly {1} to rotate independently of one another, and wherein the controller {“controller” [0042]} is further programmed to operate in a front/rear mode [0049], comprising: adjusting the attitude of a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle [0052]; connect the disconnect mechanism {2, 5, 8 [0047-0048]} of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies [0056]; and adjusting one or more of the actuators {2, 5} to independently adjust the attitude of the front and/or rear of the vehicle [0052].
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose providing user selectable options to independently adjust the attitude of each of a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle; connecting the disconnect mechanism of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies; or adjusting the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the front and/or rear of the vehicle based on the user selected options.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude control system disclosed by Hoffman and Lu to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle based on user selected option in order to “receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 14, Hoffman and Lu disclose all the aspects of claim 8. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the axle {“axle” [0052]} includes a front axle {“front axle” [0052]} and a rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]}, wherein the sway bar assembly {1} includes a front sway bar assembly {28} and a rear sway bar assembly {29}, and wherein the controller {“control device” [0068]} is further programmed to operate in a left/right mode {“control the actuators…in such a way…cause a vehicle body to tilt to the side” [0042]}, comprising: settings to adjust the attitude of a left side of the vehicle and a right side of the vehicle; operatively allow left and right sides of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies to rotate independently; and adjust the one or more actuators {46} to adjust the attitude of the left and/or right side of the vehicle.
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose providing user selectable options to adjust the attitude of a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle; physically, totally disconnecting left and right sides of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies; or adjusting the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the front and/or rear of the vehicle based on the user selected options.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude control system disclosed by Hoffman and Lu to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of a front of the vehicle and a rear of the vehicle (via the 4 actuators and 2 disconnect systems of the front and rear sway bar assembly) based on user selected option in order to “receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 15, Hoffman and Lu disclose all the aspects of claim 8. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the axle {“axle” [0052]} includes a front axle {“front axle” [0052]} and a rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]}, wherein the sway bar assembly {1} includes a front sway bar assembly {28} and a rear sway bar assembly {29}, and wherein the controller {“control device” [0068]} is further programmed to operate in a four corners mode, comprising: “other parameters or control specifications” [0045] to independently adjust the attitude of each of a front left corner {4, 28, 31, 34} of the vehicle, a front right corner {7, 28, 32, 34} of the vehicle, a rear left corner {4, 29, 31, 34} of the vehicle, and a rear right corner {7, 29, 32, 34} of the vehicle; disconnect left and right sides of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies [0049-0050]; and adjust one or more of the actuators {2, 5} to independently adjust the attitude of the front left, front right, rear left, and/or rear right corner of the vehicle based on “control parameters…or control specifications” [0044].
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose the controller is configured to provide user selectable options; and adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the front left, front right, rear left, and/or rear right corner of the vehicle based on the user selected options.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude control system disclosed by Hoffman and Lu for the “control specifications” to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of all 4 corners of the vehicle (via the 4 actuators and 2 disconnect systems of the front and rear sway bar assembly) based on user selected option in order to “receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 16, Hoffman and Lu disclose all the aspects of claim 8. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the axle {“axle” [0052]} includes a front axle {“front axle” [0052]} and a rear axle {“rear axle” [0052]}, wherein the sway bar assembly {1} includes a front sway bar assembly {28} and a rear sway bar assembly {29}, wherein each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies includes a disconnect mechanism {2, 5, 8} to selectively operably allow left and right sides of the sway bar assembly to rotate independently, and wherein the controller is further programmed to operate in an all up mode {“the actuators can be controlled in such a way…a force that tensions the body…can be effected simultaneously on both wheel suspensions of a vehicle axle. Accordingly, this can cause the vehicle body to be raised” [0045]}, comprising: provide “other parameters or control specifications” [0045] to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to a fully raised position {“raised” [0045]}; connect the disconnect mechanism of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies {via 8, and by rotating actuators 2, 5 in unison}; and adjust the one or more actuators {2, 5} to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to the fully raised position; and the (ii) all down mode {“the actuators can be controlled in such a way…a force that relaxes the body…can be effected simultaneously on both wheel suspensions of a vehicle axle. Accordingly, this can cause the vehicle body to be… lowered” [0045], comprising: provide “other parameters or control specifications” [0045]} to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to a fully lowered position {“lowered” [0045]}; connect the disconnect mechanism of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies {via 8, and by rotating actuators 2, 5 in unison}; and adjust the one or more actuators {2, 5} to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to the fully lowered position.
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose providing user selectable options, and adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to the fully raised position or the fully lowered position based on the user selected options.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude control system disclosed by Hoffman and Lu for the “control specifications” to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to a fully raised or fully lowered position (via the 4 actuators and 2 disconnect systems of the front and rear sway bar assembly) based on a user selected option in order to give the driver more control over the vehicle driving conditions {“receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers”; Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 18, Hoffman discloses {Figures 1-5} a method of adjusting the attitude of a vehicle having a chassis {“body” or “vehicle” [0049]}, front {“front axle” [0052]} and rear axles {“rear axle” [0052], a front sway bar assembly {1, 28} coupled between the front axle and the chassis, a rear sway bar assembly {29} coupled between the rear axle and the chassis, a disconnect mechanism {2, 5, 8} operably associated with and configured to selectively allow left {4} and right sides {7} of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies [0049, 0052], wherein each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies includes a lateral bar {4, 7}, a pair of opposed lateral arms {31, 32} coupled to opposite ends of the lateral bar {4, 7}, and opposed actuators {2, 5} each coupled to one of the lateral arms {31, 32} and configured to rotate the respective lateral arm {31, 32} relative to a longitudinal axis of the lateral bar {4, 7} to rotate independently [0047-0048], a plurality of actuators {2, 5} operably associated with each of the front {28} and rear {29} sway bar assemblies and configured to move the associated front and rear sway bar assemblies relative to the respective front and rear axles to selectively adjust an attitude of the vehicle [0042], the method comprising: providing at least one “parameters or control specifications” [0044] to adjust the attitude of the vehicle; determining what actuator needs to be actuated, and actuating the disconnect mechanism to connect or disconnect the front and rear sway bar assemblies; and adjusting, one or more of the actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle.
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose providing user selectable options, actuating the disconnect mechanism to connect or disconnect left and right sides of each of the front and rear sway bar assemblies based on the user selected option; and adjusting, based on the user selected option, the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude control system disclosed by Hoffman for the “control specifications” to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of the vehicle, via the disconnect mechanism and actuators, based on user selected option in order to “receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 19, Hoffman in view Lu discloses all the aspects of claim 18. However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose the vehicle further includes a touchscreen display, and wherein the step of providing at least one user selectable option includes displaying a soft button on the touchscreen display for each user selectable option.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} user input {“user input”} is received via at least one soft button displayed on a touchscreen {120} disposed within a passenger compartment of the vehicle {“a touch-sensitive screen located in the passenger compartment”; Col. 3, lines 67 – Col. 4, line 2}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user interface disclosed by Hoffman and Lu to be operated by at least one soft button displayed on a touchscreen within a passenger compartment in order “present information to, and receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 20, Hoffman in view Lu discloses all the aspects of claim 18. Hoffman further discloses {Figures 1-5} the “other parameters or control specifications” comprises: an autonomous mode [0043] configured to adjust the one or more actuators {2, 5} to position wheels {34} of the vehicle in locations corresponding to predetermined locations in control specifications from sensor data received from a central database {33}; an automatic mode [0044] configured to automatically adjust the one or more actuators {2, 5} to position a body of the vehicle as close to horizontal as possible [0049-0050]; a front/rear mode [0049] configured to adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of a front {28} and rear {29} of the vehicle; a left/right mode [0050] configured to adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of a left side and a right side of the vehicle {“control the actuators…in such a way…cause a vehicle body to tilt to the side” [0042]}; a four corners mode [0049-0050] configured to adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of a front left {4, 28, 31, 34}, a front right {7, 28, 32, 34}, a rear left {4, 29, 31, 34}, and a rear right {7, 29, 32, 34} corner of the vehicle; an all up mode configured to adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to a fully raised position {“the actuators can be controlled in such a way…a force that tensions the body…can be effected simultaneously on both wheel suspensions of a vehicle axle. Accordingly, this can cause the vehicle body to be raised” [0045]}; and an all down mode configured to adjust the one or more actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle to a fully lowered position {“the actuators can be controlled in such a way…a force that relaxes the body…can be effected simultaneously on both wheel suspensions of a vehicle axle. Accordingly, this can cause the vehicle body to be… lowered” [0045], comprising: provide “other parameters or control specifications” [0045]}.
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose “other parameters or control specifications” are at least one user selectable option, or that the autonomous mode is configured to adjust the one or more actuators to position wheels of the vehicle in locations corresponding to predetermined locations in terrain mapping/GPS track data received from a central database.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}; and an autonomous host vehicle comprising terrain mapping/GPS track data {“map data…from a topographical graph”; Col. 2, lines 60-63} uploaded to the central database {105}; wherein one or more wheels are positioned {via 115} corresponding to predetermined locations in the terrain mapping/GPS track data {Col. 2, lines 20-67}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude adjustment system, as disclosed by Hoffman and Lu for the “control specifications” to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of the vehicle, via the disconnect mechanism and actuators, based on user selected option in order to “receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}; and to further include terrain mapping/track data collection and analyzation means, as taught by Lu, in order to “control an active suspension system in accordance with the environmental obstacle and controls the autonomous host vehicle to traverse the environmental obstacle” {Col. 2, lines 24-27}…”while considering factors such as roll-over propensity, traction loss, loss of control, and other risk factors associated with traversing the environmental obstacle” {Col. 3, lines 1-3}.
Regarding claim 21, Hoffman in view Lu discloses all the aspects of claim 18.
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose the step of providing at least one user selectable option to adjust the attitude of the vehicle comprises: providing a first set of user selectable options to select (i) a front of the vehicle, (ii) a rear of the vehicle, (iii) a left side of the vehicle, (iv) a right side of the vehicle, (v) a front left of the vehicle, (vi) a front right of the vehicle, (vii) a rear left of the vehicle, and (viii) a rear right of the vehicle; and providing a second set of user selectable options to select (i) an upward movement or (ii) a downward movement; and wherein the step of adjusting, based on the user selected option, one or more of the actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle further includes: adjusting, based on the user selected first set of options and user selected second set of options, one or more of the actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} a vehicle attitude adjustment system {105} having a controller {130} in signal communication with the at least one actuator {“the processor 130 may coordinate actuations …raising remaining wheels as needed and as appropriate”; Col. 7, lines 37-40} and programmed to operate, based on user input {Col. 6, lines 41-45} to a user interface {120}, the at least one actuator to adjust the attitude of the vehicle {Col. 7, line 53 – Col. 8, line 6}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude adjustment system, as disclosed by Hoffman and Lu for the “control specifications” to provide user selectable options to adjust the attitude of the vehicle at any wheel or combination of wheels, via the disconnect mechanism and actuators, based on a user selected option in order to give the vehicle driver more control over the driving conditions {“receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers”; Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Regarding claim 22, Hoffman in view Lu discloses all the aspects of claim 18.
However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose after the step of adjusting one or more of the actuators to adjust the attitude of the vehicle: providing a user selectable option to save operational data of the vehicle attitude adjustment; mapping a terrain of the vehicle during the vehicle attitude adjustment; and providing a user selectable option to send the operational data to other connected vehicles and/or a central database for future use by other vehicles.
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} an autonomous host vehicle comprising terrain mapping/GPS track data {“map data…from a topographical graph”; Col. 2, lines 60-63} is uploaded to a central database {105}; wherein one or more wheels are positioned {via 115} corresponding to predetermined locations in the terrain mapping/GPS track data {Col. 2, lines 20-67}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle attitude adjustment system, as disclosed by Hoffman and Lu to include terrain mapping/track data collection, analyzation and uploading means, as taught by Lu, in order to “control an active suspension system in accordance with the environmental obstacle and controls the autonomous host vehicle to traverse the environmental obstacle” {Col. 2, lines 24-27}…”while considering factors such as roll-over propensity, traction loss, loss of control, and other risk factors associated with traversing the environmental obstacle” {Col. 3, lines 1-3}.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoffman in view of Lu as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Berry (US 2005/0004732).
Regarding claim 9, Hoffman in view of Lu discloses all the aspects of claim 8. However, Hoffman does not explicitly disclose at least one of: (i) at least one user input is received via at least one switch disposed on at least one of an instrument panel and a steering wheel; and (ii) at least one soft button displayed on a touchscreen disposed within a passenger compartment of the vehicle.
Berry teaches {Figures 1-12} user input is received via at least one switch {300, 400, 500} disposed on at least one of an instrument panel and a steering wheel [0077, 0095].
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user interface disclosed by Hoffman and Lu to be operated by at least one switch disposed on an instrument panel or a steering wheel in order to allow “direct input of the driver’s current ride height preference” [0083].
Lu teaches {Figures 1-4} user input {“user input”} is received via at least one soft button displayed on a touchscreen {120} disposed within a passenger compartment of the vehicle {“a touch-sensitive screen located in the passenger compartment”; Col. 3, lines 67 – Col. 4, line 2}.
In light of these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the user interface disclosed by Hoffman, Lu, and Berry to be operated by at least one soft button displayed on a touchscreen within a passenger compartment in order “present information to, and receive user inputs from, the vehicle passengers” {Col. 3, lines 64-67}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618