DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 1, lines 15-16, “device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device or not” should read – device, an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device, or not --.
At claim 17, line 6, “device an image” should read – device, an image --.
At claim 18, lines 15-16, “device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device or not” should read – device, an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device, or not --.
At claim 19, lines 15-16, “device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device or not” should read – device, an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device, or not --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses “means” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “display means for displaying indication identification information; and sending means for sending device identification information; …determination means for determining whether the person…is measuring the biological information” in claim 1, “face authentication means for performing face authentication” in claim 7, “body movement determination means for determining whether the person…is moving” in claim 13, “performance status determination means for determining whether…the device is properly measuring” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neinhouse (US 20180101721 A1 – cited by applicant), hereinafter “Neinhouse”.
Regarding claim 1, Neinhouse teaches a biological information measuring system (Figure 1, Abstract) comprising: a biological information measuring device for measuring biological information of a person to be measured (Figure 1, testing device 102, Paragraphs 0047 and 0049); an image-shooting device (Figure 1, camera 138); and an information-processing device (Figure 1, server 180), wherein the biological information measuring device comprises: display means (Figure 1, display 110) for displaying indication identification information (Figure 1, S/C 121, BAC 118, Paragraphs 0049 and 0064); and sending means (Figure 1, interface 112) for sending device identification information (Figure 1, S/N 120, Paragraph 0055), and wherein the information-processing device comprises: receiving means for receiving image information acquired by the image-shooting device shooting an image of the indication identification information displayed on the display means and the device identification information sent from the sending means (Paragraph 0059 lines 16-19, the examiner notes that the server 180 would need some form of a component for receiving communications from communication device 130); and determination means (Figure 1, web application 184) for determining whether the person to be measured is measuring the biological information using the biological information measuring device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device or not based on the indication identification information indicated by the image information and the device identification information sent from the sending means (Figure 18, steps 1808-1814, Paragraphs 0069-0070).
Regarding claim 2, Neinhouse teaches wherein the biological information of the person to be measured is breath alcohol concentration of the person to be measured (Paragraph 0047).
Regarding claims 3-4, Neinhouse teaches wherein the indication identification information is randomly generated by the biological information measuring device each time the biological information is measured (Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claims 5-6, Neinhouse teaches wherein the indication identification information is a value indicating a measurement result obtained by the biological information measuring device (Figure 1, BAC 118, Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claims 7-10, Neinhouse teaches wherein the image-shooting device (Figure 1, camera 138) shoots an image of a face of the person to be measured who is performing measurement with the biological information measuring device as well as the image of the indication identification information displayed on the display means (Paragraphs 0054 lines 6-9 and 0064), and wherein the information-processing device (Figure 1, server 180) comprises face authentication means for performing face authentication on the person to be measured based on face image information that is indicated by the image information and indicates the face of the person to be measured (Paragraph 0059 lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 11, Neinhouse teaches wherein the face authentication means performs the face authentication based on a plurality of pieces of face image information, images of which have been shot continuously (Paragraph 0169).
Regarding claim 12, Neinhouse teaches wherein the face authentication means performs face authentication on the person to be measured with the face image information and registered face image information that is registered in advance and indicates the face of the person to be measured (Paragraph 0059 lines 21-29 “based upon stored images of the test subject”).
Regarding claim 13, Neinhouse teaches body movement determination means for determining whether the person to be measured is moving or not based on the image information (Figure 19, liveness analyzer 1947, Paragraphs 0172-0175).
Regarding claim 14, Neinhouse teaches wherein each time the biological information is measured, the biological information measuring device (Figure 1, testing device 102) sends measurement performance information that is information on how the measurement of the biological information is performed to the information- processing device (Figure 1, biometric reader 152, Paragraphs 0057 and 0060), and wherein the information-processing device (Figure 1, server 180) comprises performance status determination means for determining whether the biological information measuring device is properly measuring the biological information or not based on the measurement performance information (Paragraphs 0060).
Regarding claim 15, Neinhouse teaches wherein the biological information of the person to be measured is measured during a predetermined time period (Paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 18, Neinhouse teaches a fraudulent-measurement determination method being an authentication method for a biological information measuring system (Figure 1, Abstract) comprising: a biological information measuring device for measuring biological information of a person to be measured (Figure 1, testing device 102, Paragraphs 0047 and 0049); an image-shooting device (Figure 1, camera 138); and an information-processing device (Figure 1, server 180), the fraudulent- measurement determination method having: a first step of displaying indication identification information on display means (Figure 1, display 110, S/C 121, BAC 118, Paragraphs 0049 and 0064) and sending device identification information to the information-processing device (Figure 1, S/N 120, Paragraph 0055, 0059 lines 16-19); a second step of the image-shooting device shooting an image of the indication identification information displayed on the display means (Paragraphs 0054 lines 6-9 and 0064); a third step of the information-processing device receiving image information acquired by the image-shooting device shooting the image and the device identification information sent from the biological information measuring device (Paragraph 0059 lines 16-19); and a fourth step of the information-processing device determining whether the person to be measured is measuring the biological information using the biological information measuring device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device or not based on the indication identification information indicated by the image information and the device identification information sent from the biological information measuring device (Figure 18, steps 1808-1814, Paragraphs 0069-0070).
Regarding claim 19, Neinhouse teaches a fraudulent-measurement determination program (Paragraph 0015) for a biological information measuring system (Figure 1, Abstract) comprising: a biological information measuring device for measuring biological information of a person to be measured(Figure 1, testing device 102, Paragraphs 0047 and 0049); an image-shooting device (Figure 1, camera 138); and an information-processing device (Figure 1, server 180), the fraudulent-measurement determination program being for causing a computer to execute: a first step of displaying indication identification information on display means (Figure 1, display 110, S/C 121, BAC 118, Paragraphs 0049 and 0064) and sending device identification information to the information-processing device (Figure 1, S/N 120, Paragraph 0055, 0059 lines 16-19); a second step of the image-shooting device shooting an image of the indication identification information displayed on the display means (Paragraphs 0054 lines 6-9 and 0064); a third step of the information-processing device receiving image information acquired by the image-shooting device shooting the image and the device identification information sent from the biological information measuring device (Paragraph 0059 lines 16-19); and a fourth step of the information-processing device determining whether the person to be measured is measuring the biological information using the biological information measuring device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device or not based on the indication identification information indicated by the image information and the device identification information sent from the biological information measuring device (Figure 18, steps 1808-1814, Paragraphs 0069-0070).
Regarding clam 20, Neinhouse teaches a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium holding the fraudulent measurement determination program according to claim 19 (Paragraph 0015, see claim 19 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neinhouse as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Biondo et al. (US 20140375462 A1), hereinafter “Biondo”.
Regarding claim 16, Neinhouse fails to teach the person to be measured is a crew member of an aircraft, and wherein the predetermined time period is at least one of specified time periods before and after an operation time period of the aircraft that the crew member boards for service.
Biondo teaches a biological information measuring system for measuring biological information of a person to be measured (Figure 1, Abstract), wherein the person to be measured is a crew member of an aircraft (Paragraph 0014 lines 15-17), and wherein the biological information of the person to be measured is measured during a specified time period before operation of the aircraft that the crew member boards for service (Paragraph 0060 “before allowing the starting event on every driver cycle”). Doing so could would help prevent an intoxicated person from operating an aircraft.
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Neinhouse such that the person to be measured is a crew member of an aircraft, and wherein the predetermined time period is at least one of specified time periods before and after an operation time period of the aircraft that the crew member boards for service as taught by Biondo in order to prevent an intoxicated person from operating an aircraft.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neinhouse as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tussy (US 20160063235 A1 – cited by applicant), hereinafter “Tussy”.
Regarding claim 17, Neinhouse fails to teach the biological information measuring device comprises an accelerometer, and wherein if the accelerometer detects an acceleration greater than or equal to a specified value while the biological information measuring device is performing the measurement, the determination means determines that the person to be measured is not measuring the biological information using the biological information measuring device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device.
Tussy teaches a biometric authentication system (Figure 1, Abstract) comprising a biometric capturing device (Figure 1, mobile device 112) comprising an accelerometer (Figure 2, accelerometer 272), and wherein if the accelerometer detects an acceleration greater than or equal to a specified value while obtaining biometric information, the system determines that the person to be authenticated is improperly using the system (Paragraphs 0172-1073). Tussy also teaches that doing so would make it very difficult for the user to successfully fool the system (Paragraph 0173).
It would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Neinhouse such that the biological information measuring device comprises an accelerometer, and wherein if the accelerometer detects an acceleration greater than or equal to a specified value while the biological information measuring device is performing the measurement, the determination means determines that the person to be measured is not measuring the biological information using the biological information measuring device an image of which has been shot by the image-shooting device as taught by Tussy in order to make it very difficult for the user to successfully fool the system (Tussy, Paragraph 0173).
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/A.S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3791