DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 11/11/2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 8 and 17 have been amended, claims 10-16, 18-20 have been withdrawn, and new claim 21 has been added. Thus, claims 1-9, 17 and 21 are presently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections over Amans in view of Boddu have been fully considered. Applicant argues on page 6, claim 1 was amended to recite conscious sedation, the prior art Boddu discloses general anesthesia and does not disclose conscious sedation is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view Stout U.S. Publication 2021/025105 A1 (filed 12/29/2020).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 9 is dependent on canceled claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stout U.S. Publication 2021/025105 A1.
Claim 1, Stout discloses a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0012-0015] and [0021]), which comprises, in combination, delivery of a system effective for altering venous pressure (paragraphs [0016-0018], [0021] and [0023]) and flow characteristics with conscious sedation (paragraph [0026]).
Claim 2, Stout discloses further comprising venous stenting with endovascular pressure feedback (see Figure 2 and paragraph [0006], [0023], [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6, 8-9, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stout U.S. Publication 2021/025105 A1 in view of Amans WO 2018/112118 A1.
Claims 3, 21 Stout discloses treating tinnitus (see paragraphs [0009], [0012-0014], [0016-0017]). However, Stout does not expressly disclose treating pulsatile tinnitus. Amans teaches a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (paragraph [0005-0009]), which comprises, in combination, delivery of a system effective for altering venous pressure and flow characteristics (abstract and paragraphs [0005-0009], [0011], [0013]), including treating pulsatile tinnitus (paragraphs [0003], [0005], [0011], [0013], [0038-0039]) for the purpose of correcting irregular flow pattern having a strong vortex and thus removing the sound generated associated with the blood flow and treating pulsatile tinnitus (paragraph [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stout’s process of treating tinnitus to further include treating pulsatile tinnitus as taught by Amans for the purpose of correcting irregular flow pattern having a strong vortex and thus removing the sound generated associated with the blood flow and treating pulsatile tinnitus.
Claim 4, Stout discloses the etiology being vascular and classified based upon location as venous, arterial, or A-V (abstract, paragraphs [0013-0014] and [0016]).
Claim 5, Stout discloses said venous stent/flow diverter providing for symptomatic control and resolution of tinnitus (paragraphs [0012], [0015-0018]).
Claim 6, Stout discloses checking pressure post stent/flow diverter deployment to ensure resolution and repeat to achieve desired outcome or resolution to tinnitus (see paragraphs [0012], [0014], [0016], [0023] and [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stout’s process to have an outcome that post stent/flow diverter deployment no pressure gradient exists further in addressed sinus, vein, or artery to ensure resolution of tinnitus.
Claims 8, 9, Stout does not disclose a stent/flow diverter with more than four crowns or having at least about 5-8 crowns. Amans teaches a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (paragraph [0005-0009]), which comprises, in combination, delivery of a system effective for altering venous pressure and flow characteristics (abstract and paragraphs [0005-0009], [0011], [0013]), the system comprises a venous tent/flow diverter 10 (paragraphs [0017], [0039], [0050-0051]), wherein stent comprises an end with at least 5 to 8 crowns for the purpose of having a plurality of attachment members to embed the device in the venous wall (as seen in Figure 3 and paragraph [0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stout’s process of treating tinnitus with a stent to further include an end with at least 5 to 8 crowns as taught by Amans for the purpose of having a plurality of attachment members to embed the device in the venous wall.
Claim 17, Stout discloses whereby the conscious sedation enables a patient to perceive the resolution of the tinnitus (paragraphs [0012], [0014], [0016], [0023] and [0026]).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 17 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amans WO2018/112118 A1 in view of Stout U.S. Publication 2021/0205105 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Amans discloses a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (paragraph [0005-0009]), which comprises, in combination, delivery of a system effective for altering venous pressure and flow characteristics (abstract and paragraphs [0005-0009], [0011], [0013]). However, Amans does not expressly disclose delivery of a system with conscious sedation. Stout teaches a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0012-0015] and [0021]) in the same field of endeavor comprising a delivery of a system effective for altering venous pressure (see Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0016-0018], [0021] and [0023]) and flow characteristics with conscious sedation (paragraphs [0009], [0012], [0026]) for the purpose of having the patient being awake to allow the patient to verify resolution (see claims 2, 6, 10 of Stout and paragraph [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Amans process of treating sinus-based stenosis to further include having the patient awake (conscious sedation) as taught by Stout for the purpose of having the patient being awake to allow the patient to verify resolution.
Claim 2, Amans does not expressly disclose venous stenting with endovascular pressure feedback. Stout teaches a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0012-0015] and [0021]) in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent/flow diverter 3011 into a venous lesion and taking venous pressure via catherization and re-checking pressure post deployment of stent (as seen in Figures 2-3 and abstract and paragraphs [0002-0004] and [0016]) for the purpose of verifying resolution of tinnitus (paragraphs [0014], [0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Amans process of treating sinus based stenosis to further include taking venous pressure and recheck venous pressure post deployment of stent as taught by Stout for the purpose of verifying resolution of tinnitus.
Regarding Claim 3, Amans treating at least one of pulsatile or non-pulsatile tinnitus (paragraphs [0003], [0013], [0038-0039]).
Regarding Claim 4, Amans the etiology being vascular and classified based upon location as venous, arterial, or A-V (paragraphs [0039-0040]).
Regarding Claim 5, Amans said venous stent/flow diverter providing for symptomatic control and resolution of tinnitus (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding Claim 6, Amans discloses the stent is used to treat tinnitus (pulsatile or non-pulsatile) and corrected abnormal venous flow (paragraphs [0011], [0013], [0040-0041]), therefore, by implanting Amans device would ensure no pressure gradient exists further in addressed sinus, vein, or artery.
Regarding Claim 8, Amans, driven by a stent/flow diverter with more than four crowns (as seen in Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Amans, said stent/flow diverter having at least about 5-8 crowns (as seen in Figure 3).
Claim 17, Amans does not expressly disclose whereby the conscious sedation enables a patient to perceive the resolution of the tinnitus. Stout teaches a process for treating at least one of tinnitus and sinus-based stenosis (abstract, paragraphs [0002], [0012-0015] and [0021]) in the same field of endeavor comprising a delivery of a system effective for altering venous pressure (see Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0016-0018], [0021] and [0023]) and flow characteristics with conscious sedation (paragraphs [0009], [0012], [0026]) for the purpose of having the patient being awake to allow the patient to verify resolution (see claims 2, 6, 10 of Stout and paragraph [0026]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Amans process of treating sinus-based stenosis to further include having the patient awake (conscious sedation) as taught by Stout for the purpose of having the patient being awake to allow the patient to verify resolution.
Regarding Claim 21, Amans discloses treating pulsatile tinnitus (paragraphs [0003], [0013], [0038-0039]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774