Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, 13-17 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-7, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogou et al (PG Pub 20070028955) and further in view of Hamano et al (WO 2017179735).
Regarding claim 1, Sogou et al teaches a thermoelectric device comprising:
• a insulating substrate (72,77, 85) including an electrode surface on which a plurality of first electrodes 78 are disposed [fig 29];
• a plurality of second electrodes 81 facing the plurality of first electrodes [fig 9A-B];
• a plurality of thermoelectric elements (3a,3b) respectively disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes and including P-type thermoelectric elements and N-type thermoelectric elements alternately connected in series by the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes [fig 29]
• a cover portion 74,76, 83 that seals the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of thermoelectric elements on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate, the cover portion including a housing portion (74,76) extending to a first height above the insulating substrate and a flange portion (83) extending to a second height lower than the first height above the insulating substrate [fig 19] and
• A bonding member 84 bonding the electrode surface of the substrate and the flange portion of the cover portion to each other in an airtight manner [fig 29]
• An external electrode 75 being disposed directly on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate [fig 29]
Sougou teaches a bonding member 84 is pasted onto the areas of the peripheral portions of the surface of the substrate, to which the frame body 74 is joined, [para 184] and the bonding member is used to seal the cap in an air tight manner or hermetic sealing [fig 40 para 77 184-186 193]. Thus, in order to have an airtight manner or hermetic sealing, the bonding member 84 has to be on the surface of layer 85, 75 and extended on the side of external electrode 75 and directly bond to the surface of layer [see drawing below]. Thus, the bonding member is considered to be disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes, and the flange portion of the cover portion is disposed directly on the bonding member [fig29 31-40] which is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes. It is noted the electrode surface would include the surface of layer 77 and layer 85.
Sogou et al teaches the external electrode as set forth above, but Sogou et al does not teach there being a pair of terminal electrodes.
Hamano et al teaches a pair of external electrodes 15 a pair of terminal electrodes disposed directly on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and respectively extending from a pair of first electrodes, among the plurality of first electrodes, through the bonding member to outside the cover portion such that the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed directly on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements [fig 2 9A-B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the terminal electrodes of Sogou et al to be in pair such that the pair of external electrodes extending from a pair first electrodes among the plurality of first electrodes to outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements as taught by Hamano et al since the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Modified Sogou et al teaches the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the bonding member being made of resin.
Hamano et al teaches a bonding member 23 formed of a resin and bonding the electrode surface of the substrate and the flange portion of the cover portion to each other in an airtight manner [fig 9A para 51]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the material of the bonding member of modified Sogou et al to be made of resin as taught by Hamano et al since Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP2144.07).
Modified Sogou et al teaches hermetically sealing, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the housing portion integrally formed with a flange portion.
Hamano et al teaches a cover portion including housing portion (22,22a) and flange portion 22b where the housing portion is integrally formed with a flange portion [fig 9A] for hermetically sealing (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the cover portion of modified Sogou et al by the cover portion as taught by Hamano et al for reducing the process of making, and the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sogou et al teaches the substrate includes:
o a first region in which the plurality of thermoelectric elements are disposed [fig 29],
o a second region that surrounds the first region and to which the cover portion 1s bonded [fig 29], and
o a third region outside the second region [fig 29], and
o wherein each terminal electrode of the pair of terminal electrodes extends from the first region to the third region via the second region [fig 29].
Regarding claim 6, modified Sogou et al teaches the substrate further includes a back surface disposed opposite across a thickness of the substrate from the electrode surface, and the substrate is a resin substrate including a metal film disposed on the back surface [para 127]
Regarding claim 7, modified Sogou et al teaches the substrate is a low-temperature-side substrate of the thermoelectric conversion module [para 115-118]
Regarding claim 13, modified Sogou et al teaches the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou does not teach the thickness of bonding member.
Hamano et al teaches a thickness of the bonding member exceeds a thickness of each terminal electrode of the pair of terminal electrodes [fig 9A, Hamano et al].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thickness of the bonding member of modified Sogou et al to be the same of Hamano et al since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 14-15, modified Sogou et al teaches the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou does not teach the thickness of cover portion.
Hamano et al teaches the cover portion 22 being made of metal foil has a thickness of 1- micron and more which is overlapped the claimed range [para 77 79].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thickness of the cover portion of modified Sogou et al to be the same of Hamano et al since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 16, Sogou et al teaches a thermoelectric device comprising:
an insulating substrate (72,77, 85) including an electrode surface on which a plurality of first electrodes 78 are disposed;
a plurality of second electrodes 81 facing the plurality of first electrodes;
a plurality of thermoelectric elements (3a,3b) respectively disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes and including P-type thermoelectric elements and N-type thermoelectric elements alternately connected in series by the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes [fig 29];
a cover portion 74,76, 83 including a housing portion (74,76) that covers the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of thermoelectric elements on the electrode surface, and a flange portion 83 [fig 29];
terminal electrodes 75 disposed on the insulating substrate and respectively extending from first electrodes among the plurality of first electrodes to outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements [fig 29]; and
a bonding member 84 \ bonding the insulating substrate and the flange portion of the cover portion to each other in an airtight manner, wherein the pair of terminal electrodes penetrate through the bonding member in an airtight manner [ fig 40 para 77 193],
wherein respective thicknesses of the pair of terminal electrodes that penetrate through the bonding member are smaller than a thickness of the bonding member. [fig 40]
Sogou et al teaches the external electrode as set forth above, but Sogou et al does not teach there being a pair of terminal electrodes.
Hamano et al teaches a pair of external electrodes 15 a pair of terminal electrodes disposed directly on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and respectively extending from a pair of first electrodes, among the plurality of first electrodes, through the bonding member to outside the cover portion such that the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed directly on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements [fig 2 9A-B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the terminal electrodes of Sogou et al to be in pair such that the pair of external electrodes extending from a pair first electrodes among the plurality of first electrodes to outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements as taught by Hamano et al since the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Modified Sogou et al teaches the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the bonding member being made of resin.
Hamano et al teaches A bonding member 23 formed of a resin and bonding the electrode surface of the substrate and the flange portion of the cover portion to each other in an airtight manner [fig 9A para 51]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the material of the bonding member of modified Sogou et al to be made of resin as taught by Hamano et al since Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP2144.07).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sogou et al teaches the pair of terminal electrodes 75 being integrally formed with the pair of first electrodes [fig 40, 41]
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogou et al (PG Pub 20070028955) and Hamano et al (WO 2017179735), and further in view of Kasichainula (PG pub 20180159015).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sogou et al teaches the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed on the electrode surface, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the thickness of the terminal electrodes.
Kasichainula teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a terminal 502 where the terminal has a thickness of 18 micron or less which overlapped the claimed range [para 48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thickness of the pair of the terminal of modified Sogou et al to be the same of Kasichainula since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogou et al (PG Pub 20070028955) and Hamano et al (WO 2017179735), and further in view of KR 20170061454, hereinafter as ‘454.
Regarding claim 8, modified Sogou et al the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the fastening member.
‘454 teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a fastening member being fixed cover 40 and substrate 5 [fig 2]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to fasten the cover and substrate of modified Sogou et al by the fastening of ‘454 for mechanical stability.
Alternative rejection:
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-7, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogou et al (PG Pub 20070028955) and further in view of Furukawa (PG pub 20180175269) and Hamano et al (WO 2017179735).
Regarding claim 1, Sogou et al teaches a thermoelectric device comprising:
• a substrate (72,77) including an electrode surface on which a plurality of first electrodes 78 are disposed [fig 19];
• a plurality of second electrodes 81 facing the plurality of first electrodes [fig 9A-B];
• a plurality of thermoelectric elements (3a,3b) respectively disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes and including P-type thermoelectric elements and N-type thermoelectric elements alternately connected in series by the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes [fig 29]
• a cover portion 74,76, 83 that seals the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of thermoelectric elements on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate, the cover portion including a housing portion extending to a first height above the insulating substrate and a flange portion extending to a second height lower than the first height above the insulating substrate [fig 19] and
• A bonding member 84 bonding the electrode surface of the substrate and the flange portion of the cover portion to each other in an airtight manner [fig 29]
• An external electrode 75 being disposed directly on the electrode surface of the insulating substrate [fig 29].
Sougou teaches the bonding member is used to seal the cap in an air tight manner [fig 40 para 77 193] where the bonding is made of low thermal conductive material [para 185]. Also, the bonding member 84 directly bonded to the external electrode 75, but Sougou does not explicit teach the bonding member being directly bonded to the surface electrode of the substrate.
Yurukawa teaches a thermoelectric device comprising resin layer 5 being used to bond the wiring (4) to the support substrate 11, 12 where the resin 5 is extended on the side and surround the wiring to be directly bond the substrate 11 and directly bond to the wiring [fig 4]. Also, resin 5 is made of silicone or epoxy resin which are the low thermal conductivity [para28].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bonding member of Sougou to be extended on the side of the external electrode such that the bonding member is directly bonded to the electrode surface of substrate as taught by Yurukawa for hermetic sealing or airtight manner. Also, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the material of the bonding member of modified Sogou et al to be made of resin as taught by Yurukawa since Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP2144.07). As for combination, the bonding member is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes only, and the flange portion of the cover portion is disposed directly on the bonding member which is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes only.
Sogou et al teaches the external electrode as set forth above, but Sogou et al does not teach there being a pair of terminal electrodes.
Yurukawa teaches a pair of external electrodes 4 [fig 4 5A]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the terminal electrodes of Sogou et al to be in pair since the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007). As for combination, modified Sougou et al teaches the thermoelectric element being connected in series; thus, it is considered that the pair of external electrodes extending from a pair first electrodes among the plurality of first electrodes to outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements.
Modified Sogou et al teaches hermetically sealing, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the housing portion integrally formed with a flange portion.
Hamano et al teaches a cover portion including housing portion (22,22a) and flange portion 22b where the housing portion is integrally formed with a flange portion [fig 9A] for hermetically sealing (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the cover portion of modified Sogou et al by the cover portion as taught by Hamano et al for reducing the process of making, and the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sogou et al teaches the substrate includes:
o a first region in which the plurality of thermoelectric elements are disposed [fig 29],
o a second region that surrounds the first region and to which the cover portion 1s bonded [fig 29], and
o a third region outside the second region [fig 29], and
o wherein each terminal electrode of the pair of terminal electrodes extends from the first region to the third region via the second region [fig 29].
Regarding claim 6, modified Sogou et al teaches the substrate further includes a back surface disposed opposite across a thickness of the substrate from the electrode surface, and the substrate is a resin substrate including a metal film disposed on the back surface [para 127]
Regarding claim 7, modified Sogou et al teaches the substrate is a low-temperature-side substrate of the thermoelectric conversion module [para 115-118]
Regarding claim 13, modified Sogou et al a thickness of the bonding member exceeds a thickness of each terminal electrode of the pair of terminal electrodes.
Regarding claim 14-15, modified Sogou et al teaches the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou does not teach the thickness of cover portion.
Hamano et al teaches the cover portion 22 being made of metal foil has a thickness of 1- micron and more which is overlapped the claimed range [para 77 79].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thickness of the cover portion of modified Sogou et al to be the same of Hamano et al since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Regarding claim 16, Sogou et al teaches a thermoelectric device comprising:
an insulating substrate (72,77, 85) including an electrode surface on which a plurality of first electrodes 78 are disposed;
a plurality of second electrodes 81 facing the plurality of first electrodes;
a plurality of thermoelectric elements (3a,3b) respectively disposed between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes and including P-type thermoelectric elements and N-type thermoelectric elements alternately connected in series by the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes [fig 29];
a cover portion 74,76, 83 including a housing portion (74,76) that covers the plurality of second electrodes and the plurality of thermoelectric elements on the electrode surface, and a flange portion 83 [fig 29];
terminal electrodes 75 disposed on the insulating substrate and respectively extending from first electrodes among the plurality of first electrodes to outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements [fig 29]; and
a bonding member 84 bonding the insulating substrate and the flange portion of the cover portion to each other in an airtight manner, wherein the pair of terminal electrodes penetrate through the bonding member in an airtight manner [ fig 40 para 77 193],
Sougou teaches the bonding member is used to seal the cap in an air tight manner [fig 40 para 77 193] where the bonding is made of low thermal conductive material [para 185]. Also, the bonding member 84 directly bonded to the external electrode 75, but Sougou does not explicit teach the bonding member being directly bonded to the surface electrode of the substrate.
Yurukawa teaches a thermoelectric device comprising resin layer 5 being used to bond the wiring (4) to the support substrate 11, 12 where the resin 5 is extended on the side and surround the wiring to be directly bond the substrate 11 and directly bond to the wiring [fig 4]. Also, resin 5 is made of silicone or epoxy resin which are the low thermal conductivity [para28] and the respective thicknesses of the pair of terminal electrodes that penetrate through the bonding member are smaller than a thickness of the bonding member [fig 4]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the bonding member of Sougou to be extended on the side of the external electrode such that the bonding member is directly bonded to the electrode surface of substrate such that the respective thicknesses of the pair of terminal electrodes that penetrate through the bonding member are smaller than a thickness of the bonding member as taught by Yurukawa for hermetic sealing or airtight manner. Also, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the material of the bonding member of modified Sogou et al to be made of resin as taught by Yurukawa since Selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP2144.07). As for combination, the bonding member is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes only, and the flange portion of the cover portion is disposed directly on the bonding member which is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes only.
Sogou et al teaches the external electrode as set forth above, but Sogou et al does not teach there being a pair of terminal electrodes.
Yurukawa teaches a pair of external electrodes 4 [fig 4 5A]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the terminal electrodes of Sogou et al to be in pair since the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007). As for combination, modified Sougou et al teaches the thermoelectric element being connected in series; thus, it is considered that the pair of external electrodes extending from a pair first electrode among the plurality of first electrodes to outside the cover portion, the pair of first electrodes constituting both ends of the series connection of the plurality of thermoelectric elements.
Modified Sogou et al teaches hermetically sealing, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the housing portion integrally formed with a flange portion.
Hamano et al teaches a cover portion including housing portion (22,22a) and flange portion 22b where the housing portion is integrally formed with a flange portion [fig 9A] for hermetically sealing (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the cover portion of modified Sogou et al by the cover portion as taught by Hamano et al for reducing the process of making, and the claimed subject matter merely combines familiar elements according to known methods and does no more than yield predictable results. See MPEP 2141 (III) Rationale A,KSR v. Teleflex (Supreme Court 2007).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sogou et al teaches the pair of terminal electrodes 75 being integrally formed with the pair of first electrodes [fig 4, Furukawa]
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogou et al (PG Pub 20070028955) and Furukawa (PG pub 20180175269) and Hamano et al (WO 2017179735) and further in view of Kasichainula (PG pub 20180159015).
Regarding claim 3, modified Sogou et al teaches the pair of terminal electrodes are disposed on the electrode surface, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the thickness of the terminal electrodes.
KAsichainula teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a terminal 502 where the terminal has a thickness of 18 micron or less which overlapped the claimed range [para 48].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the thickness of the pair of the terminal of modified Sogou et al to be the same of Kasichainula since such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Also, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sogou et al (PG Pub 20070028955) and Furukawa (PG pub 20180175269) and Hamano et al (WO 2017179735), and further in view of KR 20170061454, hereinafter as ‘454.
Regarding claim 8, modified Sogou et al the claimed limitation, but modified Sogou et al does not teach the fastening member.
‘454 teaches a thermoelectric device comprising a fastening member being fixed cover 40 and substrate 5 [fig 2]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to fasten the cover and substrate of modified Sogou et al by the fastening of ‘454 for mechanical stability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues in substance:
Sogou does not teach the bonding member is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes only
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Sogou teaches the substrate including (72,77, 85) and the terminal electrode 75 [fig 39 40]. Also, a bonding member 84 is pasted onto the areas of the peripheral portions of the surface of the substrate, to which the frame body 74 is joined, [para 184] and the bonding member is used to seal the cap in an air tight manner or hermetic sealing [fig 40 para 77 193]. Thus, in order to have an airtight manner or hermetic sealing, the bonding member 84 has to be on the surface of layer 85, 75 and extended on the side of external electrode 75 and directly bond to the surface of layer [see drawing below]. Thus, the bonding member is considered to be disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes, and the flange portion of the cover portion is disposed directly on the bonding member [fig29 31-40] which is disposed directly on both of the electrode surface of the insulating substrate and the pair of terminal electrodes.
Sogou does not teach the insulating film 84 extending on the side of the leading wiring 75.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. In order to seal the cap in an air tight manner or hermetic sealing, the bonding member has to be on the top and on the side of the wiring 75 to prevent any heat or gas leaking. Also, since the bonding member is formed of resin (flexible or deformed), the bonding member would be able to be formed a TT structure.
Conclusion
/UYEN M TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726