DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13, 16-17, 19-23, 26-27, 29, and 38-46 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejections of these claims are maintained.
Applicant argues that:
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 21
In Dimitrova, there is no "common reference frame C" as alleged by the Office.
Dimitrova's process does not, and cannot, determine any "difference between" two images. Dimitrova's black frame detection compares Frame A with a luminance threshold to determine whether it is black, and separately compares Frame B with that threshold to determine whether it is black. This process of Dimitrova thus yields two independent binary results (black, or not black). This process of Dimitrova does not yield any other information about those frames. For example, the binary black versus not black outcome of each of a Frame A and a Frame B provides no information that could be used to determine the difference between Frame A and Frame B. Frames A and B could both be determined to be black under Dimitrova's threshold test such that their luminances are each under the black frame luminance threshold, yet have completely different pixel values, noise patterns, and luminance levels. Dimitrova's process provides no information whatsoever about how similar or different the two frames are from each other.
Because Dimitrova never determines any difference between two images in the same video content, there is no such "difference between the first image and the second image" that could be compared against any threshold. Nor is the luminance threshold in Dimitrova a threshold used for comparison with a difference between two images.
Regarding claims 7, 9, 17, 19, 27, and 29
The cited prior art does not teach multiple users/viewers, and the claimed feature of claims 7 and 9.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Both Ekstrand (para. 0072) and Dimitrova (col. 2 lines 10-22) teach detecting a black frame, i.e., a reference frame for comparison purpose.
and C. The comparison process yields a result whether frame A is considered a black frame or not a black frame, and similarly, whether frame B is considered a black frame or not a black frame. Based on the result of being a black frame or not a black frame, one can determine if there is difference between frame A and frame B.
D. Ekstrand discloses a plurality of users (see para. 0038, a plurality of users, para. 0072, fig. 6, each user of the plurality of users determines a respective black image at a respective time point or location within window 610a-c as a third image and a fourth that identify the beginning of an advertising content. It is noted that a transition section between advertising content and program content or vice versa may contain a sequence of black frames or unicolor frames as known in the art; see Agnihotri et al., US Publication 2003/0126598, para. 0051 and claim 5; the controller 10 recognizes that the frame detected in step 200 is potentially one of a series of black/unicolor frames following the ending of a commercial segment; see Ekstrand and Yamagami in the 103 Rejection below for disclosure of the claimed features).
As to any other arguments not specifically addressed, they are either the same as those discussed above, or they are addressed in the rejection section described below.
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 6, 10-11, 16, 20-21, 26, and 38-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ekstrand et al. (US Publication 2009/0282454) in view of Dimitrova et al. (US Patent 6,100,941), and further in view of Rui et al. (English Translation of Chinese Publication CN101030432 09-2007).
Regarding claim 1, Ekstrand discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that (Ekstrand, para. 0036, processor and memory storing instructions), when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
determine a first image associated with a first location within video content (Ekstrand, para. 0072, fig. 6, the advertising identification unit 242 may more quickly and accurately identify the beginning and/or end of each instance of the advertising content by searching within each of the time windows 610a-c to identify where a change of scene content occurs, with the change of scene content being defined as the beginning or end of the advertising content. The advertising identification unit 242 may, for example, identify a transition between program/movie content and advertising content in response to identifying a black video frame occurring within the time windows 610a-c; as such, the advertising identification unit 242 may determine/identify a black image at a first time point or location within window 610a-c as a first image associated with the beginning location “first location” of an advertising content);
determine a second image associated with a second location within the video content (Ekstrand, para. 0072, fig. 6, the advertising identification unit 242 may more quickly and accurately identify the beginning and/or end of each instance of the advertising content by searching within each of the time windows 610a-c to identify where a change of scene content occurs, with the change of scene content being defined as the beginning or end of the advertising content. The advertising identification unit 242 may, for example, identify a transition between program/movie content and advertising content in response to identifying a black video frame occurring within the time windows 610a-c; as such, the advertising identification unit 242 may determine a black image at a second time point or location within window 610a-c as a second image associated with the end location “second location” of an advertising content; the first image is associated with the beginning location of the advertising content);
In one interpretation, Ekstrand further discloses:
comparing the first image with the second image (It is noted that a comparison between video frame A and video frame B can be inferred by comparing both to a common reference frame C, provided that all frames are in a comparable format. In this way, analyzing and comparing frame A with frame C, and comparing frame B with frame C allows for an indirect relative comparison between frame A and frame B. Ekstrand, para. 0005, chapter marks indicate identified locations of the advertising content and video content that is based on the received video stream; para. 0064, fig. 5, a user who is viewing the video can visually observe the snapshot pictures 500a-e from a portion of the video following each of the displayed chapter marks 410a-e, and can determine therefrom whether the viewer desires to jump the present playback location to a previous or forwardly occurring one of the chapter marks 410a-e corresponding to one or more of the displayed snapshot pictures 500a-e; para. 0072, fig. 6, the advertising identification unit 242 may more quickly and accurately identify the beginning and/or end of each instance of the advertising content by searching within each of the time windows 610a-c to identify where a change of scene content occurs, with the change of scene content being defined as the beginning or end of the advertising content. The advertising identification unit 242 may, for example, identify a transition between program/movie content and advertising content in response to identifying a black video frame occurring within the time windows 610a-c; as such, the advertising identification unit 242 may determine/identify a black image at a first time point or location within window 610a-c as a first image associated with the beginning location “first location” of an advertising content, and determine a black image at a second time point or location within window 610a-c as a second image associated with the end location “second location” of an advertising content; therefore, the first image and the second image are compared based on a reference black image);
based on the difference satisfying a predetermined threshold difference, cause a device to output the video content beginning at the second location associated with the second image (Ekstrand, para. 0064, a user who is viewing the video can visually observe the snapshot pictures 500a-e from a portion of the video following each of the displayed chapter marks 410a-e, and can determine therefrom whether the viewer desires to jump the present playback location to a previous or forwardly occurring one of the chapter marks 410a-e corresponding to one or more of the displayed snapshot pictures 500a-e; para. 0072, based on the fact that the viewer can quickly and accurately identify the beginning and/or end of each instance of the advertising content by searching within each of the time windows 610a-c to identify a first image and a second image as comparable based on a black frame, the viewer can obviously jump to the next chapter mark at “the second image location” for playback, and cause the device to output the video content beginning at the second location; it is noted that an implied threshold difference is applied when performing a comparison).
In another interpretation, Ekstrand does not explicitly disclose:
comparing the first image with the second image to determine a difference between the first image and the second image satisfying a predetermined threshold;
based on the difference satisfying a predetermined threshold difference, cause a device to output the video content beginning at the second location associated with the second image
Dimitrova discloses comparing the first image with the second image within the video content to determine a difference between the first image and the second image satisfying a predetermined threshold (It is noted that a comparison between video frame A and video frame B can be inferred by comparing both to a common reference frame C, provided all frames are in a comparable format. This method works by analyzing and comparing frame A with frame B, and comparing frame B with frame C, allowing for an indirect relative comparison between frame A and frame B based on a reference frame C. Dimitrova, col. 2, lines 10-22, detecting a black frame occurring prior to or following a commercial within a video data stream divided into a plurality of frames comprises comparing the characteristics of a first frame prior to a commercial with the characteristics of a black frame, and comparing the characteristics of a second frame following a commercial with the characteristics of a black frame. The comparison process performs the steps of dividing an analyzed frame of said frames into a plurality of regions; calculating an average maximum luminance value for said regions; calculating an average minimum luminance value for said regions; comparing said average maximum luminance value and said average minimum luminance value with a black frame threshold; and identifying the occurrence of a black frame based on said step of comparing. In this case, the comparison of each of the two analyzed frames with a reference black frame allows for an indirect comparison between the two analyzed frames; it is noted that an implied threshold difference is applied when performing a comparison).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate/combine Dimitrova’s features into/with Ekstrand’s invention for enhancing user’s playback experience by skipping advertising content based on detected black frames prior to and following the advertising content.
Ekstrand-Dimitrova discloses the second location associated with the second image within the video content; the difference between the first image and the second image satisfying a predetermined threshold difference, but does not explicitly disclose cause a device to output the video content beginning at the second location.
Rui discloses cause a device to output the video content beginning at the second location (Rui, para. 0021, extract an image frame specified by a user from a plurality of image frames of a moving image, and simultaneously display of a predetermined number of image frames together with the extracted image frame as an initial image frame; para. 0141, the frame number or timecode “location” of a playback image can be determined).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate/combine Rui’s features into/with Ekstrand-Dimitrova’s invention for enhancing user’s playback experience by skipping advertising content identified by the black frames.
Regarding claim 6, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to:
cause the device to output the video content, comprising the first image, beginning prior to the first location (Ekstrand, fig’s 5 and 6 illustrate displaying the video content beginning prior to the first location located in window 610a); and determine the first image by at least:
determining the first image while the device is outputting the video content that comprises the first image (Ekstrand, para. 0072, fig’s 5 and 6, identify the beginning of the advertising content by searching within the time windows 610a to identify where a change of scene content occurs, with the change of scene content being defined as the beginning of the advertising content; identify a transition between program/movie content and advertising content in response to identifying a black video frame occurring within the time windows 610a while displaying the video).
Regarding claim 10, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second image is associated with a video frame of the video content (Ekstrand, para. 0072, fig. 6, the second image is a black frame).
Regarding claim 38, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first image and the second image are not identical images (Dimitrova, col. 2, lines 10-22, col. 18, lines 19-35 the analyzed frames may be black or containing brand names, and may not be identical frames).
Regarding claim 39, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 38, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to cause the device to output the video content beginning at the second location by skipping output of the video content between the first location and the second location (Dimitrova, col. 15, lines 6-14, and col. 19, lines 51-55, skipping advertising content).
Regarding claim 40, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second location is before the first location in the video content, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to cause the device to output the video content beginning at the second location by skipping backward in the video content from the first location to the second location (Ekstrand, para. 0057, jump the video stream playback location backward in time to cause playback of successively earlier occurring time locations defined by the sequentially ordered addressable chapter marks 310).
Claims 11, 16, 20-21, 26, 41-46 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1, 6, 10, and 38-40. Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui further discloses processors, memory, and computer readable medium (see Ekstrand, para’s 0081-0082).
Regarding claim 21, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui further discloses the first computing device and the second computing device; the second computing device is configured to output the video content received from the first computing device (see Ekstrand, fig. 1, para. 0024, “first” device can send data to a second device for displaying data) and (Rui, para’s 0026-0028).
5. Claims 2, 9, 12, 19, 22, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ekstrand-Rui, as applied to claims 1, 11, and 21 above, in view of Yamagami et al. (US Publication 2005/0044489).
Regarding claim 2, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, comprising determine the first image at the first location within the video content as described above.
Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui does not explicitly disclose but Yamagami discloses determine the first image by at least:
receiving, from the device, an indication that is associated with a video frame of the video content and that is based on a user command initiated during output of the video content (Yamagami, para’s 0133-0134, when an image of a target scene is displayed on the display screen 201 and a user recognizes the image “the first image”, the user presses a key of the remote control 150 to put a so-called mark to the image of the target scene, i.e., receiving, from a device, a user press to put a mark “an indication” associated with an image recognized by the user); and
determining the first image based on the indication (Yamagami, para’s 0133-0134, determine the image recognized by the user based on indication generated by the user key press).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate/combine Yamagami’s features into/with Ekstrand-Rui’s invention for enhancing user’s playback navigation by allowing the user to specifically identify a particular image in the video content.
Regarding claim 9, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further discloses each of a plurality of users operates respective device to: identify and receive a third location of a third image, within the video content, that was selected by a first user, and identify and receive a fourth location of a fourth image, within the video content, that was selected by a second user; determining the first location based on the third location and the fourth location; and determining the first image based on a video frame at the first location (see Ekstrand, para. 0038, a plurality of users, para. 0072, fig. 6, each user of the plurality of users can determine a respective black image at a respective first time point or location within window 610a-c, i.e., a third location of a third image and a fourth location of a fourth image that identify the beginning of an advertising content; either the third location or the fourth location can be designated as the first location; the first image based on the first location can be determined accordingly).
determining the first location as a location within the video content between the third location and the fourth location; and determining the first image based on the first location (Ekstrand, para. 0038, the first image can be determined at a first location located between a location of the third image and location of the fourth image including the third location or the fourth location).
Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui does not explicitly disclose but Yamagami discloses:
cause the apparatus to determine the first image by at least:
receiving an indication of a third image, within the video content, that was selected by a first user; receiving an indication of a fourth image, within the video content, that was selected by a second user (para’s 0133-0134, receiving a respective mark “an indication” associated with a respective image “third image and fourth image” recognized by each respective user of the plurality of users; the first image based on the third image or the fourth image can be determined accordingly).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate/combine Yamagami’s features into/with Ekstrand-Rui’s invention for enhancing user’s playback navigation by allowing each respective user to specifically identify a particular image in the video content.
Claims 12, 19, 22, and 29 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2 and 9 above.
6. Claims 3, 13, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ekstrand-Rui, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Agnihotri et al. (US Publication 2003/0126598).
Regarding claim 3, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to determine the first image by at least selecting the first image from a plurality of images within the video content (Ekstrand, para. 0072, fig. 6, determine a black image at a first time point or location from a plurality of images within window 610a-c as a first image that identifies the beginning of an advertising content).
Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui does not explicitly disclose but Agnihotri discloses wherein the plurality of images comprise predetermined images within the video content (Agnihotri, para. 0004, claim 5, detecting a plurality of black or unicolor frames in the video information stream; identifying the presence of a beginning portion of a commercial based on the detection of at least one of the plurality of black or unicolor frames; and identifying the presence of an ending portion of the commercial based on the detection of at least one other of the plurality of black or unicolor frames; see also Dimitrova, US Patent 6,100,941, col. 3, lines 10-49, and a video section containing a series of black frames; col. col. 15, lines 28-33, commercial detection thread 86 may be active when some triggering event occurs. This triggering event may be a sequence of at least 10-30 black frames).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate/combine Agnihotri’s features into/with Ekstrand-Rui’s invention for enhancing user’s playback navigation by allowing each respective user to specifically identify a particular image in a plurality of predetermined images.
Claims 13 and 23 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 3 above.
7. Claims 7, 17, and 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ekstrand-Rui, as applied to claim 1, 11, and 21 above, in view of Yamagami et al. (US Publication 2005/0044489) and Ozluturk (US Publication 2021/0044752).
Regarding claim 7, Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further discloses each of a plurality of users operates respective device to determine respective first image and second image (see Ekstrand, para. 0038, a plurality of users, para. 0072, fig. 6, each user of the plurality of users determines a respective black image at a respective time point or location within window 610a-c as a third image and a fourth that identify the beginning of an advertising content. It is noted that a transition section between advertising content and program content or vice versa may contain a sequence of black frames or unicolor frames as known in the art; see Agnihotri et al., US Publication 2003/0126598, para. 0051 and claim 5; the controller 10 recognizes that the frame detected in step 200 is potentially one of a series of black/unicolor frames following the ending of a commercial segment).
Ekstrand-Dimitrova-Rui does not explicitly disclose:
cause the apparatus to determine the first image by at least:
receiving an indication of a third image, within the video content, that was selected by a first user; receiving an indication of a fourth image, within the video content, that was selected by a second user;
generating the first image to be a combination of the third image and the fourth image.
Yamagami discloses:
cause the apparatus to determine the first image by at least:
receiving an indication of a third image, within the video content, that was selected by a first user; receiving an indication of a fourth image, within the video content, that was selected by a second user (para’s 0133-0134, receiving a respective mark “an indication” associated with a respective image “third image and fourth image” recognized by each respective user of the plurality of users).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate/combine Yamagami’s features into/with Ekstrand-Rui’s invention for enhancing user’s playback navigation by allowing each respective user to specifically identify a particular image in the video content.
Ekstrand-Rui-Yamagami does not explicitly disclose but Ozluturk discloses generating the first image to be a combination of the third image and the fourth image (Ozluturk, claim 1, generating a target image by combining two or more images of the sequence of images).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate/combine Ozluturk’s features into/with Ekstrand-Rui-Yamagami’s invention for effectively estimating an image frame from among a sequence of image frames.
Claims 17 and 27 are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 7 above.
Allowed claims
8. Claims 30-37 contain allowable subject matters.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOI H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484