DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 11/24/2025 which amended claims 1, 13 and 18. Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldern et al (US 2020/0183163; hereinafter referred to as Waldern) in view of Mukawa (US 2006/0291021) and further in view of Sitter et al (US 2021/0026143; hereinafter referred to as Sitter).
Regarding Claim 1, Waldern discloses a display system (Figure 1), comprising:
a first lens assembly (Figure 1; Waveguide Display 100) comprising:
a first projector to propagate first display light associated with a first image (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the source of data modulated light has a microdisplay for displaying image pixels and collimation optics for projecting the image displayed on said microdisplay panel such that each image pixel on said microdisplay is converted into a unique angular direction within said first waveguide); and
a first two-dimensional (2D) expander (Figure 1; Output Grating 107) including a first waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101) a photopolymer layer (see Paragraph [0080]; wherein the gratings are fabricated by first placing a thin film of a mixture of photopolymerizable monomers and liquid crystal material between glass plates or substrates) that forms one or more first gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) having a variant slant design for propagating the first display light to a first eye of a user (see Figures 1 and 16; Paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0092]).
Waldern does not expressly disclose that the one or more first gratings include a grating including a first layer having a first variant slant design and a second layer having a second variant slant design, such that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings to a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer.
Mukawa discloses a display system (Figure 5; Optical Device 10), comprising:
a first projector (Figure 5; Spatial Light Modulation Element 12); and a first two-dimensional expander (Figure 5; Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 24) including a first waveguide (Figure 5; Optical Waveguide 22) including one or more first gratings (Figure 5; First and Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 23 and 24) having a variant slant design for propagating the first display light to a first eye (Figure 5; Pupil 16) of a user (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraph [0110]; wherein it is disclosed that the group of parallel light beams reflected by the second reflection-type volume hologram grating 24 will be reflected at angles equal to angles of incidence upon the first reflection-type volume hologram grating 23 such that an image will be displayed on the pupil 16 with a high resolution and without being blurred),
wherein the one or more first gratings (Figure 5; First and Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 23 and 24) include a grating (Figure 5; Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 24) including a first layer (Figures 5 and 7; Hologram Layer 24a) having a first variant slant design with a first delta n (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the hologram layers 24a and 24b have interference fringes equal to each other and are stacked one on the other with the interference fringes being staggered from each other in a direction perpendicular to the interference fringes in the hologram surface and that the interference fringes are formed at slant angles which are continuously varied within the hologram to meet the Bragg condition and wherein the hologram layer 24a inherently has a refractive index which constitutes as the first delta n) and a second layer (Figures 5 and 7; Hologram Layer 24b) having a second variant slant design with a second delta n (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the hologram layers 24a and 24b have interference fringes equal to each other and are stacked one on the other with the interference fringes being staggered from each other in a direction perpendicular to the interference fringes in the hologram surface and that the interference fringes are formed at slant angles which are continuously varied within the hologram to meet the Bragg condition and wherein the hologram layer 24b inherently has a refractive index which constitutes as the second delta n), wherein delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the spatial multiplexing (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the hologram layers 24a and 24b have interference fringes equal to each other and are stacked one on the other with the interference fringes being staggered from each other in a direction perpendicular to the interference fringes in the hologram surface and that the interference fringes are formed at slant angles which are continuously varied within the hologram to meet the Bragg condition and wherein the hologram layers 24a/24b inherently have refractive indices which constitutes as the first and second delta n).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the one or more first gratings such that the one or more first gratings include a grating including a first layer having a first variant slant design with a first delta n and a second layer having a second variant slant design with a second delta n, wherein delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the spatial multiplexing, as taught by Mukawa, because doing so would allow for the diffraction efficiencies corresponding to the angles of view to be equalized to each other, thereby permitting the elimination of uneven brightness (see Mukawa Paragraph [0085]).
Waldern as modified by Mukawa does not expressly disclose that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer.
Sitter discloses a photopolymer layer (Figure 4B; Multilayer Optical Film 100; Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that suitable curable resins that can be used for forming one or both of the first and second optical layers, and/or one or both of the third and fourth optical layers, include UV-curable acrylates, such as such as polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA)) that forms one or more first gratings (see Paragraph [0040]), wherein the one or more first gratings include a grating (see Paragraph [0040]; wherein it is disclosed that the first and second optical layers 125 and 145 define a two-dimensional grating interface therebetween) including a first layer (Figure 4B; Optical Layer 125) and a second layer (Figure 4B; Optical Layer 145), such that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern (Figure 4B; Grating Interface 182) within the photopolymer layer (see Paragraphs [0040] and [0044]-[0045]; wherein it is disclosed that first and second optical layers 125 and 145 define a two-dimensional grating interface therebetween, wherein the two-dimensional grating interface 182 is a substantially sinusoidal grating and wherein it is further disclosed that the combination of the first and second optical layers 125 and 145 having differing refractive indexes and the sinusoidal grating interface 182 aid in mitigating a screen-door effect of a display caused by gaps between pixels and/or subpixels of the first and second display surfaces while preserving a desired degree of resolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the photopolymer layer of Waldern as modified by Mukawa such that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer, as taught by Sitter, because doing so would reduce the appearance of the screen-door effect caused by gaps between pixels and/or subpixels of the first and second display surfaces while preserving a desired degree of resolution (see Sitter Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 2, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses a second lens assembly (Figure 1; Waveguide Display 100; wherein waveguide display 100 is inherently duplicated for use with the left and right eyes of a viewer) comprising:
a second projector to propagate second display light associated with a second image (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the source of data modulated light has a microdisplay for displaying image pixels and collimation optics for projecting the image displayed on said microdisplay panel such that each image pixel on said microdisplay is converted into a unique angular direction within said first waveguide); and
a second two-dimensional (2D) expander (Figure 1; Output Grating 107) including a second waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101) having one or more second gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) having a variant slant design for propagating the second display light to a second eye of a user (see Figures 1 and 16; Paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0092]).
Regarding Claim 3, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the first waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101) is comprised of a substrate and a photopolymer layer (see Paragraph [0080]), and wherein the photopolymer layer comprises the one or more first gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) having the variant slant design (see Paragraph [0080]).
Regarding Claim 4, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the one or more first gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) having the variant slant design are volume Bragg gratings (see Paragraph [0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the grating implemented is a Bragg grating (also referred to as a volume grating)).
Regarding Claim 6, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the one or more first gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) having the variant slant design comprise one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103 and 104), one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 105), one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 106) and one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Output Gratings 107 and 108).
Regarding Claim 7, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103 and 104) and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Output Gratings 107 and 108) implement a same pitch and a same slant variation (see Paragraphs [0084] and [0087]; wherein it is disclosed that the input and output gratings of some embodiments can be designed to have a common surface grating pitch and that each grating has a fixed K vector).
Regarding Claim 8, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses a spatial multiplexing for the one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103 and 104) and the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 105) is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a smallest diffraction efficiency associated with a minimum signal associated with the first waveguide; and minimizing a maximum efficiency associated with the first waveguide (see Paragraph [0097]; wherein it is disclosed that in order to improve color uniformity, gratings can be designed using reverse ray tracing from the eye box to the input grating via the output grating and fold grating to allow for the required physical extent of the fold grating to be identified and unnecessary grating real estate that contributes to haze to be reduced or eliminated to facilitate the prevention of ideal fold grating aperture size clipping, and loss of support of the direct path ray coupling needed to optimize uniformity).
Regarding Claim 11, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the one or more first gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) having the variant slant design comprise a set of one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103 and 104), a set of one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 105), a set of one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 106) and a set of one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Output Gratings 107 and 108) for each color blue, green, and red (see Figures 9 and 10A-10B; Paragraphs [0078] and [0098]; wherein embodiments are depicted wherein a stack of single layer color waveguides suitable for red, green and blue color channels are depicted).
Regarding Claim 13, Waldern discloses an apparatus (Figure 1), comprising:
a projector to propagate display light associated with an image (see Paragraph [0021]; wherein it is disclosed that the source of data modulated light has a microdisplay for displaying image pixels and collimation optics for projecting the image displayed on said microdisplay panel such that each image pixel on said microdisplay is converted into a unique angular direction within said first waveguide); and
a two-dimensional (2D) expander (Figure 1; Output Grating 107) for propagating the display light to an eye of a user (see Figures 1 and 16; Paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0092]), the two dimensional (2D) expander (Figure 1; Output Grating 107) including a waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101) having a photopolymer layer (see Paragraph [0080]; wherein the gratings are fabricated by first placing a thin film of a mixture of photopolymerizable monomers and liquid crystal material between glass plates or substrates) that forms one or more volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) with a variant slant design (see Figures 1 and 16; Paragraphs [0087]-[0088] and [0092]).
Waldern does not expressly disclose that the one or more volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) include a volume Bragg grating (VBG) including a first layer having a first variant slant design and a second layer having a second variant slant design, such that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings to a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer.
Mukawa discloses an apparatus (Figure 5; Optical Device 10), comprising:
a projector (Figure 5; Spatial Light Modulation Element 12); and
a two-dimensional expander (Figure 5; Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 24) including a waveguide (Figure 5; Optical Waveguide 22) having one or more volume Bragg gratings (Figure 5; First and Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 23 and 24) with a variant slant design (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraph [0110]; wherein it is disclosed that the group of parallel light beams reflected by the second reflection-type volume hologram grating 24 will be reflected at angles equal to angles of incidence upon the first reflection-type volume hologram grating 23 such that an image will be displayed on the pupil 16 with a high resolution and without being blurred),
wherein the one or more volume Bragg gratings (Figure 5; First and Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 23 and 24) include a volume Bragg grating (Figure 5; Second Reflection-Type Volume Hologram Grating 24) including a first layer (Figures 5 and 7; Hologram Layer 24a) having a first variant slant design with a first delta n (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the hologram layers 24a and 24b have interference fringes equal to each other and are stacked one on the other with the interference fringes being staggered from each other in a direction perpendicular to the interference fringes in the hologram surface and that the interference fringes are formed at slant angles which are continuously varied within the hologram to meet the Bragg condition and wherein the hologram layer 24a inherently has a refractive index which constitutes as the first delta n) and a second layer (Figures 5 and 7; Hologram Layer 24b) having a second variant slant design with a second delta n (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the hologram layers 24a and 24b have interference fringes equal to each other and are stacked one on the other with the interference fringes being staggered from each other in a direction perpendicular to the interference fringes in the hologram surface and that the interference fringes are formed at slant angles which are continuously varied within the hologram to meet the Bragg condition and wherein the hologram layer 24b inherently has a refractive index which constitutes as the second delta n), wherein delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the spatial multiplexing (see Figures 5 and 7; Paragraphs [0079]-[0080]; wherein it is disclosed that the hologram layers 24a and 24b have interference fringes equal to each other and are stacked one on the other with the interference fringes being staggered from each other in a direction perpendicular to the interference fringes in the hologram surface and that the interference fringes are formed at slant angles which are continuously varied within the hologram to meet the Bragg condition and wherein the hologram layers 24a/24b inherently have refractive indices which constitutes as the first and second delta n).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the one or more volume Bragg gratings of Waldern such that the one or more volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) include a volume Bragg grating (VBG) including a first layer having a first variant slant design with a first delta n and a second layer having a second variant slant design with a second delta n, wherein delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the spatial multiplexing, as taught by Mukawa, because doing so would allow for the diffraction efficiencies corresponding to the angles of view to be equalized to each other, thereby permitting the elimination of uneven brightness (see Mukawa Paragraph [0085]).
Waldern as modified by Mukawa does not expressly disclose that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer.
Sitter discloses a photopolymer layer (Figure 4B; Multilayer Optical Film 100; Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that suitable curable resins that can be used for forming one or both of the first and second optical layers, and/or one or both of the third and fourth optical layers, include UV-curable acrylates, such as such as polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA)) that forms one or more first gratings (see Paragraph [0040]), wherein the one or more first gratings include a grating (see Paragraph [0040]; wherein it is disclosed that the first and second optical layers 125 and 145 define a two-dimensional grating interface therebetween) including a first layer (Figure 4B; Optical Layer 125) and a second layer (Figure 4B; Optical Layer 145), such that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern (Figure 4B; Grating Interface 182) within the photopolymer layer (see Paragraphs [0040] and [0044]-[0045]; wherein it is disclosed that first and second optical layers 125 and 145 define a two-dimensional grating interface therebetween, wherein the two-dimensional grating interface 182 is a substantially sinusoidal grating and wherein it is further disclosed that the combination of the first and second optical layers 125 and 145 having differing refractive indexes and the sinusoidal grating interface 182 aid in mitigating a screen-door effect of a display caused by gaps between pixels and/or subpixels of the first and second display surfaces while preserving a desired degree of resolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the photopolymer layer of Waldern as modified by Mukawa such that spatial multiplexing occurs through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer, as taught by Sitter, because doing so would reduce the appearance of the screen-door effect caused by gaps between pixels and/or subpixels of the first and second display surfaces while preserving a desired degree of resolution (see Sitter Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 14, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the variant slant design comprises at least one of an adiabatic slant design (see Figure 16 and Paragraph [0087]) or a multi-layer lamination design (see Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that the grating layer includes a number of pieces including the input coupler, the fold grating, and the output grating (or portions thereof) that are laminated together to form a single substrate waveguide).
Regarding Claim 15, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the multi-layer lamination design comprises one or more buffer layers in between a plurality of grating layers (see Paragraphs [0060] and [0098]; wherein it is disclosed that the grating layer includes a number of pieces including the input coupler, the fold grating, and the output grating (or portions thereof) that are laminated together to form a single substrate waveguide and that the stack can further include additional layers such as beam splitting coatings and environmental protection layers).
Regarding Claim 16, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the one or more volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103/104, Fold Gratings 105/106, Output Gratings 107/108) comprises a first set of volume Bragg gratings (Figure 9; Gratings 312A, 313A and 314A) for blue having a first slant variation (see Figures 9 and 10A-10B; Paragraph [0078]-[0079]; wherein a stack of single layer color waveguides 301A-301C is depicted each of which including inputs gratings 312A-C, fold gratins 313A-C and output gratings 314A-C each of which configured for a wavelength of light in the red, green and blue spectrum), a second set of volume Bragg gratings (Figure 9; Gratings 312B, 313B and 314B) for green having a second slant variation (see Figures 9 and 10A-10B; Paragraph [0078]-[0079]; wherein a stack of single layer color waveguides 301A-301C is depicted each of which including inputs gratings 312A-C, fold gratins 313A-C and output gratings 314A-C each of which configured for a wavelength of light in the red, green and blue spectrum), and a third set of volume Bragg gratings (Figure 9; Gratings 312C, 313C and 314C) for red having a third slant variation (see Figures 9 and 10A-10B; Paragraph [0078]-[0079]; wherein a stack of single layer color waveguides 301A-301C is depicted each of which including inputs gratings 312A-C, fold gratins 313A-C and output gratings 314A-C each of which configured for a wavelength of light in the red, green and blue spectrum).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldern et al (US 2020/0183163; hereinafter referred to as Waldern) as modified by Mukawa (US 2006/0291021) and Sitter et al (US 2021/0026143; hereinafter referred to as Sitter) as applied to claim 6, in view of Schultz et al (US 2020/0278543).
Regarding Claim 9, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter does not expressly disclose that the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) and the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) implement a same pitch and a same slant variation.
Schultz discloses a display system (Figure 3B), comprising: a waveguide (Figure 3B; Imaging Light Guide 100) including one or more gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110, 120 and TG), for propagating display light to an eye of a user (see Figure 3B); wherein the one or more gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110, 120 and TG) comprise one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110), one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on back surface BK), one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on front surface F) and one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element 120);
wherein the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on back surface BK) and the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on front surface F) implement a same pitch and a same slant variation (see Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) and the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) of Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter such that they implement a same pitch and a same slant variation, as taught by Schultz, because doing so would minimize any changes on the encoded light, thereby preventing unwanted distortions or chromatic aberrations in the resultant virtual image (see Schultz Paragraph [0043]).
Regarding Claim 10, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 6 as detailed above.
Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter does not expressly disclose that a spatial multiplexing for the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a mean output efficiency across a field of view (FOV) for the first lens assembly; and minimizing a maximum of overall output efficiencies associated with pupil uniformity across a field of view (FOV) for the first lens assembly.
Schultz discloses a display system (Figure 3B), comprising: a waveguide (Figure 3B; Imaging Light Guide 100) including one or more gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110, 120 and TG), for propagating display light to an eye of a user (see Figure 3B); wherein the one or more gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110, 120 and TG) comprise one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110), one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on back surface BK), one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on front surface F) and one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element 120);
wherein a spatial multiplexing for the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on front surface F) and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element 120) is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a mean output efficiency across a field of view (FOV) for the first lens assembly; and minimizing a maximum of overall output efficiencies associated with pupil uniformity across a field of view (FOV) for the first lens assembly (see Paragraph [0043]; wherein it is disclosed that the pitch of the turning grating preferably matches the pitch of the in-coupling and out-coupling diffractive optics 110 and 120 to prevent unwanted distortions or chromatic aberrations in the resultant virtual image, wherein if such a system did introduce any rotation to the virtual image, the rotational effects could be non-uniformly distributed across different field angles and wavelengths of light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the display system of Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter such that a spatial multiplexing for the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a mean output efficiency across a field of view (FOV) for the first lens assembly; and minimizing a maximum of overall output efficiencies associated with pupil uniformity across a field of view (FOV) for the first lens assembly, as taught by Schultz, because doing so would minimize any changes on the encoded light, thereby preventing unwanted distortions or chromatic aberrations in the resultant virtual image (see Schultz Paragraph [0043]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldern et al (US 2020/0183163; hereinafter referred to as Waldern) as modified by Mukawa (US 2006/0291021) and Sitter et al (US 2021/0026143; hereinafter referred to as Sitter) as applied to claim 2, in view of DeLapp et al (US 2020/0166756; hereinafter referred to as DeLapp).
Regarding Claim 12, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter does not expressly disclose that the first waveguide and the second waveguide have a thickness of approximately 500 micrometers.
DeLapp discloses a display system (Figure 7) comprising a waveguide (Figure 7; Waveguide 116) having a thickness of approximately 500 micrometers (see Paragraph [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the waveguide 116 may have a thickness of at least 0.5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the first and second waveguide of Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter such that the first waveguide and the second waveguide have a thickness of approximately 500 micrometers, as taught by DeLapp, because doing so would allow for the display system to be made more compact.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldern et al (US 2020/0183163; hereinafter referred to as Waldern) as modified by Mukawa (US 2006/0291021) and Sitter et al (US 2021/0026143; hereinafter referred to as Sitter) as applied to claim 16, in view of Jiang et al (US 2021/0109285; hereinafter referred to as Jiang).
Regarding Claim 17, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 16 as detailed above.
Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter does not expressly disclose that the one or more volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) comprises a volume Bragg grating (VBG) having an approximately 10 micrometer (pm) thickness.
Jiang discloses an apparatus comprising a volume Bragg grating (Figure 13; Transmissive Bragg Grating 800) having an approximately 10 micrometer (pm) thickness (see Paragraph [0092]; wherein it is disclosed that the transmissive Bragg grating 800 may have a thickness between about 5 micrometers and about 20 micrometers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the one or more volume Bragg gratings of Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter such that the one or more volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) comprises a volume Bragg grating (VBG) having an approximately 10 micrometer (pm) thickness, as taught by Jiang, because doing so would allow for the apparatus to be made more compact.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldern et al (US 2020/0183163; hereinafter referred to as Waldern), in view of Schultz et al (US 2020/0278543) and Sitter et al (US 2021/0026143; hereinafter referred to as Sitter).
Regarding Claim 18, Waldern discloses a method for manufacturing a two-dimensional (2D) expander (Figure 1; Output Grating 107) for a display system (see Figure 1), comprising:
providing one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103 and 104) in a waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101) having a photopolymer (see Paragraph [0080]; wherein the gratings are fabricated by first placing a thin film of a mixture of photopolymerizable monomers and liquid crystal material between glass plates or substrates) that forms a first same pitch and a first same slant variation with a first delta n as one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Output Gratings 107 and 108) in the waveguide (see Paragraphs [0084] and [0087]; wherein it is disclosed that the input and output gratings of some embodiments can be designed to have a common surface grating pitch and that each grating has a fixed K vector and wherein the output gratings 107 and 108 inherently have a refractive index which constitutes as the first delta n);
providing one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 105) in the waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101) with a second delta n (wherein the fold grating 105 inherently has a refractive index which constitutes as the second delta n) and one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 106) in the waveguide (see Figure 1);
providing a first spatial multiplexing for the one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Input Gratings 103 and 104) in the waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101; Paragraph [0065]; wherein it is disclosed that the input gratings may be implemented as multiplexed gratings) and the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 105) in the waveguide (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0086]; wherein it is disclosed that the fold gratings may be multiplexed), wherein the first delta n is a difference in refractive index (wherein the output gratings 107 and 108 inherently have a refractive index which constitutes as the first delta n); and
providing a second spatial multiplexing for the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Fold Grating 106) in the waveguide (Figure 1; Waveguide 101; Paragraph [0086]; wherein it is disclosed that the fold gratings may be multiplexed) and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 1; Output Gratings 107 and 108) in the waveguide (Paragraph [0025]; wherein it is disclosed that the output coupler comprises multiplexed first and second gratings), wherein the second delta n is a difference in refractive index (wherein the output gratings 107 and 108 inherently have a refractive index which constitutes as the second delta n).
Waldern does not expressly disclose providing one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings in the waveguide having a second same pitch and a second same slant variation as one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings in the waveguide; providing a first spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more input volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) in the waveguide and the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratins (VBGs) generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within a photopolymer layer in the waveguide; and providing a second spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) in the waveguide and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) to a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer in the waveguide.
Schultz discloses a method for manufacturing a two-dimensional (2D) expander (Figure 1; Output Grating 107) for a display system (see Figure 1), comprising:
providing one or more input volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Elements 110), one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on back surface BK), one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on front surface F) and one or more output volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element 120); and
providing one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on back surface BK) in the waveguide having a second same pitch and a second same slant variation as one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (Figure 3B; Diffraction Element TG disposed on front surface F) in the waveguide (see Paragraph [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method for manufacturing a two-dimensional (2D) expander taught by Waldern to include the steps of providing one or more first middle volume Bragg gratings in the waveguide having a second same pitch and a second same slant variation as one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings in the waveguide, as taught by Schultz, because doing so would minimize any changes on the encoded light, thereby preventing unwanted distortions or chromatic aberrations in the resultant virtual image (see Schultz Paragraph [0043]).
Waldern as modified by Schultz does not expressly disclose providing a first spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more input volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) in the waveguide and the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratins (VBGs) to a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer in the waveguide; and providing a second spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) in the waveguide and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) to a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer in the waveguide.
Sitter discloses a photopolymer layer (Figure 4B; Multilayer Optical Film 100; Paragraph [0060]; wherein it is disclosed that suitable curable resins that can be used for forming one or both of the first and second optical layers, and/or one or both of the third and fourth optical layers, include UV-curable acrylates, such as such as polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA)) that forms one or more first gratings (see Paragraph [0040]),
providing spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within a photopolymer layer in the waveguide (see Paragraphs [0040] and [0044]-[0045]; wherein it is disclosed that first and second optical layers 125 and 145 define a two-dimensional grating interface therebetween, wherein the two-dimensional grating interface 182 is a substantially sinusoidal grating and wherein it is further disclosed that the combination of the first and second optical layers 125 and 145 having differing refractive indexes and the sinusoidal grating interface 182 aid in mitigating a screen-door effect of a display caused by gaps between pixels and/or subpixels of the first and second display surfaces while preserving a desired degree of resolution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method for manufacturing a two-dimensional expander for the display system of Waldern as modified by Mukawa to include providing spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more first gratings generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer, as taught by Sitter, wherein upon combination the method would include providing a first spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more input volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) in the waveguide and the one or more first middle volume Bragg gratins (VBGs) generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within a photopolymer layer in the waveguide; wherein the first delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the first spatial multiplexing; and providing a second spatial multiplexing through an exposure of the one or more second middle volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) in the waveguide and the one or more output volume Bragg gratings (VBGs) generated by superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer in the waveguide, wherein the second delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the second spatial multiplexing because doing so would reduce the appearance of the screen-door effect caused by gaps between pixels and/or subpixels of the first and second display surfaces while preserving a desired degree of resolution (see Sitter Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding Claim 19, Waldern as modified by Schultz and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above.
Waldern further discloses the first spatial multiplexing is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a smallest diffraction efficiency associated with a minimum signal associated with the waveguide; and
minimizing a maximum efficiency associated with the first waveguide (see Paragraph [0097]; wherein it is disclosed that in order to improve color uniformity, gratings can be designed using reverse ray tracing from the eye box to the input grating via the output grating and fold grating to allow for the required physical extent of the fold grating to be identified and unnecessary grating real estate that contributes to haze to be reduced or eliminated to facilitate the prevention of ideal fold grating aperture size clipping, and loss of support of the direct path ray coupling needed to optimize uniformity).
Regarding Claim 20, Waldern as modified by Schultz and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 18 as detailed above.
Waldern as modified by Sitter does not expressly disclose that the second spatial multiplexing is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a mean output efficiency across a field of view (FOV) associated with the waveguide; and minimizing a maximum of overall output efficiencies associated with pupil uniformity across a field of view (FOV) associated with the waveguide.
Schultz discloses the second spatial multiplexing is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a mean output efficiency across a field of view (FOV) associated with the waveguide; and minimizing a maximum of overall output efficiencies associated with pupil uniformity across a field of view (FOV) associated with the waveguide (see Paragraph [0043]; wherein it is disclosed that the pitch of the turning grating preferably matches the pitch of the in-coupling and out-coupling diffractive optics 110 and 120 to prevent unwanted distortions or chromatic aberrations in the resultant virtual image, wherein if such a system did introduce any rotation to the virtual image, the rotational effects could be non-uniformly distributed across different field angles and wavelengths of light).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the method of Waldern as modified by Sitter such that the second spatial multiplexing is selected based on at least one of: maximizing a mean output efficiency across a field of view (FOV) associated with the waveguide; and minimizing a maximum of overall output efficiencies associated with pupil uniformity across a field of view (FOV) associated with the waveguide, as taught by Schultz, because doing so would minimize any changes on the encoded light, thereby preventing unwanted distortions or chromatic aberrations in the resultant virtual image (see Schultz Paragraph [0043]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waldern et al (US 2020/0183163; hereinafter referred to as Waldern) as modified by Mukawa (US 2006/0291021) and Sitter et al (US 2021/0026143; hereinafter referred to as Sitter) as applied to claim 13, in view of DeLapp et al (US 2020/0166756; hereinafter referred to as DeLapp).
Regarding Claim 21, Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter discloses the limitations of claim 13 as detailed above.
Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter does not expressly disclose that the waveguide has a thickness of approximately 500 micrometers.
DeLapp discloses a display system (Figure 7) comprising a waveguide (Figure 7; Waveguide 116) having a thickness of approximately 500 micrometers (see Paragraph [0036]; wherein it is disclosed that the waveguide 116 may have a thickness of at least 0.5 mm).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the waveguide of Waldern as modified by Mukawa and Sitter such that the waveguide has a thickness of approximately 500 micrometers, as taught by DeLapp, because doing so would allow for the display system to be made more compact.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges on page 11 of the arguments that because Sitter’s gratings are created by material-layer deposition and backfilling, and not by “superimposing a first laser and a second laser to create a sinusoidal pattern within the photopolymer layer,” Sitter fails to teach that “delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the spatial multiplexing”.
The applicant alleges on pages 11 and 12 of the arguments that because Sitter forms gratings by patterning discrete resin layers having bulk refractive index differences across planar interfaces it fails to teach “delta n is a difference in refractive index created within the sinusoidal pattern from the spatial multiplexing” as recited in the amended claims.
The applicant alleges on page 12 that Sitter’s teachings of sinusoidal patterned gratings into a waveguide would break total internal reflection and prevent formation of controlled delta n values resulting from holographic exposure as taught by Waldern modified by Mukawa.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented by the applicant.
In response to argument A, the examiner maintains that the presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. In re Stephens 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965). That is, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
In response to argument B, the examiner maintains that the presence of process limitations on product claims, which product does not otherwise patentably distinguish over prior art, cannot impart patentability to the product. In re Stephens 145 USPQ 656 (CCPA 1965). That is, the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
In response to argument C, the examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to implement Sitter’s teachings of sinusoidal patterned gratings into a waveguide. At least paragraph [0005] of Sitter demonstrates the use of controlled delta n values n1 and n2 and it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that total internal reflection (TIR) would occur when a light ray traveling in a medium with the higher refractive index (n1) strikes the boundary of a medium with the lower refractive index (n2) at an angle greater than a specific threshold known as the critical angle.
All of the arguments presented by the applicant have been considered in their entirety, but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882