DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites “positioning a heat sink in thermal communication with the solar cell with the solar cell disposed between the heat sink and the mirror.” It is suggested to amend the limitation to “disposing the solar cell between a heat sink and the mirror and positioning the heat sink to be in thermal communication with the solar cell” for better form and clarity of language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karam et al. (US 2015/0243819) in view of Sun et al. (“Radiative cooling for concentrating photovoltaic systems”) in view of Safi et al. (“Improving photovoltaic performance through radiative cooling in both terrestrial and extraterrestrial environments”).
Regarding claim 1, Karam discloses a cooled solar array (10; see Figure 1), comprising:
a downwardly-facing solar cell (22; see Figure 2);
a mirror positioned (30) below the solar cell and oriented to direct sunlight onto the solar cell ([0013]; see Figure 2);
a heat sink in thermal communication with the solar cell and disposed opposite the mirror (it is disclosed the receiver 70 is mounted to the inner surface 52 of the coverglass on which the solar cell 22 is mounted, where the receiver may include a heat sink that dissipates the heat from the solar cell to the coverglass; [0021]; see Figures 2 and 3);
wherein the heat sink is in thermal communication with the Earth’s atmosphere (it is inherent the coverglass would be in thermal communication with the Earth’s atmosphere);
wherein the heat sink has a finless flat-plate geometry (see receiver 70 in Figure 3); and
wherein the heat sink is in convective communication with ambient air (as set forth above).
Karam does not expressly disclose at least one radiative cooler operationally connected to the heat sink for radiating heat away from the solar cell, wherein the at least one radiative cooler is disposed between the heat sink and the mirror.
Safi discloses it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a radiative cooler behind a solar cell on the back between the solar cell and a back mirror (see Figure 2), where the radiative cooler is capable of radiating thermal energy to the atmosphere even on the back of a solar cell (3.1 Radiative cooling in the terrestrial environment). Additionally, Safi discloses another embodiment in which a radiative cooler is on the back of a solar cell, where the radiative cooler emits thermal energy away from the solar cell in the opposite direction of impinging light (see Figure 5a).
Sun discloses the use of a radiative cooler comprising soda lime glass due to its high mid-IR emittance and high solar transmission, allowing daytime radiative cooling even with direct sunlight (3.1 Radiative cooler design).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices such as incorporating a radiative cooler on the back of a solar cell between the heat sink and the mirror in the device of Karam, as taught by Safi above, so that radiative cooling of the solar cell can be enhanced and power conversion efficiency can be improved (1. Introduction). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected soda lime glass as the radiative cooler material due to its high mid IR emittance and high solar transmission, as taught by Sun above.
It is noted that if a technique is known to improve a device and one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes it would improve similar devices in the same way, the use of the known technique to improve similar devices would be prima facie obvious as the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art unless the actual application of the technique would have been beyond the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
Modified Karam does not expressly disclose the heat sink is in radiative communication through Earth’s atmosphere with outer space, but the reference discloses a coverglass (20) operationally connected to the heat sink opposite the mirror (see Figure 2).
Sun discloses the use of a radiative cooler with a multi-layer structure comprising a diamond heat spreader, soda lime glass and a porous soda lime glass for concentrating photovoltaic systems, where the radiative cooler comprising soda lime glass is on the back side of the photovoltaic device similar to the configuration of modified Karam (abstract; Figures 1A and 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices such as selecting a coverglass made of a multi-layer structure comprising porous low iron soda lime glass, low iron soda lime glass, and a diamond heat spreader in the device of modified Karam, as taught by Sun above, so that the solar cell can be cooled through radiative cooling under direct sunlight, where the cooler structure is mostly transparent with high solar transmission and has a higher cooling power in comparison to conventional metal coolers, as disclosed by Sun (Conclusions). It is noted that if a technique is known to improve a device and one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes it would improve similar devices in the same way, the use of the known technique to improve similar devices would be prima facie obvious as the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art unless the actual application of the technique would have been beyond the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
It is noted that modified Karam comprising the radiative cooler as taught by Sun would provide the heat sink to be in radiative communication through Earth’s atmosphere with outer space, as recited by the claim.
Regarding claim 2, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an optical concentrator (secondary optical device 62) positioned between the mirror and the solar cell for focusing sunlight onto the solar cell ([0020]; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the optical concentrator is a Fresnel lens (as set forth above).
Regarding claim 5, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Sun further discloses the at least one radiative cooler is selected from the group consisting of soda lime glass, zinc sulfide, adhesive tape, and combinations thereof (soda lime glass, as set forth above).
Regarding claim 6, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the mirror is adapted to track a solar source of sunlight ([0014]) and wherein the heat sink radiates to an outer space location spaced from the solar source of sunlight (see Figure 1A of Sun).
Regarding claim 7, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a scaffold operationally connected to the solar cell and mirror (it is disclosed the array can be used in multiple applications where light energy is desired to be converted into electrical energy, including, a terrestrial portable power generator, an unmanned aerial vehicle, or a satellite ([0015]), such that part of those structures would act as a scaffold as claimed).
Regarding claim 10, Karam discloses a method for radiatively cooling a solar transducer, comprising:
a) positioning a mirror (30) to receive and reflect sunlight ([0014]);
b) positioning a solar cell (22) between the mirror and sunlight (see Figure 2);
c) orienting the solar cell to receive reflected sunlight from the mirror (inherent step as part of the function of the device; [0014] and [0023]);
d) positioning a heat sink in thermal communication with the solar cell with the solar cell disposed between the heat sink and the mirror (it is disclosed the receiver 70 is mounted to the inner surface 52 of the coverglass on which the solar cell 22 is mounted, where the receiver may include a heat sink that dissipates the heat from the solar cell to the coverglass; [0021]; see Figures 2 and 3); and
wherein the solar cell is also convectively cooled (from surrounding air; see Figure 2).
Karam does not expressly disclose positioning a radiative cooling element in thermal communication with the heat sink between the heat sink and the mirror.
Safi discloses it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a radiative cooler behind a solar cell on the back between the solar cell and a back mirror (see Figure 2), where the radiative cooler is capable of radiating thermal energy to the atmosphere even on the back of a solar cell (3.1 Radiative cooling in the terrestrial environment). Additionally, Safi discloses another embodiment in which a radiative cooler is on the back of a solar cell, where the radiative cooler emits thermal energy away from the solar cell in the opposite direction of impinging light (see Figure 5a).
Sun discloses the use of a radiative cooler comprising soda lime glass due to its high mid-IR emittance and high solar transmission, allowing daytime radiative cooling even with direct sunlight (3.1 Radiative cooler design).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices such as incorporating a radiative cooler on the back of a solar cell between the heat sink and the mirror in the device of Karam, as taught by Safi above, so that radiative cooling of the solar cell can be enhanced and power conversion efficiency can be improved (1. Introduction). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected soda lime glass as the radiative cooler material due to its high mid IR emittance and high solar transmission, as taught by Sun above.
Modified Karam does not expressly disclose positioning a second radiative cooling element in thermal communication with the heat sink opposite the mirror for radiating energy skyward from the radiative cooling element, wherein the second radiative cooling element is exposed to open air for convective transfer of energy away therefrom, wherein the radiative cooling element has a finless flat plate geometry, but the reference discloses a coverglass (20) operationally connected to the heat sink opposite the mirror (see Figure 2).
Sun discloses the use of a radiative cooler with a multi-layer structure comprising a diamond heat spreader, soda lime glass and a porous soda lime glass for concentrating photovoltaic systems, where the radiative cooler comprising soda lime glass is on the back side of the photovoltaic device similar to the configuration of modified Karam (abstract; Figures 1A and 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices such as selecting a coverglass made of a multi-layer structure comprising porous low iron soda lime glass, low iron soda lime glass, and a diamond heat spreader in the device of modified Karam, as taught by Sun above, so that the solar cell can be cooled through radiative cooling under direct sunlight, where the cooler structure is mostly transparent with high solar transmission and has a higher cooling power in comparison to conventional metal coolers, as disclosed by Sun (Conclusions). It is noted that if a technique is known to improve a device and one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes it would improve similar devices in the same way, the use of the known technique to improve similar devices would be prima facie obvious as the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art unless the actual application of the technique would have been beyond the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
It is noted that the coverglass made of a multi-layer structure comprising porous low iron soda lime glass, low iron soda lime glass, and a diamond heat spreader would be capable of radiating energy skyward from the radiative cooling element, wherein the coverglass is exposed to open air for convective transfer of energy away therefrom, and wherein the coverglass has a finless flat plate geometry as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses g) focusing reflected sunlight onto the solar cell through a lens (secondary optical device 62; [0020]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses h) automatically orienting the mirror to receive maximum sunlight (it is disclosed an actuation device is provided for each reflector; [0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Karam discloses a solar cell assembly (10; see Figure 1), comprising:
at least one solar cell (22);
a support structure (substrate 24) for supporting the at least one solar cell (see Figure 1);
at least one mirror (30) operationally connected to the support structure and positioned to reflect sunlight onto the at least one solar cell (see Figure 2; [0013]); and
at least one finless flat plane heat sink (receiver 70) operationally connected to the at least one solar cell (it is disclosed the receiver 70 is mounted to the inner surface 52 of the coverglass on which the solar cell 22 is mounted, where the receiver may include a heat sink that dissipates the heat from the solar cell to the coverglass; [0021]; see Figures 2 and 3).
Karam does not expressly disclose a first one radiative cooling element operationally connected to the at least one finless flat plane heat sink between the at least one heat sink and the at least one mirror for radiating energy skyward.
Safi discloses it was well known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a radiative cooler behind a solar cell on the back between the solar cell and a back mirror (see Figure 2), where the radiative cooler is capable of radiating thermal energy to the atmosphere even on the back of a solar cell (3.1 Radiative cooling in the terrestrial environment). Additionally, Safi discloses another embodiment in which a radiative cooler is on the back of a solar cell, where the radiative cooler emits thermal energy away from the solar cell in the opposite direction of impinging light (see Figure 5a).
Sun discloses the use of a radiative cooler comprising soda lime glass due to its high mid-IR emittance and high solar transmission, allowing daytime radiative cooling even with direct sunlight (3.1 Radiative cooler design).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices such as incorporating a radiative cooler on the back of a solar cell between the heat sink and the mirror in the device of Karam, as taught by Safi above, so that radiative cooling of the solar cell can be enhanced and power conversion efficiency can be improved (1. Introduction). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected soda lime glass as the radiative cooler material due to its high mid IR emittance and high solar transmission, as taught by Sun above.
Modified Karam does not expressly disclose a second radiative cooling element operationally connected to the at least one heat sink opposite the at least one mirror for radiating energy skyward, but the reference discloses a coverglass (20) operationally connected to the heat sink opposite the mirror (see Figure 2).
Sun discloses the use of a radiative cooler with a multi-layer structure comprising a diamond heat spreader, soda lime glass and a porous soda lime glass for concentrating photovoltaic systems, where the radiative cooler comprising soda lime glass is on the back side of the photovoltaic device similar to the configuration of modified Karam (abstract; Figures 1A and 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a known technique to improve similar devices such as selecting a coverglass made of a multi-layer structure comprising porous low iron soda lime glass, low iron soda lime glass, and a diamond heat spreader in the device of modified Karam, as taught by Sun above, so that the solar cell can be cooled through radiative cooling under direct sunlight, where the cooler structure is mostly transparent with high solar transmission and has a higher cooling power in comparison to conventional metal coolers, as disclosed by Sun (Conclusions). It is noted that if a technique is known to improve a device and one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes it would improve similar devices in the same way, the use of the known technique to improve similar devices would be prima facie obvious as the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art unless the actual application of the technique would have been beyond the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417, 82 USPQ2d at 1396.
It is noted that the coverglass made of a multi-layer structure comprising porous low iron soda lime glass, low iron soda lime glass, and a diamond heat spreader would be capable of radiating energy skyward as recited in the claim.
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karam et al. (US 2015/0243819) in view of Sun et al. (“Radiative cooling for concentrating photovoltaic systems”) in view of Safi et al. (“Improving photovoltaic performance through radiative cooling in both terrestrial and extraterrestrial environments”) in view of Falbel (US 2012/0167871).
Regarding claim 8, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses a sun tracking controller (32) that adjusts the reflectors accordingly based on the output measured ([0027]-[0029]), but the reference does not expressly disclose a thermocouple connected in thermal communication with the solar cell.
Falbel discloses the use of a temperature sensor to detect a current temperature of a solar collection module to provide that information to the sun tracking controller ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a thermocouple to be connected in communication with the solar cell in the device of modified Karam, as taught by Falbel, so that in response to detecting the current temperature of the solar cell to be above a predetermined threshold, the sun tracking controller can adjust the array so that the amount of irradiated and collected light is reduced in order to reduce potential damage and deterioration of the solar cells from excessive heat, as disclosed by Falbel ([0051]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Karam discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses an electronic controller ([0028]) operationally connected to the thermocouple (as set forth above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-12 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that Applicant argues that Li teaches a radiative cooler must always be disposed on top of the solar cell such that it has access to the sky to allow for radiative cooling.
However, as noted in Wang et al. (“Lightweight, Passive Radiative Cooling to Enhance Concentrating Photovoltaics”), the diagram provided on the cover shows having a cooler/heat sink/cooler provides extra thermal radiation through radiative cooling, such that the cooler between the heat sink and the solar cell is capable of radiating heat towards the sky despite not facing the sky directly. Additionally, newly cited Safi teaches the use of a radiative cooler that is disposed below a solar cell and is capable of radiative cooling towards the sky for a terrestrial device or radiative cooling towards the opposite direction of light impingement for an extraterrestrial device.
Therefore, Applicant’s argument that the radiative cooler must always be disposed on top of the solar cell or be adjacent to the atmosphere in order to radiate heat was not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722