DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) has been acknowledged. It is noted that newly filed claim 45 recites structure that was not previously disclosed in the parent application 16/154,398; therefore, claim 45 will receive the priority date of 1/26/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, and 37-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2004/0200494) in view of Solomon (US 9,138,024) and Kennedy (US 2018/0103740).
Lee discloses a hair topper system comprising a headband (10) detachably secured around a user’s head the headband comprising a first attachment element (11) at one end and a second attachment element (11) at the other end, the headband to be secured to the user’s head by engaging the first attachment element with the second attachment element (see Figures 1 and 2); and a hair topper device (14) to be placed atop a user’s head, the hair topper device comprising a body having a first and second end, one or more wefts (13) attached to the body; a clipping element (15) disposed along a surface of the body, and detachably engaged with the headband (see Figures 1 and 2). Lee does not disclose a strap connected to the first end of the body the strap and the second end of the body each having one of a hook and a loop to detachably connect the strap to the second end of the body such that the strap and the body together wrap around the headband on the user’s head, the strap further comprising a tensioner which allows a length of the strap to be adjusted to tighten the body around the headband to fit a particular wearer.
Solomon discloses a hair topper device comprising a body (A) having a first end and a second end, the body configured to be placed near a top portion of a user’s head (see Figure 4); one or more wefts (D) attached to the body; a clipping element (C) disposed along a surface of the body, the clipping element configured to be engaged with a headband secured around a user’s head (the device is capable of attaching to a headband); and a strap (B) connected to the first end of the body (see Figures 1-4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the device of Lee be a partial hairpiece with a strap as taught by Solomon to secure along the user’s head for partial coverage. Furthermore, Kennedy teaches a strap (14) connected to the first end of the body the strap and the second end of the body each having one of a hook (18) and a loop (20) to detachably connect the strap to the second end of the body comprising such that the strap wraps around the headband on the user’s head, the strap further comprising a tensioner (16) which allows a length of the strap to be adjusted to tighten the body around the headband to fit a particular wearer (see Figures 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the strap of Lee as modified by Solomon be made a connector and tensioner as taught by Kennedy to allow the user to adjust the length of the strap to fit a variety of head sizes.
Regarding claim 37, Lee discloses the clipping element is fixedly attached along an edge of the body (see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 38, Lee discloses the clipping element comprising one or more tines (see Figure 2), regarding the limitation configured to be inserted under the headband there is nothing precluded the user from installing the headband upside down and attaching the hairpiece under.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Lee and Solomon teaches wefts are woven onto the body (Solomon; col. 3, lines 5-10).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Lee and Solomon disclose the wefts are configured to conceal at least a portion of the body from an observer (see Figure 2 of Lee).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2004/0200494) in view of Solomon (US 9,138,024) and Kennedy (US 2018/0103740) as applied to claims 16, and 37-40 above, and further in view of Bermeister (US 2011/0041866).
The combination discloses the claimed invention except for the first material is velvet. Bermeister teaches a headband for a hair topper wherein the headband has a first material that is velvet (paragraph 43). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the combination of Lee and Solomon and Kennedy have the head band be made from a velvet material as taught by Bermeister to allow for a soft and secure attachment to the user’s hair.
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2004/0200494) in view of Solomon (US 9,138,024) and Kennedy (US 2018/0103740) as applied to claims 16, and 37-40 above, and further in view of Geisinsky (US 2022/0192300).
The combination of Lee, Solomon and Kennedy disclose the claimed invention except for the body comprises a first loop at the first end and a second loop at the second end and the strap comprises a hook at each end to attach to the respective loops. Geisninsky teaches a headband comprising a body (112) wherein the body comprises a first loop (120) at the first end and a second loop (122) at the second end and the strap comprises a hook (136) at each end to attach to the respective loops (see Figures 1-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the body of Lee, Solomon and Kennedy be made with a first and second loop with a strap comprising hooks attached to the respective loops as taught by Geisinsky to allow for removal and adjustment means.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this instant case, Lee discloses wig structure secured via headband and comb arrangement, Solomon discloses a strap-based hair system, Kennedy discloses an adjustable strap structure for headwear. The rejection does not rely on any single reference to teach all features in isolation. Rather, the rejection is based on the combined teachings of the references. The examiner's rationale for combining references to provide adjustability and to accommodate varying head sizes and improve fit remain supported by Kennedy's teaching adjustable strap structures for head mounted devices.
In response to applicant’s argument that the references failed to state avoidance of hair damage, the test for obviousness is not whether the prior art recognizes applicant’s advantage but whether the structural modification would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. An express teaching of avoiding traction for alopecia is not required.
In response to applicant’s argument of secondary consideration relying on alleged copying, industry praise, and long felt need these arguments are not persuasive. Adjustable straps in headwear were known by Kennedy. Strap-based retention systems were known by Solomon. Hair toppers and wig retention systems were known by Lee. The evidence does not sufficiently establish that the alleged copying is specifically attributed to the claimed combination as a whole rather than to unclaimed or known features. Screenshot shots and declarations asserting similarity are insufficient to demonstrate that competitors copied the claimed invention rather than independently adopting known adjustable strap technology.
Applicant further argues that competitor products appeared after publication of applicant’s parent application. However, the proximity between publication and product is not established copying, the record does not contain direct evidence of access plus appropriation of the specific claim features beyond general similarity. Furthermore, adjustable strap technology was known in prior art prior to applicant’s filing.
In response applicant argument that if the modification were obvious competitors would have adopted earlier is not persuasive. The obviousness analysis does not require that all prior art features be widely adopted before invention. The proper inquiry is whether the claimed combination would been obvious at the time the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL R STEITZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
3/3/2026