DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Claims 17, 19-24, and 32-43 are currently pending. Claims 1-16, 18, and 25-31 are cancelled. No claim has been amended.
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 11/14/25 is insufficient to overcome the rejections of claims 17, 19-24, and 32-43 based upon Jiang, Takami, De-Leon, Lee, and Tan as applied under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because: the facts presented are not germane to the rejections at issue.
The Declaration states that “Tan and Lee, though disclosing swelling, do not teach a need or criticality to control swelling in the battery cell in each of the thickness, width, and length collectively. Further neither of the references teaches a criticality or need to control swelling to no more than 5% for each of the width, length, and height collectively. Tan does disclose swelling in a thickness direction, see Tan, Figs. 16A and 16B. However, Tan does not disclose the need or criticality of controlling the size of the battery cell along the thickness, width, and length collectively. Additionally, Tan does not teach, or disclose a criticality for, a swelling by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent.
In regard to claim 35, Lee does disclose retention of or controlling swelling. However, the invention in Lee prevents swelling of battery cells (Lee, 110) through application of a left housing (Lee, 121) and a right housing (Lee, 122) - clamping mechanisms as previously described, see Lee, Fig. 6. The housings (Lee, 121 and 122) boarder the respective thickness of the battery cell (Lee, 110). However, the width and length are not disclosed as a concern in Lee. With that, Lee does not disclose the need or criticality of controlling the size of the battery cell along the thickness, width, and length collectively. Further, Lee is using a mechanism for controlling swelling at is different than Applicant's invention. Lee applies a clamp where Applicant's invention combines the above highlight elements which are not considered in Lee. Additionally, Lee does not teach, or disclose a criticality for, a swelling by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent”.
In response, with respect to Tan, Tan teaches an inventive cell comprising a cathode that is NMC mix oxide type and an anode that is lithium titanate that shows little to no gas generated which inherently controls swelling in the battery cell in each of the thickness, width, and length. In addition, as stated in para. [0062] of the present specification, “it is now recognized that NMC/LTO battery cells, or other cells that do not swell by more than a predetermined amount, for example by no more than between 0.1% and 15% in any direction, such as by no more than 5% in any direction". Since there is a direct correlation between the NMC/LTO active materials and the amount of swelling of the battery cell, the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon battery cell modified to include NMC cathode and LTO anode would necessarily result in a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, and a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent. Further, there is motivation to modify Jiang, Takami, and De-Leon to include a NMC/LTO battery cell which is to utilize a battery cell with reduced gassing which prevents negative affects on cycling characteristics. As is well known in the art the amount of gassing of a battery cell directly affects the amount of swelling of the battery cell. So, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the reduction in gassing would necessarily result in a swelling by no more than 5 percent in any direction. With respect to Lee, Lee is relied upon for teaching the concept of maintaining a gap between adjacent one of the battery modules which necessarily results in no opposing forces being placed on entirety of the respective first face and the entirety of the respective second face of each battery module of the plurality of battery modules. Since Tan inherently teaches a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, and a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent, Lee does not need to teach such limitation. Lastly, the Declaration has not provided any factual evidence to show that the Tan battery cell does not inherently have a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, and a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent. For these reasons, the Declaration is insufficient to overcome the previously stated 103 rejections based on (Jiang, Takami, De-Leon, and Tan) and (Jiang, Takami, De-Leon, Lee, and Tan).
Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “Neither cited combination makes obvious the highlighted limitations of each of claim 17 as a whole and claim 35 as a whole … Additionally, the Boone Declaration supports the criticality of the highlighted
limitations of claims 17 and 35, and claims 17 and 35 as a whole.”.
In response, as stated above, the Declaration is insufficient to show that the Tan battery cell does not inherently have a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, and a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent. With respect to the argument that the cited references do not teach the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of the hard material, the Office points out that Takami teaches the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of a laminate film including a metal layer and a resin layer which forms a hard material. With respect to the argument that there is criticality of the highlighted limitations of claims 17 and 35, the Office contends that there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed swelling of the battery cell based on a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent, the electrochemically active components, the prismatic shape, a controlling of a charge and discharge cycle of the lithium ion battery cell by the lithium ion battery module, the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of the hard material because these limitations are all taught by the previously cited references. In addition, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent because according to para. [0062] of the present application, “it is now recognized that NMC/LTO battery cells, or other cells that do not swell by more than a predetermined amount, for example by no more than between 0.1% and 15%”. Lastly, there is no evidence of criticality such as experimental data to show that the performance of the battery cell improves when the swelling of the battery cell in all direction is no more than 5% as opposed to between 5% and 15%.
Therefore, upon further consideration, claims 17, 19-24, and 32-43 stand rejected under the following 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al (US 2012/0237799) in view of Takami et al (US 2007/0284159), De-Leon (“High Power Rechargeable Lithium Cells Market”, IFCBC Meeting 2010, Feb. 4, 2012, pp. 1-41), and further in view of Tan et al (US 2011/0067230).
Regarding claims 17 and 19-24, Jiang et al discloses a battery system (lithium ion battery module) comprising: a plurality of lithium ion battery cells "250" disposed in a battery enclosure "246" (housing) of the battery system, wherein the lithium ion battery cells are electrically coupled to one another and to a terminal “260” of the battery system; and wherein the battery enclosure has a base that corresponds to a standard base dimension of a lead storage battery, wherein the battery enclosure of the battery system has a standard form factors corresponding to battery groups and sizes specified by BCI, wherein the BCI groups comprises a base having dimensions constituting a base length and a base width, wherein the base length of the battery enclosure (housing) ranges from 186 mm and 394 mm, and wherein the base width of the battery enclosure ranges from 127 mm and 190 mm; wherein each of the lithium ion battery cells has a voltage of approximately 3.2V; wherein the particular shape and physical configuration of the battery may be adapted for the internal space and layout available within the particular enclosure; wherein the battery may be of any desired type, rating, size and so forth ([0069],[0079]-[0083] and Fig. 21).
However, Jiang et al does not expressly teach each prismatic lithium ion battery cells of the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells that has a respective prismatic cell casing enclosing electrochemical active components; wherein the prismatic cell casing comprises a terminal end portion having cell terminals disposed thereon, a base portion substantially opposite the terminal end portion, a first face and a second face each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion, and a first side and a second side each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion and coupling the first and second faces, with a combination of the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side providing for a prismatic shape of the prismatic lithium ion battery cell, with each of the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of a hard material; wherein a cell thickness corresponds to a distance between the first and second faces, a cell width corresponds to a distance between respective outermost surfaces of the first and second faces, and a cell length corresponds to a distance between the terminal end portion and the base portion, wherein the cell thickness of each prismatic casing is between 13 mm and 15 mm, the cell length of each prismatic casing is between 138 mm and 142 mm, the cell width of each prismatic casing is between 109 mm and 114 mm, and a volume of each prismatic casing is between 0.2 L and 0.24 L (claims 17 and 37); wherein the cell thickness of each prismatic casing is 14 mm, the cell length of each prismatic casing is 140 mm, and the cell width of each prismatic casing is 112 mm (claim 41).
Takami et al discloses a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells “21” that each has a respective container “17” (prismatic cell casing) enclosing electrochemical active components; wherein the container comprises a terminal end portion having cell terminals “15” & “16” disposed thereon, a base portion substantially opposite the terminal end portion, a first side and a second side each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion and coupling the first and second faces with a combination of the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side providing for a prismatic shape of the prismatic lithium ion battery cell, with each of the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of a laminate film including a metal layer and a resin layer (hard material); wherein a cell thickness corresponds to a distance between the first and second faces, a cell width corresponds to a distance between respective outermost surfaces of the first and second sides, and a cell length corresponds to a distance between the terminal end portion and the base portion, wherein the cell thickness of each container is 13 mm ([0108],[0120] and Fig. 3 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang battery system to include a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells that each has a respective prismatic cell casing enclosing electrochemical active components; wherein the prismatic cell casing comprises a terminal end portion having cell terminals disposed thereon, a base portion substantially opposite the terminal end portion, a first face and a second face each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion, and a first side and a second side each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion and coupling the first and second faces, with each of the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of a laminate film including a metal layer and a resin layer; wherein a cell thickness corresponds to a distance between the first and second faces, a cell width corresponds to a distance between respective outermost surfaces of the first and second faces, and a cell length corresponds to a distance between the terminal end portion and the base portion, wherein the cell thickness of each prismatic casing is 13 mm in order to utilize a particular shape, size, and physical configuration of battery cells that can easily be adapted for the internal space within a battery enclosure. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami battery cells to include a cell length that is between 138 mm and 142 mm, a cell width that is between 109 mm and 114 mm, and a volume that is between 0.2 L and 0.24 L; or a cell thickness that is 14 mm, a cell length that is 140 mm, and a cell width that is 112 mm because changes of size/proportion were held to be obvious. In re Rose, 220 F. 2d USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, the specific battery configuration including thickness, length, width, volume are obvious design choices which one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make at the time of the invention in order to appropriately design the battery cell for the specific space within the battery enclosure. Lastly, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thickness, length, width, volume of the battery cell.
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al does not expressly teach each of the prismatic lithium ion battery cells that has a volumetric energy density between 67 Wh/L and 251 Wh/L (claims 17 and 37); a cell thickness of each prismatic casing that is between 13.5 mm and 14.5 mm, a cell length of each prismatic casing is between 139.5 mm and 140.5 mm, a cell width of each prismatic casing is between 111.5 mm and 112.5 mm, a volume of each prismatic casing is between 0.21 L and 0.23 L, and the volumetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is between 82 Wh/L and 153 Wh/L, and the nominal voltage is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V (claim 19); wherein the cell thickness of each prismatic casing is 14 mm, the cell length of each prismatic casing is 140 mm, the cell width of each prismatic casing is 112 mm, and the volumetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is between 91 Wh/L and 137 Wh/L, has a nominal voltage between 2.0 V and 3.0 V, and the volumetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is 105 Wh/L when the nominal voltage is 2.3 V (claim 20); wherein a first weight of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is between 400 g and 500 g, and each prismatic lithium ion battery cell has a gravimetric energy density between 32 Watt-hours per kilogram (Wh/kg) and 90 Wh/kg, and the nominal voltage is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V (claim 21); wherein a second weight of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is between 420 g and 450 g, and a first gravimetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is between 38 Wh/kg and 71 Wh/kg, and the nominal voltage is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V (claim 22); wherein a third weight of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is 420 g, and a second gravimetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is between 38 Wh/kg and 86 Wh/kg, the nominal voltage is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V, and wherein the gravimetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is 55 Wh/kg when the nominal voltage is 2.3 V (claim 23); wherein a fourth weight of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is 450 g, and a third gravimetric energy density is between 36 Wh/kg and 80 Wh/kg, wherein the nominal voltage is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V, and the gravimetric energy density of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell is 51 Wh/kg when the nominal voltage is 2.3 V (claim 24).
De-Leon discloses a Lionik LIP-55145255 power cell which is a lithium ion battery cell having a volumetric energy density of 186 Wh/L, a weight energy density of 105 Wh/kg, a capacity of 100 Ah, and has a nominal voltage 3.8 V; and a Toshiba SCiB high power lithium cell that has a weight energy density of 65 Wh/kg which is a prismatic lithium ion battery cell with a nominal voltage of 2.4 volts; wherein the Lionik and Toshiba batteries are both commercially available batteries (pg. 10 and 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami battery system to include battery cells having a volumetric energy density of 186 Wh/L and a nominal voltage 3.8 V; or a weight energy density of 65 Wh/kg and a nominal voltage of 2.4 V in order to provide a high capacity high power cell or ultra fast charging high power lithium cells that are suitable for use in electric vehicle applications and to utilize commercially available high power rechargeable batteries that are suitable for electric vehicle applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon battery system to include lithium ion battery cells having volumetric energy density between 82 Wh/L and 153 Wh/L, volumetric energy density between 91 Wh/L and 137 Wh/L, volumetric energy density between 77 Wh/L and 138 Wh/L, volumetric energy density between 77 Wh/L and 137 Wh/L, volumetric energy density that is 105 Wh/L, or gravimetric energy density that is 55 Wh/kg because it has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The volumetric energy density or gravimetric energy density are result effective variables of optimizing the desired rating and size of battery cells for a specific size battery enclosure and specific application such as electric vehicles. Further, one skilled in the art would have been able to optimize the volume and weight of the battery cells based on the desired volumetric energy density and gravimetric energy density of each battery cell. Lastly, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed volume, weight, volumetric energy density and gravimetric energy density of the battery cells.
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al and De-Leon does not expressly teach a lithium titanate (LTO) as an anode active material; and a size of the lithium ion battery cell varying by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent, the electrochemically active components, the prismatic shape, a controlling of a charge and discharge cycle of the lithium ion battery cell by the lithium ion battery module, and the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of the hard material; and each prismatic lithium ion battery cell having a reduced base portion, and a reduced volume in a battery module housing each prismatic lithium ion battery cell, corresponding to the reduced swelling of the prismatic lithium ion battery cell (claims 17 and 35).
Tan et al discloses lithium titanate (LTO) as an anode active material, and an inventive cell comprising a cathode that is NMC mix oxide type and an anode that is lithium titanate that shows little to no gas generated which is inherently a size of the lithium ion battery cell that varies by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent ([0007],[0097] and Table 3, Fig. 16B). Examiner’s note: as stated in para. [0062] of the present specification, “For example, it is now recognized that NMC/LTO battery cells, or other cells that do not swell by more than a predetermined amount, for example by no more than between 0.1% and 15% (e.g., 0.5% and 5%) in any direction, such as by no more than 5% in any direction”. Since Tan teaches the same NMC/LTO battery cell, it would inherently not swell by more than 5% in any direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon battery system to include a lithium titanate (LTO) as an anode active material; and a size of the lithium ion battery cell varying by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent, the electrochemically active components, the prismatic shape, a controlling of a charge and discharge cycle of the lithium ion battery cell by the lithium ion battery module, and the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of the hard material; and each prismatic lithium ion battery cell having a reduced base portion, and a reduced volume in a battery module housing each prismatic lithium ion battery cell, corresponding to the reduced swelling of the prismatic lithium ion battery cell in order to utilize an anode active material that has low volume change during charge and discharge processes and thus has excellent cycleability ([0008]); and to utilize a battery cell with reduced gassing which prevents negative affects on cycling characteristics ([0062]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al in view of Takami et al, De-Leon, and Tan et al as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yoon et al (US 2006/0214631).
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al, De-Leon, and Tan et al does not expressly teach a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells disposed in adjacent columns each comprising more than one prismatic lithium ion battery cell, wherein the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells in the adjacent columns are configured such that no opposing forces are placed on an entirety of the respective first face and an entirety of the respective second face of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell of the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells (claim 32).
Yoon et al discloses a battery module comprising a plurality of battery cartridges “100” (prismatic lithium ion battery cells) disposed in adjacent columns each comprising more than one prismatic lithium ion battery cell; wherein each of the battery cartridge comprises a first face and a second face extending between a terminal end portion and a base portion; wherein the battery cartridges are stacked such that a gap is maintained between adjacent one of the battery cartridges based upon the openings of the base plate “400” ([0075],[0076] and Figs. 10 and 11). Examiner’s note: since a gap is maintained between adjacent battery cartridges, the Office takes the position that the plurality of battery cartridges are inherently configured such that no opposing forces are placed on entirety of the respective first face and the entirety of the respective second face of each battery cartridge of the plurality of battery cartridges.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon/Tan battery system to include a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells disposed in a housing of the module in adjacent columns each comprising more than one prismatic lithium ion battery cell; wherein the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells in the adjacent columns are configured such that no opposing forces are placed on an entirety of the respective first face and the entirety of the respective second face of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell of the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells in order to provide a battery module that has excellent mechanical strength to external impacts or vibrations as well as preventing a risk of an user being exposed to electrical short circuits ([0084]).
Claims 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al in view of Takami et al, De-Leon, and Tan et al as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Yeow et al (US 2015/0214586).
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al, De-Leon, and Tan et al does not expressly teach a layer disposed between the first face of a first prismatic lithium ion battery cell and the second face of a second prismatic lithium ion battery cell (claim 33); or a thermal pad in contact with the base portion of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell in a first column of the adjacent columns (claim 34).
Yeow et al discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of prismatic battery cells “24”; an elastomeric thermal pad “28” (layer) disposed between a first face of a first battery cell “24” and a second face of a second battery cell “24”; and a cold plate “14” (thermal pad) that is in contact with the base portion of each prismatic battery cell ([0033],[0034] and Figs. 3 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon/Tan battery system to include a layer disposed between the first face of a first prismatic lithium ion battery cell and the second face of a second prismatic lithium ion battery cell; and a thermal pad in contact with the base portion of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell in a first column of the adjacent columns in order to further improve the heat dissipation of the battery cells, thereby improving the performance of the battery pack.
Claims 35-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al (US 2012/0237799) in view of Takami et al (US 2007/0284159), De-Leon (“High Power Rechargeable Lithium Cells Market”, IFCBC Meeting 2010, Feb. 4, 2012, pp. 1-41), Lee et al (US 2014/0212724), and further in view of Tan et al (US 2011/0067230).
Regarding claims 35-43, Jiang et al discloses a battery system (lithium ion battery module) comprising: a plurality of lithium ion battery cells "250" disposed in a battery enclosure "246" (housing) of the battery system, wherein the lithium ion battery cells are electrically coupled to one another and to a terminal “260” of the battery system; and wherein the battery enclosure has a base that corresponds to a standard base dimension of a lead storage battery, wherein the battery enclosure of the battery system has a standard form factors corresponding to battery groups and sizes specified by BCI, wherein the BCI groups comprises a base having dimensions constituting a base length and a base width, wherein the base length of the battery enclosure ranges from 186 mm and 394 mm, and wherein the base width of the battery enclosure ranges from 127 mm and 190 mm; wherein each of the lithium ion battery cells has a voltage of approximately 3.2V; wherein the particular shape and physical configuration of the battery may be adapted for the internal space and layout available within the particular enclosure; wherein the battery may be of any desired type, rating, size and so forth ([0069],[0079]-[0083] and Fig. 21).
However, Jiang et al does not expressly teach each prismatic lithium ion battery cells of the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells that has a respective prismatic cell casing enclosing electrochemical active components; wherein the prismatic cell casing comprises a terminal end portion having cell terminals disposed thereon, a base portion substantially opposite the terminal end portion, a first face and a second face each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion, and a first side and a second side each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion and coupling the first and second faces; wherein a cell thickness corresponds to a distance between the first and second faces, a cell width corresponds to a distance between respective outermost surfaces of the first and second faces, and a cell length corresponds to a distance between the terminal end portion and the base portion, wherein the cell thickness of each prismatic casing is between 13 mm and 15 mm, the cell length of each prismatic casing is between 138 mm and 142 mm, the cell width of each prismatic casing is between 109 mm and 114 mm, and a volume of each prismatic casing is between 0.2 L and 0.24 L (claim 35).
Takami et al discloses a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells “21” that each has a respective container “17” (prismatic cell casing) enclosing electrochemical active components; wherein the container comprises a terminal end portion having cell terminals “15” & “16” disposed thereon, a base portion substantially opposite the terminal end portion, a first side and a second side each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion and coupling the first and second faces; wherein a cell thickness corresponds to a distance between the first and second faces, a cell width corresponds to a distance between respective outermost surfaces of the first and second sides, and a cell length corresponds to a distance between the terminal end portion and the base portion, wherein the cell thickness of each container is 13 mm ([0108],[0120] and Fig. 3 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang battery system to include a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells that each has a respective prismatic cell casing enclosing electrochemical active components; wherein the prismatic cell casing comprises a terminal end portion having cell terminals disposed thereon, a base portion substantially opposite the terminal end portion, a first face and a second face each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion, and a first side and a second side each extending between the terminal end portion and the base portion and coupling the first and second faces; wherein a cell thickness corresponds to a distance between the first and second faces, a cell width corresponds to a distance between respective outermost surfaces of the first and second faces, and a cell length corresponds to a distance between the terminal end portion and the base portion, wherein the cell thickness of each prismatic casing is 13 mm in order to utilize a particular shape, size, and physical configuration of battery cells that can easily be adapted for the internal space within a battery enclosure. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami battery cells to include a cell length that is between 138 mm and 142 mm, a cell width that is between 109 mm and 114 mm, and a volume that is between 0.2 L and 0.24 L because changes of size/proportion were held to be obvious. In re Rose, 220 F. 2d USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, the specific battery configuration including thickness, length, width, volume are obvious design choices which one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to make at the time of the invention in order to appropriately design the battery cell for the specific space within the battery enclosure. Lastly, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed thickness, length, width, volume of the battery cell.
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al does not expressly teach each of the prismatic lithium ion battery cells that has a volumetric energy density between 67 Wh/L and 251 Wh/L (claim 35); a volumetric energy density of each lithium ion battery cell that is between 77 Wh/L and 138 Wh/L at a nominal voltage of 2.3 V, and each lithium ion battery cell has a capacity between 8 Ah and 12 Ah (claim 36); a volumetric energy density of each lithium ion battery cell that is between 77 Wh/L and 137 Wh/L, the nominal voltage of each lithium ion battery cell is between 2.1 V and 2.5 V, and each lithium ion battery cell that has a capacity between 8 Ah and 12 Ah (claim 37); a weight of each lithium ion battery cell that is between 400 g and 500 g, and each lithium ion battery cell that has a gravimetric energy density between 32 Watt-hours per kilogram (Wh/kg) and 126 Wh/kg, and each lithium ion battery cell that has a capacity between 8 Ah and 12 Ah (claim 38); a weight of each lithium ion battery cell is between 440 g and 470 g (claim 39); a gravimetric energy density of each lithium ion battery cell is between 44 Wh/kg and 93 Wh/kg (claim 40); a weight of each lithium ion battery cell that is 420 g, the gravimetric energy density of each lithium ion battery cell is between 48 Wh/kg and 71 Wh/kg, and the nominal voltage of each lithium ion battery cell is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V (claim 41); a gravimetric energy density of each lithium ion battery cell that is 55 Wh/kg at a nominal voltage of 2.3 V, and each lithium ion battery cell has a capacity of 10 Ah (claim 42); a weight of each lithium ion battery cell that is 450 g, the gravimetric energy density of each lithium ion battery cell is between 44 Wh/kg and 67 Wh/kg, and the nominal voltage of each lithium ion battery cell is between 2.0 V and 3.0 V, wherein the gravimetric energy density each lithium ion battery cell that is preferably 51 Wh/kg at a nominal voltage of 2.3 V (claim 43).
De-Leon discloses a Lionik LIP-55145255 power cell which is a lithium ion battery cell having a volumetric energy density of 186 Wh/L, a weight energy density of 105 Wh/kg, a capacity of 100 Ah, and has a nominal voltage 3.8 V; and a Toshiba SCiB high power lithium cell that has a weight energy density of 65 Wh/kg which is a prismatic lithium ion battery cell with a nominal voltage of 2.4 volts; wherein the Lionik and Toshiba batteries are both commercially available batteries (pg. 10 and 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami battery system to include battery cells having a volumetric energy density of 186 Wh/L and a nominal voltage 3.8 V; or a weight energy density of 65 Wh/kg and a nominal voltage of 2.4 V in order to provide a high capacity high power cell or ultra fast charging high power lithium cells that are suitable for use in electric vehicle applications and to utilize commercially available high power rechargeable batteries that are suitable for electric vehicle applications. In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon battery system to include lithium ion battery cells having volumetric energy density between 82 Wh/L and 153 Wh/L, volumetric energy density between 91 Wh/L and 137 Wh/L, volumetric energy density between 77 Wh/L and 138 Wh/L, volumetric energy density between 77 Wh/L and 137 Wh/L, volumetric energy density that is 105 Wh/L, or gravimetric energy density that is 55 Wh/kg because it has been held that the discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). The volumetric energy density or gravimetric energy density are result effective variables of optimizing the desired rating and size of battery cells for a specific size battery enclosure and specific application such as electric vehicles. Further, one skilled in the art would have been able to optimize the volume and weight of the battery cells based on the desired volumetric energy density and gravimetric energy density of each battery cell. Lastly, there is no evidence of criticality of the claimed volume, weight, volumetric energy density and gravimetric energy density of the battery cells.
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al and De-Leon does not expressly teach a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells disposed in adjacent columns, each comprising more than one prismatic lithium ion battery cell, wherein the plurality of lithium ion battery cells are configured such that no opposing normal forces are placed on an entirety of the respective first and second faces of each lithium ion battery cell (claim 35).
Lee et al discloses a battery module assembly “300” comprising a plurality of battery modules “200” (prismatic lithium ion battery cells) stacked on one another; wherein each of the battery module comprises a first face and a second face extending between a terminal end portion and a base portion; wherein each of the battery modules are stacked such that a gap is maintained between adjacent one of the battery modules based upon the guides that position the battery modules into the upper case and lower case ([0049] and Fig. 2). Examiner’s note: since a gap is maintained between adjacent battery modules, the Office takes the position that the plurality of battery modules are inherently configured such that no opposing forces are placed on entirety of the respective first face and the entirety of the respective second face of each battery module of the plurality of battery modules. In addition, the Office takes the position that a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells disposed in adjacent columns, each comprising more than one prismatic lithium ion battery cell is well known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to combine stacks battery cells in order to increase the capacity of the battery module assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon battery system to include a plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells disposed in a housing of the module in adjacent columns each comprising more than one prismatic lithium ion battery cell; wherein the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells in the adjacent columns are configured such that no opposing forces are placed on an entirety of the respective first face and the entirety of the respective second face of each prismatic lithium ion battery cell of the plurality of prismatic lithium ion battery cells in order to provide a battery module assembly that is entirely compact and has improved welding reliability ([0014],[0015]).
However, Jiang et al as modified by Takami et al, De-Leon, and Lee et al does not expressly teach a lithium titanate (LTO) as an anode active material; and a size of the lithium ion battery cell varying by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent, the electrochemically active components, the prismatic shape, a controlling of a charge and discharge cycle of the lithium ion battery cell by the lithium ion battery module, and the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of the hard material; and each prismatic lithium ion battery cell having a reduced base portion, and a reduced volume in a battery module housing each prismatic lithium ion battery cell, corresponding to the reduced swelling of the prismatic lithium ion battery cell (claim 35).
Tan et al discloses lithium titanate (LTO) as an anode active material, and an inventive cell comprising a cathode that is NMC mix oxide type and an anode that is lithium titanate that shows little to no gas generated which is inherently a size of the lithium ion battery cell that varies by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent ([0007],[0097] and Table 3, Fig. 16B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Jiang/Takami/De-Leon/Lee battery system to include a lithium titanate (LTO) as an anode active material; and a size of the lithium ion battery cell varying by no more than 5 percent resulting from a swelling of the cell thickness by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell width by no more than 5 percent, a swelling of the cell length by no more than 5 percent, the electrochemically active components, the prismatic shape, a controlling of a charge and discharge cycle of the lithium ion battery cell by the lithium ion battery module, and the terminal end portion, the base portion, the first face, the second face, the first side, and the second side being composed of the hard material; and each prismatic lithium ion battery cell having a reduced base portion, and a reduced volume in a battery module housing each prismatic lithium ion battery cell, corresponding to the reduced swelling of the prismatic lithium ion battery cell in order to utilize an anode active material that has low volume change during charge and discharge processes and thus has excellent cycleability ([0008]); and to utilize a battery cell with reduced gassing which prevents negative affects on cycling characteristics ([0062]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 2/2/2026