DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated October 27, 2025, claims 1-3 and 5-17 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 are amended and claims 18-20 are presently cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that the air inlet and air outlet of Qin are not an inlet and outlet for exchanging inside air in contact with the battery pack.
The claim language however does not require an inlet and outlet exchanging air in contact with the battery pack. However, Jagota et al. US6936372B1, as detailed below, has been newly cited to illustrate an inlet and outlet that are in contact with a battery pack.
The applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not modify Gray based on Hori as it would render Gray unsatisfactory for its intended purpose.
However, Gray is used to illustrate that it is known in the art to provide solar power to remote systems, such as the portable charger of Qin, thus, the combination of art is relevant to the present claims.
The applicant argues that the Heater of Hori cannot be a “hot pack” supplied with electrical power.
Although Hori does not explicitly teach the portable heater is being supplied with electrical power by a further energy source, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a portable hot pack is operated by some other energy source, whether it be a hot pack that is chemically activated or battery operated, for example, a cordless space heater.
NOTE: the language above is how the claim is being interpreted, however, as detailed above the claim language is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the heater is designed for being supplied, or the outdoor box is designed for supplying[[,]] the heater with electrical power, at least for the most part by a further energy source”. It is uncertain what optional language is included with “or”. As best understood, the claim language is being interpreted as: “the heater is designed for being supplied with electrical power, or the outdoor box is designed for supplying[[,]] the heater with electrical power, at least for the most part by a further energy source”
Claims 2-3 and 5-17 are rejected at least due to their dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. US20190372365A1 in view of Hori et al. 20170259956A1 and Jagota et al. US6936372B1.
Regarding claim 1. Qin discloses an outdoor box (FIG. 1-8) for keeping at least one battery pack (120) that supplies an electrically driven garden, forestry, construction and/or ground working apparatus with electrical driving power (because the structure of Qin is capable of performing the intended use, Qin meets the claim limitation – the illustrated batteries of FIG. 2 appear to be batteries associated with outdoor tools), wherein the outdoor box (FIG. 1-8) is configured at least for receiving at least one charger (Charger electronics 126/charger 100) for supplying the battery pack (120) with electrical charging power (¶42 – charger charges the battery packs), comprising:
an electrical line for transmission of electrical power to the charger (¶38 – charger includes port/receptacle to allow the battery pack to interface which mechanically and electrically mates with the terminal block of the battery pack, thus providing an electrical line).
an exchange fan (136) for exchange of outside air outside the outdoor box and inside air inside the outdoor box in contact with the battery pack (¶40 – charger lower portion includes an inlet vent 138 for each battery fan 136 to move air into the receptacle).
Qin does not explicitly disclose that a recirculation fan, different from the exchange fan, for recirculation inside the outdoor box of the same inside air in contact with the battery pack, and a heater, wherein the recirculation fan is designed for recirculating the inside air along the heater, and the heater is designed for being supplied, or the outdoor box is designed for supplying, the heater with electrical power at least for the most part by a further energy source, and/or the electrical line is designed for transmission of electrical power to the heater; at least one air inlet opening for letting the outside air into the box; at least one air outlet opening for letting the inside air out of the outdoor box; the air outlet opening is positioned above in relation to the air inlet opening in a vertical direction from an underside to an upper side of the outdoor box wherein the electrical line has an electricity mains connection in a form of a mains plug, and wherein the electrical line is designed for transmission of electrical power from the electricity mains connection to the recirculation fan and/or the further exchange fan.
Hori discloses a recirculation fan (96), different from the exchange fan (35), for recirculation inside the outdoor box of the same inside air (¶117 - circulation fan 96 blows air contained within the box across a device within the box) in contact with the battery pack (because Qin teaches a battery pack being contained within the box, the recirculation fan 96 is in contact with the battery pack), and a heater (¶117 – circulation fan 96 blows air across the hot pack), wherein the recirculation fan is designed for recirculating the inside air along the heater (¶117 - air from fan blows across the heater).
Hori discloses that the electrical line has an electricity mains connection in the form of a mains plug (37); and
Hori discloses that the electrical line (37) is designed for transmission of electrical power from the electricity mains connection to the recirculation fan and/or the further exchange fan (¶137 – a power supply line 37 supplies power to the fans 33/35).
Although Hori does not explicitly teach the portable heater is being supplied with electrical power by a further energy source, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a portable hot pack is operated by some other energy source, whether it be a hot pack that is chemically activated or battery operated, for example, a cordless space heater.
When modifying Qin to include the recirculation fan of Hori, because the airflow of the fan of Hori is placed in a direction parallel to the handle and the airflow of the exchange fan of Qin is placed in a direction orthogonal, it would be obvious to modify Qin to include the recirculation fan in a different direction from the exchange fan. Further, because Qin teaches an exchange fan 124 that provides airflow orthogonal to exchange fan 136, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan 124 with a recirculation fan in order to accelerate the transfer of air through the box (Hori; ¶85)
Hori does not explicitly teach that at least one air inlet opening for letting the outside air into the box; at least one air outlet opening for letting the inside air out of the outdoor box; the air outlet opening is positioned above in relation to the air inlet opening in a vertical direction from an underside to an upper side of the outdoor box.
Jagota discloses at least one air inlet opening (121) for letting the outside air into the box (100).
Jagota discloses at least one air outlet (122) opening for letting the inside air out of the outdoor box (100).
Jagota teaches battery cabinet the air outlet opening (122) is positioned above in relation to the air inlet opening (121) in a vertical direction from an underside to an upper side of the outdoor box (FIG. 2).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the arrangement of the inlet/outlet of Jagota to the system of Qin in order to allow the cooler air, normally located near the bottom and because hot air rises, allow the hottest air to exit near the top section (column 5, lines 1-16).
Note: Claim 1 requires “at least one of: (a) a recirculation fan. . . or a further exchange fan”. Thus, the further exchange fan is one option, however, it is not a required option. Thus, if a reference contains only the “further exchange fan”, the recirculation fan need not be included in the search and the claim limitation is met.
Regarding claim 2. Qin discloses that the outdoor box (FIG. 1-8) is a transporting outdoor box and/or a mobile outdoor box (¶37 – pair of handles 110 to carry).
Regarding claim 3. Qin discloses that the outdoor box contains the charger (¶36 - charger 100 has a housing 102).
Regarding claim 8. Qin does not explicitly disclose the air outlet opening is positioned above in relation to the air inlet opening in a vertical direction from an underside to an upper side of the outdoor box, and is offset in a horizontal direction orthogonal to the vertical direction.
Jagota teaches that the air outlet (122) opening is positioned above in relation to the air inlet (121) opening in a vertical direction from an underside to an upper side (FIG. 2), and is offset in a horizontal direction orthogonal to the vertical direction (FIG. 2 - inlet is shown to be in the center of the cabinet and the output is shown to be offset).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the arrangement of the inlet/outlet of Jagota to the system of Qin in order to allow the cooler air, normally located near the bottom and because hot air rises, allow the hottest air to exit near the top section (column 5, lines 1-16).
Regarding claim 9. Qin discloses that the air inlet opening (132) is on a peripheral side of the box container (FIG. 6 – inlet arranged on a side of the housing).
Regarding claim 10. Qin discloses the outdoor box (FIGS. 1-8) is designed for keeping the battery pack (120).
Qin discloses at least one air inlet opening (132) for letting the outside air into the outdoor box (¶39; FIG. 6), and at least one air outlet (134), opening for letting the inside air out of the outdoor box (¶39; FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 11. Qin discloses at least one air inlet opening (132) for letting the outside air into the outdoor box (¶39).
Qin discloses at least one air outlet (134) opening for letting the inside air out of the outdoor box (¶39).
Qin discloses at least one air inlet opening (132) for letting the outside air into the outdoor box (¶39; FIG. 6), and at least one air outlet opening (134) for letting the inside air out of the outdoor box (¶39; FIG. 6),
wherein the exchange fan (124) is in the air inlet opening (132) or the air outlet opening (134) and is located at an exchange distance from said respective inlet opening or said air outlet opening along an air flow path (FIG. 6 - the fan and the inlet/outlet are separate features and thus have some exchange distance), and
Note: Claim 1 requires “at least one of: (a) a recirculation fan. . . or a further exchange fan”. Thus, the further exchange fan is one option, however, it is not a required option. Thus, if a reference contains only the “further exchange fan”, the recirculation fan need not be included in the search and the claim limitation is met.
Qin does not explicitly teach wherein a recirculation distance of the recirculation fan along an air flow path from the air inlet opening and/or the air outlet opening is greater than the exchange distance.
Hori discloses a recirculation distance of the recirculation fan (96) along an air flow path from the air inlet opening and/or the air outlet opening is greater than the exchange distance (Because Hori teaches a circulation fan 96 to circulate the air within the compartment, it follows that the recirculation distance is greater than the exchange distance; FIG. 17).
When modifying Qin to include the recirculation fan of Hori, because the airflow of the fan of Hori is placed in a direction parallel to the handle and the airflow of the exchange fan of Qin is placed in a direction orthogonal, it would be obvious to modify Qin to include the recirculation fan in a different direction from the exchange fan. Further, because Qin teaches an exchange fan 124 that provides airflow orthogonal to exchange fan 136, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan 124 with a recirculation fan in order to accelerate the transfer of air through the box (Hori; ¶85)
Regarding claim 12. Qin discloses the exchange fan (136) is aligned for delivering an air flow substantially in a first direction from an underside to an upper side of the outdoor box (¶40 – airflow director 137 directs airflow upwards to the upper side of the box).
Note: Claim 1 requires “at least one of: (a) a recirculation fan. . . or a further exchange fan”. The exchange fan is one option, however, it is not a required option. Thus, if a reference contains only the “recirculation fan”, the further exchange fan need not be included in the search and the claim limitation is met.
Qin does not explicitly teach the recirculation fan is aligned for delivering an air flow substantially in a second direction, different from the first direction.
Hori teaches that the recirculation fan (96) is aligned for delivering an air flow substantially in a second direction, different from the first direction (¶116-117FIG. 17 the fan 96 directs airflow in a direction parallel to the handle 13 across the electronics).
When modifying Qin to include the recirculation fan of Hori, because the airflow of the fan of Hori is placed in a direction parallel to the handle and the airflow of the exchange fan of Qin is placed in a direction orthogonal, it would be obvious to modify Qin to include the recirculation fan in a different direction from the exchange fan. Further, because Qin teaches an exchange fan 124 that provides airflow orthogonal to exchange fan 136, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan 124 with a recirculation fan in order to accelerate the transfer of air through the box (Hori; ¶85)
Regarding claim 13. Qin discloses that the exchange fan (136) flow is in the vertical direction
Qin does not explicitly disclose the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction, and the third direction is orthogonal to the first and/or second direction.
Note: Claim 1 requires “at least one of: (a) a recirculation fan. . . or a further exchange fan”. The exchange fan is one option, however, it is not a required option. Thus, if a reference contains only the “recirculation fan”, the exchange fan need not be included in the search and the claim limitation is met.
Hori teaches the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (FIG. 15 - the fan 96 directs airflow in a direction parallel to the handle 13 across the electronics).
When modifying Qin to include the recirculation fan of Hori, because the airflow of the fan of Hori is placed in a direction parallel to the handle and the airflow of the exchange fan of Qin is placed in a direction orthogonal, it would be obvious to modify Qin to include the recirculation fan in a different direction from the exchange fan. Further, because Qin teaches an exchange fan 124 that provides airflow orthogonal to exchange fan 136, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan 124 with a recirculation fan in order to accelerate the transfer of air through the box (Hori; ¶85)
Regarding claim 14. Qin discloses a cooler (¶50 – temperature of the battery pack is monitored - if it exceeds a temperature the fan is turned on to lower the battery temperature and turns off when the temperature reaches a threshold), and
Qin does not explicitly disclose that the recirculation fan is designed for recirculating the inside air along the heater and/or the cooler.
Hori discloses a cooler (¶117 – storage compartment C cooled by placing a portable cooling device within compartment).
Hori discloses the recirculation fan (96) is designed for recirculating the inside air along the cooler (117).
When modifying Qin to include the recirculation fan of Hori, because the airflow of the fan of Hori is placed in a direction parallel to the handle and the airflow of the exchange fan of Qin is placed in a direction orthogonal, it would be obvious to modify Qin to include the recirculation fan in a different direction from the exchange fan. Further, because Qin teaches an exchange fan 124 that provides airflow orthogonal to exchange fan 136, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan 124 with a recirculation fan in order to accelerate the transfer of air through the box (Hori; ¶85)
Regarding claim 15. Qin does not explicitly teach an open-loop and/or closed-loop control device for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of operation of the recirculation fan and of the heater and/or the cooler, and/or of the further exchange fan, dependent on an inside temperature, detected by an inside temperature sensor of the outdoor box, of the inside air and/or an outside temperature, detected by an outside temperature sensor of the outdoor box, of the outside air, in such a way that the inside temperature reaches and/or exceeds a minimum temperature value, and/or reaches and/or falls below a maximum temperature value.
Hori discloses an open-loop and/or closed-loop control device (although not explicitly discussed, because controllers are one or the other, the presence of a controller discloses this feature, ¶165) for open-loop and/or closed-loop control of operation of the recirculation fan and of the cooler (although not explicitly discussed, because controllers are one or the other, the presence of a recirculation fan and controller discloses this feature) , dependent on an inside temperature, detected by an inside temperature sensor of the outdoor box, of the inside air (¶117-temperature within the case is detected using a temperature sensor and appropriately switching the circulation fan).
Hori discloses in such a way that the inside temperature reaches and/or exceeds a minimum temperature value, and/or reaches and/or falls below a maximum temperature value (¶117 – because the temperature sensor turns the circulation fan on “appropriately” it is understood that the fan turns on when the interior is either too hot or too cold).
When modifying Qin to include the recirculation fan of Hori, because the airflow of the fan of Hori is placed in a direction parallel to the handle and the airflow of the exchange fan of Qin is placed in a direction orthogonal, it would be obvious to modify Qin to include the recirculation fan in a different direction from the exchange fan. Further, because Qin teaches an exchange fan 124 that provides airflow orthogonal to exchange fan 136, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the fan 124 with a recirculation fan in order to accelerate the transfer of air through the box (Hori; ¶85)
Regarding claim 16. Qin discloses a system, comprising: an outdoor box (FIGS. 1-8) according to claim 1 (as described in claim 1); and
Qin further discloses at least one of: the battery pack (120), the charger (100/126).
Regarding claim 17. Qin discloses a method for supplying a battery pack with electrical charging power by a charger (¶42), which comprises utilizing the outdoor box of claim 1 (as described in claim 1).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. US20190372365A1 in view of Hori et al. 20170259956A1 and Jagota et al. US6936372B1 in further view of Gray US20080283114A1.
Regarding claim 5. Qin does not explicitly teach a radiation-energy conversion device for supplying the exchange fan, independently of an inside temperature of the inside air and/or an outside temperature of the outside air, with electrical power.
Gray discloses a radiation-energy conversion device (104) for supplying the exchange fan (224/230), independently of an inside temperature of the inside air and/or an outside temperature of the outside air, with electrical power (¶14-15 – the fans are responsive to converted solar energy).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide power of the fans of Gray to the fans of Qin in order to allow for more frequent charging without the need of a power outlet (Gray; ¶5).
Regarding claim 6. Qin does not explicitly disclose an electrical energy store for supplying the exchange fan, independently of an inside temperature of the inside air and/or an outside temperature of the outside air, with electrical power from the radiation-energy conversion device.
Gray discloses an electrical energy store (220) for supplying the exchange fan, independently of an inside temperature of the inside air and/or an outside temperature of the outside air, with electrical power from the radiation-energy conversion device (¶19 – auxiliary battery stores the converted solar energy and outputs power as desired).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide power of the fans of Gray to the fans of Qin in order to allow for more frequent charging without the need of a power outlet (Gray; ¶5).
Regarding claim 7. Qin discloses a box container (lower portion 104); and
a box lid (¶36 - upper portion 106 serves as a lid for the lower portion 104), wherein the box container is designed for keeping the battery pack (120) and at least for receiving the charger (charging electronics 126 are found within the lower portion 104), and
wherein at least one of: the electrical line (¶38 – charger includes port/receptacle to allow the battery pack to interface which mechanically and electrically mates with the terminal block of the battery pack, thus providing an electrical line)) is arranged on the box container (within lower portion 104),
wherein, for opening and closing the box container, the box lid (106) is movable with respect to the box container (104) (FIG. 2).
Qin does not explicitly disclose that at least one of: the exchange fan, the radiation-energy conversion device, or the electrical energy store, is arranged on the box lid.
Gray teaches at least one of: the exchange fan (224/230), the radiation-energy conversion device (104), or the electrical energy store (220), is arranged on the box lid (102).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide power of the fans of Gray to the fans of Qin in order to allow for more frequent charging without the need of a power outlet (Gray; ¶5).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Adams et al. US20190128589A1 discloses a cooling unit with an air inlet on the bottom of the housing where warm air would enter and an air outlet at the top where the cooled air exits (¶25).
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859