DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-final Office Action dated 06/04/2025, filed with the office on 10/01/2025, has been entered and made of record.
Priority
Certified copies of foreign documents JP2019-140818 and JP2020-124031 have not been provided to the Office. It is respectfully requested that Applicant provide certified copies of the cited foreign references to the Office.
Status of Claims
Claims 2, 4-6, 10-13, 15, 17 and 20 are pending. Claims 2, 4-6, 11, 12, 15, 17 and 20 are amended. Claims 1, 7-9, 14, 16 and 19 are cancelled. Claims 3 and 18 are non-elected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of independent Claims 2 and 17, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “imaging unit” in claims 2 and 17, and “imaging element” in claims 2, 15 and 17.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, these are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structures described in the applicant’s drawings: algorithms (flow charts) depicted in Fig. 22, and applicant’s specification: ¶0018: “The imaging unit 205 is, for example, an imaging element such as a CCD or CMOS sensor, performs photoelectric conversion of an optical image that is formed by the optical system 204 on the imaging element of the imaging unit 205, and outputs an obtained analog image signal to an A/D conversion unit 206” and ¶0004: “a lens that is an optical system or an imaging element” as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 6, 10, 11, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 2016/0373643 A1), in view of Masuda (US 2011/0298899 A1), in further view of Tang et al. (US 2015/0042812 A1) and still in further view of Skidmore et al. (US 2018/0350103 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Abe teaches, An image processing apparatus (Abe, ¶0018: “an image processing device”) comprising: at least one processor and/or circuit; (Abe, ¶0064: “comprise one or more processors (e.g., central processing unit (CPU)”) and at least one memory (Abe, ¶0064: “a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM)”) storing a computer program, which causes the at least one processor and/or circuit to function as following units: (Abe, ¶0064: “computer executable instructions may be provided to the computer, for example, from a network or the storage medium”) an input unit configured to input a distance information (Abe, ¶0002: “acquiring information regarding a distance of a subject”) distribution calculated from an image captured by using an optical system that forms a field image (Abe, ¶0005: “calculating a distribution of a subject distance in a photographing scene”) on an imaging element of an imaging unit; (Abe, ¶0023: “The image sensor… (CMOS) element”; please see 112f for the examiner interpretation of imaging element) (Abe, ¶0026: “image processing unit 30 detects a relative image deviation amount… through correlation calculation”) between the distance information distribution and the estimated depth direction, (Abe, ¶0026: “The image processing unit 30 calculates defocus information corresponding to a subject distance”) an evaluation value indicating a deviation degree (Abe, ¶0026: “image processing unit 30 detects a relative image deviation amount of the images”) in a depth direction of a subject in the image; (Abe, ¶0028: “calculates a defocus amount (notated as DEF) of a subject with respect to the imaging surface using an image deviation amount”). However, Abe does not explicitly teach, an estimation unit configured to estimate a depth direction in the image from an imaging condition of the imaging unit, and a generation unit configured to generate an information for controlling at least one of a pan, tilt, and an imaging position of an imaging apparatus including the imaging unit based on the evaluation value in order that the imaging apparatus faces the subject, wherein the imaging condition is at least one of orientation information of the apparatus when the image is captured, a vanishing point in the image, a change in a density of texture in the image and a determination result as to whether a structure with a known shape is included in the image, and wherein the decision unit decides the evaluation value based on a comparison between the estimated depth direction and a depth direction derived from the distance information distribution.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Masuda teaches, an estimation unit configured to for estimate (Masuda. ¶0060: “it is calculated that”) a depth direction in the image (Masuda. ¶0060: “a direction parallel to an optical axis of the taking lens (a distance in a depth direction)”) from an imaging condition of the imaging unit; (Masuda. ¶0060: “based on… a focal length”; applicant’s specification defines imaging condition in ¶0075: “imaging conditions (focal length, focus lens position, aperture) of the optical system”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe using the teachings of Masuda to introduce computing a depth direction using imaging condition. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of estimating the direction of focus of the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe and Masuda to obtain the above-described limitations of claim 2. However, the combination of Abe and Masuda does not explicitly teach, a generation unit configured to generate an information for controlling at least one of a pan, tilt, and an imaging position of an imaging apparatus including the imaging unit based on the evaluation value in order that the imaging apparatus faces the subject, wherein the imaging condition is at least one of orientation information of the apparatus when the image is captured, a vanishing point in the image, a change in a density of texture in the image and a determination result as to whether a structure with a known shape is included in the image, and wherein the decision unit decides the evaluation value based on a comparison between the estimated depth direction and a depth direction derived from the distance information distribution.
In another analogous field of endeavor, Tang teaches, a generation unit configured to generate an information (Tang, ¶0126: “determine reference and desired aim-point motion for digital pan-tilt camera and camera track system”) for controlling at least one of a pan, tilt, and an imaging position of an imaging apparatus including the imaging unit based on the evaluation value in order that the imaging apparatus faces the subject, (Tang, ¶0126: “the automatic target following camera view control is to adjust the camera pan and tilt angles… By achieving this, the target object is guaranteed to be displayed in the camera image frames with the best relative frame position”) wherein the imaging condition is at least one of orientation information of the apparatus when the image is captured, (Tang, ¶0011: “video frames are captured from a camera system whose orientation is determined from the camera's position and motion”) a vanishing point in the image, a change in a density of texture in the image and a determination result as to whether a structure with a known shape is included in the image, (alternative limitation is considered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe in view of Masuda using the teachings of Tang to introduce controlling camera pan-tilt angles. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of adjusting a camera angle to keep the subject in desired location in the frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe, Masuda and Tang to obtain the invention of claim 2. However, the combination of Abe, Masuda and Tang does not explicitly teach, wherein the decision unit decides the evaluation value based on a comparison between the estimated depth direction and a depth direction derived from the distance information distribution.
In still analogous field of endeavor, Skidmore teaches, wherein the decision unit decides the evaluation value based on a comparison (Skidmore, Claim 3: “correcting an initial value for the FOV based on the difference between the first angle estimate and the second angle estimate”) between the estimated depth direction (Skidmore, Claim 3: “a second angle estimate for the angle subtended by… a location along the viewing direction”) and a depth direction derived from the distance information distribution. (Skidmore, Claim 3: “a first angle estimate for an angle subtended by… a viewing direction of the camera using distances measured directly from one or more frames”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe in view of Masuda in further view of Tang using the teachings of Skidmore to introduce comparing computed camera angles. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of detecting a deviation degree of the camera. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe, Masuda, Tang and Skidmore to obtain the invention of claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the distance information distribution is (The strikethrough portion is not considered) information related to a distribution of an actual distance from an imaging position to a subject. (Abe, ¶0004: “distributions of distances to subjects (hereinafter referred to as subject distances)”).
Regarding claim 6, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the information related to the distribution of a parallax amount of the subject is obtained from a pair of images with a parallax therebetween. (Masuda, ¶0002: “a pair of camera with a certain distance in right and left between them, captures a measurement object as the subject, and gets a parallax image”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore using the additional teachings of Masuda to introduce an image pair with a parallax. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of computing the coordinates of an object visible in the images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe, Masuda, Tang and Skidmore to obtain the invention of claim 6.
Regarding claim 10, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the deviation degree in the depth direction of the subject in the image (Abe, ¶0026: “image processing unit 30 detects a relative image deviation amount of the images”) is a difference between defocus amounts (Abe, ¶0026: “The image processing unit 30 calculates defocus information corresponding to a subject distance”) at a plurality of positions in the distance information distribution. (Abe, ¶0026: “a relative image deviation amount of the images A and B through correlation calculation (phase difference detection scheme)”).
Regarding claim 11, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the at least one memory causes the at least one processor and/or circuit to further function as a notification unit configured to notify the evaluation value. (Abe, ¶0057: “control unit 20 communicates with the lens control unit 120 of the imaging lens 3 to acquire the imaging surface correction information”).
Regarding claim 15, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, by associating the evaluation value indicating the deviation degree with information on the imaging element (Abe, ¶0004: “aberration of curvature of field or the like caused due to a manufacturing error or optical characteristics of design of an imaging lens”) and the optical system that have acquired the image for which the evaluation value has been calculated, (Abe, ¶0005: “optical characteristics of design of an imaging lens and imaging surface flatness of an image sensor are calculated.”) the information is output to an external apparatus. (Abe, ¶0050: “An external apparatus, a computer, or the like connected to the imaging apparatus acquires the image data and the metadata”).
Regarding claim 17, it recites a method with steps corresponding to the elements in the apparatus recited in claim 2. Therefore, the recited steps of the method claim 17 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding elements in the apparatus claim 2. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Abe, Masuda, Tang and Skidmore presented in rejection of claim 2, apply to this claim. Additionally, Abe teaches, An image processing method (Abe, ¶0064: “a method performed by the computer of the system or apparatus”).
Regarding claim 20, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored the computer program stored in the at least one memory included in the image processing apparatus according to claim 2. (Abe, ¶0064: “computer executable instructions (e.g., one or more programs) recorded on a storage medium (which may also be referred to more fully as a ‘non-transitory computer-readable storage medium’) to perform the functions of one or more of the above-described embodiments and/or that includes one or more circuits”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 2016/0373643 A1), in view of Masuda (US 2011/0298899 A1), in further view of Tang et al. (US 2015/0042812 A1) still in further view of Skidmore et al. (US 2019/0281214 A1) and yet in further view of Miyazawa et al. (US 2017/0257556 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the distance information distribution is information related to a distribution obtained by. However, the combination of Abe, Masuda, Tang and Skidmore does not explicitly teach, normalizing a distribution of a defocus amount of a subject by an F-number and an acceptable circle of confusion.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Miyazawa teaches, normalizing a distribution of a defocus amount of a subject by an F-number and an acceptable circle of confusion. (Miyazawa, ¶0155: “the defocus amount in the case where the focus state is “normal” can be set to values ranging from 1Fδ to 4Fδ (F: F number, δ: the diameter of a permissible circle of confusion)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore using the teachings of Miyazawa to introduce F-number and circle of confusion. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of improving the tracking performance of the autofocus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe, Masuda, Tang, Skidmore and Miyazawa to obtain the invention of claim 4.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 2016/0373643 A1), in view of Masuda (US 2011/0298899 A1), in further view of Tang et al. (US 2015/0042812 A1) still in further view of Skidmore et al. (US 2018/0350103 A1) and yet in further view of Gerlach (US 2014/0168434 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein, when an input image is determined to However, the combination of Abe, Masuda, Tang and Skidmore does not explicitly teach, include a typical object including a ground, a water surface, and a structure constructed in a perpendicular direction of the ground or water surface,
In an analogous field of endeavor, Gerlach teaches, include a typical object including a ground, a water surface, and a structure constructed in a perpendicular direction of the ground or water surface, (Gerlach, ¶0052: “the image 501 includes a house 506, a road 508, a small pond”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore using the teachings of Gerlach to introduce a predetermined scenario in an image. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of finding a deviation degree using a change in the given image. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe, Masuda, Tang, Skidmore and Gerlach to obtain the invention of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore and yet in further view of Gerlach teaches, The image processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein a statistic of the distance information distribution is a histogram of the distance information distribution. (Masuda, ¶0080: “a histogram of the pixel value of each image Pt, Pc is calculated”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Abe in view of Masuda, in further view of Tang and still in further view of Skidmore and still in further view of Gerlach using the additional teachings of Masuda to introduce a histogram. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the known elements as described above and achieve the predictable result of visually presenting an information through a histogram. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the analogous arts Abe, Masuda Skidmore and Gerlach to obtain the invention of claim 13.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEHRAZUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662