DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Supplemental Amendment/Remarks received on 24 September 2026. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant has not presented arguments with respect to objected claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 14 as set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 6 March 2026.
The objections of claims 1 and 5 are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments to the claims filed on 24 September 2026.
The objections of claims 6, 9, 10, and 14 are maintained for the rationales set forth in the Final Office Action mailed on 6 March 2026.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 11-15, filed 24 September 2026, with respect to rejected claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of an electrical load controller capable of adjusting a first parameter of an electric load device using at least one user-actuatable input device, and responsive to a determination that the proximate mobile device is authorized to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device, causes the generation of a GUI on the mobile device to control a second parameter of the electric load device AND reconfigures the at least one user-actuatable input device to control a second parameter of the electric load device. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 6)
Claim 2 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 1. Claim 7 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 6. Claim 12 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 11. Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 2, 7, and 12 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 2)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11 thereby failing to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. Claims 2, 7, and 12 depend on independent claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively, and are allowable for at least the same reasons as the claim upon which each depends as well as for the respective features recited in each of claims 2, 7, and 12. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 3)
Claim 3 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 1. Claim 8 depends on 13 and includes the features recited in independent claim 6. Claim 13 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 11. Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 3, 8, and 13 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe, fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 4 - pg. 14, paragraph 1)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11 thereby failing to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. Claims 3, 8, and 13 depend on independent claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively, and are allowable for at least the same reasons as the claim upon which each depends as well as for the respective features recited in each of claims 3, 8, and 13. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 2)
Claims 4, 9, and 14 stand rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as purportedly unpatentable over the combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick. Claim 4 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 1. Claim 9 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 6. Claim 14 depends on and includes the features recited in independent claim 11. Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 4, 9, and 14 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick, fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 3)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Nagaoka fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11 thereby failing to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. Claims 5, 10, and 15 depend on independent claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively, and are allowable for at least the same reasons as the claim upon which each depends as well as for the respective features recited in each of claims 5, 10, and 15. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 3)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Applicant’s arguments of “… fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of …” have been interpreted as the prior art failing to teaching, provide, or suggest a motivation to combine the references. In addition, the examiner notes the lack of teaching, providing, or suggesting a motivation to combine the references is directed newly presented limitations in the Supplemental Amendment/Remarks received on 24 September 2026 by the Office.
Further, the Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to combine each reference have been provided for the newly presented limitations as set forth below in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-15.
In regards to the Applicant’s arguments,
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, at least with respect to claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 12, paragraph 6 - pg. 13, paragraph 1)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11 thereby failing to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. Claims 4, 9, and 14 depend on independent claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively, and are allowable for at least the same reasons as the claim upon which each depends as well as for the respective features recited in each of claims 4, 9, and 14. (pg. 14, paragraph 4 - pg. 15, paragraph 1)
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The Examiner notes the preceding arguments are directed to newly presented limitations presented in the Supplemental Amendment/Remarks received on 24 September 2026 by the Office. Further, the Applicant has presented broad and conclusionary arguments that do not do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references (e.g. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0106735 A1 (Jackson), European Patent Publication No. EP 0 756 397 B1 (Varadharajan), and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0298596 A1 (Warrick)) cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 stand objected to and claims 1-15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 and 8-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes a punctuation issue of “An electrical load controller apparatus, comprising …” in line 1. Suggested claim language: “An electrical load controller apparatus comprising …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.’
Claim 1 recites “An electrical load controller apparatus” in line 1 and “the electrical load controller” in line 4. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the electrical load controller” in line 4 should read “the electrical load controller apparatus”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 includes an extra space between “device” and “;” in line 41. Suggested claim language: “device;”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 2 recites “The electrical load controller apparatus” in line 1 and “the electrical load controller” in line 2. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the electrical load controller” in line 2 should read “the electrical load controller apparatus”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 2 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 1 wherein …” in line 1. Suggested claim language: “… claim 1, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 3 recites “The electrical load controller apparatus” in line 1 and “the electrical load controller” in line 2. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the electrical load controller” in line 2 should read “the electrical load controller apparatus”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 3 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 1 wherein …” in line 1. Suggested claim language: “… claim 1, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 4 includes an extra space between “device” and “;” in line 5. Suggested claim language: “device;”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 5 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 1 wherein …” in line 1. Suggested claim language: “… claim 1, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 includes a punctuation issue of “An electrical load control method, comprising …” in line 1. Suggested claim language: “An electrical load control method comprising …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… receiving by the electrical load controller circuitry, …” in line 2. Suggested claim language: “… receiving, by the controller circuitry, …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 recites an extra space between “includes” and “a unique” in clam 11.
Claim 6 recites “electrical load controller circuitry” in line 2 and “the controller circuitry” in lines 13, 19, and 35. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: and “the controller circuitry” in 13, 19, and 35 should read and “the electrical load controller circuitry”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… causing by the controller circuitry, a transmission …” in line 35. Suggested claim language: “… causing, by the controller circuitry, a transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 recites “electrical load controller circuitry” in line 2 and claim 8 recites “the electrical load controller” in line 2. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the electrical load controller” in claim 8 should read and “the electrical load controller circuitry”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 9 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… causing by the controller circuitry, a transmission …” in line 6. Suggested claim language: “… causing, by the controller circuitry, a transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 recites “electrical load controller circuitry” in line 2 and claim 9 recites “the controller circuitry” in lines 2 and 6. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the controller circuitry” in claim 9 should read and “the electrical load controller circuitry”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 10 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… causing by the controller circuitry, the transmission …” in lines 4. Suggested claim language: “… causing, by the controller circuitry, the transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
• Claim 6 recites “wallbox mountable” in line 2 and claim 11 recites “wallbox-mountable” in line 3. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “wallbox-mountable” in claim 11 should read and “wallbox mountable”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 12 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 11 wherein …” in lines 1-2. Suggested claim language: “… claim 11, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 13 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 11 wherein …” in lines 1-2. Suggested claim language: “… claim 11, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 14 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 11 wherein …” in lines 1-2. Suggested claim language: “… claim 11, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 14 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission …” in line 7. Suggested claim language: “… cause, by the controller circuitry, a transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 11 recites “electrical load controller circuitry” in line 2 and claim 14 recites “the controller circuitry” in line 7. The claims recite two different terms for the same limitation. To avoid any ambiguity in the claims the same term should be used for the same limitation. Suggested claim language: “the controller circuitry” in claim 14 should read and “the electrical load controller circuitry”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 15 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… claim 11 wherein …” in lines 1-2. Suggested claim language: “… claim 11, wherein …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner’s Note: The claims are replete with grammatical, punctuation, and antecedent issues. The Applicant is encouraged to carefully review the claims for any further issues that were inadvertently omitted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0106735 A1 (hereinafter Jackson) in view of European Patent Publication No. EP 0 756 397 B1 (hereinafter Varadharajan) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0298596 A1 (hereinafter Warrick) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0248893 A1 (hereinafter Feldstein).
As per claim 1, Jackson substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Jackson teaches the limitations of an electrical load controller apparatus (pg. 7, par. [0176], pgs. 8-9, par. [0194] and [0196], and Fig. 4, element 19; i.e. [0194]: “The control processor 19 processes control commands received from the keypad 41 and executes control commands such as by transmitting control commands to the one or more controllable devices 15 via the communication network 17.”), comprising:
at least one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust a first parameter of an electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173], pg. 8, par. [0192], Fig. 1, element 15, and Fig. 4, elements 151, 152, and 153; i.e. one or more controllable devices of a lighting device, AV device, and HVAC device) operatively coupled to the load controller (pgs. 8-9, par. [0192] and [0194]-[0196] and Fig. 4, element 19);
first wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth)) using a first, relatively short-range, wireless communication protocol (pg. 8, par. [0181]);
second wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198b of element 198; i.e. a LAN interface connected to a wireless LAN) using a second, relatively long range, wireless communication protocol different from the first wireless communication protocol (pg. 7, par. [0182]);
memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium);
controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. a CPU of a controller processor) communicatively coupled to the first wireless communication interface circuitry (i.e. one or more IR interfaces), the second wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198b of element 198), and to the memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0182] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. per the connections to Fig. 3, elements 192, 193, 198a and 198b), the controller circuitry to:
an exchange of information via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) and [0181]: “The PAN interface 198a may permit one electronic device to connect to another local electronic device via an ad-hoc or peer-to-peer connection.”);
receive via the first wireless communication interface circuitry a signal that includes a unique identifier (i.e. receiving a user ID and a device ID) associated with the proximate mobile device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0253] and Fig. 13, element 1306);
associate the proximate mobile device using the received information representative of the unique identifier (pg. 13, par. [0257]; i.e. “… the control processor 19 associates the user and location with one or more control commands. In an embodiment of the invention, the control processor 19 further comprises a logic engine for processing location and identity.”); and
responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0257]):
autonomously retrieve one or more electrical load control instructions from the memory circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to cause an adjustment of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. controllable devices and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling a lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)); and
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Not explicitly taught are a wallbox mountable housing that includes:
receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device;
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier;
responsive to the determination that the proximate mobile device is authorized to adjust a second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from the first parameter, the controller circuitry to:
retrieve from the memory circuitry a modified command script to cause a display on the proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device;
reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of
adjust a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from a first parameter (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”);
retrieve a modified command script (pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211] and Fig. 7, element 436; i.e. [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41 …”) to cause a display on a proximate mobile device (pg. 4, par. [0149], pg. 9, par. [0199] and [0205]-[0207], pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211], pg. 11, par. [0226], pg. 14, par. [0294], and Fig. 9, element 13; i.e. a portable electronic device, [0149]: “Further, the NFC tag may be physically integrated with another device such as by physically affixing it on or within a device or the NFC tag may be a standalone device such as a sticker affixed to a wall or structure of the facility. Due to keypads prevalence in buildings and their near standard placement near doorways and traditional control functions, keypads provide a well-known and familiar point for placing NFC tags.”; [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”; [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”) of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”);
reconfigure the at least one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 8, par. [0192], [0194], and [0195] and Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) using the retrieved modified command script (pg. 9, par. [0199], pgs. 9-10, par. [0207]-[0209], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 14, par. [0294]; i.e. [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”, [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. “FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention.”) for the purpose of control (pg. 8, par. [0196]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of adjust a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from a first parameter; retrieve a modified command script to cause a display on a proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load; reconfigure the at least one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson does not expressly teach a wallbox mountable housing that includes: receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device; and
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Varadharajan, in an analogous art of communication between a device and a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. a portable computer and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below.”); and
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device (Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. the portable computer) responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0028] and [0031]; i.e. [0028]: “… for implementing a challenge/response routine for authenticating the identity of a portable device 12 attempting to gain access remotely via the communications network 22.” and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below. … Detection of the proximity of the portable computer 50 may be achieved in various ways. The processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 may monitor the output of the I.R. transmitter/receiver unit 24 and instigate a key update routine once it has identified the portable computer in a hand shake sequence.”) for the purpose of authentication of a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device; and initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a very simple means of obtaining a high degree of security, secrecy, and integrity between an authorized portable use and a host device, as well as, against unauthorized access to the host by third party machines (Varadharajan: pg. 3, par. [0012]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan does not expressly teach a wallbox mountable housing that includes:
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters (i.e. control of controllable devices) of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach a wallbox mountable housing.
However Feldstein, in an analogous art of controlling a load (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of a wallbox mountable housing (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 12, par. [0012], pg. 3, par. [0069], [0070], and [0073] and Fig. 5, element 71; i.e. a housing, [0069]: “… the field configurable electrical device can be a local unit that is configured to receive control commands directly from a user or remotely from a remote control (or master) unit. The local unit is in electrical communication with a load (such as a light, fan, window blinds, etc.) to control the load based on the control commands. Alternatively, the field configurable electrical device can be a remote control unit that is remotely located from the local unit and that is used to provide RF signals to control the local unit based on a user command received at the remote control unit.”, [0070]: “The antenna bezel frame 74 and the associated color-matched elements are located in front of a housing 71 that contains various electronic components, including control circuitry that is used to control the load based on control commands received through the rocker switch actuator 618 or from a remote control unit.”, and [0073]: “In an illustrative embodiment, the antenna element 742 is mounted such that the antenna element 742 is not visible when the field configurable electrical device is installed in a wall mounted electrical box.”) for the purpose controlling a load based on control commands (pg. 3, par. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of a wallbox mountable housing to advantageously help prevent and avoid radio frequency interference to improve data reception and transmission (Feldstein: pg. 5, par. [0089]).
As per claim 6, Jackson substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Jackson teaches the limitations of an electrical load control method, comprising:
electrical load controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0176], pgs. 8-9, par. [0194] and [0196], and Fig. 4, element 19; i.e. [0194]: “The control processor 19 processes control commands received from the keypad 41 and executes control commands such as by transmitting control commands to the one or more controllable devices 15 via the communication network 17.”) is operatively coupled to a user actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust a first parameter of an electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173], pgs. 8-9, par. [0192] and [0194]-[0196], Fig. 1, element 15, and Fig. 4, elements 151, 152, and 153; i.e. one or more controllable devices of a lighting device, AV device, and HVAC device);
an exchange of information via a first wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. a PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth)) using a first wireless communication protocol (pg. 8, par. [0181]; i.e. “… low power, low bandwidth or close range wireless connection …”, e.g. Bluetooth communication);
receiving, by the controller circuitry (Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. a CPU of the control processor), via the first wireless communication interface circuity (Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface) a signal that includes a unique identifier (i.e. receiving a user ID and a device ID) associated with the proximate mobile device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0253] and Fig. 13, element 1306);
associating, by the controller circuitry (Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; the CPU of the control processor), the proximate mobile device using the received unique identifier (pg. 13, par. [0257]; i.e. “… the control processor 19 associates the user and location with one or more control commands. In an embodiment of the invention, the control processor 19 further comprises a logic engine for processing location and identity.”); and
responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0257]):
autonomously retrieving, by the controller circuitry from communicatively coupled memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium), one or more electrical load control instructions to cause an adjustment of the operatively coupled electric load device (Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. controllable devices) responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)); and
causing, the controller circuitry, a transmission by the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device load (Fig. 1, element 15; the controllable devices) using a second wireless communication protocol different than the first wireless communication protocol (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or the different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Not explicitly taught are receiving by electrical load controller circuitry, an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device, wherein the electrical load control circuitry is disposed in a wallbox mountable housing;
initiating, by electrical load controller circuitry, an exchange of information with a proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device;
determining, by the controller circuitry, whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received unique identifier;
responsive to the determination that the proximate mobile device is authorized to adjust a second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from the first parameter:
retrieving by the controller circuitry from communicatively coupled memory circuitry, a modified command script to cause a display on the proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device;
reconfiguring, by the controller circuitry, the at least one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of
adjust a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from a first parameter (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”);
retrieving a modified command script (pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211] and Fig. 7, element 436; i.e. [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41 …”) to cause a display on a proximate mobile device (pg. 4, par. [0149], pg. 9, par. [0199] and [0205]-[0207], pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211], pg. 11, par. [0226], pg. 14, par. [0294], and Fig. 9, element 13; i.e. a portable electronic device, [0149]: “Further, the NFC tag may be physically integrated with another device such as by physically affixing it on or within a device or the NFC tag may be a standalone device such as a sticker affixed to a wall or structure of the facility. Due to keypads prevalence in buildings and their near standard placement near doorways and traditional control functions, keypads provide a well-known and familiar point for placing NFC tags.”; [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”; [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”) of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
reconfiguring the at least one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 8, par. [0192], [0194], and [0195] and Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) using the retrieved modified command script (pg. 9, par. [0199], pgs. 9-10, par. [0207]-[0209], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 14, par. [0294]; i.e. [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”, [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
causing an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. “FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention.”) for the purpose of control (pg. 8, par. [0196]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of adjust a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from a first parameter; retrieving a modified command script to cause a display on a proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load; and reconfiguring the at least one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and causing an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson does not expressly teach receiving by electrical load controller circuitry, an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device, wherein the electrical load control circuitry is disposed in a wallbox mountable housing;
initiating, by electrical load controller circuitry, an exchange of information with a proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device; and
determining, by the controller circuitry, whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received unique identifier.
However Varadharajan, in an analogous art of communication between a device and a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of receiving an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. a portable computer and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below.”); and
initiating an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device (Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. the portable computer) responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0028] and [0031]; i.e. [0028]: “… for implementing a challenge/response routine for authenticating the identity of a portable device 12 attempting to gain access remotely via the communications network 22.” and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below. … Detection of the proximity of the portable computer 50 may be achieved in various ways. The processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 may monitor the output of the I.R. transmitter/receiver unit 24 and instigate a key update routine once it has identified the portable computer in a hand shake sequence.”) for the purpose of authentication of a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of receiving an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device; and initiating an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a very simple means of obtaining a high degree of security, secrecy, and integrity between an authorized portable use and a host device, as well as, against unauthorized access to the host by third party machines (Varadharajan: pg. 3, par. [0012]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan does not expressly teach the electrical load control circuitry is disposed in a wallbox mountable housing;
determining, by the controller circuitry, whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received unique identifier.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determining whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters (i.e. control of controllable devices) of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of determining whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the electrical load control circuitry is disposed in a wallbox mountable housing.
However Feldstein, in an analogous art of controlling a load (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of electrical load control circuitry is disposed in a wallbox mountable housing (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 12, par. [0012], pg. 3, par. [0069], [0070], and [0073] and Fig. 5, element 71; i.e. a housing, [0069]: “… the field configurable electrical device can be a local unit that is configured to receive control commands directly from a user or remotely from a remote control (or master) unit. The local unit is in electrical communication with a load (such as a light, fan, window blinds, etc.) to control the load based on the control commands. Alternatively, the field configurable electrical device can be a remote control unit that is remotely located from the local unit and that is used to provide RF signals to control the local unit based on a user command received at the remote control unit.”, [0070]: “The antenna bezel frame 74 and the associated color-matched elements are located in front of a housing 71 that contains various electronic components, including control circuitry that is used to control the load based on control commands received through the rocker switch actuator 618 or from a remote control unit.”, and [0073]: “In an illustrative embodiment, the antenna element 742 is mounted such that the antenna element 742 is not visible when the field configurable electrical device is installed in a wall mounted electrical box.”) for the purpose controlling a load based on control commands (pg. 3, par. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation electrical load control circuitry is disposed in a wallbox mountable housing to advantageously help prevent and avoid radio frequency interference to improve data reception and transmission (Feldstein: pg. 5, par. [0089]).
As per claim 11, Jackson substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Jackson teaches the limitations of a non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium) that includes instructions that, when executed by electrical load controller circuitry (Fig. 19, element 191; i.e. a CPU of a controller processor) in disposed an electrical load controller (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 1, element 19; a controller processor) and operatively coupled to at least one user actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust a first parameter of an electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pgs. 8-9, par. [0192], [0194] and [0196], and Fig. 4, element 19; i.e. [0194]: “The control processor 19 processes control commands received from the keypad 41 and executes control commands such as by transmitting control commands to the one or more controllable devices 15 via the communication network 17.”), causes the electrical load controller circuitry to:
an exchange of information via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) and [0181]: “The PAN interface 198a may permit one electronic device to connect to another local electronic device via an ad-hoc or peer-to-peer connection.”) using a first wireless communication protocol (pg. 8, par. [0181]; i.e. “… low power, low bandwidth or close range wireless connection …”, e.g. Bluetooth communication);
receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry a signal that includes a unique identifier (i.e. receiving a user ID and a device ID) associated with the proximate mobile device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0253] and Fig. 13, element 1306);
associate the proximate mobile device using the received information representative of the unique identifier (pg. 13, par. [0257]; i.e. “… the control processor 19 associates the user and location with one or more control commands. In an embodiment of the invention, the control processor 19 further comprises a logic engine for processing location and identity.”); and
responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0257]):
autonomously retrieve, from communicatively coupled memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium), one or more electrical load control instructions to cause an adjustment of the operatively coupled electric load device (Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. controllable devices) responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)); and
cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)) using a second wireless communication protocol different than the first wireless communication protocol (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: a control processor is connected to various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Not explicitly taught are a wallbox-mountable electrical load controller housing;
receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with a proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device;
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier;
responsive to the determination that the proximate mobile device is authorized to adjust a second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from the first parameter:
retrieve from the memory circuitry a modified command script to cause the proximate mobile device to display a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device;
reconfigure the at least one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of
adjust a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from a first parameter (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”);
retrieve a modified command script (pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211] and Fig. 7, element 436; i.e. [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41 …”) to cause a proximate mobile device to display (pg. 4, par. [0149], pg. 9, par. [0199] and [0205]-[0207], pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211], pg. 11, par. [0226], pg. 14, par. [0294], and Fig. 9, element 13; i.e. a portable electronic device, [0149]: “Further, the NFC tag may be physically integrated with another device such as by physically affixing it on or within a device or the NFC tag may be a standalone device such as a sticker affixed to a wall or structure of the facility. Due to keypads prevalence in buildings and their near standard placement near doorways and traditional control functions, keypads provide a well-known and familiar point for placing NFC tags.”; [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”; [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”) of a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”);
reconfigure the at least one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 8, par. [0192], [0194], and [0195] and Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) using the retrieved modified command script (pg. 9, par. [0199], pgs. 9-10, par. [0207]-[0209], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 14, par. [0294]; i.e. [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”, [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. “FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention.”) for the purpose of control (pg. 8, par. [0196]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to adjust a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameter differs from a first parameter, modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of retrieve a modified command script to cause a proximate mobile device to display a graphical user interface (GUI) that includes a virtual representation of at least one user-actuatable input device, wherein the virtual representation of the at least one user-actuatable input device is reconfigured to provide for user adjustment of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load; reconfigure the at least one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson does not expressly teach a wallbox-mountable electrical load controller housing;
receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device; and
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Varadharajan, in an analogous art of communication between a device and a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. a portable computer and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below.”); and
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device (Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. the portable computer) responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0028] and [0031]; i.e. [0028]: “… for implementing a challenge/response routine for authenticating the identity of a portable device 12 attempting to gain access remotely via the communications network 22.” and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below. … Detection of the proximity of the portable computer 50 may be achieved in various ways. The processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 may monitor the output of the I.R. transmitter/receiver unit 24 and instigate a key update routine once it has identified the portable computer in a hand shake sequence.”) for the purpose of authentication of a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device; and initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a very simple means of obtaining a high degree of security, secrecy, and integrity between an authorized portable use and a host device, as well as, against unauthorized access to the host by third party machines (Varadharajan: pg. 3, par. [0012]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan does not expressly teach a wallbox-mountable electrical load controller housing; and
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters (i.e. control of controllable devices) of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach a wallbox-mountable electrical load controller housing.
However Feldstein, in an analogous art of controlling a load (pg. 1, par. [0012]), teaches the missing limitation of a wallbox-mountable electrical load controller housing (pg. 1, par. [0009], pg. 12, par. [0012], pg. 3, par. [0069], [0070], and [0073] and Fig. 5, element 71; i.e. a housing, [0069]: “the field configurable electrical device can be a local unit that is configured to receive control commands directly from a user or remotely from a remote control (or master) unit. The local unit is in electrical communication with a load (such as a light, fan, window blinds, etc.) to control the load based on the control commands. Alternatively, the field configurable electrical device can be a remote control unit that is remotely located from the local unit and that is used to provide RF signals to control the local unit based on a user command received at the remote control unit.”, [0070]: “The antenna bezel frame 74 and the associated color-matched elements are located in front of a housing 71 that contains various electronic components, including control circuitry that is used to control the load based on control commands received through the rocker switch actuator 618 or from a remote control unit.”, and [0073]: “In an illustrative embodiment, the antenna element 742 is mounted such that the antenna element 742 is not visible when the field configurable electrical device is installed in a wall mounted electrical box.”) for the purpose controlling a load based on control commands (pg. 3, par. [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of a wallbox-mountable electrical load controller housing to advantageously help prevent and avoid radio frequency interference to improve data reception and transmission (Feldstein: pg. 5, par. [0089]).
Claims 2, 7, and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick, Feldstein, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0068759 A1 (hereinafter Ikebe).
As per claim 2, Jackson teaches transfer, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and pg. 12, par. [0241], [0242] and [0246] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon).
Jackson does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller apparatus; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer data to the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer data to the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller; and
transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller apparatus to the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller; and
transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller apparatus to the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitations of a memory circuitry (Fig. 2, element 213; i.e. a storage unit) includes configuration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. an operation data table) for an electrical load controller (pg. 2, par. [0032] and Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. a server); and
transfer the configuration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for the electrical load controller apparatus (Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) to a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038] and [0053], pgs. 4-5, par. [0059] and [0079]-[0082] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitations of a memory circuitry includes configuration data for an electrical load controller; and transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller apparatus to a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 7, Jackson teaches transferring, by the electrical load controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. the CPU of the controller processor) via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and pg. 12, par. [0241], [0242] and [0246] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon).
Jackson does not expressly teach transferring configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach transferring configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of transferring data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of transferring data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach transferring configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach transferring configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transferring configuration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for an electrical load controller (Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) to a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038] and [0053], pgs. 4-5, par. [0059] and [0079]-[0082] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of transferring configuration data for an electrical load controller to a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 12, Jackson teaches transfer, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and pg. 12, par. [0241], [0242] and [0246] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon).
Jackson does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authentication of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authentication of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of transfer data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of transfer data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transfer configuration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for an electrical load controller (Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) to a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038] and [0053], pgs. 4-5, par. [0059] and [0079]-[0082] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of transfer data for an electrical load controller to a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick, Feldstein, and Ikebe.
As per claim 3, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receive data responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of receive data responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data (pg. 8, par. [0181], pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon; and par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitations of a proximate mobile device (pgs. 4-5, par. [0079] and Fig. 2, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) includes reconfiguration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for an electrical load controller (pg. 4, par. [0062], pg. 5, par. [0082] and Fig. 2, element 20); and
receive, via a communication interface (pg. 3, par. [0053] and Fig. 2, element 201; i.e. a transmission-reception unit), the reconfiguration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. T1 data stored on a remote control terminal (Fig. 3, element 10)) for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device (pg. 5, par. [0089], [0092] and [0094]; i.e. transmitting an operation direction to the server and the server generates operation direction D2 for a device subsequent to authentication) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitations of a proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for an electrical load controller; and receive, via a communication interface, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller apparatus from the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 8, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receiving, by the electrical load controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receiving, by the electrical load controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receiving data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of receiving data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receiving, by the electrical load controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach receiving, by the electrical load controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receiving, by the electrical load controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. the CPU of the controller processor) via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data (pg. 8, par. [0181], pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon; and par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of receiving, by the electrical load controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach receiving, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of receiving, via a communication interface (pg. 3, par. [0053] and Fig. 2, element 201 of Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. a transmission-reception unit of a server), reconfiguration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. T1 data stored on a remote control terminal (Fig. 3, element 10)) for an electrical load controller (pg. 3, par. [0051] and Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) from a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 5, par. [0089], [0092] and [0094] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. transmitting an operation direction D1 to the server and the server generates operation direction D2 for a device subsequent to authentication) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of receiving, via a first wireless communication interface, reconfiguration data for an electrical load controller from a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 13, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receive data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of receive data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data (pg. 8, par. [0181], pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon; and par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldman does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of receive, via a communication interface (pg. 3, par. [0053] and Fig. 2, element 201 of Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. a transmission-reception unit of a server), reconfiguration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. T1 data stored on a remote control terminal (Fig. 3, element 10)) for an electrical load controller (pg. 3, par. [0051] and Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) from a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 5, par. [0089], [0092] and [0094] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. transmitting an operation direction D1 to the server and the server generates operation direction D2 for a device subsequent to authentication) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldman to include the addition of the limitation of receive, via a communication interface, reconfiguration data for an electrical load controller from a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein.
As per claim 4, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 9, element 13), at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 5, par. [0157]-[0160], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 12, par. [0254]; i.e. [0157]: “ In an embodiment having a GUI, the user interface 135 may provide interaction with interface elements on the display 134 via certain user input structures, user input peripherals such as a keyboard or mouse, or a touch sensitive implementation of the display 134.”, [0159]: “Mobile Pro.RTM. allows users to remotely control and monitor devices of the control system with a portable electronic device 13. As an example, a user may control and monitor the status of rooms and devices, select media to be played on devices, adjust volume, climate, lighting and security settings of devices on the control network.”, [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.” and [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”); and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 11, par. [0226], and pg. 12, par. [0254]; i.e. [0176]: “The control processor 19 is connected to the various controllable devices 15 via a wire line or wireless connection.”, [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”, and [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitations of receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
As per claim 9, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receiving, by the controller circuitry via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach receive, via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of receiving, by the controller circuitry via the at least one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 9, element 13), at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 5, par. [0157]-[0160], pg. 11, par. [0226], and pg. 12, par. [0254]; i.e. [0157]: “ In an embodiment having a GUI, the user interface 135 may provide interaction with interface elements on the display 134 via certain user input structures, user input peripherals such as a keyboard or mouse, or a touch sensitive implementation of the display 134.”, [0159]: “Mobile Pro.RTM. allows users to remotely control and monitor devices of the control system with a portable electronic device 13. As an example, a user may control and monitor the status of rooms and devices, select media to be played on devices, adjust volume, climate, lighting and security settings of devices on the control network.”, [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.” and [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”); and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 11, par. [0226], and pg. 12, par. [0254]; i.e. [0176]: “The control processor 19 is connected to the various controllable devices 15 via a wire line or wireless connection.”, [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”, and [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitations of receiving, by the controller circuitry via the at least one user-actuatable input device, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and causing by the controller circuity, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
As per claim 14, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254]; i.e. par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”); and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling a lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitations of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device; and cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, of the at least one instruction to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to provide more secure and robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick, Feldstein, and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0180579 A1 (hereinafter Nagaoka).
As per claim 5, Jackson teaches wherein to transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0181] and Fig. 3, element 198b of element 198) the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Jackson does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
However Nagoaka, in an analogous art of remote control of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of transmit, via communication interface circuitry (pg. 6, par. [0113] and [0117] and Fig. 5, element 511 of Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a system control unit of a HTTP server of a home network management facility), one or more control instructions to a system controller (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) operatively coupled to an electric load device (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices (pg. 5, par. [0091], [0094], and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of transmit, via communication interface circuitry, one or more control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to an electric load device to advantageously enhance the ease and range of use of electronic devices (Nagaoka: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
As per claim 10, Jackson teaches causing the transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Jackson does not expressly teach causing by the electrical load controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach causing by the electrical load controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach causing by the electrical load controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach causing by the electrical load controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
However Nagoaka, in an analogous art of remote control of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of causing by electrical load controller circuitry (Fig. 5, element 51; i.e. a HTTP server) transmission of one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices (pg. 5, par. [0091], [0094], and [0095]) via communication interface circuitry (pg. 6, par. [0113] and [0117] and Fig. 5, element 511 of Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a system control unit of the HTTP server of a home network management facility).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of causing by electrical load controller circuitry transmission of one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices via communication interface circuitry to advantageously enhance the ease and range of use of electronic devices (Nagaoka: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
As per claim 15, Jackson teaches the instructions that cause the electrical load controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. the CPU of the controller processor) to cause the transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Jackson does not expressly teach the electrical load controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the electrical load controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the electrical load controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein does not expressly teach the electrical load controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
However Nagoaka, in an analogous art of remote control of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of electrical load controller circuitry (Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a HTTP server of a home network management facility) to: cause a transmission of one or more electrical load control instructions (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) to a system controller (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) operatively coupled to an electrical load device (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) via a communication interface circuitry (pg. 6, par. [0113] and [0117] and Fig. 5, element 511 of Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a system control unit of the HTTP server of the home network management facility) for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices (pg. 5, par. [0091], [0094], and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Feldstein to include the addition of the limitation of electrical load controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads operatively coupled to an electrical load device via a communication interface circuitry to advantageously enhance the ease and range of use of electronic devices (Nagaoka: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to control systems and user interfaces.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0159799 A1 discloses a control device for power delivered to electrical loads in a load control system via respective load control devices may comprise a programming user interface for programming an operation of the load control system.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0375333 A1 discloses a wall-mounted dimmer switch that is operable to connect to the Internet via a wireless connection and to control a lighting load in response to messages received via the Internet.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0149620 A1 discloses a control device for authorizing access and modifications to information and settings of the control device.
U.S. Patent No. 12,651,525 B2 discloses remote control devices may control electrical loads and/or load control devices of a load control system without accessing electrical wiring.
U.S. Patent No. 12,688,769 B2 discloses an apparatus includes a panel for controlling one or more devices associated with a home.
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117