DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action in response to the Amendment/Remarks received on 22 January 2026. Claims 1-15 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, pgs. 12-17, filed 22 January 2026, with respect to rejected claims 1-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s arguments,
Jackson fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of a GUI to provide control of a second electric load parameter that differs from the first electric load parameter. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 6)
Jackson further fails to teach, show, or suggest the
desirability of reconfiguring the input device used to adjust the first electric load parameter to adjust the second electric load parameter displayed on the GUI. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 6)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick therefore fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 7)
Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 2, 7, and 12 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, Ikebe, and Oosaka fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 2)
For at least the reasons discussed above the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of a GUI to provide control of a second electric load parameter that differs from the first electric load parameter. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 3)
Further the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick also fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of reconfiguring the input device used to adjust the first electric load parameter to adjust the second electric load parameter displayed on the GUI. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 3)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, Ikebe, and Oosaka therefore fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 3)
Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 3, 8, and 13 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe, fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 2)
For at least the reasons discussed above the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of a GUI to provide control of a second electric load parameter that differs from the first electric load parameter. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 3)
Further the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick also fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of reconfiguring the input device used to adjust the first electric load parameter to adjust the second electric load parameter displayed on the GUI. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 3)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe therefore fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 3)
Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 4, 9, and 14 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 1)
For at least the reasons discussed above, the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of a GUI to provide control of a second electric load parameter that differs from the first electric load parameter. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 2)
Further the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick also fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of reconfiguring the input device used to adjust the first electric load parameter to adjust the second electric load parameter displayed on the GUI. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 2)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick therefore fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 2)
Applicant respectfully traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) rejection of claims 5, 10, and 15 because the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Nagaoka fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 3 – pg. 17, paragraph 1)
For at least the reasons discussed above the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of a GUI to provide control of a second electric load parameter that differs from the first electric load parameter. (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 2)
Further the proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick also fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of reconfiguring the input device used to adjust the first electric load parameter to adjust the second electric load parameter displayed on the GUI. (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 2)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Nagaoka therefore fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of one or more features recited in each of independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 2)
The Applicant’s arguments of “… fails to teach, show, or suggest the desirability of …” have been interpreted as the prior art failing to teaching, provide, or suggest a motivation to combine the references. In addition, the Examiner notes the lack of teaching, providing, or suggesting a motivation to combine the references is directed newly presented limitations in the Amendment After Non-Final received on 22 January 2026 by the Office.
Further, the Examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to combine each reference has been provided for the newly presented limitations as set forth below in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-15.
In regards to the Applicant’s arguments,
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness, at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 13, paragraph 7)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, Ikebe, and Oosaka fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 14, paragraph 3)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Ikebe fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 15, paragraph 3)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, and Warrick fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 16, paragraph 2)
The proposed combination of Jackson, Varadharajan, Warrick, and Nagaoka fails to present a prima facie case of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103, at least with respect to independent claims 1, 6, and 11. (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 2)
The Examiner notes the preceding arguments are directed to newly presented limitations presented in the Amendment After Non-Final received on 22 January 2026 by the Office. Further, the Applicant has presented broad and conclusionary arguments that do not do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
With respect to the applicant’s statement to authorization for e-mail communication (see Remarks, pg. 17, paragraph 3), the Examiner notes this authorization is improper.
The Examiner refers the Applicant to MPEP 502.03 (II. Communication via the Internet and Authorization) as how to submit a separate and proper authorization to communicate via e-mail with the Office. Additionally, the Office provides form PTO/SB/439 (11-15) for Authorization for Internet Communication in a Patent Application.
Claims 1-15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 10, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… information, via the first wireless communication interface with …” in lines 14-15. Suggested claim language: “… information, via the first wireless communication interface, with …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 includes a missing punctuation issue of “transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry the one or more electrical load control instructions …” in lines 44-45. Suggested claim language: “transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 5 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry the one or more electrical load control instructions …” in lines 1-2. Suggested claim language: “… transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… receiving by the controller circuitry, …” in line 2. Suggested claim language: “… receiving, by the controller circuitry, …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 6 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… causing by the controller circuitry, a transmission …” in line 36. Suggested claim language: “… causing, by the controller circuitry, a transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 9 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… causing by the controller circuitry, a transmission …” in line 6. Suggested claim language: “… causing, by the controller circuitry, a transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 10 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… causing by the controller circuitry, the transmission …” in lines 5-6. Suggested claim language: “… causing, by the controller circuitry, the transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Claim 14 includes a missing punctuation issue of “… cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission …” in lines 7-8. Suggested claim language: “… cause, by the controller circuitry, a transmission …”; and has been interpreted as such for the purpose of examination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 6, and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0106735 A1 (hereinafter Jackson) in view of European Patent Publication No. EP 0 756 397 B1 (hereinafter Varadharajan) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0298596 A1 (hereinafter Warrick).
As per claim 1, Jackson substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Jackson teaches the limitations of an electrical load controller (pg. 7, par. [0176], pgs. 8-9, par. [0194] and [0196], and Fig. 4, element 19; i.e. [0194]: “The control processor 19 processes control commands received from the keypad 41 and executes control commands such as by transmitting control commands to the one or more controllable devices 15 via the communication network 17.”), comprising:
a user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust a first parameter of an electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173], pg. 8, par. [0192], Fig. 1, element 15, and Fig. 4, elements 151, 152, and 153; i.e. one or more controllable devices of a lighting device, AV device, and HVAC device) operatively coupled to the load controller (pgs. 8-9, par. [0192], [0194]-[0196] and Fig. 4, element 19);
first wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth)) using a first, relatively short-range, wireless communication protocol (pg. 8, par. [0181]);
second wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198b of element 198; i.e. a LAN interface connected to a wireless LAN) using a second, relatively long range, wireless communication protocol different from the first wireless communication protocol (pg. 7, par. [0182]);
memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium);
controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. a CPU of a controller processor) communicatively coupled to the first wireless communication interface circuitry (i.e. one or more IR interfaces), the second wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198b of element 198), and to the memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0182] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. per the connections to Fig. 3, elements 192, 193, 198a and 198b), the controller circuitry to:
an exchange of information via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) and [0181]: “The PAN interface 198a may permit one electronic device to connect to another local electronic device via an ad-hoc or peer-to-peer connection.”);
receive via the first wireless communication interface circuitry a signal that includes a unique identifier (i.e. receiving a user ID and a device ID) associated with the proximate mobile device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0253] and Fig. 13, element 1306);
associate the proximate mobile device using the received information representative of the unique identifier (pg. 13, par. [0257]; i.e. “… the control processor 19 associates the user and location with one or more control commands. In an embodiment of the invention, the control processor 19 further comprises a logic engine for processing location and identity.”); and
responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0257]):
autonomously retrieve one or more electrical load control instructions from the memory circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to cause an adjustment of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. controllable devices and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling a lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)); and
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Not explicitly taught are receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device;
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier;
retrieve from the memory circuitry a modified command script to cause a display on the proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from the first parameter;
reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of retrieve a modified command script (pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211] and Fig. 7, element 436; i.e. [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41 …”) to cause a display on a proximate mobile device (pg. 4, par. [0149], pg. 9, par. [0199] and [0205]-[0207], pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211], pg. 11, par. [0226], pg. 14, par. [0294], and Fig. 9, element 13; i.e. a portable electronic device, [0149]: “Further, the NFC tag may be physically integrated with another device such as by physically affixing it on or within a device or the NFC tag may be a standalone device such as a sticker affixed to a wall or structure of the facility. Due to keypads prevalence in buildings and their near standard placement near doorways and traditional control functions, keypads provide a well-known and familiar point for placing NFC tags.”; [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”; [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”) of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from a first parameter (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 8, par. [0192], [0194], and [0195] and Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) using the retrieved modified command script (pg. 9, par. [0199], pgs. 9-10, par. [0207]-[0209], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 14, par. [0294]; i.e. [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”, [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. “FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention.”) for the purpose of control (pg. 8, par. [0196]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of retrieve a modified command script to cause a display on a proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from a first parameter; and reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson does not expressly teach receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device; and
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Varadharajan, in an analogous art of communication between a device and a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. a portable computer and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below.”); and
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device (Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. the portable computer) responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0028] and [0031]; i.e. [0028]: “… for implementing a challenge/response routine for authenticating the identity of a portable device 12 attempting to gain access remotely via the communications network 22.” and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below. … Detection of the proximity of the portable computer 50 may be achieved in various ways. The processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 may monitor the output of the I.R. transmitter/receiver unit 24 and instigate a key update routine once it has identified the portable computer in a hand shake sequence.”) for the purpose of authentication of a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device; and initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a very simple means of obtaining a high degree of security, secrecy, and integrity between an authorized portable use and a host device, as well as, against unauthorized access to the host by third party machines (Varadharajan: pg. 3, par. [0012]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan does not expressly teach determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters (i.e. control of controllable devices) of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
As per claim 6, Jackson substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Jackson teaches the limitations of an electrical load control method, comprising:
a controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0176], pgs. 8-9, par. [0194] and [0196], and Fig. 4, element 19; i.e. [0194]: “The control processor 19 processes control commands received from the keypad 41 and executes control commands such as by transmitting control commands to the one or more controllable devices 15 via the communication network 17.”) is operatively coupled to a user actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust a first parameter of an electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173], pgs. 8-9, par. [0192] and [0194]-[0196], Fig. 1, element 15, and Fig. 4, elements 151, 152, and 153; i.e. one or more controllable devices of a lighting device, AV device, and HVAC device);
an exchanging of information via a first wireless communication interface circuitry (Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. a PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth)) using a first wireless communication protocol (pg. 8, par. [0181]; i.e. “… low power, low bandwidth or close range wireless connection …”, e.g. Bluetooth communication) in an electrical load controller (pg. 7, par. [0181] and Fig. 1, element 19; i.e. “One or more network interfaces 198 may provide connectivity for the control processor 19”);
receiving, by the controller circuitry (Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. a CPU of the control processor), via the first wireless communication interface circuity (Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface) a signal that includes a unique identifier (i.e. receiving a user ID and a device ID) associated with the proximate mobile device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0253] and Fig. 13, element 1306);
associating, by the controller circuitry (Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; the CPU of the control processor), the proximate mobile device using the received unique identifier (pg. 13, par. [0257]; i.e. “… the control processor 19 associates the user and location with one or more control commands. In an embodiment of the invention, the control processor 19 further comprises a logic engine for processing location and identity.”); and
responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0257]):
autonomously retrieving, by the controller circuitry from communicatively coupled memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium), one or more electrical load control instructions to cause an adjustment of the operatively coupled electric load device (Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. controllable devices) responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)); and
causing, the controller circuitry, a transmission by the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device load (Fig. 1, element 15; the controllable devices) using a second wireless communication protocol different than the first wireless communication protocol (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or the different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Not explicitly taught are receiving by controller circuitry, an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiating, by controller circuitry, an exchange of information with a proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device;
determining, by the controller circuitry, whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received unique identifier;
retrieving by the controller circuitry from communicatively coupled memory circuitry, a modified command script to cause a display on the proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from the first parameter
reconfiguring, by the controller circuitry, the user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of retrieving a modified command script (pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211] and Fig. 7, element 436; i.e. [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41 …”) to cause a display on a proximate mobile device (pg. 4, par. [0149], pg. 9, par. [0199] and [0205]-[0207], pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211], pg. 11, par. [0226], pg. 14, par. [0294], and Fig. 9, element 13; i.e. a portable electronic device, [0149]: “Further, the NFC tag may be physically integrated with another device such as by physically affixing it on or within a device or the NFC tag may be a standalone device such as a sticker affixed to a wall or structure of the facility. Due to keypads prevalence in buildings and their near standard placement near doorways and traditional control functions, keypads provide a well-known and familiar point for placing NFC tags.”; [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”; [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”) of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from a first parameter (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
reconfiguring the one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 8, par. [0192], [0194], and [0195] and Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) using the retrieved modified command script (pg. 9, par. [0199], pgs. 9-10, par. [0207]-[0209], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 14, par. [0294]; i.e. [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”, [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
causing an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. “FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention.”) for the purpose of control (pg. 8, par. [0196]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of retrieving a modified command script to cause a display on a proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from a first parameter; and reconfiguring the one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and causing an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson does not expressly teach receiving by controller circuitry, an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiating, by controller circuitry, an exchange of information with a proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device; and
determining, by the controller circuitry, whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received unique identifier.
However Varadharajan, in an analogous art of communication between a device and a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of receiving an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. a portable computer and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below.”); and
initiating an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device (Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. the portable computer) responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0028] and [0031]; i.e. [0028]: “… for implementing a challenge/response routine for authenticating the identity of a portable device 12 attempting to gain access remotely via the communications network 22.” and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below. … Detection of the proximity of the portable computer 50 may be achieved in various ways. The processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 may monitor the output of the I.R. transmitter/receiver unit 24 and instigate a key update routine once it has identified the portable computer in a hand shake sequence.”) for the purpose of authentication of a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of receiving an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device; and initiating an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a very simple means of obtaining a high degree of security, secrecy, and integrity between an authorized portable use and a host device, as well as, against unauthorized access to the host by third party machines (Varadharajan: pg. 3, par. [0012]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan does not expressly teach determining, by the controller circuitry, whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received unique identifier.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determining whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters (i.e. control of controllable devices) of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of determining whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
As per claim 11, Jackson substantially teaches the Applicant’s claimed invention. Jackson teaches the limitations of a non-transitory, machine-readable, storage device (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium) that includes instructions that, when executed by controller circuitry (Fig. 19, element 191; i.e. a CPU of a controller processor) in disposed an electrical load controller (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 1, element 19; a controller processor) and operatively coupled to a user actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust a first parameter of an electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pgs. 8-9, par. [0192], [0194] and [0196], and Fig. 4, element 19; i.e. [0194]: “The control processor 19 processes control commands received from the keypad 41 and executes control commands such as by transmitting control commands to the one or more controllable devices 15 via the communication network 17.”), causes the electrical load controller to:
an exchange of information via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) and [0181]: “The PAN interface 198a may permit one electronic device to connect to another local electronic device via an ad-hoc or peer-to-peer connection.”) using a first wireless communication protocol (pg. 8, par. [0181]; i.e. “… low power, low bandwidth or close range wireless connection …”, e.g. Bluetooth communication);
receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry a signal that includes a unique identifier (i.e. receiving a user ID and a device ID) associated with the proximate mobile device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0253] and Fig. 13, element 1306);
associate the proximate mobile device using the received information representative of the unique identifier (pg. 13, par. [0257]; i.e. “… the control processor 19 associates the user and location with one or more control commands. In an embodiment of the invention, the control processor 19 further comprises a logic engine for processing location and identity.”); and
responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0257]):
autonomously retrieve, from communicatively coupled memory circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0179]-[0180] and Fig. 3, elements 192 and 193; i.e. a volatile memory and nonvolatile storage medium), one or more electrical load control instructions to cause an adjustment of the operatively coupled electric load device (Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. controllable devices) responsive to a successful association of the proximate mobile device (pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)); and
cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)) using a second wireless communication protocol different than the first wireless communication protocol (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: a control processor is connected to various controllable devices via wireless connection and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Not explicitly taught are receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with a proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device;
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier;
retrieve from the memory circuitry a modified command script to cause a display on the proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from the first parameter;
reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of retrieve a modified command script (pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211] and Fig. 7, element 436; i.e. [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41 …”) to cause a display on a proximate mobile device (pg. 4, par. [0149], pg. 9, par. [0199] and [0205]-[0207], pg. 10, par. [0209]-[0211], pg. 11, par. [0226], pg. 14, par. [0294], and Fig. 9, element 13; i.e. a portable electronic device, [0149]: “Further, the NFC tag may be physically integrated with another device such as by physically affixing it on or within a device or the NFC tag may be a standalone device such as a sticker affixed to a wall or structure of the facility. Due to keypads prevalence in buildings and their near standard placement near doorways and traditional control functions, keypads provide a well-known and familiar point for placing NFC tags.”; [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”; [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”) of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from a first parameter (pg. 10, par. [0224] and pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device (Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 8, par. [0192], [0194], and [0195] and Fig. 4, element 41; i.e. a keypad) using the retrieved modified command script (pg. 9, par. [0199], pgs. 9-10, par. [0207]-[0209], pg. 11, par. [0226] and pg. 14, par. [0294]; i.e. [0199]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes a button configuration of the keypad 41 and a button functionality of the keypad 41.”, [0207]: “The user ID 437 establishes for which user that payload 436 is associated with.”; [0209]: “… the NFC tag 43 encodes information in addition to the header 432 and one or more payloads 436, such as the button configuration of a keypad 41, button functionality of a keypad 41 and one or more physical characteristics of a keypad 41, the NFC interface 139 reads this information from the NFC tag 43 as well.”; and [0226]: “Alternatively, the page ID 438 may correspond to a page of the control application displaying menu options for a zone of the facility. FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention. The menu includes one or more selectable 92A-G items arranged in groups 91A-C. The groups 91A-C may be associated by controllable device 15.”); and
cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 11, par. [0226]; i.e. “FIG. 9 is a schematic of a menu page 90 that may be displayed on the portable electronic device 13 for controlling one or more controllable devices 15 in the zone, according to an illustrative embodiment of the invention.”) for the purpose of control (pg. 8, par. [0196]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of retrieve a modified command script to cause a display on a proximate mobile device of a graphical user interface (GUI) configured to provide for user adjustment of a second parameter of an operatively coupled electric load device, wherein the second parameters differs from a first parameter; and reconfigure the one user-actuatable input device to adjust the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device using the retrieved modified command script; and cause an adjustment to the second parameter of the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson does not expressly teach receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device;
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device; and
determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Varadharajan, in an analogous art of communication between a device and a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0030] and [0031] and Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. a portable computer and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below.”); and
initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device (Fig. 2, element 50; i.e. the portable computer) responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device (cols. 6-7, par. [0028] and [0031]; i.e. [0028]: “… for implementing a challenge/response routine for authenticating the identity of a portable device 12 attempting to gain access remotely via the communications network 22.” and [0031]: “Each time the portable computer 50 is in local or direct communication with the desk top computer 48, this is detected by the processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 and the identity of the portable computer 50 is authenticated by the desk top computer 48 by a suitable test such as a challenge/response routine as outlined below. … Detection of the proximity of the portable computer 50 may be achieved in various ways. The processor 14 of the desk top computer 48 may monitor the output of the I.R. transmitter/receiver unit 24 and instigate a key update routine once it has identified the portable computer in a hand shake sequence.”) for the purpose of authentication of a portable device (pg. 1, par. [0001]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson to include the addition of the limitations of receive an input indicative of a presence of a proximate mobile device; and initiate an exchange of information with the proximate mobile device responsive to receipt of the input indicative of the presence of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a very simple means of obtaining a high degree of security, secrecy, and integrity between an authorized portable use and a host device, as well as, against unauthorized access to the host by third party machines (Varadharajan: pg. 3, par. [0012]).
Jackson in view Varadharajan does not expressly teach determine whether authorization exists for the proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device using the received the unique identifier.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters (i.e. control of controllable devices) of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of determine whether authorization exists for a proximate mobile device to adjust one or more parameters of an operatively coupled electric load device using a received unique identifier to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Claims 2, 7, and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2006/0068759 A1 (hereinafter Ikebe).
As per claim 2, Jackson teaches transfer, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and pg. 12, par. [0241], [0242] and [0246] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon).
Jackson does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer data to the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, transfer data to the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the memory circuitry includes configuration data for the electrical load controller; and
transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitations of a memory circuitry (Fig. 2, element 213; i.e. a storage unit) includes configuration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. an operation data table) for an electrical load controller (pg. 2, par. [0032] and Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. a server); and
transfer the configuration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for the electrical load controller (Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) to a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038] and [0053], pgs. 4-5, par. [0059] and [0079]-[0082] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitations of a memory circuitry includes configuration data for an electrical load controller; and transfer the configuration data for the electrical load controller to a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 7, Jackson teaches transferring, by the controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. the CPU of the controller processor) via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and pg. 12, par. [0241], [0242] and [0246] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon).
Jackson does not expressly teach transferring, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach transferring configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of transferring data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of transferring data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach transferring configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transferring configuration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for an electrical load controller (Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) to a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038] and [0053], pgs. 4-5, par. [0059] and [0079]-[0082] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of transferring configuration data for an electrical load controller to a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 12, Jackson teaches transfer, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 8, par. [0181] and pg. 12, par. [0241], [0242] and [0246] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon).
Jackson does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authentication of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authentication of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of transfer data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of transfer data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach transfer configuration data for the electrical load controller to the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of transfer configuration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for an electrical load controller (Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) to a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038] and [0053], pgs. 4-5, par. [0059] and [0079]-[0082] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of transfer data for an electrical load controller to a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and Ikebe.
As per claim 3, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receive data responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of receive data responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data (pg. 8, par. [0181], pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon; and par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller; and
wherein, responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device, receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitations of a proximate mobile device (pgs. 4-5, par. [0079] and Fig. 2, element 10; i.e. a remote control terminal) includes reconfiguration data (Fig. 6,element T1) for an electrical load controller (pg. 4, par. [0062], pg. 5, par. [0082] and Fig. 2, element 20); and
receive, via a communication interface (pg. 3, par. [0053] and Fig. 2, element 201; i.e. a transmission-reception unit), the reconfiguration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. T1 data stored on a remote control terminal (Fig. 3, element 10)) for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device (pg. 5, par. [0089], [0092] and [0094]; i.e. transmitting an operation direction to the server and the server generates operation direction D2 for a device subsequent to authentication) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitations of a proximate mobile device includes reconfiguration data for an electrical load controller; and receive, via a communication interface, the reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 8, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receiving data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of receiving data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receiving, by the controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. the CPU of the controller processor) via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data (pg. 8, par. [0181], pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon; and par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of receiving, via a communication interface (pg. 3, par. [0053] and Fig. 2, element 201 of Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. a transmission-reception unit of a server), reconfiguration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. T1 data stored on a remote control terminal (Fig. 3, element 10)) for an electrical load controller (pg. 3, par. [0051] and Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) from a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 5, par. [0089], [0092] and [0094] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. transmitting an operation direction D1 to the server and the server generates operation direction D2 for a device subsequent to authentication) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of receiving, via a first wireless communication interface, reconfiguration data for an electrical load controller from a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
As per claim 13, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device responsive to the successful authorization of the proximate mobile device.
However Warrick, in an analogous art of remote operation of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]), teaches the missing limitation of receive data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device (pgs. 3-4, par. [0039] pg. 4, par. [0042], and Fig. 1, element 112 of Fig. 1, element 110; i.e. per an authentication module of a media system controller and [0039]: “Step 214: At this step, the hotel media system 100 determines an authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 for which the mobile device 150 is authorized to operate. Generally speaking, the authentication module 112 receives some identification information from the mobile device 150 corresponding to either the mobile device itself or an operator of the mobile device 150 and then looks up in a database 118 to determine which controllable devices 130 are permitted to be operated by this mobile device or operator.” and [0042]: “Once the mobile device 150 is authenticated, the hotel media system 100 transfers any status information from the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 to the mobile device 150, and controls the authorized subset of the controllable devices 130 according to commands received from the mobile device 150.”) for the purpose of operating one or more controllable devices (pg. 1, par. [0002]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view Varadharajan to include the addition of the limitation of receive data responsive to a successful authorization of the proximate mobile device to advantageously provide a user-friendly control device that is intuitive such that a user can easily determine how to use a system (Warrick: pg. 3, par. [0004]).
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data (pg. 8, par. [0181], pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254] and Fig. 3, element 198a; i.e. the PAN interface for close range wireless connections (e.g. Bluetooth) per the use of the RF beacon; and par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, data within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, reconfiguration data for the electrical load controller from the proximate mobile device.
However Ikebe, in an analogous art of an authentication system (pg. 1, paragraph [0003]), teaches the missing limitation of receive, via a communication interface (pg. 3, par. [0053] and Fig. 2, element 201 of Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. a transmission-reception unit of a server), reconfiguration data (Fig. 6, element T1; i.e. T1 data stored on a remote control terminal (Fig. 3, element 10)) for an electrical load controller (pg. 3, par. [0051] and Fig. 2, element 20; i.e. the server) from a proximate mobile device (pg. 3, par. [0038], pg. 5, par. [0089], [0092] and [0094] and Fig. 3, element 10; i.e. transmitting an operation direction D1 to the server and the server generates operation direction D2 for a device subsequent to authentication) for directing a remote operation of a remote controlled device by an authorized remote control terminal (pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of receive, via a communication interface, reconfiguration data for an electrical load controller from a proximate mobile device to advantageously provide changes to a remote controlled device, by reducing a time required for authenticating an operation direction (Ikebe: pg. 1, par. [0012] and [0018]).
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick.
As per claim 4, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254]; i.e. par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”); and
responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling a lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitations of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and responsive to receipt of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device, transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the at least one instruction to the operatively coupled electric load device within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
As per claim 9, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission, of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters to the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission, of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters to the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission, of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters to the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitations of receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254]; i.e. par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”); and
causing by the controller circuity, a transmission, of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters to the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling a lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitations of receiving, by the controller circuitry via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and causing by the controller circuity, a transmission, of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters to the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry within the same embodiment of Jackson to advantageously provide more robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
As per claim 14, Jackson does not expressly teach within the same embodiment receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson (within the same embodiment) in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
However Jackson, in a separate embodiment, teaches the missing limitation of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 12, par. [0241] and [0254]; i.e. par. [0254]: “… the control application may transmit control information to the control processor 19. The control information may comprise a control command to be executed.”); and
cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176] and pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]: controlling a lighting level based on a user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether a user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)) for the purpose of remote control by a user (pg. 12, par. [0254]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitations of receive, via the first wireless communication interface circuitry, at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device; and cause by the controller circuitry, a transmission of the at least one instruction to adjust at least one of the one or more parameters of the operatively coupled electric load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry within the same embodiment of Jackson to provide more secure and robust control systems (Jackson: pg. 1, par. [0013]).
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2002/0180579 A1 (hereinafter Nagaoka).
As per claim 5, Jackson teaches wherein to transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0181] and Fig. 3, element 198b of element 198) the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Jackson does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to further:
transmit, via the second wireless communication interface circuitry, the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electric load device.
However Nagoaka, in an analogous art of remote control of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of transmit, via communication interface circuitry (pg. 6, par. [0113] and [0117] and Fig. 5, element 511 of Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a system control unit of a HTTP server of a home network management facility), one or more control instructions to a system controller (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) operatively coupled to an electric load device (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices (pg. 5, par. [0091], [0094], and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of transmit, via communication interface circuitry, one or more control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to an electric load device to advantageously enhance the ease and range of use of electronic devices (Nagaoka: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
As per claim 10, Jackson teaches causing the transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Jackson does not expressly teach causing by the controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach causing by the controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach causing by the controller circuitry, the transmission of the one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
However Nagoaka, in an analogous art of remote control of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of causing by a controller circuitry (Fig. 5, element 51; i.e. a HTTP server) transmission of one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices (pg. 5, par. [0091], [0094], and [0095]) via communication interface circuitry (pg. 6, par. [0113] and [0117] and Fig. 5, element 511 of Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a system control unit of the HTTP server of a home network management facility).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of causing by a controller circuitry transmission of one or more electrical load instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices via communication interface circuitry to advantageously enhance the ease and range of use of electronic devices (Nagaoka: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
As per claim 15, Jackson teaches the instructions that cause the controller circuitry (pg. 7, par. [0178] and Fig. 3, element 191 of Fig. 3, element 19; i.e. the CPU of the controller processor) to cause the transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to the operatively coupled electric load device (pg. 7, par. [0173] and [0176], pg. 13, par. [0258]-[0259] and Fig. 1, element 15; i.e. par. [0173]: the control processor is connected to the various controllable devices via wireless connection; and par. [0258]-[0259]; i.e. controlling the lighting level based on the user (Fig. 13, element 1309) or a different scene depending on whether the user is using a smart phone or tablet (Fig. 13, element 1310)).
Jackson does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick does not expressly teach the controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of the one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to the electrical load device via the second wireless communication interface circuitry.
However Nagoaka, in an analogous art of remote control of electronic devices (pg. 1, par. [0001]), teaches the missing limitation of controller circuitry (Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a HTTP server of a home network management facility) to: cause a transmission of one or more electrical load control instructions (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) to a system controller (Fig. 1, element 61; i.e. home server) operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) operatively coupled to an electrical load device (pg. 5, par. [0090], [0091], [0094] and [0095], pg. 6 par. [0117] and Fig. 1, element 62; i.e. an home-located electronic device group) via a communication interface circuitry (pg. 6, par. [0113] and [0117] and Fig. 5, element 511 of Fig. 5, element 51 of Fig. 4, element 5; i.e. a system control unit of the HTTP server of the home network management facility) for the purpose of controlling an electronic device that is part of a group of electronic devices (pg. 5, par. [0091], [0094], and [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Applicant’s invention to modify the teaching of Jackson in view of Varadharajan in further view of Warrick to include the addition of the limitation of controller circuitry to: cause a transmission of one or more electrical load control instructions to a system controller operatively coupled to one or more electrical loads operatively coupled to an electrical load device via a communication interface circuitry to advantageously enhance the ease and range of use of electronic devices (Nagaoka: pg. 1, par. [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The following references are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to control systems and user interfaces.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0038787 A1 discloses a load control system for controlling an electrical load in a space of a building occupied by an occupant may include a controller configured to determine the location of the occupant, and a load control device configured to automatically control the electrical load in response to the location of the occupant.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0289079 A1 discloses managing a remote authorization to proceed with an action, such as creating a secure network connection. In some examples, a requesting device receives selection of one or more options.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0110203 A1 discloses a load controller in a load control system may communicate messages with controllable loads on a plurality of loops for controlling electrical loads.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0164951 A1 discloses an electronic device, with a display, a touch-sensitive surface, one or more processors and memory, displays a first representation of a first controllable external device, where the first controllable external device is situated at a location.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER L NORTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117