DETAILED ACTION
CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed on July 27, 2026, regarding rejection of claims 1-2 and 11-12, as amended, under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any combination of the references being used in the current rejection. Examiner has applied Zhu ‘402 (US 2009/0257402, “Zhu ‘402”) and Kim ‘944 (US 2019/0253944, “Kim ‘944”) to clearly teach the amended limitations in claims 1-2 and 11-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang ‘065 (US 2023/0354065, “Zhang ‘065”), in view of Zhu ‘402 (US 2009/0257402, “Zhu ‘402”), and further in view of Kim ‘944 (US 2019/0253944, “Kim ‘944”).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhang ‘065 discloses a network device (FIGS. 2 and 8, para 56 and 324; terminal device that is part of a network) comprising:
a processor (FIG. 8, para 324; processor 810) configured to:
receive, via a receiver from a source cell (FIG. 2-3, para 59-85; in a conditional handover procedure, the terminal device receives from a source node configuration information of a handover trigger condition and configuration information of a handover trigger event that corresponds to target cells via different RRC messages),
at least one first message comprising configuration information and at least one execution condition of performing a handover for each of at least one target cell (FIGS. 2-3, para 59-85; a first RRC message carries configuration information of a handover trigger condition for the terminal device to evaluate for the terminal device to perform a handover to a target cell; configuration information of a handover trigger condition reads on configuration information and at least one execution condition of performing a handover for each of at least one target cell) and
a second message indicating one of the at least one target cell (FIGS. 2-3, para 59-85; a second RRC message carries configuration information of a trigger event that is configuration of candidate handover target cells, as part of the handover that the terminal device performs according to the handover trigger condition; thus, the second RRC message indicates the target cells); and
perform a handover to the target cell indicated by the second message based on the configuration information (FIGS. 2-3, para 59-85; the terminal device performs the handover to the target cell indicated by the second RRC message, based on the configuration information of the handover trigger condition).
Although Zhang ‘065 discloses a second message indicating one of the at least one target cell, Zhang ‘065 does not specifically disclose a second message that instructs the network device to perform a handover to the indicted target cell.
Zhu ‘402 teaches a second message that instructs the network device to perform a handover to the indicted target cell (FIG. 4, para 47-62; source eNodeB orders the UE to begin the handoff process, for handing off to the target eNodeB; thus, source eNodeB sends an order to the UE to instruct the UE to perform a handover to the target eNodeB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang ‘065’s network device that receives a message comprising an execution condition of performing a handover, to include Zhu ‘402’s source eNodeB that orders the UE to begin the handoff process. The motivation for doing so would have been to address an increase in the complexity of configuration of eNodeB (Zhu ‘402, para 24).
However, Zhang ‘065 in combination with Zhu ‘402 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one first message includes identification information of each of the at least one target cell and the second message includes identification information of the target cell indicated by the second message.
Kim ‘944 teaches wherein the at least one first message includes identification information of the each of the at least one target cell (para 71; the source base station transmits a handover-required message containing identification information of the target base station) and
the second message includes identification information of the target cell indicated by the second message (para 71; the source base station transmits a handover-required message containing identification information of the target base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined network device of Zhang ‘065 and Zhu ‘402, to include Kim ‘944’s source base station that transmits a handover-required message containing identification information of the target base station. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user equipment to perform a handover in a heterogeneous network environment where different radio access technologies are employed (Kim ‘944, para 6-7).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Zhang ‘065 in combination with Zhu ‘402 and Kim ‘944 discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 11, respectively, as outlined above.
Further, Zhang ‘065 discloses wherein the at least one first message and the second message are radio resource control messages (FIGS. 2-3, para 59-85; the terminal device receives from the source node configuration information of a handover trigger condition and configuration information of a handover trigger event that corresponds to target cells via different RRC messages; thus, the terminal device receives two RRC messages).
Double Patenting
6. The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
7. Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 18 of copending Application No. 18/459150, respectively, in view of Zhang ‘065. Take an example of comparing claim 1 of pending application and claim 14 of copending application 18/459150:
Pending Application 17/587892 claim 1
Co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14
A wireless communication method for use in a user equipment, comprising:
A method for wireless communication comprising:
receiving, from a source cell, at least one first message comprising configuration information and at least one execution condition of performing a handover for each of at least one target cell,
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a source node, a radio resource control (RRC) message including at least one candidate cell configuration and one or more conditional handover (CHO) execution conditions for each candidate cell; and
performing a handover to the target cell indicated by the second message based on the configuration information.
performing, by the UE, a CHO process from a source cell to a target candidate cell based on the candidate cell configuration
Although co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 discloses receiving, by a user equipment (UE) from a source node, co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 does not specifically disclose receiving, a second message indicating one of the at least one target cell. Further, although co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 discloses performing, by the UE, a CHO process from a source cell to a target candidate cell based on the candidate cell configuration, co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 does not specifically disclose performing a handover to the target cell indicated by the second message.
Zhang ‘065 discloses teaches receiving a second message indicating one of the at least one target cell (FIG. 2-3, para 59-85; in a conditional handover procedure, the terminal device receives from a source node configuration information of a handover trigger condition and configuration information of a handover trigger event that corresponds to target cells via different RRC messages; a second RRC message carries configuration information of a trigger event that is configuration of candidate handover target cells, as part of the handover that the terminal device performs according to the handover trigger condition; thus, the second RRC message indicates the target cells), and
performing a handover to the target cell indicated by the second message (FIG. 2-3, para 59-85; the terminal device performs a handover to a target cell indicated by the second RRC message, based on the configuration information of the handover trigger condition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14’s method for wireless communication, to include Zhang ‘065’s second RRC message that carries configuration information of a trigger event that is configuration of candidate handover target cells. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a solution for configuring a trigger condition for a terminal device in cell handover (Zhang ‘065, para 5).
Although co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 in combination with Zhang ‘065 discloses a second message indicating one of the at least one target cell, co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 in combination with Zhang ‘065 does not specifically disclose a second message to instruct the user equipment to perform a handover to the indicted target cell.
Zhu ‘402 teaches a second message to instruct the user equipment to perform a handover to the indicted target cell (FIG. 4, para 47-62; source eNodeB orders the UE to begin the handoff process, for handing off to the target eNodeB; thus, source eNodeB sends an order to the UE to instruct the UE to perform a handover to the target eNodeB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 and Zhang ‘065, to include Zhu ‘402’s source eNodeB that orders the UE to begin the handoff process. The motivation for doing so would have been to address an increase in the complexity of configuration of eNodeB (Zhu ‘402, para 24).
However, co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14 in combination with Zhang ‘065 and Zhu ‘402 does not specifically disclose wherein the at least one first message includes identification information of the each of the at least one target cell and the second message includes the identification information of the target cell indicated by the second message.
Kim ‘944 teaches wherein the at least one first message includes identification information of the each of the at least one target cell (para 71; the source base station transmits a handover-required message containing identification information of the target base station) and
the second message includes the identification information of the target cell indicated by the second message (para 71; the source base station transmits a handover-required message containing identification information of the target base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add features to the combined method of the co-pending application 18/459150 claim 14, Zhang ‘065, and Zhu ‘402, to include Kim ‘944’s source base station that transmits a handover-required message containing identification information of the target base station. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable a user equipment to perform a handover in a heterogeneous network environment where different radio access technologies are employed (Kim ‘944, para 6-7).
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Internet Communication
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only. (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.0.
/NEVENA ZECEVIC SANDHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474