Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
By presentation of the most recent claim amendments filed 2/5/2026, the status of the claims is as follows:
claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13, 15-20, 22, 25-26, 28, 34, 37-38, 43, 48-51, 57-59, and 62-64 are pending;
claim 62 is withdrawn as being a non-elected claim (see Response to Restriction Requirement on 11/7/2024);
claims 3-4, 7-8, 11-12, 14, 21, 23-24, 27, 29-33, 35-36, 39-42, 44-47, 52-56, and 60-61 are canceled; and
claim 64 is new.
Upon further search and consideration of Applicant’s remarks filed 2/5/2026, the claims are rejected over a combination of previously applied references and the addition of a new reference as discussed in detail below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 9-10, 13, 15-20, 22, 25-26, 28, 34, 37-38, 48-51, 57-59, 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kloepfer et al. herein referred to as “Kloepfer” (USPPN 2017/0225203, previously cited on IDS filed 1/28/2022), and further in view of Fischer et al. herein referred to as “Fischer” (USPPN 2017/0232482).
As to claim 1, Kloepfer discloses a high pressure cleaning system 10, comprising a high pressure cleaning appliance that has a pump assembly 14, at least one accessory that is in or can be brought into flow connection with a high pressure outlet of the pump assembly (para 80 and Fig 1: see variety of discharge devices 34, 48, 52, 56, 60, 64, 70, etc., wherein the high pressure cleaning appliance is operable with at least one variable operating parameter (paras 86-87: see different operating levels, for example), an input unit, at least one control unit coupled to the input unit, and an output unit coupled to the at least one control unit,
See paras 117-119 for description of smart device 134, for example that is usable with the apparatus for controlling and communicating operation steps:
[0117] Shown in FIG. 1 is an accessory device 132 as a further component of the high-pressure cleaning system. The accessory device, preferably a portable one, is for example a portable computer or a smartphone 134. The smartphone 134 can be used as an alternative or in addition to the integrated unit 102 or 124. The touch screen 138 can be used as an integrated input/output unit 136. An internal data processing device of the smartphone 134 can be used in lieu of the control unit 98.
[0118] Where the smartphone 134 is used for predetermining at least one output parameter, input to and output from the touch screen 138 are realized for example as described above in the context of the example of FIG. 9 and the touch screen 128.
[0119] In an advantageous embodiment, the control unit 98 and/or the internal control unit of the smartphone 134 can establish a wireless data connection over a communication network 140 (for example the Internet) with a spatially remote data processing device 142. To this end, the latter comprises for example a radio member 144 for communication with the radio member 112 or a radio member of the smartphone 134.
wherein an object to be cleaned is specifiable by way of the input unit and a cleaning recommendation is providable on the output unit by the at least one control unit in dependence on the specification, said cleaning recommendation comprising an instruction for using at least one of an accessory and a value of at least one operating parameter, and wherein at least one interaction element is providable for the user, linked to the cleaning recommendation, on the output unit for transmitting interaction information to the at least one control unit, in dependence on the cleaning recommendation.
At paras 119-125, for example, use of cleaning profiles are used in providing recommendations in addition to a detection unit in providing recommendations:
[0119] In an advantageous embodiment, the control unit 98 and/or the internal control unit of the smartphone 134 can establish a wireless data connection over a communication network 140 (for example the Internet) with a spatially remote data processing device 142. To this end, the latter comprises for example a radio member 144 for communication with the radio member 112 or a radio member of the smartphone 134.
[0120] The data processing device 142 is for example owned or administered by a manufacturer of the high-pressure cleaning system 10 and is coupled to a database 146. For example, the database 146 can have cleaning profiles stored therein. As used herein, this means in particular that the corresponding cleaning profile comprises a predetermination of a value or range of values of at least one output parameter. Data that comprise the definition of a cleaning profile can be transmitted over the communication network 140 to the control unit 98 or to the smartphone 134 and be stored in the storage unit 106 or in the storage device of the smartphone 134 respectively. Accordingly, the cleaning profile can be downloaded. For example, the cleaning profile further comprises a symbol 130 for presentation on the touch screen 128 or 138 respectively.
[0121] As has been described above, the user can make a predetermination of at least one output parameter of the high-pressure cleaning apparatus 12 by selecting the corresponding symbol 130.
[0122] Furthermore, the high-pressure cleaning system 10 may comprise a detection unit 148. The detection unit 148 is for example arranged on the gun 28 and coupled to the control unit 98 or to the data processing device of the smartphone 134.
[0123] The detection unit 148 enables detection of which particular discharge unit is connected to the gun 28 or which of the discharge units of the discharge device 34 assumes the position of use. FIG. 8 schematically shows a discharge unit 150.
[0124] If the discharge unit detected deviates from the discharge unit according to the indication 116, the user can be provided with a corresponding indication. By way of example, an indication is presented on the output unit 100. It is also possible for the high-pressure cleaning apparatus 12 and/or the gun 28 to inhibit the discharge of cleaning liquid until a discharge unit in conformance with the indication 116 has been connected to the gun 28 or selected.
[0125] The detection unit 148 may detect the discharge unit by contact or non-contact techniques, using for example mechanical, electrical or other types of techniques. By way of example, contactless detection occurs by RFID technology.
Kloepfer discloses providing at least three operating levels, i.e. levels 1, 2, and 3, along with corresponding items each level is useful in cleaning via pictogram, i.e. garden fence for level 1, motor vehicle for level 2, brickwork for level 3, etc. (see paras 82-85), as well as intermediate levels 1.5, 2.5, etc. (para 95). User receive guidance from buttons 90, 92, 94 (Fig. 4; para 96) in order to select the appropriate operating level. Further in Kloepfer, the detection of a deviation from the discharge unit triggers an indication to the user, in which the user can make a determination on how to proceed. These features essentially show a back and forth dialogue between the user and control features that relate to the cleaning recommendation of the proper tool being used and/or pressure level of cleaning.
It is unclear whether a value of the operating parameter may be adjusted or reduced when it exceeds the cleaning recommendation in Kloepfer. However, in the art of pressure wash sprayers, Fischer discloses the known steps of providing a recommendation for the spray nozzle being dependent on the pressure of the admixed fluid, and further displaying the recommendation to the user on the display device to the user (para 41). For example, four different pressure ranges may be displayed to the user (Fischer at para 86). Control commands can be transmitted from the electric apparatus 202 to the high-pressure cleaning appliance for setting a specific pressure range, which the user can select on a display device 208, preferably on a liquid crystal display. On the display device 208 different cleaning parameter ranges can, for example, be displayed graphically to the user, from which the user can select a desired cleaning parameter range, for example, a specific pressure range. Additionally, other information can be displayed graphically on the display device 208. In particular, a recommendation for a certain spray nozzle which can be connected when there is a specific pressure of the fluid supplied to the spray gun 200 can be displayed graphically on the display device 208 to the user (Fischer at para 91). Fischer discloses known means for providing a communication between the user to the machine in a back and forth manner that provides live feedback. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate this type of communication regarding a value of specific pressure in order to operate the apparatus of Kloepfer properly, prevent excessive pressure being applied on the article being cleaned which would cause damage to the article, or too little pressure being applied to the article being cleaned thus resulting in ineffective cleaning.
As to claim 2, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the at least one interaction element is providable in the form of a button, a selection element, or a rotary or slide control on the output unit, wherein the output unit is a display unit on which the at least one interaction element is displayable (para 46: The input unit may comprise for example at least one switch, button, rotary knob, key or other type of operating element.)
As to claim 5, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the at least one interaction element comprises a confirmation element by the actuation of which a confirmation information of the user is transmittable to the at least one control unit (para 47: touch screen, for example).
As to claim 6, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the cleaning recommendation comprises an indication relating to the value of at least one operating parameter and wherein the high pressure cleaning appliance is settable to the value of the at least one operating parameter upon confirmation by the at least one interaction element (para 50: It proves advantageous for the input unit and/or the output unit and/or the control unit to be, at least in part, arranged on or comprised by the operating unit. This facilitates to the user the handling of the system by enabling him or her to enter inputs on the operating unit and/or to receive outputs at the operating unit.).
As to claim 9, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein a plurality of cleaning recommendations are providable connected to a respective at least one interaction element and wherein the cleaning recommendations comprise at least one instruction relating to the use of an accessory, wherein the accessories of different cleaning recommendations differ from one another, and wherein the respective at least one interaction element forms a confirmation element or a selection element, upon the actuation of which information for using the accessory linked to said interaction element is transmittable to the control unit (paras 65-66: [0065] An indication as to which discharge unit assumes the position of use in each case and which other two discharge units are in the position of non-use in each case is given to the user by indicia 40 provided on the housing 36, for example. The indicia 40 comprises an individual symbol associated with each discharge unit and easily visible to the user. In particular, the discharge device 34 comprises a high-pressure flat jet nozzle 42 for emitting a fan-shaped cleaning jet. The discharge device 34 further comprises a high-pressure rotary nozzle 44 through which a high-pressure pinpoint jet that rotates on the curved surface of a cone can be emitted. The discharge device 34 further comprises a low-pressure cleaning agent nozzle 46. The nozzle opening cross-sectional area of the cleaning agent nozzle 46 is substantially larger than the respective nozzle opening cross-sectional area of the flat jet nozzle 42 and the rotary nozzle 44. The cleaning agent nozzle 46 allows for emission of a high-volume flow rate cleaning jet under less pressure than with the two other nozzles 42, 44.).
As to claim 10, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the high pressure cleaning appliance is settable to the value of the at least one operating parameter, even without prior confirmation or change by the user (see paras 35-38: a predetermined operating level may be automated).
As to claim 13, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the at least one interaction element together with the cleaning recommendation is providable on the output unit (as noted above, see interaction elements cited).
As to claim 15, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the cleaning recommendation comprises a plurality of accessories, for use in chronological succession, according to cleaning instructions that are providable on the output unit by the at least one control unit ([0256] The cleaning recommendation 174 comprises symbols 176, 178, and 180 of the high pressure cleaning appliance 12 to be used and the accessories 38. Here, the arrow 178 symbolizes the discharge device 42 and the symbol 180 symbolizes the washing brush 56).
As to claim 16, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the at least one interaction element comprises a request element, upon actuation of which by the user at least one cleaning instruction, in, for cleaning the object is providable on the output unit by the at least one control unit (para 124: If the discharge unit detected deviates from the discharge unit according to the indication 116, the user can be provided with a corresponding indication. By way of example, an indication is presented on the output unit 100. It is also possible for the high-pressure cleaning apparatus 12 and/or the gun 28 to inhibit the discharge of cleaning liquid until a discharge unit in conformance with the indication 116 has been connected to the gun 28 or selected.).
As to claims 17-18, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein successive cleaning instructions are providable on the output unit in the form of a step-by-step guide for the user for cleaning the object, and wherein the cleaning instructions are providable for the user with respective interaction elements, wherein the cleaning instruction according to the subsequent step of the guide is providable upon actuation of an interaction element (paras 113-114 for examples of multi-step instructions and user input).
As to claim 19, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein cleaning instructions that are providable on the output unit are or comprise at least one of the following: - instruction for setting the high pressure cleaning appliance, in particular using the input unit; - instruction for transmitting a value of an operating parameter to the high pressure cleaning appliance; - instruction for guiding an accessory upon cleaning the object; - instruction for connecting an accessory to an operating element or the high pressure cleaning appliance, for disconnecting an accessory, or for exchanging an accessory; - instruction relating to the expired or remaining cleaning time, to a useful life of at least one accessory (as discussed above, several instructions can be transmitted, including recommendations for cleaning (Fig. 9, para 116; see also examples at claims 7-9).
As to claim 20, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the high pressure cleaning system has a storage unit in which cleaning profiles are saved, which have cleaning recommendations associated with objects to be cleaned, said cleaning recommendations having a linking of accessories to a value of at least one operating parameter (claims 9, 19).
As to claim 22, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein at least one of the following is provided as an accessory: - a discharge unit with a flat jet nozzle; - a discharge unit with a rotor nozzle; - a discharge unit with a low pressure cleaning agent nozzle; - a discharge device comprising two or more discharge units, wherein the cleaning recommendation comprises the use of a particular one of the discharge units; - a surface cleaning device; - a washing brush; - a container for a cleaning chemical (para 66: jet nozzles, for example).
As to claim 25, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the input unit, the output unit, and the control unit form an integrated unit with a common housing or common support or are comprised by such an integrated unit (Fig. 1, see integration of apparatus).
As to claim 26, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the input unit, the output unit, the control unit or the integrated unit is or is comprised by a portable external accessory device to the high pressure cleaning appliance (para 52: portable computer or smartphone).
As to claim 28, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein a user application program is provided that is stored on and is executable on the external accessory device for interaction by the user with the high pressure cleaning system (para 52: external data processing and storage unit).
As to claim 34, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein at least one of the following applies: at least one control unit is arranged in or comprised by the high pressure cleaning appliance, the high pressure cleaning system comprises at least one data processing device, which is arranged spatially remote from the high-pressure cleaning appliance and comprises at least one control unit (Fig. 1 and para 52, see control unit examples).
As to claim 37, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the at least one operating parameter is or comprises one of the following: -a pressure of the cleaning liquid; -a pressure level of the pump assembly; - a volumetric flow of the cleaning liquid; - a volume level for cleaning liquid; - an admixing ratio of a cleaning chemical to the cleaning liquid; - a working distance of the accessory from the object to be cleaned; - use of at least one particular nozzle of the accessory for discharge the cleaning liquid; - a use of an operating mode with temporarily increased pressure (Boost) for the cleaning liquid (para 78, see admixing example).
As to claim 38, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the value of at least one operating parameter is specifiable to the high pressure cleaning appliance by the user by way of at least one of the input unit and an operating unit of the high pressure cleaning appliance (as discussed above, use of a smartphone, for example, allows user to input operating information; see also paras 53-54 for operating unit). .
As to claim 48, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the high pressure cleaning system comprises a storage unit and wherein a user profile of the user is storable in the storage unit and wherein information linked to the user profile can be considered by the at least one control unit for the creation of the cleaning recommendation (see para 120 for profile creation and storage device).
As to claim 49, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein an interface for the user for interacting with the user profile is providable by way of the input unit and the output unit, using a user application program of an accessory device, which comprises the input unit and the output unit (claim 25, see recommendation of at least one discharge unit; as discussed above, smartphone and/or portable computer may be used in controlling the apparatus).
As to claim 50, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein at least one individualized object to be cleaned is storable, linked to the user profile, in the storage unit, said object being specifiable to the at least one control unit by the user, and wherein the cleaning recommendation is providable for the individualized object (para 41: operating level and/or cleaning profile can be stored in unique cleaning profiles).
As to claim 51, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein at least one of the following applies:- at least one accessory is linked to the user profile and information relating thereto is storable in the storage unit and wherein the cleaning recommendation is providable to the user only on the basis of the saved at least one accessory.- at least one accessory is linked to the user profile and information relating thereto is storable in the storage unit and wherein the cleaning recommendation is providable to the user independently of the at least one accessory;- a type of high pressure cleaning appliance is storable, linked to the user profile, in the storage unit and wherein the cleaning recommendation is providable in dependence on the type of high pressure cleaning appliance (para 41-42 discloses use of a storage unit, storing of cleaning profiles therein relating to cleaning operations).
As to claim 57, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein the value of at least one operating parameter is limitable by the high pressure cleaning appliance, in dependence on the accessory contained in the cleaning recommendation (based on the accessory, the spraying pressures are limited (i.e. have a maximum pressure based on the accessory chosen); para 59: see pressure control and para 66 see inherent pressure limitations based on the selection of a specific type of cleaning nozzle).
As to claim 58, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein it is determinable by a control unit of the high pressure cleaning appliance during the use thereof which value of at least one operating parameter is used and/or which accessory is used, and wherein the value of at least one operating parameter is limitable by the high pressure cleaning appliance, in dependence on the accessory used (para 77: the control unit 82 can control the pressure or volumetric flow rate depending on the range of values for the control unit).
As to claim 59, the cited prior art at Kloepfer discloses wherein it is determinable by the control unit of the high pressure cleaning appliance whether at least one of the value of at least one operating parameter or the accessory used deviates from the cleaning recommendation, and wherein in this case at least one of the following is performable: - providing an indication to the user, on the high pressure cleaning appliance, on an operating unit of the high pressure cleaning appliance or on the output unit; - deactivating the high pressure cleaning appliance or the pump assembly; - changing the value of the at least one operating parameter on the high pressure cleaning appliance, by setting the value of the operating parameter in accordance with the cleaning recommendation; - reducing the value of the at least one operating parameter on the high pressure cleaning appliance, provided the value of the operating parameter exceeds the value in accordance with the cleaning recommendation; - transmitting information relating to the deviation to a storage unit and storing the information in the storage unit (para 58: The detection unit makes it possible to determine whether a discharge unit may have been provided that deviates from the recommendation on the output unit. Preferably, when the discharge unit deviates from a discharge unit in accordance with the recommendation, a corresponding indication, for example visual or audible, can be provided by the control unit on the output unit. The user can thereby be alerted to check the choice of the output unit.).
As to claims 63-64, see analysis above to overlapping claim features in prior claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kloepfer and Fischer as applied to claims above, and further in view of Knutson et al. herein referred to as “Knutson” (USPN 2017/0049288, previously cited on IDS filed 3/15/2022).
As to claim 43, Kloepfer and Fischer are silent regarding use of a camera as the detection means and therefore is silent regarding “wherein the detection unit comprises a camera for creating at least one image of the object and image information relating thereto is transmittable to the at least one control unit, and wherein the control unit is configured to determine the object on the basis of the image information”. Even though Kloepfer is silent regarding use of a camera, Kloepfer does disclose use of a smartphone as a control unit for both input and output of information (para 52 of Kloepfer). Use of a camera is known in the art of smartphone controlled cleaning apparatus, as taught by Knutson’s use of a handheld computing device or phone to communicate information to the operator regarding the cleaning operation by having taken photos using a camera on the machine (para 63 of Knutson). Use of cameras in particular are helpful to for object recognition to be used in comparing to a reference image (para 36) or to view or visually determine the presence of dirt after cleaning (para 35 of Knutson). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate use of a camera in the cited prior art, as taught by Knutson, as such use allows for object recognition in identifying the type of article being cleaned, and assessing the efficacy of cleaning by visually tracking remaining dirt.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Primarily, Applicant contests that the applied prior art reference Kloepfer fails to teach each of the claim features of claims with respect to the newly added features of claim 1 regarding the control unit determining whether at least one of the value of at least one operating parameter deviates from the cleaning recommendation. The application of the Fischer reference addresses these features, as noted in detail above. As noted in the prior Office Action, the specific type of “operating parameter” is not disclosed in at least claim 1, thus making it unclear whether the parameter refers to the spraying pressure, the nozzle head selection, etc. Nonetheless, the Fischer reference discloses displaying adjustment of the spraying pressure, among other features, as discussed above.
Conclusion
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711