DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election of Group I and the species of IFFO1, CA125, SEQ ID NO. 80-81 in the reply filed on 5/09/2023 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). It is noted that the election of species has been deleted and as such the next species is searched.
Claims 1-2, 6, 10, 15-16, 19, 23-24, 28, 32-33, 35-36, 39 and 42-44 are pending. Claims 23-24, 28, 32-33, 35-36, 39, 42, 44 are withdrawn as being drawn to nonelected species or groups. Claims 3-4, 7-9, 11-14, 17-18, 20-22, 25-27, 29-31, 34, 37-38, 40-41 have been cancelled.
The following rejections for claims 1-2, 6, 10, 15-16, 19, 43 are newly applied necessitated by amendment, in particular the one or more methylation markers have been amended.
This action is NONFINAL.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 USC 112b rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
The 35 USC 103(a) rejection made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon the amendments of the genes used in the combination.
Newly Applied Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 10, 15-16, 19, 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campan et al. (PLOS One December 7, 2011 Vol 6 e28141 previously recited ) in view of Vlassenbroeck et al. (US Patent Application 2011/0287416 November 24, 2011).
With regard to claim 1, and 43 Campan et al. teaches a method of using bisulfite reagent for treating (p. 3 2nd paragraph). Campan et al. teaches a method of measuring the methylation level of IFFO1 and the protein expression level of CA125 (p 3 1st paragraph and last paragraph). However, Campan et al. does not teach the second methylation marker detection. Campan et al. teaches methylation markers higher than controls (figure 4).
With regard to claim 2, Campan et al. teaches measuring methylation level and expression level and comparting to control samples (p 3 last para and 5 first parpaghra). The comparisons are towards ovarian cancers, which would encompass “without a specific type” as it would encompass any type of ovarian cancer types.
With regard to claim 6, Campan et al. teaches a method of using bisulfite reagent (p. 3 2nd paragraph).
With regard to claim 10, Campan et al. teaches that the treated DNA is amplified with primers (p. 3 5th para).
With regard to claim 15, Campan et al. teaches a method of using methylation specific PCR (P. 3 5th parpaghra).
With regard to claim 16, Campan et al. teaches a method of measuring CpG sites (p. 3 4th paragraph).
With regard to claim 19, Campan et al. teaches that the sample is a blood sample from a human with ovarian cancer (p. 3 1st paragraph).
However, Campan et al. does not teach the second methylation marker detection.
With regard to claim 1 and 43, Vlassenbroeck et al. teaches a method of DNA methylation markers for detecting ovarian cancer that includes NDRG4 methylation (para 116-117). . As such Vlassenbroeck et al. teaches methylation markers which can be detected in the same populations as Campan et al. teaches with IFFO1.
Therefore it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the method of Campan et al. to screen other known methylation biomarkers including the markers recited in Vlassenbroeck et al.. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to screen the methylation biomarkers of Vlassenbroeck et al. as Vlassenbroeck et al. suggest that ZNF569 methylated biomarkers are associated with ovarian cancers (para 116-117). Therefore the ordinary artisan would be motivated to screen any methylated biomarkers associated with ovarian cancers in order to determine differences in methylation in ovarian samples.
Response to Arguments
The reply traverses the rejection. A summary of the arguments is provided below with response to arguetmsn following.
It is noted that Zwarthoff is withdrawn base upon amendments to the claims. However, the arguments towards Campan are address in as much as they apply to the newly applied rejection. The reply asserts that Campan only teaches methylation marker IFFO1 and comparison to CA125 is useful to ovarian cancer patient detection, but that it deleted 14 other markers (p. 9). This argument has been reviewed but have not been found persuasive. In particular the rejection above is not based solely on Campan et al. but rather that it would be obvious to screen any methylated biomarkers associated with ovarian cancers in order to determine differences in methylation in samples including the biomarker of Vlasse3nbroeck et al.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682