DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 9, 10-11 and 21-22 has been amended and no claims were canceled and/or added. Therefore, claims 1-5 and 7-22 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computer vision system configured to – corresponding to element 175 in Fig. 1” and “computerized device configured to – corresponding to the description in paragraphs 0020-0024 of the application publication” in claims 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-5 and 7-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Grady et al. (Grady; US 2017/0293885) in view of Bonner et al. (Bonner; US 2018/0365642) and further in view of Torres et al. (Torres; US 2015/0186840).
For claim 1, Grady discloses a parcel delivery management system [E.g. 0015: For example, as described in greater detail below, a package room system may include a plurality of bins or shelves. Each bin or shelf may include an electronic lock and a short-range RF data reader, weight sensor, camera, scanner(s), and/or other sensors. The package room may include at least one computer coupled to the electronic locks and sensors of the plurality of bins or shelves. The package room may include at least one data entry device coupled to the at least one computer. The at least one computer may receive data concerning a package to be delivered from the at least one data entry device, unlock one bin of the plurality of bins in which the package is to be placed (when locks are present), notify a recipient of receipt of the package and the one bin or shelf in which it is placed, receive a notification from the sensor associated with the one bin or shelf that the package has been placed in the one bin or shelf, and lock the one bin after the notification is received, 0019: First, the carrier may bring packages to the package room. This might happen after the carrier attempted delivery at the resident's front door, or the carrier might go straight to the package room. The carrier may enter a code in a keypad, tablet, or other device. If the code is correct, the door to the package room may open, and the carrier may enter the package room. The carrier may use a carrier station to check in the packages. For example, the carrier may use a barcode wand/reader to scan the UPS/FedEx/etc. label. This may bring up the resident's name/instructions on a tablet or computer in the package room. The carrier can see any special notes, such as DO NOT LEAVE IN PACKAGE ROOM, etc. and accept the resident's name, e.g., by clicking yes. The resident may be notified that their package is ready for pickup after a delay (e.g., 10 minutes). This delay may allow the carrier to check in all packages, load the shelving, and re-lock the shelving. The package room may be closed and locked while a carrier is delivering/checking in packages], comprising:
a camera [E.g. 0015: Each bin or shelf may include an electronic lock and a short-range RF data reader, weight sensor, camera, scanner(s), and/or other sensors, 0023: For example, package room 105 may include one or more cameras 105 configured to sense packages 109, users, etc., as described below. Package room 105 may include shelves 103 and/or other storage spaces for packages 109 (e.g., lockers or the like), 0027: the deliverer may scan the package label 110 into the high-resolution label reader camera 100. The camera 100 may be connected to the tablet 104 and/or other computers (e.g., package room server 102) which may record package 109 data from the scan];
a parcel storage device [E.g. 0023: FIG. 1 is an example package room system, and FIG. 2 is an example set of package room components, according to an embodiment of the invention. While the term “package room” is used herein, some embodiments may not be located in a dedicated room (e.g., package rooms 105 may be portions of rooms or complete structures in themselves such as trailers or outbuildings). Package room 105 may include a variety of components. For example, package room 105 may include one or more cameras 105 configured to sense packages 109, users, etc., as described below. Package room 105 may include shelves 103 and/or other storage spaces for packages 109 (e.g., lockers or the like). In some embodiments, shelves 103 may include weight sensors or other sensors configured to detect the presence or absence of packages 109 on the shelves 103. Package room 105 may include one or more computing and/or interface devices (e.g., tablet 104 or other computer including video display 106 and/or audio display 107, monitor 108, etc.). As discussed below, packages may be labeled with labels 110. In some embodiments, package room 105 may include a label printer or other device configured to create and/or mark packages 109 with the labels 110. Features and functions of these components are described in greater detail below in the discussions of package room processing flows] comprising a shelf system disposed within a parcel delivery room of a multi-recipient location, the shelf system comprising a plurality of parcel storage areas that are open to the parcel delivery room [E.g. 0023-0024, 0027-0028, 0031, 0059, 0091];
a computer vision system configured to:
identify new parcels delivered to the parcel delivery room; and track placement of parcels on the shelf system based upon parcel location information received from the camera [E.g. 0023-0024, 0027-0028, 0031, 0059, 0091];
a user interface configured to inform a user of a location of a parcel on the parcel storage device intended for delivery to the user [E.g. 0022: Once a recipient's package is ready, the recipient may receive a notification (e.g., text message and/or email) notifying them to come to the package room for pickup. They may be given a code to get into the front door of the package room. The recipient may enter this code, or an additional code they are given, into a computer in the package room. Once the shelving code has been entered into the computer, the shelf door with their package may unlock and automatically open. The recipient may look for their name on the label and then remove their package, 0030: As noted above, in 10, server 102 may send notice to the recipient (e.g., to a recipient's computing device) about package 109 arrival. The notice may include an authentication code or method. In some embodiments, the code may be a PIN to be entered into a keypad or a QR code to be scanned by a scanner. In some embodiments, the user may be authenticated in other ways (e.g., facial recognition, voice recognition, fingerprint recognition, near field communications and/or location based service interaction with a user's mobile device, etc.). In 11, the recipient may be granted access to the package room 105. In 12, a device inside the package room 105 may authenticate the recipient. For example, various signs may be present in the package room 105 to indicate that an authentication code or method may be required to be entered using tablet 104. Tablet 104 may receive and examine the entered code to determine whether it is correct. If authentication is successful, in 13, tablet 104 may inform the recipient (e.g., via tablet display 106, other visual display, and/or via audio 107) where their package 109 is located within the package room 105. In case of an authentication failure, a corresponding audio and video message may be provided, 0015: The at least one computer may receive data concerning a package to be delivered from the at least one data entry device, unlock one bin of the plurality of bins in which the package is to be placed (when locks are present), notify a recipient of receipt of the package and the one bin or shelf in which it is placed, receive a notification from the sensor associated with the one bin or shelf that the package has been placed in the one bin or shelf, and lock the one bin after the notification is received, 0019].
Grady fails to expressly disclose that the shelf comprising a plurality of parcel position indicators that indicate a location on the shelf system where a parcel is to be placed and that the computer vision system is configured to activate one or more of the plurality of parcel position indicators on the shelf system to indicate where each new parcel should be placed on the shelf system when delivered to the parcel room.
However, as shown by Bonner, it was well known in the art of parcels delivery management to include a shelf comprising a plurality of parcel position indicators that indicate a location on a shelf system where a parcel is to be placed and to activate one or more of the plurality of parcel position indicators on the shelf system to indicate where each new parcel should be placed on the shelf system when delivered to a parcel room [E.g. 0025, 0028, 0060, 0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Grady with the teaching of Bonner in order to enhance the easiness of placing a parcel to a user by activating an indicator on the shelf indicating where the parcel should be places, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results.
Grady in view of Bonner fails to expressly disclose a computerized device in communication with the user interface and configured to determine if recipients of parcels to be delivered to the parcel delivery room are registered with the parcel delivery room, based on the recipients’ residence being part of the multi-recipient location, and to provide corresponding delivery instruction to individuals delivering the parcels.
However, as shown by Torres, it was well known in the art of parcels delivery management to include a computerized device in communication with a user interface and configured to determine if recipients of parcels to be delivered to a parcel delivery room are registered with the parcel delivery room, based on the recipients’ residence being part of the multi-recipient location, and to provide corresponding delivery instruction to individuals delivering the parcels [E.g. 0023, 0059, 0091-0096, 0065-0067, Figs. 3A-3B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Grady in view of Bonner with the teaching of Torres because enabling placing parcel only to registered residents will provide efficiency, reduce error, and improve parcel management for the tenants, landlord, and/or delivery company.
For claim 2, Grady discloses wherein the computer vision system is further configured to obtain recipient information from parcels [E.g. 0019-0022, 0025-0027, 0041, 0015].
For claim 3, Grady discloses a parcel scanner configured to obtain recipient information from parcels [E.g. 0026-0027, 0030, 0019, 0022, 0015].
For claim 4, Grady discloses wherein the parcel scanner comprises a barcode reader [E.g. 0019], QR code reader [0026, 0030], optical character recognition (OCR) system, or a combination thereof .
For claim 5, Grady discloses an alarm configured to alert when a parcel is removed by an incorrect recipient based upon information received from the computer-vision system, the user interface, or a combination thereof, the alert comprising an audible alert, a visual alert, a notification sent to a property manager, or a combination thereof [E.g. 0046, 0052, 0041].
For claim 7, Torres further teaches a kiosk [see Fig. 1], wherein the kiosk comprises the user interface [0035, 0088, 0100], a parcel scanner configured to obtain recipient information from parcels [0024, 0035, 0041] and/or the computerized device.
For claim 8, Grady discloses wherein the parcel storage device comprises one or more weight sensors [E.g. 0021, 0041].
For claim 9, Grady in view of Bonner further teaches wherein the parcel position indicators that indicate a location on the parcel storage device where a parcel is to be placed comprise a plurality of controllable lights [Bonner; 0028], digital labels, built-in illumination sources, or a combination thereof.
For claim 10, Grady discloses a method comprising:
scanning a first parcel to identify a recipient of the parcel based upon a mailing label affixed to the parcel [E.g. 0019: the carrier may use a barcode wand/reader to scan the UPS/FedEx/etc. label. This may bring up the resident's name/instructions on a tablet or computer in the package room, 0020-0027, 0056];
a parcel delivery room comprising a parcel storage device comprising a shelf system disposed within a parcel delivery room, the shelf system comprising a plurality of parcel storage areas that are open to the parcel delivery room [E.g. 0015-0021, 0027-0028, 0023-0024];
notifying the recipient that the parcel is available to be retrieved [E.g. 0022: Once a recipient's package is ready, the recipient may receive a notification (e.g., text message and/or email) notifying them to come to the package room for pickup. They may be given a code to get into the front door of the package room. The recipient may enter this code, or an additional code they are given, into a computer in the package room. Once the shelving code has been entered into the computer, the shelf door with their package may unlock and automatically open. The recipient may look for their name on the label and then remove their package, 0030: As noted above, in 10, server 102 may send notice to the recipient (e.g., to a recipient's computing device) about package 109 arrival. The notice may include an authentication code or method. In some embodiments, the code may be a PIN to be entered into a keypad or a QR code to be scanned by a scanner. In some embodiments, the user may be authenticated in other ways (e.g., facial recognition, voice recognition, fingerprint recognition, near field communications and/or location based service interaction with a user's mobile device, etc.). In 11, the recipient may be granted access to the package room 105. In 12, a device inside the package room 105 may authenticate the recipient. For example, various signs may be present in the package room 105 to indicate that an authentication code or method may be required to be entered using tablet 104. Tablet 104 may receive and examine the entered code to determine whether it is correct. If authentication is successful, in 13, tablet 104 may inform the recipient (e.g., via tablet display 106, other visual display, and/or via audio 107) where their package 109 is located within the package room 105. In case of an authentication failure, a corresponding audio and video message may be provided, 0015: The at least one computer may receive data concerning a package to be delivered from the at least one data entry device, unlock one bin of the plurality of bins in which the package is to be placed (when locks are present), notify a recipient of receipt of the package and the one bin or shelf in which it is placed, receive a notification from the sensor associated with the one bin or shelf that the package has been placed in the one bin or shelf, and lock the one bin after the notification is received, 0019];
based upon information provided by a camera system, tracking a position of the parcel on the shelf system disposed within a parcel delivery room, using a computer vision system, until the parcel is retrieved [E.g. 0023-0024, 0031, 0015].
Grady fails to expressly disclose a plurality of parcel position indicators that indicate a location on the shelf system where a parcel is to be placed.
However, as shown by Bonner, it was well known in the art of parcels delivery management to include a plurality of parcel position indicators that indicate a location on the shelf system where a parcel is to be placed [E.g. 0025, 0028, 0060, 0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Grady with the teaching of Bonner in order to enhance the easiness of placing a parcel to a user by activating an indicator on the shelf indicating where the parcel should be places, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results.
Grady in view of Bonner fails to expressly disclose determining whether the recipient is registered as a recipient with a parcel delivery room, based on the recipient’s residence being part of a multi-recipient location at which the parcel delivery room is located.
However, as shown by Torres, it was well known in the art of parcels delivery management to include determining whether the recipient is registered as a recipient with a parcel delivery room, based on the recipient’s residence being part of a multi-recipient location at which the parcel delivery room is located [E.g. 0023, 0059, 0091-0096, 0065-0067, Figs. 3A-3B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Grady in view of Bonner with the teaching of Torres because enabling placing parcel only to registered residents will provide efficiency, reduce error, and improve parcel management for the tenants, landlord, and/or delivery company.
For claim 11, Grady discloses indicating an initial position on the shelf system for a carrier to place the parcel [E.g. 0023-0024, 0027-0028, 0020-0022, 0031, 0036].
Grady fails to expressly disclose activating one or more of the parcel position indicators on the shelf system.
However, as shown by Bonner, it was well known in the art of parcels delivery management to include activating one or more of the parcel position indicators on the shelf system [E.g. 0025, 0028, 0060, 0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Grady with the teaching of Bonner in order to enhance the easiness of placing a parcel to a user by activating an indicator on the shelf indicating where the parcel should be places, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predicable results.
For claim 12, Grady discloses wherein the step of tracking the position of the parcel on the shelf system comprises updating a stored indication of the position of the parcel in response to the parcel being moved to a different location on the shelf system [E.g. 0021, 0015, 0020, 0022].
For claim 13, Grady discloses wherein the stored indication of the position of the parcel is associated with a unique identifier of the parcel [E.g. 0041, 0015, 0019-0020].
For claim 14, Grady discloses wherein the unique identifier is based at least in part on one or more physical characteristics of the parcel [E.g. 0041, 0015, 0019-0020].
For claim 15, Grady discloses responsive to the parcel being removed from the shelf system, sounding an alarm [E.g. 0041, 0046, 0052].
For claim 16, Grady discloses providing an teaches access code to the recipient; subsequent to the parcel being placed on the shelf system, receiving the access code; and responsive to receiving the access code, allowing the parcel to be removed from the shelf system without sounding an alarm [E.g. 0022, 0030, 0034].
For claim 17, Grady in view of and Bonner Torres further teaches wherein the step of receiving the access code is performed using a kiosk comprising a user interface [E.g. Torres; 0026, 0067-0070].
For claim 18, Grady in view of Bonner and Torres further teaches wherein the kiosk comprises a scanner used to perform the step of scanning the parcel [E.g. Torres; 0024, 0035, 0041].
For claim 19, Grady discloses wherein the access code is received via a user interface in signal communication with the computer vision system [E.g. 0022-0023, 0030, 0019, 0015].
For claim 20, Grady discloses wherein the step of scanning the parcel is performed using a barcode reader [E.g. 0019], QR code reader [0026, 0030], optical character recognition (OCR) system, or a combination thereof.
For claim 21, Grady discloses wherein the kiosk is physically separate from the shelf system [E.g. 0023-0024, 0026-0027].
For claim 22, Grady in view of Bonner and Torres further teaches wherein the user interface is further configured to identify a location on the parcel storage device available to receive a parcel being delivered, by displaying instructions [E.g. Torres; 0091-0096] and/or an image of the parcel storage device on the user interface.
Response to Remarks
7. The Applicant's remarks regarding the rejection have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689