DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 11, 13, 15, 16, 22 and 24-38 are pending in this application and were examined on their merits.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 12/12/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 19/027,123 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The rejection of Claims 11, 13-16, 22 and 24-33 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21-28 of copending Application No. 19/027,123 (reference application), has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s submission of a proper Terminal Disclaimer.
The rejection of Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 32 and 33 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 12/11/2025.
The rejection of Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 16, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, and further in view of Jardine (2005), of record, has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 12/11/2025.
The rejection of Claim(s) 11, 13, 14, 15, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, and further in view of Wolfert et al. (US 2007/0281323 A1), of record, has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 12/11/2025.
The rejection of Claim(s) 34-36 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable
over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, and Wei et al. (US 7,790,401 B2) and Randolph et
al. (US 2017/0065707 A1), has been withdrawn due to the Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 12/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, Yang et al. (1997), Terzi et al. (US 2015/0258127 A1) and Jiang et al. (2016).
Konrath et al. teaches a composition/system comprising: a patient tacrolimus
(whole) blood sample mixed with a hemolytic/extraction agent containing a detergent mix of the 1.0% TRITON® X-100 (octylphenoxypolyethoxy ethanol) and 0.5% deoxycholate (Column 7, Lines 16-29), and reading on Claims 11, 22, 24, 27, 28, 32 and 33.
With regard to Claims 11, 24 and 28, Konrath et al. further teaches, "In general,
the concentration of detergent should be in the range of about 0.1% to about 3.0% w/v,
and preferably about 0.3% to about 1.0%, during the RBC lysis step, and the
concentration of extracting agent (deoxycholate or other aqueous detergents) should be
in the range of about 0.3% to about 1%, preferably about 0.4% to about 0.6% during the
extraction step" (Column 5, Lines 12-23). Thus, the composition of Konrath et al. either anticipates the claim limitation of "about 0.25% deoxycholate" as the reference taught amount of 0.5% deoxycholate would be considered "about" or "approximately"
0.25% (lacking a definition for "about" in the Specification and giving the term its'
broadest, reasonable interpretation) or in the alternative, the limitation is made obvious
by the reference disclosure of "about 0.3% extracting agent (deoxycholate or other
aqueous detergents)" which would encompass and obviate the claimed concentration
range.
With regard to Claims 11 and 38, Konrath et al. further teaches that tacrolimus forms complexes with other blood plasma constituents such as immunophilins, albumin and lipoproteins and in order to assay tacrolimus the tacrolimus/protein complexes must be dissociated to release tacrolimus (Column 1, Lines 47-53).
The teachings of Konrath et al. were discussed above.
Konrath et al. did not teach that the composition further comprises anti-Lp-PLA2
antibodies (binding molecules), as required by Claims 11, 13, 24, 25 and 28;
or that the sample is a serum sample, as required by Claims 11 and 38.
Zhuo et al. teaches a method of diagnosing cardiovascular disease (CVD) in a
subject based on the level of Lp-PLA2 (Abstract);
an anti-Lp-PLA2 antibody (Pg. 22, Paragraph [0096]);
and that detergent can readily make Lp-PLA2 from a biological sample, such as
a blood sample available for assay (e.g. may dissociate Lp-PLA2 from the lipoproteins LDL and HDL) (Pg. 18, Paragraph [0078]).
Yang et al. teaches that blood serum contains both albumin and lipoprotein (Pg, 507, Abstract).
Terzi et al. teaches the determination of tacrolimus serum levels by radioimmunoassay (Pg. 9, Paragraph [0103]).
Jiang et al. teaches that Lp-PLA2 is found in (blood) serum (Pg. 5, 3rd Paragraph).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the
invention to modify the composition/system of Konrath et al. comprising a tacrolimus
patient (whole) blood sample mixed with a hemolytic/extraction agent containing 1.0% of the detergent TRITON® X-100 and 0.5% (or about 0.25%) of the detergent deoxycholate to modify the method to use a blood serum sample because Konrath further teaches that tacrolimus forms complexes with other blood plasma constituents such as immunophilins, albumin and lipoproteins and in order to assay tacrolimus the tacrolimus/protein complexes must be dissociated to release tacrolimus. Terzi et al. teaches that blood serum may be used to assay tacrolimus in blood serum and Yang et al. teaches that blood serum contains both lipoprotein and albumin. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that blood serum, in addition to whole blood and plasma, may be used as a sample to assay tacrolimus. However, as taught by Konrath above, before assay the tacrolimus must be dissociated from complex with proteins (such as albumin and lipoprotein) found in the blood serum. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to assay tacrolimus in a patient blood serum sample based on the availability of samples and artisan preference. There would have been a reasonable expectation in making this modification because tacrolimus can be assayed in both whole blood, plasma and serum.
It would have been further obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the
invention to modify the composition/system of Konrath et al., Yang et al. and Terzi et al. comprising a tacrolimus patient serum sample mixed with a hemolytic/extraction agent containing 1.0% of the detergent TRITON® X-100 and 0.5% (or about 0.25%) of the detergent deoxycholate with the addition of an anti-Lp-PLA2 antibodies (binding molecules) as taught by Zhuo et al. because this would provide a composition which would also enable detection of Lp-PLA2 in the tacrolimus serum sample. Jiang et al. teaching that blood serum contains Lp-PLA2. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to additionally assess the tacrolimus patient serum sample for a biomarker of cardiovascular disease. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Konrath et al. teaches the use of a detergent mix as a hemolysis/extraction agent to dissociate tacrolimus from protein in a blood sample, Zhuo et al. teaches that detergent makes Lp-PLA2 in blood sample available for assay and Jiang et al. teaches that blood serum also contains Lp-PLA1.
With regard to the limitations of Claims 11, 15, 28 and 29, it would be inherent in
the composition/system of Konrath et al. that the amount of detergent in the detergent/blood mixture would result in 5% or less and/or 0.1-1% or less of the Lp-PLA2
molecules in the blood sample being associated with said lipoprotein samples because
the prior art teaches blood mixed with 1.0% TRITON® X-100 and 0.5% deoxycholate
(making obvious the claimed amount of 0.25% deoxycholate) and the Specification
teaches that these amounts are embodiments of the claimed invention.
The Specification teaches that as samples are incubated with increasing concentrations of TRITON® X-100 up to 1% and deoxycholate up to 0.5%, more Lp-PLA2 is liberated until it plateaus at those maxima (Specification as filed, Pg. 9, Lines 15-21 and Fig. 5). The Specification as filed further teaches at Pg. 12, Lines 15-16 that an exemplary embodiment of the invention (CHL sample diluent) produces an estimated greater than 95% of released Lp-PLA2. Therefore, the prior art composition would be expected to have the same effects and results as the claimed invention.
With regard to Claims 24 and 27, it would have been obvious to those of ordinary
skill in the art before the invention to compile of all the components as claimed into a
single location to create a de facto "kit" because this would provide the practitioner with
all of the components to practice the method in one discrete location. Those of ordinary
skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to eliminate
the need to track down and/or retrieve individual assay components. There would have
been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because the prior
art provides all of the claimed components and compiling them into a discrete location
would have been within the skill and purview of those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 16, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, Yang et al. (1997), Terzi et al. (US 2015/0258127 A1) and Jiang et al. (2016), as applied to Claims 11, 13,
15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33 and 38 above, and further in view of Jardine (2005), of record.
The teachings of Konrath et al., Zhuo et al., Yang et al., Terzi et al. and Jiang et al. were discussed above.
None of the above references taught wherein the sample is from a patient suspected of having, or diagnosed with cardiovascular disease (CVD), as required by Claims 16 and 30.
Jardine teaches that renal transplant patients being treated with tacrolimus have
increased risk for CVD (Pg. 380, Column 1, Lines 25-31).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the
invention that the composition/system of Konrath et al., Zhuo et al., Yang et al., Terzi et al. and Jiang et al. comprising a tacrolimus patient blood serum sample, that the sample be obtained from a patient suspected of having or having CVD, such as a renal transplant patient, because Jardine teaches that renal transplant subjects treated with
tacrolimus are at increased risk of CVD.
Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because tacrolimus treated renal transplant patients are at risk of having or developing CVD, therefore the ordinary artisan would recognize that this patient population would be at increased risk of having or developing CVD, which should be screened for. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this modification because Konrath et al. teaches the use of tacrolimus treated blood sample and Jardine teaches an association between CVD and tacrolimus treated renal transplant patients.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 32, 33, 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, Yang et al. (1997), Terzi et al. (US 2015/0258127 A1) and Jiang et al. (2016), as applied to Claims 11, 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33 and 38 above, and further in view of Wolfert et al. (US 2007/0281323 A1), of record.
The teachings of Konrath et al., Zhuo et al., Yang et al., Terzi et al. and Jiang et al. were discussed above.
None of the above references taught a composition/kit wherein the anti-Lp-
PLA2 antibodies are bound to latex microparticles, as required by Claims 26, 31 and 37.
Wolfert et al. teaches a method wherein an Lp-PLA2 containing sample is
contacted with an immobilized binder, which specifically binds Lp-PLA2, wherein the
immobilized binder is an antibody (Pg. 29, Claims 1 and 3);
and wherein the immobilized binder is bound to a latex bead (Pg. 6, Paragraph
[0059]).
The Wolfert reference further teaches that immobilization allowed for a washing
step to remove any unbound material or interfering substances (Pg. 6, Paragraph
[0060]).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the instant
invention to modify the composition/system of Konrath et al., Zhuo et al., Yang et al., Terzi et al. and Jiang et al. comprising a patient blood serum sample mixed with a hemolytic/extraction agent containing 1.0% TRITON® X-100 and 0.25% deoxycholate and further comprising anti-Lp-PLA2 antibodies with the immobilization of those antibodies to a latex bead as taught by Wolfert et al., because this would allow for the isolation of Lp-PLA2 in the blood serum sample. Those of ordinary skill in the art before the instant invention would have been motivated to make this modification because the immobilizing allows for a washing step to remove any unbound material or interfering substances. While the Wolfert et al. reference does not indicate that the latex beads are "microparticles", the mere change in size of the latex particles is not sufficient to render them non-obvious as they would still function the same as the prior art latex particles. See the MPEP at 2144.04, IV. A.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this
modification because at least both Zhuo et al. and Wolfert et al. are drawn to the use of anti-Lp-PLA2 antibodies.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Konrath et al. (US 7,718,380 B2), of record, in view of Zhuo et al. (WO 2015/123598 A1), cited in the IDS, Yang et al. (1997), Terzi et al. (US 2015/0258127 A1) and Jiang et al. (2016), as applied to Claims 11, 13, 15, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 32, 33 and 38 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (US 7,790,401 B2) and Randolph et al. (US 2017/0065707 A1), both of record.
The teachings of Konrath et al., Zhuo et al., Yang et al., Terzi et al. and Jiang et al. were discussed above.
None of the above references taught a composition/system/kit wherein the second detergent is sodium dodecyl surface (SDS), as required by Claims 34-36.
Wei et al. teaches a method for analyzing tacrolimus in a patient blood sample
wherein the blood sample is mixed with a pretreatment solution comprising a detergent
which ensures the lysis of the whole blood and displacement of the protein-bound
tacrolimus molecules from their binding sites (Column 26, Lines 5-15) and wherein
various detergents were included in the pretreatment solution and tested for the ability
to mitigate both cholesterol and triglyceride interference and wherein both octylphenol
ethoxylate (TRITON™ X-405) and SDS were effective (Column 27, Lines 28-33).
Randolph et al. teaches equivalent alkylphenol hydroxypolyethylene surfactants
including TRITON™ X-100 and TRITON™ X-405 (Pg. 4, Paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art before the
invention to modify the composition/system of Konrath et al., Zhuo et al., Yang et al., Terzi et al. and Jiang et al. comprising a tacrolimus patient blood serum sample mixed with a hemolytic/extraction agent containing the non-ionic detergent TRITON® X-100 and the detergent deoxycholate to substitute the detergent SDS taught by Wei et al. for the TRITON™ X-100 detergent of Konrath et al. because Wei et al. teaches that both SDS and TRITON™ X-405 were effective in mitigating both cholesterol and triglyceride interference in an assay of tacrolimus in a blood sample, and Randolph et al. teaches that TRITON™ X-100 and TRITON™ X-405 equivalent alkylphenol hydroxypolyethylene surfactants. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification based on the availability of detergents and artisan preference.
There would have been a reasonable expectation of success in making this
modification because TRITON™ X-405 and SDS are known in the art as suitable
detergents for blood tacrolimus pretreatment solutions and TRITON™ X-405 and the
TRITON™ X-100 detergent also used in a blood tacrolimus extraction
are both known in the art as equivalent detergents.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/11/2025, with respect to the above withdrawn rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Konrath teaches that tacrolimus is a small molecule bound to red blood cells, a cellular component of whole blood in contrast to the claims which recite the sample is serum or plasma (the non-cell component of whole blood), thus the Applicant concludes the ordinary artisan would not look to Konrath with the other cited prior art to arrive at the claimed invention (Remarks, Pg. 6, Lines 25-35 and Pg. 7, Lines 1-8).
This is not found to be persuasive for the following reasons, as discussed above, while Konrath is drawn to the extraction of tacrolimus from whole blood, the reference also teaches that tacrolimus forms complexes with other blood plasma constituents such as immunophilins, albumin and lipoproteins and in order to assay tacrolimus the tacrolimus/protein complexes must be dissociated to release tacrolimus. Yang et al. teaches that blood serum contains both albumin and lipoprotein and Terzi teaches the determination of tacrolimus serum levels by radioimmunoassay. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would have recognized that tacrolimus can also be assayed in blood serum which contains the proteins (albumin and lipoprotein), which are known to form binding complexes with tacrolimus and which must be dissociated before the tacrolimus can be assayed.
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Sharmila G Landau can be reached at (571) 272-0614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL C MARTIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1653 01/20/2026