DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. All of the limitations of claim 17 are contained in independent claim 18. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2015-013538 Kimura et al.
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches a soundproof cushioning material (paragraph 00010) to be attached to an inner face of a wheel well of a vehicle body (paragraph 0014), the soundproof cushioning material comprising:
a soundproof cushioning area 20 (paragraph 0022), in which a non-woven fabric 32 comprising entangled fibers is disposed (paragraph 0023); and
a continuous resin area 11 (paragraph 0016),
a boundary part 21 between the soundproof cushioning area and the continuous resin area (figure 3b), and
a bonding area wherein the non-woven fabric extends across the boundary part and into the continuous resin area (at bead 41, figure 3b),
the soundproof cushioning area is side by side with and adjacent to the continuous resin area on a surface of the soundproof cushioning material (top surface, figure 3b), the surface configured to face a tire in the wheel well (paragraphs 0051-0052),
wherein, on a second surface of the soundproof cushioning material opposite to the surface configured to face the tire (figure 3b), the non-woven fabric of the soundproof cushioning area and the continuous resin area are exposed (figure 3b), and
wherein at least a portion of the soundproof cushioning area on the surface configured to face the tire in the wheel well does not overlap with the continuous resin area (figure 3b).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches that the boundary part comprises a compressed non-woven fabric area (recess 21) that is more compressed than the non-woven fabric of the soundproof cushioning area (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches that the boundary part further comprises an extension part (within bead 41) disposed between the compressed non-woven fabric area and the continuous resin area (figure 3b), and wherein the extension part is comprised of a non-woven fabric area that is less compressed than the compressed non-woven fabric area (figure 3b).
Regarding claim 17, Kimura teaches a bonding area wherein the non-woven fabric extends across the boundary part and into the continuous resin area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-013538 Kimura et al.
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches that the compressed non-woven fabric area has a density of two times or more of a density of the soundproof cushioning area (paragraph 0026 teaching that the uncompressed region has a thickness of 1 mm, and paragraph 0028 teaching that the compressed region has a thickness of 0.5 mm or less). “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists,” (MPEP 2144.05 Section I). Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the taught range of 2x or more reads on the claimed range of 3x or more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 4, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the resin layer overlaps the entire soundproof cushioning area. However, Applicant misunderstands the rejection. The resin layer is not layer 31 that overlaps layer 32. The resin layer that reads on the rejection is resin layer 11. Layer 11 does not overlap with layer 32 (figure 3b).
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the boundary area. However, the boundary area claimed is depression 21 and the non-woven fabric 32 extends across the depression into the bead (figure 3b).
Finally, Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the lighter structure. However, the prior art need not have the same reason or recognize the same benefits as Applicant in order to read on the claim.
Conclusion
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781