DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2015-013538 Kimura et al.
Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches a soundproof cushioning material (paragraph 00010) to be attached to an inner face of a wheel well of a vehicle body (paragraph 0014), the soundproof cushioning material comprising:
a soundproof cushioning area 20 (paragraph 0022), in which a non-woven fabric 20 (the combination of both layers 31 and 32, where layer 32 includes the non-woven fabric such that multilayer 20 meets the non-woven fabric limitation) comprising entangled fibers is disposed (paragraph 0023); and
a continuous resin area 11 (paragraph 0016), and
a boundary part 21 between the soundproof cushioning area and the continuous resin area (figure 3b),
wherein the soundproof cushioning area and the continuous resin area define a continuous face (bottom surface) of the soundproof cushioning material (figure 3b),
wherein the soundproof cushioning area is side by side with and adjacent to the continuous resin area on a first surface of the soundproof cushioning material (top surface, figure 3b), the first surface configured to face a tire in the wheel well (paragraphs 0051-0052),
wherein, on a second surface (bottom surface) of the soundproof cushioning material opposite to the first surface configured to face the tire (figure 3b), the non-woven fabric of the soundproof cushioning area and the continuous resin area are exposed (figure 3b),
wherein at least a portion of the non-woven fabric 20 exposed on the second surface is also exposed on the first surface (figure 3b), and
wherein at least a portion of the soundproof cushioning area on the first surface configured to face the tire in the wheel well does not overlap with the continuous resin area (figure 3b), and
wherein the soundproof cushioning material further comprises a bonding area wherein the non-woven fabric extends across the boundary part and into the continuous resin area (at bead 41, figure 3b).
Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches that the boundary part comprises a compressed non-woven fabric area (recess 21) that is more compressed than the non-woven fabric of the soundproof cushioning area (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches that the boundary part further comprises an extension part (within bead 41) disposed between the compressed non-woven fabric area and the continuous resin area (figure 3b), and wherein the extension part is comprised of a non-woven fabric area that is less compressed than the compressed non-woven fabric area (figure 3b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2015-013538 Kimura et al.
Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches that the compressed non-woven fabric area has a density of two times or more of a density of the soundproof cushioning area (paragraph 0026 teaching that the uncompressed region has a thickness of 1 mm, and paragraph 0028 teaching that the compressed region has a thickness of 0.5 mm or less). “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists,” (MPEP 2144.05 Section I). Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, the taught range of 2x or more reads on the claimed range of 3x or more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 12, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the rejection does not teach that the top surface faces the tire. However, paragraphs 0022-0023 teach one arrangement, while the portions cited in the facing the tire portion of the rejection, paragraphs 0051-0052, explicitly state that the opposite arrangement is also possible.
Applicant argues that the non-woven fabric is not exposed on both sides. However, please note that a new interpretation has been taken, where multilayer 20 is the non-woven fabric, and is exposed on both sides.
Applicant argues that “a bonding region is established where the nonwoven fabric of the sound- absorbing buffer region extends toward the resin region side of the boundary portion” is not taught. However, this is taught in the bead 41 (figure 3b). It is unclear why Applicant believes this is not taught.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEGHA M GAITONDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781