DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims are confusing because it is unclear whether the 6mg dose in required or whether two separate dosages are administered. The claim recites administering a beginning dose of at least 3mg wherein the dosage is effective to improve sleep maintenance insomnia. It appears that the first dosage administered is sufficient to treat insomnia characterized by fragmented sleep. If that is the case, then it is unnecessary to administer a higher dose since the first dose is effective to achieve the stated goal. Alternatively, the claim is directed to administering a dose that is 3mg or higher, this includes a 6mg dose. In that regard the claim encompasses treatment of a subject with a 6mg dose without further dose escalation. This second interpretation is addressed in the new rejection under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Somaxon (Somaxon Pharmaceuticals Announces Positive Results in a Phase II…, Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, p. 1-3, April 2005) in view of Ancoli-Isreal et al (Sleep Medicine Reviews, 1(1), p. 3-17, 1997).
Scope of prior art
Somaxon teaches a method of treating insomnia in an elderly patient comprising administering to a patient over the age of 65 doxepin at 3 or 6mg (p. 2, first paragraph). The treatment is taught to be efficacious at both doses and to result in no difference in adverse effect or next day residual effects versus placebo at both doses (p. 1, first paragraph). The treatment is further taught to be improve all sleep maintenance indicators including wake time during sleep, wake after sleep onset, sleep efficiency, total sleep time as well as sleep quality (p. 2, first and second paragraph). Since Somaxon does not report adverse effects with 6mg of doxepin, the treatment step meets the limitation directed to treatment of elderly patient with 6mg of doxepin.
Ascertaining the difference
Somaxon does not expressly teach identifying a patient who is susceptible to the adverse effects of confusion and residual sedation prior to administering the drug, i.e. an elderly patient.
Somaxon does not expressly teach the limitation direct to fragmented sleep in the 8th hour.
Secondary reference
Ancoli-Isreal et al teaches that there is an increased risk of adverse reaction to sleep medication for the treatment of insomnia in elderly patients, including residual sedation and confusion. (p. 12, 1st full paragraph and p. 13, last paragraph). Ancoli-Israel therefore teaches that the elderly population represents a population that is the at-risk population and the elderly population in Somaxon represents the currently claimed patient population.
Obviousness
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instantly claimed invention to treat insomnia in a subject of age 65 or older with daily dosage of 6mg doxepin. Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to identify a patient who is susceptible to the adverse effects of confusion and residual sedation prior to administering the drug. These are known side effects of sleep medication in the elderly patient population. By practicing the method of Somaxon on an elderly patient, a patient who is at risk of experiencing side effects of sleep medication is inherently identified. Inherency is based on the teaching of Ancoli-Israel where art teaches increased risk of adverse side effects in an elderly population. Furthermore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to administer the therapy to a patient suffering from insomnia characterized by fragmented sleep during the eight hour of sleep/sleep maintenance insomnia, since the therapy was known to result in improvement in all sleep maintenance indicators including wake time during sleep, wake after sleep onset, sleep efficiency, total sleep time as well as sleep quality, thus resulting in the practice of the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to the administration of the drug on daily schedule, it is obvious from the above teachings that Ancoli-Isreal et al expressly contemplates variation in the dosage amounts and schedule of the active agents and specifically acknowledges that such a matter was well within the skill of the artisan at the time of the invention and would not have required undue experimentation or have been outside the realm of knowledge generally available to the skilled artisan. Factors that would have been taken into consideration when making such a determination would have included, but not have been limited to, the age, weight, sex, diet and medical condition of the patient, severity of the disease, route of administration, pharmacological considerations, e.g., activity, efficacy, pharmacokinetics and toxicology profiles of the particular compound employed, whether a drug delivery system is utilized and whether the compound is administered as part of a drug combination. Thus, the dosage regimen and/or schedule of administration that would have actually been employed would have been expected to vary widely and, in the absence of evidence to the contrary, would not have been inconsistent with that which is presently claimed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,234,954. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘954 patent comprise a step of administering a daily dose of 3mg of doxepin to a patient who is 65yo or older who requires treatment for insomnia. Claim 9 is directed to a 3mg not causing next day sedation. Claim 8 is directed to patients with difficulties with sleep maintenance. Claim 3 is directed to a method where the patient is susceptible to side effects of sleep medication. Claim 1 of the ‘954 patent also recites dose escalation from 3 to 6mg/day.
While the claims of the ‘954 patent are limited to simultaneous treatment of a patient who is older than 65 and of a patient who is younger than 65, a POSA would recognize that the two treatments can administered to the patients separately at different times. It would be obvious to treat insomnia in a patient over 65 when treatment is required without identifying and treating a younger patient at the same time.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,513,299 in view of Somaxon (Somaxon Pharmaceuticals Announces Positive Results in a Phase II…, Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, p. 1-3, April 2005)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the ‘299 patent are directed to treating early awakenings in a patient. The method comprises administration of 3mg of doxepin (claim 20). Early awakening is a form of insomnia (see current claim 3, where insomnia is fragmented sleep in the 8th hour of sleep). By administering 3mg of doxepin, the method of treating insomnia is practiced. With regards to patient population, both, over and under 65yo patients are within the scope of the ‘299 patent. It would have been obvious to administer 3mg to any patient in need of treatment with an expectation that sleep would be improved. Somaxon teaches a method of treating insomnia in an elderly patient comprising administering to a patient over the age of 65 doxepin at 3 or 6mg (p. 2, first paragraph). The treatment is taught to be efficacious at both doses and to result in no difference in adverse effect or next day residual effects versus placebo at both doses (p. 1, first paragraph). Since Somaxon teaches that 3mg dose is safe for elderly population, practicing the method of the ‘207 patent on a population over the age of 65 is obvious. With regards to escalation from 3 to 6mg/day if the desired effect is not achieved, ‘299 claims treatment with both doses (claims 13 and 14) while Somaxon teaches that both doses are safe for treatment of insomnia. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious try a higher dose of 6 mg/day as recited in claim 14 of ‘299 with an expectation that a higher dose will yield improved outcome.
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 7,915,307 in view of Somaxon (Somaxon Pharmaceuticals Announces Positive Results in a Phase II…, Somaxon Pharmaceuticals, p. 1-3, April 2005)
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of the ‘307 patent are directed to a method of treating insomnia comprising administration of 3mg of doxepin (claim 17). The claims also comprise limitations directed to minimizing next day residual sedation by providing a 3mg dose of doxepin. (claim 11). While claims of the ‘307 patent do not limit the patient population to 65 yours old or older, it would have been obvious to treat insomnia in any subject in need of such treatment. Somaxon teaches a method of treating insomnia in an elderly patient comprising administering to a patient over the age of 65 doxepin at 3 or 6mg (p. 2, first paragraph). The treatment is taught to be efficacious at both doses and to result in no difference in adverse effect or next day residual effects versus placebo at both doses (p. 1, first paragraph). Since Somaxon teaches that 3mg dose is safe for elderly population, practicing the method of the ‘207 patent on a population over the age of 65 is obvious. With regards to escalation from 3 to 6mg/day if the desired effect is not achieved:” ‘307claims treatment with both doses while Somaxon teaches that both doses are safe for treatment of insomnia. A skilled artisan would have found it obvious try a higher dose of 6 mg/day if the lower dose produces unsatisfactory results with an expectation that a higher dose will yield improved outcome. With regards to improvement in sleep at 8th hour of sleep, ‘307 claims improvement in sleep quality, but does not specify fragmented sleep at 8th hour. Nevertheless, improvement in fragmented sleep in 8th hour is within the scope of improvement of sleep quality and additionally, Somaxon improvement in all sleep maintenance indicators including wake time during sleep, wake after sleep onset, sleep efficiency, total sleep time as well as sleep quality by administration of doxepin. Treatment of fragmented sleep in 8th hour is therefore obvious because the broad teachings of ‘307 and Somaxon encompass it.
Reply to applicant’s remarks
Applicants have traversed the rejections above on the ground that neither the ‘299 or ‘307 US patents recite administering 6mg of doxepin to an elderly patient. ‘299, claim 17 recites a dose of 3mg or 6mg. ‘307 claim 19 recites further instructing the patient to take a dose of 6mg. Applicants also argue that none of the claims of 11,234,954 encompass the step of evaluating whether the desired effect has been achieved. Claim 1 of ‘954 recites “evaluating whether a desired improvement in sleep is achieved by the second adult patient at the initial daily dosage; and increasing the daily dosage of the second adult patient to 6mg only if the desired improvement in sleep is not achieved. Same limitation is found in claim 6 of ‘954.
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 are pending
Claims 1-5 are rejected
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628