DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Regarding the previous claim objections, the previous claim objections are withdrawn in light of the present claim amendments and remarks.
Regarding the previous 35 USC 112(a) rejections, the previous 35 USC 112(a) rejections are withdrawn in light of the present claim amendments and remarks.
Regarding the previous prior art rejection, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4, 5 are objected to because of the following informalities: “and further comprising the speed controller wherein the speed controller…” would be better understood as “. Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner Note: Claim 5 recites a status of currently amended; however, claim 5 does not appear to include underlines, strikethroughs, or double brackets for potential amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second charging output". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100294579 (“Chen”) in view of US 20120129639 (“Novikov”).
As per claim(s) 1, Chen discloses an electric vehicle, comprising:
a ground engaging element that drives movement of the electric vehicle (see at least [0013]: an electric vehicle (40)…two front wheels (41), two rear wheels and an axle…ends of the axle (42) are connected respectively to the front wheels (41) and may be connected respectively to the rear wheels, [0020]: axle (42) and the wheels (41) to drive the electric vehicle (40) forward);
a battery (see at least [0019]: battery (30));
a single electric motor coupled to and powered by the battery (see at least [0021]: motor (20) is powered by the battery (30) and drives the generator (10) through the driving shaft (50), [0018]: motor (20)…may be connected to the input end of the transmission assembly);
a transmission coupled to the single electric motor driving movement of the ground engaging element based on the output from the single electric motor (see at least [0014]: an optional transmission assembly, [0016]: output end of the transmission assembly is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50), [0018]: motor (20) is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50) and may be connected to the input end of the transmission assembly, [0020]: axle (42) and the wheels (41) to drive the electric vehicle (40) forward);
a generator actuated by the transmission to continuously generate a first charging output whenever the single electric motor is driving the transmission (see at least [0016]: output end of the transmission assembly is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50), [0017]: generator (10) is connected to the output end of the driving shaft (50), [0018]: motor (20)…may be connected to the input end of the transmission assembly, [0020]: driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)); and
a control circuit configured to receive the first charging output from the generator and continuously charge the battery whenever the first charging output is received from the generator (see at least [0019]: battery (30) is connected to and is charged by the generator (10), supplies electricity to the motor (20)…output end of the battery (30) is connected to the motor (20). The input end of the battery (30) is connected to the generator (10), [0020]: battery (30) drives the motor (20), the motor (20) drives the driving shaft (50), the axle (42) and the wheels (41) to drive the electric vehicle (40) forward. Meanwhile, the driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)).
Chen does not explicitly disclose controlled to generate an output at a speed based on an input received from a speed controller.
However, Novikov teaches an electric motor controlled to generate an output at a speed based on an input received from a speed controller (see at least [0137]: Electric actuators 52, 54 98 operate at a speed predetermined by controller 12, so that MG1 10, MG2 34 and ICE 130 all work at the highest efficiency point, [0142]: actuators 52, 54 and 98, both motors/ generators 10 and 34 and ICE 130 are constantly controlled by a controller, so that each of the motors/generators and the ICE 130 work at the most efficient possible point, depending on the power demand from the driver).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Novikov with a reasonable expectation of success in order to work at a most efficient possible point depending on the demand from the driver. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 6, Chen discloses a generator drive component wherein the generator is actuated by the transmission through the generator drive component (see at least [0016]: output end of the transmission assembly is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50), [0020]: driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)).
As per claim(s) 7, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the generator drive component comprises: a speed-based controllable transmission configured to drive the generator at a desired speed.
However, Novikov teaches wherein the generator drive component comprises: a speed-based controllable transmission configured to drive the generator at a desired speed (see at least [0137]: Electric actuators 52, 54 and 98 operate at a speed predetermined by controller 12, so that MG1 10, MG2 34 and ICE 130 all work at the highest efficiency point, [0144]: Controlling speed of actuator 52 or 54 it is possible to redirect portion of that power to MG1 10 or MG2 34 respectively, so that one of these machines works as generator, charging the energy storage device 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Novikov with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved efficiency. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 10, Chen discloses a battery charging system on an electric vehicle, comprising:
a single electric motor configured to drive rotation of a transmission (see at least [0021]: motor (20) is powered by the battery (30) and drives the generator (10) through the driving shaft (50), [0018]: motor (20)…may be connected to the input end of the transmission assembly);
a generator actuated by the transmission to continuously generate a first charging output whenever the transmission is rotating (see at least [0016]: output end of the transmission assembly is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50), [0017]: generator (10) is connected to the output end of the driving shaft (50), [0018]: motor (20)…may be connected to the input end of the transmission assembly, [0020]: driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)); and
a control circuit configured to receive the first charging output from the generator and provide a battery charging output to continuously charge a battery whenever the first charging output is received from the generator (see at least [0019]: battery (30) is connected to and is charged by the generator (10), supplies electricity to the motor (20)…output end of the battery (30) is connected to the motor (20). The input end of the battery (30) is connected to the generator (10), [0020]: battery (30) drives the motor (20), the motor (20) drives the driving shaft (50), the axle (42) and the wheels (41) to drive the electric vehicle (40) forward. Meanwhile, the driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)).
Should it be found that Chen does not explicitly disclose rotation of a transmission,
Novikov teaches rotation of a transmission (see at least [0048]-[0049]: rotatable element, [0150]: housing 16, which houses two belt-type, continuously-variable transmissions…first transmission consists of a first pulley 18, a second pulley 20 and a belt 22, which is interconnected with both the first and second pulleys, so that the rotation of pulley 20 is transmitted to pulley 18 through belt 22 and vice versa… second continuously-variable transmission consists of pulley 29, which is rigidly connected to the output shaft 24, and pulley 28, which is rigidly connected to shaft 30 of the second electric motor/generator 34…second belt 26 is interconnected with pulley 28 and pulley 29 so that rotation of pulley 28 is transmitted to pulley 29, or vice versa, by the second belt 26, [0151]: Both MG1 and MG2 and the CVTs are controlled by controller 12, [0158]: it can convert mechanical power (applied to the output shaft 24) into electrical power, supplying said electrical power to the energy storage device 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Novikov with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved efficiency and speed control. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 18, Chen discloses a method of controlling an electric vehicle, comprising:
actuating a generator with a transmission in the electric vehicle (see at least [0016]: output end of the transmission assembly is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50), [0017]: generator (10) is connected to the output end of the driving shaft (50), [0018]: motor (20)…may be connected to the input end of the transmission assembly, [0020]: driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30));
continuously generating a first charging output with the generator whenever a single electric motor in the electric vehicle is driving the transmission (see at least [0019]: battery (30) is connected to and is charged by the generator (10), supplies electricity to the motor (20)…output end of the battery (30) is connected to the motor (20). The input end of the battery (30) is connected to the generator (10), [0020]: battery (30) drives the motor (20), the motor (20) drives the driving shaft (50), the axle (42) and the wheels (41) to drive the electric vehicle (40) forward. Meanwhile, the driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30));
providing a battery charging output to continuously charge a battery whenever first charging output is received from the generator (see at least [0019]: battery (30) is connected to and is charged by the generator (10), supplies electricity to the motor (20)…output end of the battery (30) is connected to the motor (20). The input end of the battery (30) is connected to the generator (10), [0020]: battery (30) drives the motor (20), the motor (20) drives the driving shaft (50), the axle (42) and the wheels (41) to drive the electric vehicle (40) forward. Meanwhile, the driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)).
Chen does not explicitly disclose receiving the first charging output from the generator at a control circuit.
However, Novikov teaches receiving the first charging output from the generator at a control circuit (see at least see at least [0059] energy storage device 14 is connected to the system through the controller 12, [0139] electric actuator 98 rotates at a speed (defined by equation (1)) so that ICE 130 is disconnected. Both MGI 10 and MG2 34 (or both cores of the electric machine) are connected to output shaft 24 and are working as electric motors, [0141] In this mode, one of the cores or electric machines MG1 10 or MG2 34 is working as a generator, recovering power which is supplied by output shaft 24. If the power level on shaft 24 exceeds peak power of MG1 10 or MG2 34, then the other of MG1 10 or MG2 34 should be connected to shaft 24, [0144] Controlling speed of actuator 52 or 54 it is possible to redirect portion of that power to MG1 10 or MG2 34 respectively, so that one of these machines works as generator, charging the energy storage device 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Novikov with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved power recovery. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 2-3, 11, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov, and further in view of US 20210024073 (“Johri”).
As per claim(s) 2, Chen discloses a single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the electric motor is configured to continuously generate a second charging output during coasting and braking of the electric vehicle.
However, Johri teaches wherein the single electric motor is configured to continuously generate a second charging output during coasting and braking of the electric vehicle (see at least abstract, [0019]: The vehicle 20 may be configured to operate the one or more traction motors 28, 36 as generators to charge the traction battery 34 during coast).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Johri with a reasonable expectation of success in order to in order to use the coast as an opportunity to charge the battery. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claims 11, 19, 20 recite similar limitations and are rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim(s) 3, Chen discloses a single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to receive the second charging output from the single electric motor and charge the battery based on the second charging output.
However, Johri teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to receive the second charging output from the electric motor and charge the battery based on the second charging output (see at least abstract, [0019]: The vehicle 20 may be configured to operate the one or more traction motors 28, 36 as generators to charge the traction battery 34 during coast).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Johri with a reasonable expectation of success in order to use the coast as an opportunity to charge the battery.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov, and further in view of US 20160352131 (“Nelson”)
As per claim(s) 4, Chen discloses a single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor) but does not explicitly disclose the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an operator input mechanism configured to receive an operator speed input and generate, as the input to the electric motor, a speed output based on the operator speed input.
However, Nelson teaches the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an operator input mechanism configured to receive an operator speed input and generate, as the input to the electric motor, a speed output based on the operator speed input (see at least [0010]: an electric motor driving a transmission of an electric vehicle, [0062]: if the service motor M1 is turning the drive train of an electric vehicle, a speed controller connected to an accelerator pedal would be provided to control the speed of the service motor M1 to control the speed of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Nelson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to control the speed of the vehicle. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov, and further in view of US 20180119808 (“Miller”).
As per claim(s) 5, Chen discloses a single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor) but does not explicitly disclose the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an autonomously controlled component configured to receive a speed input from an autonomous control system and generate, as the input to the single electric motor, a speed output based on the speed input from the autonomous control system.
However, Miller discloses the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an autonomously controlled component configured to receive a speed input from an autonomous control system and generate, as the input to the electric motor, a speed output based on the speed input from the autonomous control system (see at least [0036]: control system 14 may send control signals to one or more of engine 110, electric machine 120, energy storage device 132, transmission 125, etc., responsive to this sensory feedback. Control system 14 may receive an indication of an operator requested output of the vehicle propulsion system from a human operator 102, or an autonomous controller, [0220]: if the engine is in a torque control mode and providing a constant amount of torque, torque of the integrated starter/generator is adjusted to maintain engine and motor speed at the desired engine speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Miller with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide autonomous control. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov, and further in view of US 20140136035 (“Boskovitch”).
As per claim(s) 8, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the speed-based controllable transmission is configured to drive the generator at a speed within a predefined speed window.
However, Boskovitch teaches wherein the speed-based controllable transmission is configured to drive the generator at a speed within a predefined speed window (see at least [0068]: transmits a signal to the transmission to selectively control the transmission gears to further control the transfer of engine power to the generator/motor. As a result, the generator/motor can operate at a speed that is independent of the engine speed in order to maximize the efficiency of the system, [0070]: gears will be utilized to operate the motor and/or the generator within a desired or suitable speed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Boskovitch with a reasonable expectation of success in order to operate the motor and/or generator within a desired or suitable speed range. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov, and further in view of US 20200144868 (“Niwa”).
As per claim(s) 9, Chen discloses the single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor (20)) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a third charging output from an alternate battery charging source when an electric motor is not driving movement of the ground engaging element and to charge the battery based on the third charging output.
However, Niwa teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a third charging output from an alternate battery charging source when an electric motor is not driving movement of the ground engaging element and to charge the battery based on the third charging output (see at least [0043]: energy (or power) transferred to the power reception coil 21 is supplied to the power storage device 350, [0053] In the Ready-ON state, the power storage device 350 and a drive motor (not shown) are electrically connected, which enables the vehicle 1 to travel. On the other hand, in the Ready-OFF state, the power storage device 350 and the drive motor (not shown) are electrically disconnected, which makes the vehicle 1 unable to travel, [0097]: When it is determined that the control system is switched to the Ready-OFF state (YES in step S68)… power transmission device 10 starts to transmit power in response to the power transmission request, the wireless external charging of the vehicle 1 is initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Niwa with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide uninterrupted power transmission. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov and Johri, and further in view of Nelson.
As per claim(s) 12, Chen discloses a single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor) but does not explicitly disclose the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an operator input mechanism configured to receive an operator speed input and generate, as the input to the electric motor, a speed output based on the operator speed input.
However, Nelson teaches the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an operator input mechanism configured to receive an operator speed input and generate, as the input to the electric motor, a speed output based on the operator speed input (see at least [0010]: an electric motor driving a transmission of an electric vehicle, [0062]: if the service motor M1 is turning the drive train of an electric vehicle, a speed controller connected to an accelerator pedal would be provided to control the speed of the service motor M1 to control the speed of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Nelson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to control the speed of the vehicle. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov and Johri, and further in view of Miller.
As per claim(s) 13, Chen discloses a single electric motor (see at least [0018]: motor) but does not explicitly disclose the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an autonomously controlled component configured to receive a speed input from an autonomous control system and generate, as the input to the single electric motor, a speed output based on the speed input from the autonomous control system.
However, Miller discloses the speed controller wherein the speed controller comprises an autonomously controlled component configured to receive a speed input from an autonomous control system and generate, as the input to the electric motor, a speed output based on the speed input from the autonomous control system (see at least [0036]: control system 14 may send control signals to one or more of engine 110, electric machine 120, energy storage device 132, transmission 125, etc., responsive to this sensory feedback. Control system 14 may receive an indication of an operator requested output of the vehicle propulsion system from a human operator 102, or an autonomous controller, [0220]: if the engine is in a torque control mode and providing a constant amount of torque, torque of the integrated starter/generator is adjusted to maintain engine and motor speed at the desired engine speed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Miller with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide autonomous control. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov and Johri, and further in view of Boskovitch.
As per claim(s) 14, Chen discloses a generator drive component where in the generator is actuated by the transmission through the generator drive component (see at least [0016]: output end of the transmission assembly is connected to the input end of the driving shaft (50), [0020]: driving shaft (50) also drives the generator (10) to generate power to charge the battery (30)) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the generator drive component is configured to shift based on a speed of the transmission.
However, Novikov teaches wherein the generator drive component is configured to shift (see at least [0126]: actuator of the planetary gear set 86 rotates at a predetermined speed, so that the rotation of ICE 130 is transmitted to the output member of the planetary gear set 86 (in the example of FIG. 17, the output member is the ring gear A3). Changing the rotational speed of carrier P3, electric actuator 98 changes the transmission ratio of planetary gear set 86, hence the operation point of connection between MG1 10 and ICE 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Novikov with a reasonable expectation of success in order for improved efficiency and speed control. The combination would yield predictable results.
However, Boskovitch teaches wherein the generator drive component is configured to shift based on a speed of the transmission (see at least [0047]: a clutch, such as a wet or dry clutch, may be located on the shaft to switch between different speed ratios, [0068]: transmits a signal to the transmission to selectively control the transmission gears to further control the transfer of engine power to the generator/motor. As a result, the generator/motor can operate at a speed that is independent of the engine speed in order to maximize the efficiency of the system, [0070]: gears will be utilized to operate the motor and/or the generator within a desired or suitable speed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Boskovitch with a reasonable expectation of success in order to operate the motor and/or generator within a desired or suitable speed range. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 15, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the generator drive component comprises: a speed-based controllable transmission configured to drive the generator at a desired speed.
However, Novikov teaches wherein the generator drive component comprises: a speed-based controllable transmission configured to drive the generator at a desired speed (see at least [0137]: Electric actuators 52, 54 and 98 operate at a speed predetermined by controller 12, so that MG1 10, MG2 34 and ICE 130 all work at the highest efficiency point, [0144]: Controlling speed of actuator 52 or 54 it is possible to redirect portion of that power to MG1 10 or MG2 34 respectively, so that one of these machines works as generator, charging the energy storage device 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Novikov with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved efficiency. The combination would yield predictable results.
As per claim(s) 16, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the speed-based controllable transmission is configured to drive the generator at a speed within a predefined speed window.
However, Boskovitch teaches wherein the speed-based controllable transmission is configured to drive the generator at a speed within a predefined speed window (see at least [0068]: transmits a signal to the transmission to selectively control the transmission gears to further control the transfer of engine power to the generator/motor. As a result, the generator/motor can operate at a speed that is independent of the engine speed in order to maximize the efficiency of the system, [0070]: gears will be utilized to operate the motor and/or the generator within a desired or suitable speed range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Boskovitch with a reasonable expectation of success in order to operate the motor and/or generator within a desired or suitable speed range. The combination would yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Novikov, Johri, and Boskovitch, and further in view of US 20200144868 (“Niwa”).
As per claim(s) 17, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to receive a third charging output from an alternate battery charging source and to charge the battery based on the third charging output when the single electric motor is not driving the output mechanism.
However, Niwa teaches wwherein the control circuit is configured to receive a third charging output from an alternate battery charging source and to charge the battery based on the third charging output when the single electric motor is not driving the output mechanism (see at least [0043]: energy (or power) transferred to the power reception coil 21 is supplied to the power storage device 350, [0053] In the Ready-ON state, the power storage device 350 and a drive motor (not shown) are electrically connected, which enables the vehicle 1 to travel. On the other hand, in the Ready-OFF state, the power storage device 350 and the drive motor (not shown) are electrically disconnected, which makes the vehicle 1 unable to travel, [0097]: When it is determined that the control system is switched to the Ready-OFF state (YES in step S68)… power transmission device 10 starts to transmit power in response to the power transmission request, the wireless external charging of the vehicle 1 is initiated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the invention as disclosed by Chen by incorporating the teachings of Niwa with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide uninterrupted power transmission. The combination would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220314829 (“Kuzhangaira”) (see at least [0032] electricity generated by the generator 108 is used for recharging a plurality of batteries, more specifically three separate batteries referenced here collectively, as battery pack 112. The battery pack 112 is recharged using a charging circuitry 110. The charging circuitry 110 also has a changeover component (shown in FIG. 3 as 308) for charging and using a specific battery from the battery pack 112. The battery pack 112 is used for providing power to the DC motor 114 of the vehicle to allow the vehicle to run, [0036] flywheel 106 stores mechanical energy from the rotating wind turbine 102. Further, the generator 108 has an associated gearbox 210 for controlling the speed of the generator 108. The flywheel 106 is coupled to the gearbox 210 and the control from the flywheel 106 actuates the gearbox 210 to control the speed at which the generator 108 turns to generate electricity, Fig. 1).
US 20060232068 (“Shirlee”) (see at least [0010]: electrical power from the batteries (2) to travel through the battery cable (3) through the voltage regulator (4) to the off and on switch (1). The off and on switch (1) sends electrical power through electrical motor cord (6) to the electrical motor (7). This will cause the electrical motor (7) to turn the electrical motor 31/4 in. pulley wheel (8) that will turn the drive belt (9) that will turn the small 1/2 in. gear pulley wheel (10) that will turn the large 6 in. gear pulley wheel (11) (FIVE times the RPM of the electric motor 31/4 in. pulley wheel (8)). The large 6 in. gear pulley wheel (11) will turn the gear wheel drive belt (12) that will turn the generator 31/4 in. pulley wheel (13) TEN times the RPM of the electric motor 31/4 pulley wheel (8) that will turn the generator (14), [0011]: Electrical power from the generator (14) goes through the voltage regulator cord (15) to the voltage regulator (4) that will power the electric motor (7) through the electrical motor cord (6). Also the voltage regulator (4) will recharges the batteries (2) through battery cable (3). When batteries (2) are charged the voltage regulator (4) will stop the charge and continue to power the electric motor (7) through the electric motor cord (6). Also in start up the voltage regulator (4) will supply the electric motor (7) with electric power from the batteries (2) until the generator (14) reaches its full RPM).
WO-2022225573-A1 (“Steven”) (see at least Fig. 1, claim 1: self-sustained electric generator, comprising: (a) a energy storage device to power an electric gear motor with rotational energy where a conductor is used to transfer electricity to (b) a power conversion device (if needed) which uses a conductor to transfer electricity to (c) a electric motor controller or electronic controller for controlling said electric gear motor and (d) a circuit breaker or fuse to protect said electric gear motor which transfers electricity to (e) an electric gear motor having a large sized pulley mounted at the shaft, (f) a belt around said electric gear motor pulley and (g) a small sized pulley directly attached to (h) a medium sized pulley in which they share the same shaft, and (i) a belt around said medium sized pulley and (j) a small sized pulley of an electricity generating device attached at the shaft of the rotor, (k) which rotates said rotor to an rpm (rounds per minute) in which electricity is created therefrom (L) a conductor will transfer electricity to a power conversion device (if needed) therefrom a conductor is used to transfer said electricity from said electricity generating device or power conversion device to said energy storage device charging it).
US 4233858 (“Rowlett”) (see at least Fig. 1: a flywheel 12, a differential planetary transmission 14, a generator 16, a traction motor 18, a controller 20 and a battery 22).
US 5097194 (“Walton”) (see at least Fig. 3: second battery 66 has an output line 68 supplying a second type of electric power 70 and is connected to the switch system 32 so that the starter motor 14 can be alternately operated from the remote power source 30, the first battery 26 and the second battery 66 through the switch system 32).
US 5264764 (“Kuang”) (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
US 5680908 (“Reed”) (see at least abstract: electrically powered vehicle comprising at least one electric motor connected to a drive axle, at least one generator means connected to another axle whereby the rotation of the axle powers the generator means to produce electricity, batteries to provide stored electrical energy to said motor, transmission gearing means to increase the rotational speed of the generator means beyond that of the axle, and management control means to selectively direct electrical power from the generator means to either the motor for power or the batteries for recharge).
US 5796240 (“Saito”) (see at least Fig. 1, column 10 lines 42-64: power unit 101 comprises an input means section (hereinafter referred to as an "input section") 103 for inputting kinetic energy and force and converting it into a rotary motion, a gear train (gear) mechanism 106, in succession thereto, as means for increasing a speed of the inputted rotation, a generator 104, in succession thereto, as means for converting the rotary motion energy into electricity, an electrical control circuit 105, in succession thereto, as means for stabilizing voltage and current of the generated electricity, a secondary cell (a battery repeatedly chargeable/dischargeable…) 110, in succession thereto, as means for charging/discharging electricity, a Vout output terminal 109 called Vdd or Vcc in succession to the control circuit, and a ground output terminal 112 called GND or Vss in succession to the control circuit and the secondary cell. The power unit 101 is connected to an electrical load 111 via the output terminal 109 and composes the electronic equipment 102. The reference numeral (108) denotes a load current Iout which flows from the Vout 109 to the electrical load 111, and (107) denotes a charging current I.sub.CHG which flows to the secondary cell 110).
US 5971088 (“Smith”) (see at least column 5 lines 20-34: battery charging apparatus 10 is disclosed for incorporation into the drive train 12 of a vehicle having a vehicle electrical system 14. Apparatus 10 includes an electric generator 20 having a generator armature 22 assembled onto or manufactured as part of the vehicle drive shaft 24. See FIG. 1. A generator field structure 26 is built around the armature 22 and vehicle drive shaft 24. Generator bearings, preferably ball bearings, at the generator 20 ends and the field structure 26 and generator outer casing are diametrically split for installation around drive shaft 24. Generator 20 is electrically connected to a transformer such as a conventional battery charger 30 through a generator circuit 34 which is in turn connected to the vehicle battery 32, and captures some of the energy normally dissipated as heat in the vehicle wheel bearings and brakes during vehicle deceleration).
Angelina Shudy
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3668
/Angelina M Shudy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668