DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response, filed 23 December 2025, is acknowledged. No claims are amended.
Claims 1-18 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to 35 USC 102 and 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 1-20, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11, 12, 14-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stewart (US 20050080313 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stewart discloses a brachytherapy device (Abstract) comprising a biocompatible (Paragraph [0047]) material arranged in a spherical (Figure 1) form having a fixed diameter (Paragraph [0043], the balloon remains inflated); a channel extending from a first location on the brachytherapy device (Figure 2), through the brachytherapy device, to a second location on the brachytherapy device (Figure 2); and one or more active elements positioned within the channel (Paragraph 0044]), wherein the brachytherapy device is configured to be completely enclosed within a tumor bed (Figure 2, the balloon and channel are enclosed in the tumor bed by a silicone ring).
Regarding claim 2, Stewart discloses the one or more active elements include one or more of a radioactive agent (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Stewart discloses the second location is opposite the first location (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Stewart discloses the channel extends across a maximum diameter of the brachytherapy device (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 6, Stewart discloses the maximum diameter of the brachytherapy device is one of about 5 cm (Paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 7, Stewart discloses the biocompatible material is polysiloxane (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Stewart discloses the device comprising one or more additional channels that extend through the brachytherapy device (Figure 16).
Regarding claim 11, Stewart discloses a brachytherapy device (Abstract) comprising a biocompatible (Paragraph [0047]) material arranged in a spherical (Figure 1) form having a fixed diameter (Paragraph [0043], the balloon remains inflated); a central column extending through a center of the brachytherapy device, the central column including a continuous channel extending at least partially along a length of the central column (Figure 2); and one or more active elements positioned within the central channel (Paragraph 0044]), wherein the brachytherapy device is configured to be completely enclosed within a tumor bed (Figure 2, the balloon and channel are enclosed in the tumor bed by a silicone ring).
Regarding claim 12, Stewart discloses the one or more active elements include one or more of a radioactive agent (Paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 14, Stewart discloses the length of the central column is generally equal to a diameter of the brachytherapy device (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Stewart discloses the maximum diameter of the brachytherapy device is one of about 5 cm (Paragraph [0060]).
Regarding claim 16, Stewart discloses the biocompatible material is polysiloxane (Paragraph [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Stewart discloses first end of the central column terminates at a first pole of the brachytherapy device, and wherein a second end of the central column terminates at an opposite the central column terminates at an opposite second pole of the brachytherapy device (Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 20050080313 A1) in view of Weinberger (US 5924973 A).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Stewart does not disclose the nature of the radiation source. Weinberger discloses an apparatus for radiation therapy (Abstract) wherein the apparatus comprises a balloon (Col 8, lines 45-48) wherein the source is small metallic seed, cited as commonly used in conventional brachytherapy and HDR (Col 8, lines 36-39). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stewart, with the radioactive agent including one or more of radioactive seeds as taught by Weinberger, since such a modification commonly used in conventional brachytherapy and HDR (Col 8, lines 36-39).
Regarding claim 10, Stewart does not disclose the size of the channel. Weinberger discloses an apparatus for radiation therapy (Abstract) wherein the apparatus comprises a balloon (Col 8, lines 45-48) wherein the source is small metallic seed, cited as commonly used in conventional brachytherapy and HDR (Col 8, lines 36-39), and further wherein the seed has a diameter of ≤ 1mm (Col 8 lines 40-41). The channel has to be larger the seed in order for the seed to fit, but also cannot be so large that the seed can move in any other direction but along the longitudinal axis of the channel. As such, a channel with a diameter of about 0.7 mm to about 1.2 mm would have been obvious with seed of Weinberger. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stewart, with a channel with a diameter of about 0.7 mm to about 1.2 mm in order to fit the seed as taught by Weinberger, since the channel diameter range would be large enough to fit the largest seed, but not so large to allow to much extraneous movement.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 20050080313 A1) in view of Drobnik (US 20090312593 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Stewart discloses an embodiment of a bioabsorbable device wherein the biodegradable material may comprise polyglycolic acid or polylactic acid, but does not disclose the balloon, disclosed in claims 1 and 11, is biodegradable. Drobnik discloses a treatment balloon (Abstract), wherein the balloon and radioactive material are bio-absorbable (Paragraph [0023]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Stewart, with a bio-absorbable balloon as taught by Drobnik comprising the biodegradable materials of polyglycolic acid or polylactic acid, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of eliminating the need to remove the balloon or source.
Conclusion
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791