DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 21 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding claim 1, as amended, with respect to the prior art references of Haghighat (Of Record) in view of Blankenship (Of Record) and further in view of Zhang (Of Record), the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues the claim features of “determining a communication mode with a remote UE”, “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE”, and “mapping the first control information into a UE specific search space in a DMRS based physical downlink control channel region of the subframe” is not taught by the references. However the examiner respectfully disagrees.
For example, Haghighat discloses generating and mapping first control information into a UE-specific search space in a physical downlink control channel region of the subframe (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space (i.e., “UE-specific search space” includes first control information such as WTRU specific control information mapped to the WTRU specific search space) in the E-PDCCH region (i.e., “physical downlink control channel region”) & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., WTRU specific control information).
While Haghighat discloses generating first control information for the remote UE (see Para’s [0074], [0077-0078] i.e., WTRU specific control information, & [0096]), Haghighat does not disclose the claim features in claim 1 of “determining a communication mode with a remote UE”, and “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE”. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
For example in light of the applicants specification i.e., US (2022/0158799), Para [0045] discloses i.e., Table 1 is a relation between DCI formats and corresponding downlink transmission modes. The DCI formats are UE-specific, monitored by the UEs, and scrambled by C-RNTI. Therefore the claimed “communication mode” in claim 1 may refer to a “downlink transmission mode” according to Para [0045] of the applicants specification. Para [0056] of the applicants specification further discloses i.e., “In particular, eNB controller 400 generates UE-specific DCI formats carrying UE-specific control information according to a specific transmission mode (Tables I and II)”. Therefore the claimed “communication mode” in claim 1 refers to a specific transmission mode according to Tables I and II in Para’s [0045-0046] of the applicants specification.
Blankenship discloses “determining a communication mode with a remote UE” such as a specific transmission mode similarly to Tables I and II of the applicants disclosure, (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode i.e., Mode 8 or Mode 9 (i.e., determined “communication mode”) in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., transmission modes using certain DCI formats, [0097] i.e., A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format, transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0100], & [0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region)
and “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE”, (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode i.e., Mode 8 or Mode 9 (i.e., determined “communication mode”) with corresponding DCI format i.e., DCI format 2B which is UE specific (i.e., “first control information”) in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., transmission modes using certain DCI formats, [0097] i.e., A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format (i.e., includes “first control information”), transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0100], & [0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region (i.e., first control information is included in E-PDCCH)). Therefore based on the determined transmission mode, a corresponding DCI format including “first control information” such as UE specific control information will be generated (Blankenship, see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040], [0097], [0100], & [0107]).
For the reasons explained Blankenship does disclose the claim features in amended claim 1 of “determining a communication mode with a remote UE”, and “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE”.
Another example of Blankenship disclosing the claim features in claim 1 of “determining a communication mode with a remote UE”, and “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE”, can also be disclosed in Para’s [0042], [0094], [0100], [0104] of Blankenship.
For example, with broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim features of “determining a communication mode with a remote UE”, and “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE”, Para’s [0042] i.e., scenarios such as CoMP, & [0094] of Blankenship discloses the E-PDCCH may be transmitted using new transmission schemes (such as variations of CoMP), (Blankenship, Para’s [0042] & [0094]) Therefore CoMP may be interpreted as a “determined communication mode” for the generation and transmission of E-PDCCH which includes the first control information, (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., DCI format 2B may be UE specific & Para’s [0040], [0094] i.e., Also, the E-PDCCH may be used for a specific DCI (i.e., includes “first control information”) for the UE & [0107] i.e., defining a new UE-specific search space for the E-PDCCH region)
Para [0100] of Blankenship also discloses the E-PDCCH could also be used in the TDM mode. Therefore the TDM mode may be interpreted as a “determined communication mode” for the generation and transmission of E-PDCCH which includes the first control information, (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., DCI format 2B may be UE specific & Para’s [0040], [0094] i.e., Also, the E-PDCCH may be used for a specific DCI (i.e., includes “first control information”) for the UE & [0107] i.e., defining a new UE-specific search space for the E-PDCCH region).
Para [0104] of Blankenship discloses EPDCCH configuration information is informed to the UE such as information required to properly decode the new region such as the modulation level and the MIMO mode. Therefore the MIMO mode may be interpreted as a “determined communication mode” for the generation and transmission of E-PDCCH which includes the first control information, (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., DCI format 2B may be UE specific & Para’s [0040], [0094] i.e., Also, the E-PDCCH may be used for a specific DCI (i.e., includes “first control information”) for the UE & [0107] i.e., defining a new UE-specific search space for the E-PDCCH region).
In regards to the claim feature of “mapping the first control information into a UE specific search space in a DMRS based physical downlink control channel region of the subframe”, the combination of Haghighat in view of Zhang discloses the claim feature i.e., see rejection of claim 1.
In regards to the applicants argument on Pg. 7 of the remarks, the applicant cites Para’s [0022], [0024], & [0040] of Blankenship and argues that even if assuming, arguendo, that the transmission mode of Blankenship corresponds to the claimed communication mode, the HOM of Blankenship does not correspond to the first control information of claim 1. However the examiner does not interpret the HOM to correspond to the claimed first control information of claim 1. The teachings of Haghighat discloses the first control information sent on the E-PDCCH, (see Para’s [0074], [0077-0078] i.e., WTRU specific control information, & [0096]). Blankenship also discloses the claimed first control information which is sent on the E-PDCCH, (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., DCI format 2B may be UE specific & Para’s [0040], [0094] i.e., Also, the E-PDCCH may be used for a specific DCI (i.e., includes “first control information”) for the UE & [0107] i.e., defining a new UE-specific search space (i.e., includes “first control information”) for the E-PDCCH region). Therefore the examiner does not rely on the HOM of Blankenship to correspond to the first control information of claim 1. Rather the HOM is relied upon in the teachings of Blankenship for being configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe,(see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0033-0036], [0040], & [0108]).
For the reasons explained, Blankenship discloses the claim features of “determining a communication mode with a remote UE”, and “generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE” as recited in amended claim 1. Therefore the rejection of claim 1 is maintained over the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang. Independent claim 21 which recites features similar to claim 1 is also rejected over the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang for the same reasons as claim 1. The dependent claims remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based on their dependence to independent claims 1 and 21.
In regards to the applicants arguments regarding claim 8, as amended, the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, the applicant argues the amended claim feature in claim 8 of “receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode and the configuration” are not discloses by the cited references used in the rejection of claim 8. However the examiner respectfully disagrees. For example, Haghighat discloses the UE receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the received configuration of the subframe, (Haghighat, see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region will be received by the UE based on configuration information & Para’s [0010], [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region, & [0077-0078]).
Haghighat does not disclose the claim feature of the UE receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses the UE receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on a determined communication mode (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe will be received by the UE which includes plural regions such as PDCCH region and EPDCCH region included in the PDSCH region & Para’s [0016-0018], [0040] i.e., transmission modes and corresponding DCI formats, [0094-0097] i.e., The E-PDCCH and at least one PDSCH can be multiplexed in a transmission time interval (TTI)...the TTI is a subframe…A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format, transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0099-0100], [0106-0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region, & [0112]). The same reasons as explained for claim 1 with respect to the claim feature of determining a communication mode is also applied to claim 8 which recites the same claim feature of determining a communication mode. Therefore the subframe including the plural regions will be received by the UE based on the determined communication mode since the PDCCH and EPDCCH are multiplexed in the same subframe (see Fig. 1 & Table 3 of Fig. 7a i.e., determined transmission mode & Para’s [0016-0018], [0040] i.e., transmission modes and corresponding DCI formats, [0094-0097] i.e., The E-PDCCH and at least one PDSCH can be multiplexed in a transmission time interval (TTI)...the TTI is a subframe…A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format, transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0099-0100], [0106-0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region, & [0112]).
For the reasons explained Blankenship discloses the claim feature of the UE receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on a determined communication mode.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe having the plural regions which is received by the UE as disclosed in Haghighat to be received based on a determined communication mode as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship who discloses a UE determining a communication mode used for the communication and reception of a subframe including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
For the reasons explained the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses the amended claim feature in claim 8 of “receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode and the configuration”. For the reasons explained the rejection of claim 8 is maintained over the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang. Independent claim 22 which recites features similar to claim 8 is also rejected over the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang for the same reasons as claim 8. The dependent claims remain rejected over the prior art (Of Record) based on their dependence to independent claims 8 and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
3. Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 21-25 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Haghighat et al. US (2012/0106465) in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604), and further in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936).
Regarding Claim 1, Haghighat discloses a method comprising forming a subframe (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0056-0057] i.e., For example, in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain & [0081]) having a bandwidth (see Para’s [0023], [0056] i.e., subframe & [0087] i.e., the WTRU receives a limited bandwidth to correctly receive the control channel (i.e., subframe has a bandwidth)) and having plural regions (see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056-0057], [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU, & [0077-0078])
mapping first control information into a UE-specific search space in a physical downlink control channel region of the subframe, (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space (i.e., “UE-specific search space” includes first control information such as WTRU specific control information mapped to the WTRU specific search space) in the E-PDCCH region (i.e., “physical downlink control channel region”) & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., WTRU specific control information)
mapping second control information into a common search space in a second region of the subframe, (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., legacy PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0073], [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space (i.e., “common search space” includes second control information such as common control information mapped into the common search space) in the PDCCH region (i.e., “second region”) while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., common control information)
and transmitting the subframe, (see Para’s [0056-0058] i.e., the macro eNB may transmit the E-PDCCH, [0069])
While Haghighat discloses generating first control information for the remote UE (see Para’s [0074], [0077-0078] i.e., WTRU specific control information, & [0096]), Haghighat does not disclose the claim features of determining a communication mode with a remote user equipment (UE) and generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses forming a subframe (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe 110) having a bandwidth (see Fig. 1 i.e., system bandwidth of subframe 110 & Para’s [0045], [0088], & [0100]) and having plural regions including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region for transmission to a remote UE (see Para’s [0014-0018], [0094-0097], [0099-0100], & [0106-0107])
determining a communication mode with a remote user equipment (UE) used for the communication of the subframe, (see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., Thus, in an embodiment HOM is specified or configured for certain DCI formats, for example DCI format 2/2A/2B/2C, or for transmission modes using these DCI formats. In one example, the transmission mode (TM) and corresponding DCI formats can be used as criteria to select HOM. For instance, if the UE has been notified to operate with Mode 8, then both the eNB and the UE could assume that the DCI format 1A (if sent) uses QPSK, whereas DCI format 2B (if sent) uses 16QAM & [0097] i.e., E-PDCCH configuration information may include DCI format and transmission mode, [0100] & [0104] i.e., RRC signaling from a higher layer may be used to inform the UEs of the E-PDCCH configuration…The configuration information can include information such as the MIMO mode).
and generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode i.e., Mode 8 or Mode 9 (i.e., determined “communication mode”) with corresponding DCI format i.e., DCI format 2B which is UE specific (i.e., “first control information”) in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., transmission modes using certain DCI formats, [0097] i.e., A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format (i.e., includes “first control information”), transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0100], & [0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region (i.e., first control information is included in E-PDCCH))
(Blankenship suggests higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe, (see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0033-0036], [0040], & [0108])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe including first control information transmitted from the base station to a remote UE as disclosed in Haghighat to include determining a communication mode with a remote UE and generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship who discloses determining a communication mode with a remote user equipment (UE 1) for the communication of a subframe including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region including first control information, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
The combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship does not disclose the claim feature of a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936).
Zhang discloses a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel region of a subframe that is transmitted to a user equipment (UE) (see Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., sub-frame, [0103] i.e., In LTE (release 8-9) and LTE-A (release-10), the downlink control channel (PDCCH) is based on CRS which is used as the RS for demodulation, and CRS is transmission point specific without precoding. However, for release 11 or latter release, it is likely that the PDCCH is enhanced to E-PDCCH (Enhanced PDCCH) (i.e., E-PDCCH region is part of the subframe) by utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate. In this case, the idea as described above can also be applied to DMRS based E-PDCCH (i.e., “DMRS-based physical downlink control channel”) & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…However, if E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed, the UE knows the DMRS random seed on detecting the E-PDCCH since the UE specific ID such as c-RNTI has already been assigned to the UE at this stage & [0202] i.e., subframe).
(Zhang suggests that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information (see Para’s [0002] i.e., DMRS, [0006], [0062-0063], [0102] i.e., control signals for control channels may be scrambled by a scrambling sequence initialized by a random seed generated based on a UE specific ID & [0103] i.e., utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate) which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID, (see Para’s [0103] i.e., DMRS based E-PDCCH: 1) DMRS random seed can be generated based on a UE specific ID & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the E-PDCCH region transmitted in the subframe as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be implemented as a DMRS-based physical downlink control channel such as the DMRS based E-PDCCH disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second region is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (Haghighat, see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., legacy PDCCH region & Para [0074] i.e., PDCCH region)
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claims 1 and 8, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the second region is an enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses a base station (eNB) allocating common control information used normally in PDCCH regions (see Fig. 1, 120 & Para [0015] i.e., A PDCCH could be intended for single, multiple or all UEs) into the EPDCCH region of the subframe for transmission to the UEs (see Para’s [0094] & [0107] i.e., information common to multiple UEs can be sent in extended PDCCH regions).
Blankenship further discloses allocating control information specific to the UE into a first enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH) region (see Para [0106] i.e., multiple E-PDCCH regions may be configured in the sub-frame includes a first region, [0107] i.e., defining a new UE-specific search space for the E-PDCCH region & [0110]).
(Blankenship suggests the UE could be notified of the extended EPDCCH regions within the sub-frame configured for different purposes and thus reduces blind decoding by the receiver and the new PDCCH region is introduced in order to extend the PDCCH region and improve performance of the PDCCH, (see Para’s [0094] & [0106] i.e., different EPDCCH regions may be used for different purposes)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the common control information mapped to the PDCCH region as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Zhang to be mapped to the one of multiple extended PDCCH regions within the subframe of Blankenship who discloses that control information specific and common to the users are mapped to multiple EPDCCH regions because the motivation lies in Blankenship that such allocation of the EPDCCH regions reduces blind decoding performed by the receiver and the new PDCCH region is introduced in order to extend the PDCCH region and improve performance of the PDCCH.
Regarding Claims 4 and 11, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang, discloses the method of claims 1 and 8, but does not disclose wherein mapping the second control information is determined in response to a type of control information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses wherein mapping control information common to a UE1 and at least another user equipment (UE2) into a second region of the subframe (see Para [0107] i.e., information common to multiple UEs can be sent in the extended PDCCH regions) is determined in response to a type of control information (see Para [0107] i.e., In one embodiment, an E-PDCCH region may be configured for a specific DCI format. For example, one region may be used for DL grants for MU-MIMO (i.e., type of common control information). In this case, all UEs that are configured for MU-MIMO are allocated DL grants in the new E-PDCCH region).
(Blankenship suggests that since only one DCI format is used, the blind decoding in this region is simplified (see Para [0107])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the mapping of the second common control information into a second region of the subframe as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang to be determined in response to a type of control information as disclosed in Blankenship who discloses mapping control information common to a UE1 and at least another user equipment (UE2) into a second region of the subframe which is determined in response to a type of control information, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that since only one DCI format is used for the common control information, the blind decoding in this region is simplified.
Regarding Claim 8, Haghighat discloses a method comprising: Receiving a configuration of a subframe having plural regions, (see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0010] [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU, [0077-0078])
receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the configuration, (see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region will be received by the UE based on configuration information & Para’s [0010], [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region, & [0077-0078]).
blind decoding a user equipment (UE)-specific search space in a physical downlink control channel region of the subframe to receive first control information, (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space (i.e., “UE-specific search space” includes first control information such as WTRU specific control information) in the E-PDCCH region (i.e., “physical downlink control channel region”). The E-PDCCH capable WTRUs may blindly decode both the PDCCH and e-PDCCH search spaces & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., WTRU specific control information)
and blind decoding a common search space in a second region of the subframe to receive second control information (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., legacy PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0073], [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space (i.e., “common search space” includes second control information such as common control information) in the PDCCH region (i.e., “second region”) while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region. The E-PDCCH capable WTRUs may blindly decode both the PDCCH and e-PDCCH search spaces, & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., common control information)
While Haghighat discloses the UE receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the received configuration, (Haghighat, see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region will be received by the UE based on configuration information & Para’s [0010], [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region, & [0077-0078]), Haghighat does not disclose the claim features of determining a communication mode and receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses a subframe (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe 110) having a bandwidth (see Fig. 1 i.e., system bandwidth of subframe 110 & Para’s [0045], [0088], & [0100]) and having plural regions including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region received by a UE (see Para’s [0014-0018], [0094-0097], [0099-0100], & [0106-0107])
determining a communication mode, (see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., Thus, in an embodiment HOM is specified or configured for certain DCI formats, for example DCI format 2/2A/2B/2C, or for transmission modes using these DCI formats. In one example, the transmission mode (TM) and corresponding DCI formats can be used as criteria to select HOM. For instance, if the UE has been notified to operate with Mode 8, then both the eNB and the UE could assume that the DCI format 1A (if sent) uses QPSK, whereas DCI format 2B (if sent) uses 16QAM & [0097] i.e., E-PDCCH configuration information may include DCI format and transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0100] & [0104] i.e., RRC signaling from a higher layer may be used to inform the UEs of the E-PDCCH configuration…The configuration information can include information such as the MIMO mode).
and receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe will be received by the UE which includes plural regions such as PDCCH region and EPDCCH region included in the PDSCH region & Para’s [0016-0018], [0040] i.e., transmission modes and corresponding DCI formats, [0094-0097] i.e., The E-PDCCH and at least one PDSCH can be multiplexed in a transmission time interval (TTI)...the TTI is a subframe…A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format, transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0099-0100], [0106-0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region, & [0112]).
(Blankenship suggests higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe, (see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0033-0036], [0040], & [0108])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe having the plural regions which is received by the UE based on the configuration as disclosed in Haghighat to be further received based on a determined communication mode as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship who discloses a UE determining a communication mode used for the communication and reception of a subframe including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region based on the communication mode, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
The combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship does not disclose the claim feature of a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936).
Zhang discloses a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel region of a subframe that is transmitted to a user equipment (UE) (see Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., sub-frame, [0103] i.e., In LTE (release 8-9) and LTE-A (release-10), the downlink control channel (PDCCH) is based on CRS which is used as the RS for demodulation, and CRS is transmission point specific without precoding. However, for release 11 or latter release, it is likely that the PDCCH is enhanced to E-PDCCH (Enhanced PDCCH) (i.e., E-PDCCH region is part of the subframe) by utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate. In this case, the idea as described above can also be applied to DMRS based E-PDCCH (i.e., “DMRS-based physical downlink control channel”) & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…However, if E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed, the UE knows the DMRS random seed on detecting the E-PDCCH since the UE specific ID such as c-RNTI has already been assigned to the UE at this stage & [0202] i.e., subframe).
(Zhang suggests that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information (see Para’s [0002] i.e., DMRS, [0006], [0062-0063], [0102] i.e., control signals for control channels may be scrambled by a scrambling sequence initialized by a random seed generated based on a UE specific ID & [0103] i.e., utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate) which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID, (see Para’s [0103] i.e., DMRS based E-PDCCH: 1) DMRS random seed can be generated based on a UE specific ID & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the E-PDCCH region blind decoded as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be implemented as a DMRS-based physical downlink control channel such as the DMRS based E-PDCCH disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the second region is a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), (Haghighat, see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., legacy PDCCH region & Para [0074] i.e., PDCCH region)
Regarding Claim 21, Haghighat discloses a method comprising forming a subframe (see Fig. 2 & Para’s [0056-0057] i.e., For example, in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain & [0081]) having a bandwidth (see Para’s [0023], [0056] i.e., subframe & [0087] i.e., the WTRU receives a limited bandwidth to correctly receive the control channel (i.e., subframe has a bandwidth)) and having plural regions (see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056-0057], [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU, & [0077-0078])
mapping first control information into a UE-specific control region of the subframe, (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space (i.e., “UE-specific search space” includes first control information such as WTRU specific control information mapped to the WTRU specific search space) in the E-PDCCH region (i.e., “UE-specific control region”) & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., WTRU specific control information)
the UE-specific control region being a physical downlink control channel region (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0074] i.e., WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region & [0077-0078])
mapping second control information into a common control region of the subframe, (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., legacy PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0073], [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space (i.e., “common search space” includes second control information such as common control information mapped into the common search space) in the PDCCH region (i.e., “common control region”) while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., common control information)
and transmitting the subframe, (see Para’s [0056-0058] i.e., the macro eNB may transmit the E-PDCCH, & [0069])
While Haghighat discloses generating first control information for the remote UE (see Para’s [0074], [0077-0078] i.e., WTRU specific control information, & [0096]), Haghighat does not disclose the claim features of determining a communication mode with a remote user equipment (UE) and generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses forming a subframe (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe 110) having a bandwidth (see Fig. 1 i.e., system bandwidth of subframe 110 & Para’s [0045], [0088], & [0100]) and having plural regions including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region for transmission to a remote UE (see Para’s [0014-0018], [0094-0097], [0099-0100], & [0106-0107])
determining a communication mode with a remote user equipment (UE) used for the communication of the subframe, (see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., Thus, in an embodiment HOM is specified or configured for certain DCI formats, for example DCI format 2/2A/2B/2C, or for transmission modes using these DCI formats. In one example, the transmission mode (TM) and corresponding DCI formats can be used as criteria to select HOM. For instance, if the UE has been notified to operate with Mode 8, then both the eNB and the UE could assume that the DCI format 1A (if sent) uses QPSK, whereas DCI format 2B (if sent) uses 16QAM & [0097] i.e., E-PDCCH configuration information may include DCI format and transmission mode, [0100] & [0104] i.e., RRC signaling from a higher layer may be used to inform the UEs of the E-PDCCH configuration…The configuration information can include information such as the MIMO mode).
and generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE (Blankenship, see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode i.e., Mode 8 or Mode 9 (i.e., determined “communication mode”) with corresponding DCI format i.e., DCI format 2B which is UE specific (i.e., “first control information”) in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., transmission modes using certain DCI formats, [0097] i.e., A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format (i.e., includes “first control information”), transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0100], & [0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region (i.e., first control information is included in E-PDCCH))
(Blankenship suggests higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe, (see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0033-0036], [0040], & [0108])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe including first control information transmitted from the base station to a remote UE as disclosed in Haghighat to include determining a communication mode with a remote UE and generating, based on the communication mode, first control information for the remote UE as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship who discloses determining a communication mode with a remote user equipment (UE 1) for the communication of a subframe including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region including first control information, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
The combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship does not disclose the claim feature of a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936).
Zhang discloses a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel region of a subframe that is transmitted to a user equipment (UE) (see Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., sub-frame, [0103] i.e., In LTE (release 8-9) and LTE-A (release-10), the downlink control channel (PDCCH) is based on CRS which is used as the RS for demodulation, and CRS is transmission point specific without precoding. However, for release 11 or latter release, it is likely that the PDCCH is enhanced to E-PDCCH (Enhanced PDCCH) (i.e., E-PDCCH region is part of the subframe) by utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate. In this case, the idea as described above can also be applied to DMRS based E-PDCCH (i.e., “DMRS-based physical downlink control channel”) & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…However, if E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed, the UE knows the DMRS random seed on detecting the E-PDCCH since the UE specific ID such as c-RNTI has already been assigned to the UE at this stage & [0202] i.e., subframe).
(Zhang suggests that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information (see Para’s [0002] i.e., DMRS, [0006], [0062-0063], [0102] i.e., control signals for control channels may be scrambled by a scrambling sequence initialized by a random seed generated based on a UE specific ID & [0103] i.e., utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate) which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID, (see Para’s [0103] i.e., DMRS based E-PDCCH: 1) DMRS random seed can be generated based on a UE specific ID & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the E-PDCCH region transmitted in the subframe as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be implemented as a DMRS-based physical downlink control channel such as the DMRS based E-PDCCH disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID.
Regarding Claim 22, Haghighat discloses a method comprising: receiving a configuration of a subframe having plural regions, (see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0010] [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU, [0077-0078])
receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the configuration, (see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region will be received by the UE based on configuration information & Para’s [0010], [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region, & [0077-0078]).
blind decoding a user equipment (UE)-specific control region of the subframe to receive first control information, (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space (i.e., “UE-specific search space” includes first control information such as WTRU specific control information) in the E-PDCCH region (i.e., “UE-specific control region”). The E-PDCCH capable WTRUs may blindly decode both the PDCCH and e-PDCCH search spaces & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., WTRU specific control information)
the UE-specific control region being a physical downlink control channel region (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., E-PDCCH region & Para’s [0074] i.e., WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region & [0077-0078])
and blind decoding a common control region of the subframe to receive second control information (see Figures 2 & 4 i.e., legacy PDCCH region & Para’s [0056] i.e., subframe, [0073], [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space (i.e., “common search space” includes second control information such as common control information) in the PDCCH region (i.e., “common control region”) while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region. The E-PDCCH capable WTRUs may blindly decode both the PDCCH and e-PDCCH search spaces, & [0077-0078] i.e., common and/or WTRU specific control information that may include information such as: downlink/uplink scheduling assignments, PDSCH/PUSCH resources indication, HARQ parameters, uplink schedule grants, power control commands, among other information & [0096] i.e., common control information)
While Haghighat discloses the UE receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the received configuration, (Haghighat, see Fig. 2 i.e., plural regions include legacy PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region will be received by the UE based on configuration information & Para’s [0010], [0056-0057] i.e., in each subframe, a new PDCCH region may be defined within the PDSCH domain, [0074] i.e., The network can also assign (via RRC or SIB) (i.e., “configuration” of the subframe) both the PDCCH and the E-PDCCH control regions (i.e., “plural regions”) simultaneously or near-simultaneously to the same WTRU. An example of the usage of such assignment may include assigning common search space in the PDCCH region while assigned WTRU specific search space in the E-PDCCH region, & [0077-0078]), Haghighat does not disclose the claim features of determining a communication mode and receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses a subframe (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe 110) having a bandwidth (see Fig. 1 i.e., system bandwidth of subframe 110 & Para’s [0045], [0088], & [0100]) and having plural regions including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region received by a UE (see Para’s [0014-0018], [0094-0097], [0099-0100], & [0106-0107])
determining a communication mode, (see Table 3 i.e., transmission mode in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0040] i.e., Thus, in an embodiment HOM is specified or configured for certain DCI formats, for example DCI format 2/2A/2B/2C, or for transmission modes using these DCI formats. In one example, the transmission mode (TM) and corresponding DCI formats can be used as criteria to select HOM. For instance, if the UE has been notified to operate with Mode 8, then both the eNB and the UE could assume that the DCI format 1A (if sent) uses QPSK, whereas DCI format 2B (if sent) uses 16QAM & [0097] i.e., E-PDCCH configuration information may include DCI format and transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0100] & [0104] i.e., RRC signaling from a higher layer may be used to inform the UEs of the E-PDCCH configuration…The configuration information can include information such as the MIMO mode).
and receiving the plural regions of the subframe based on the communication mode (see Fig. 1 i.e., subframe will be received by the UE which includes plural regions such as PDCCH region and EPDCCH region included in the PDSCH region & Para’s [0016-0018], [0040] i.e., transmission modes and corresponding DCI formats, [0094-0097] i.e., The E-PDCCH and at least one PDSCH can be multiplexed in a transmission time interval (TTI)...the TTI is a subframe…A first set of configuration of the E-PDCCH can be semi-statically signaled comprising one or more of: DCI format, transmission mode (i.e., determined “communication mode”), [0099-0100], [0106-0107] i.e., UE-specific search space defined for the E-PDCCH region, & [0112]).
(Blankenship suggests higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe, (see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0033-0036], [0040], & [0108])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe having the plural regions which is received by the UE based on the configuration as disclosed in Haghighat to be further received based on a determined communication mode as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship who discloses a UE determining a communication mode used for the communication and reception of a subframe including a PDCCH region and an E-PDCCH region based on the communication mode, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
The combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship does not disclose the claim feature of a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936).
Zhang discloses a demodulation reference symbol (DMRS)-based physical downlink control channel region of a subframe that is transmitted to a user equipment (UE) (see Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., sub-frame, [0103] i.e., In LTE (release 8-9) and LTE-A (release-10), the downlink control channel (PDCCH) is based on CRS which is used as the RS for demodulation, and CRS is transmission point specific without precoding. However, for release 11 or latter release, it is likely that the PDCCH is enhanced to E-PDCCH (Enhanced PDCCH) (i.e., E-PDCCH region is part of the subframe) by utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate. In this case, the idea as described above can also be applied to DMRS based E-PDCCH (i.e., “DMRS-based physical downlink control channel”) & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…However, if E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed, the UE knows the DMRS random seed on detecting the E-PDCCH since the UE specific ID such as c-RNTI has already been assigned to the UE at this stage & [0202] i.e., subframe).
(Zhang suggests that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information (see Para’s [0002] i.e., DMRS, [0006], [0062-0063], [0102] i.e., control signals for control channels may be scrambled by a scrambling sequence initialized by a random seed generated based on a UE specific ID & [0103] i.e., utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate) which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID, (see Para’s [0103] i.e., DMRS based E-PDCCH: 1) DMRS random seed can be generated based on a UE specific ID & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the E-PDCCH region blind decoded as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be implemented as a DMRS-based physical downlink control channel such as the DMRS based E-PDCCH disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID.
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel region is an enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936).
Zhang discloses wherein the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel region is an enhanced physical downlink control channel (EPDCCH) (see Para’s [0002-0003] i.e., sub-frame, [0103] i.e., In LTE (release 8-9) and LTE-A (release-10), the downlink control channel (PDCCH) is based on CRS which is used as the RS for demodulation, and CRS is transmission point specific without precoding. However, for release 11 or latter release, it is likely that the PDCCH is enhanced to E-PDCCH (Enhanced PDCCH) (i.e., E-PDCCH region is part of the subframe) by utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate. In this case, the idea as described above can also be applied to DMRS based E-PDCCH (i.e., “DMRS-based physical downlink control channel”) & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…However, if E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed, the UE knows the DMRS random seed on detecting the E-PDCCH since the UE specific ID such as c-RNTI has already been assigned to the UE at this stage & [0202] i.e., subframe).
(Zhang suggests that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information (see Para’s [0002] i.e., DMRS, [0006], [0062-0063], [0102] i.e., control signals for control channels may be scrambled by a scrambling sequence initialized by a random seed generated based on a UE specific ID & [0103] i.e., utilizing DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate) which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID, (see Para’s [0103] i.e., DMRS based E-PDCCH: 1) DMRS random seed can be generated based on a UE specific ID & [0104] i.e., generating a random seed for DMRS of E-PDCCH based on a UE specific ID…E-PDCCH uses a UE specific DMRS random seed)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the E-PDCCH region blind decoded as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be implemented as a DMRS-based physical downlink control channel such as the DMRS based E-PDCCH disclosed in the teachings of Zhang, because the motivation lies in Zhang that the E-PDCCH utilizes a UE specific DMRS as the reference signal to demodulate the E-PDCCH in order for the UE to properly receive the UE’s specific control information which is based on generating a UE specific DMRS based E-PDCCH according to a UE specific ID.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Haghighat in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first control information for the remote UE includes UE-specific downlink control information (see Para’s [0074] i.e., assigned WTRU specific search space in the EPDCCH region & [0077-0078] i.e. the WTRU may extract the E-PDCCH information to derive the WTRU specific control information), but does not explicitly disclose UE-specific downlink control information (DCI). However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses UE-specific downlink control information (DCI) included in the EPDCCH region of the subframe (see Table 3 i.e., DCI format 2B may be UE specific & Para’s [0040], [0094] i.e., Also, the E-PDCCH may be used for a specific DCI (i.e., includes “first control information”) for the UE, [0097-0100], & [0107] i.e., defining a new UE-specific search space for the E-PDCCH region).
(Blankenship suggests higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe, (see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0033-0036], [0040], & [0108])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first control information for the remote UE included in the EPDCCH region as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Zhang to include UE-specific downlink control information (DCI) included in the EPDCCH region of the subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that higher order modulation (HOM) can be configured for the determined transmission modes using specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Haghighat in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the communication mode includes a multi-point-to- point or coordinated multi-point (CoMP) communication mode. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604).
Blankenship discloses wherein the communication mode includes a coordinated multi-point (CoMP) communication mode (see Para’s [0024], [0042] i.e., CoMP scenario & [0094] i.e., the E-PDCCH may be transmitted using new transmission schemes (such as variations of CoMP))
(Blankenship suggests the E-PDCCH may be transmitted using CoMP in which higher order modulation (HOM) can be applied to new control regions such as E-PDCCH and specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe, (see Table 3 in Fig. 7a & Para’s [0022], [0024], [0042], [0033-0036], [0040], [0094], & [0107-0108] i.e., new E-PDCCH region)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the subframe including first control information transmitted from the base station to a remote UE as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Zhang to be transmitted according to a communication mode with a remote UE such as CoMP for transmission of the subframe as disclosed in the teachings of Blankenship, because the motivation lies in Blankenship that the E-PDCCH may be transmitted using CoMP in which higher order modulation (HOM) can be applied to new control regions such as E-PDCCH and specific DCI formats which results in higher spectral efficiency, transmission at a higher data rate, and improving the capacity of the PDCCH of the subframe.
4. Claims 5-6 and 12-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Haghighat et al. US (2012/0106465) in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604), and further in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936) as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633).
Regarding Claims 5 and 12, Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claims 4 and 11, but does not disclose wherein the type of control information is transmit power control (TPC) information. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633).
Hong discloses wherein a type of control information is transmit power control (TPC) information, (Hong, see Para [0010] & [0087] i.e., power offset information (i.e., TPC)),
(Hong suggests the common information, for example DCI for the E-PDCCH, may include information used for decoding the E-PDCCH, (see Para’s [0080] & [0082]))
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the type of control information as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang, to include the type of control information which is transmit power control (TPC) information as disclosed in Hong, because the motivation lies in Hong that the common information, for example DCI for the E-PDCCH, may include information used for decoding the E-PDCCH.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the subframe comprises a plurality of Physical Resource Block (PRB) pairs (Haghighat, see Para’s [0071] & [0080-0081]), but does not disclose the claim feature of and wherein a location of the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel is indicated by a bitmap. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633).
(Hong discloses wherein a location of a physical downlink control channel is indicated by a bitmap (Hong, see Para’s [0123] i.e., a bitmap information of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH & [0129])).
(Hong suggests the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE (see Para’s [0123] & [0129])).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for a location of the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel region of the subframe transmitted to the UE as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang to be indicated using the bitmap disclosed in Hong who discloses wherein a location of a physical downlink control channel is indicated by a bitmap, because the motivation lies in Hong that the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang discloses a method as in claim 8, wherein the subframe comprises a plurality of Physical Resource Block (PRB) pairs (Haghighat, see Para’s [0071] & [0080-0081]), but does not disclose the claim feature of the configuration comprises receiving a bitmap and wherein a location of the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel is indicated by a bitmap. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633).
Hong discloses the configuration comprises receiving a bitmap (see Para’s [0123] & [0129])
Hong discloses wherein a location of a physical downlink control channel is indicated by a bitmap (Hong, see Para’s [0123] i.e., a bitmap information of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH & [0129])).
(Hong suggests the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE (see Para’s [0123] & [0129])).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for a location of the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel region of the subframe received by the UE as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship, and further in view of Zhang to be indicated using the bitmap disclosed in Hong who discloses wherein a location of a physical downlink control channel is indicated by a bitmap, because the motivation lies in Hong that the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship discloses the method of claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the bitmap indicates whether a PRB pair is for a UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633).
Hong discloses wherein the bitmap indicates whether a PRB pair is for a UE, (Hong, see Para [0067] i.e., a bitmap of RBs, [0123], & [0129])
(Hong suggests the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE (see Para’s [0123] & [0129])).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for a location of the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel region of the subframe received by the UE as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be indicated using the bitmap disclosed in Hong, because the motivation lies in Hong that the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship discloses the method of claim 13, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the bitmap indicates whether a subframe is for a UE. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633).
Hong discloses wherein the bitmap indicates whether a subframe is for a UE (see Para’s [0123] & [0129] i.e., When the enhanced terminal decodes the bitmap information of RBs, the enhanced terminal may recognize that RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH. The enhanced terminal may also recognize information associated with a resource region (i.e., “subframe for the UE”) that transmits E-PDCCH)
(Hong suggests the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE (see Para’s [0123] & [0129])).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the DMRS-based physical downlink control channel region of the subframe transmitted to the UE as disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship to be indicated using the bitmap disclosed in Hong which further indicates whether a subframe is for the UE, because the motivation lies in Hong that the bitmap of RBs used for transmitting the E-PDCCH is used for properly indicating frequency resource allocation information of the E-PDCCH to the UE
5. Claims 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Haghighat et al. US (2012/0106465) in view of Blankenship et al. US (2013/0003604), and further in view of Zhang et al. US (2014/0071936), and further in view of Hong et al. US (2011/0249633) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Classon et al. US (2008/0192847).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Haghighat in view of Blankenship, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Hong discloses the method of claim 6, but does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the bitmap has a length at least equal a total number of PRB pairs in the subframe. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Classon et al. US (2008/0192847).
Classon discloses wherein a bitmap has a length at least equal a total number of PRB pairs in the subframe (see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0003] i.e., resource blocks are assigned to UEs on a sub-frame basis, [0025], [0031], & [0046] i.e., The length of the bitmap is the total number of PRBs in a given frequency bandwidth).
Classon suggests the bitmap is used to convey to the UE the PRB sub-carrier allocations allocated to the UE(see Para [0044-0046]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention for the bitmap disclosed in Haghighat in view of Blankenship, further in view of Zhang, and further in view of Hong to have a length at least equal a total number of PRB pairs in the subframe as disclosed in Classon because the motivation lies in Classon that the bitmap is used to efficiently convey to the UE the PRB sub-carrier allocations allocated to the UE.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461