DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected herein. This is a Final Action as necessitated by the amendment and arguments (hereinafter “the Response”) dated 06 Aug 2026.
Terminology
Please note that in the art the term “axle” can refer an entire assembly including accompanying bearings, or it can refer to just the metal shaft between the wheels. As evidence of the former interpretation, please consider BARTONEK (US 2014/0088801) which states in para. 10, “Each truck may include two or more axle bearing systems ("axles").” MIAN et al. (US 2010/0100275) states in para. 37, “Axle 6A includes a hub bearing 6C attached thereto.” RALPH (US 6,823,242) states in col. 1 lines 20-25, “each truck 16, as shown for trucks 161 and 162, typically includes two or more axle bearing systems (hereinafter "axles"), such as axles 181.” This is important because a rejection below is based on the disclosure of FRIESEN which discusses (para. 41-44) the measuring of the temperatures of bearings (1 in FIG. 1) supporting the axle (2).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1: At the beginning of line 21 the “be” in “between” is struckthrough. This appears to be a typo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIESEN (US 2012/0197505) in view of KEUHN (WO 0002022 A1). Please note that a machine translation of KEUHN was included with the office action dated May 10, 2024. Any reference to text in KEUHN is to that machine translation.
Regarding claim 1: FRIESEN discloses: A system comprising: one or more processors (microcomputer in para. 41) configured to: monitor for operating temperature variations in a component (ΔT in para. 61-63), wherein each of the plurality of temperatures correspond to one of a plurality of different operating speeds of the power- generating system of the vehicle (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66); detect a first operating temperature variation at a first operating speed of the plurality of different operating speeds; detect a second operating temperature variation at a second operating speed of the plurality of different operating speeds (As discussed in the process laid out in para. 61-73, velocity and temperature are constantly changing and constantly measured. Para. 63 states that the change in temperature ΔTb is constantly measured. A predicted change in temperature ΔTp is calculated using the actual change in temperature and a factor c representing the change in velocity, ΔTp= cΔTb), identify the temperatures of the first component increasing between the first operating speed and the second operating speed while temperatures of the previous measurements do not increase or increase by a smaller difference between the first operating speed and the second operating speed (This is the situation shown in FIG. 7 as explained in para. 76-79.); and reduce power transmitted through the component of a power generating system (automatic braking in para. 80).
FRIESEN discloses using various thresholds, but does not teach comparing measurements of one component to measurements of another component. FRIESEN is also aimed at predicting conditions that lead to damage and preventing them (para. 6-7) and so does not explicitly disclose identifying a deteriorated condition of a component.
KUEHN however does teach monitoring the components of vehicles (abstract) which can be trains (page 2 lines 36-39) and monitoring temperature (page 5 lines 61-67; page 9 lines 1-4) to determine component damage (page 9 lines 1-4) and teaches performing measurements on different elements of the same type and comparing them to one another (page 3 lines 23-34). KUEHN teaches that this can diagnose damaged components (page 3 lines 30-37). KUEHN also teaches comparing changes in temperature measurements between two components to determine damage (temperature gradient used to determine the condition of a bearing on page 8 line 66-page 9 line 4; page 4 lines 28-32; page 7 lines 35-39). Tracking the temperatures and temperature gradients of the bearings during normal operation of the vehicle and comparing the measurements to one another as taught in these passages will reveal if one of the components increases in temperature relative to the other similar components when the vehicle changes speed. KEUHN states “Instead of a mere temperature measurement, the temperature gradient can be determined over time. This evaluation continuously provides a status message about the condition of the bearing in question. By comparing several bearings of the same construction and the same load, reliable data about the state of wear are obtained before failure occurs.” (Page 9 lines 1-4 with added emphasis) These measurements will be taken under the same conditions with the same changes in speed between the different components as discussed on page 3 lines 23-29 which states, “The monitoring is adaptive both when measuring values on different elements or groups as well as when measuring values at different times on the same element or group, i.e. it adapts to the circumstances of the moment (e.g. for rail vehicles: speed, condition of rail and Wheel tires). This is based on the fact that the analysis is not based on static reference values, but rather on comparison values that are taken in comparable operating states. The simultaneous determination of measured values takes place per se in comparable operating states.”
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the measurements of FRIESEN and compare them to the same measurements on other components in the system having the same structure because “the determination and comparison of measured values, which are determined at different times on different or the same elements or entities, enable an assessment of changes. Sudden changes, which may be due to damage due to a special event, can be determined by repeatedly taking samples at short intervals (e.g. seconds and less) and comparing the samples with each other” (page 3 lines 30-34 of KUEHN).
Regarding claim 2: FRIESEN discloses: the first component is a first axle (para. 43, 46), and the one or more additional components are one or more additional axles of a vehicle that is the power-generating system (This would be obvious based on KEUHN as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.).
Regarding claim 3: FRIESEN discloses: the one or more processors are configured to identify the operating temperature variations based on temperature sensor outputs (para. 41-42) measured at the plurality of different operating speeds (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66) of the power-generating system.
Regarding claim 4: FRIESEN discloses: the one or more processors are configured to identify the operating temperature variation responsive to a first temperature of the first component changing by a greater amount (FRIESEN uses predetermined thresholds as discussed in para. 77) than one or more additional temperatures of the one or more additional components between the plurality of different operating speeds of the system (Comparing the measured values of the components to each other instead of to a predetermined threshold is obvious based on the teaching of KEUHN as discussed in the rejection of claim 1.).
Regarding claim 5: FRIESEN discloses: the power-generating system is a vehicle (para. 21).
Regarding claim 6: FRIESEN discloses: the one or more processors are configured to automatically control operation of the first component by reducing an amount of power generated by the power-generating system responsive to identifying the operating temperature variation (automatic braking in para. 80).
Regarding claim 7: FRIESEN discloses: A method comprising: monitoring for operating temperature variations in a component of a power-generating system of a vehicle based on a plurality of temperatures (ΔT in para. 61-62), wherein the plurality of temperatures associated with the component correspond to a plurality of different speeds of the power-generating system of the vehicle (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66); detecting a first operating temperature variation at a first operating speed of the plurality of different operating speeds; detecting a second operating temperature variation at a second operating speed of the plurality of different operating speeds (As discussed in the process laid out in para. 61-73, velocity and temperature are constantly changing and constantly measured. Para. 63 states that the change in temperature ΔTb is constantly measured. A predicted change in temperature ΔTp is calculated using the actual change in temperature and a factor c representing the change in velocity, ΔTp= cΔTb); and reducing power transmitted through a first component of a power-generating system (autobraking in para. 80).
FRIESEN discloses using various thresholds, but does not teach comparing measurements of one component to measurements of another component. FRIESEN is also aimed at predicting conditions that lead to damage and preventing them (para. 6-7) and so does not explicitly disclose identifying a deteriorated condition of a component.
KUEHN however does teach monitoring the components of vehicles (abstract) which can be trains (page 2 lines 36-39) and monitoring temperature (page 5 lines 61-67; page 9 lines 1-4) to determine component damage (page 9 lines 1-4) and teaches performing measurements on different elements and comparing them to one another (page 3 lines 23-34). KUEHN teaches that this can diagnose damaged components (page 3 lines 30-37). KUEHN also teaches using comparison of changes in temperature measurements between two components to determine damage (temperature gradient used to determine the condition of a bearing on page 8 line 66-page 9 line 4; page 4 lines 28-32; page 7 lines 35-39). Tracking the temperatures and temperature gradients of the bearings during normal operation of the vehicle and comparing the measurements to one another as taught in these passages will reveal if one of the components increases in temperature relative to the other similar components when the vehicle changes speed. KEUHN states “Instead of a mere temperature measurement, the temperature gradient can be determined over time. This evaluation continuously provides a status message about the condition of the bearing in question. By comparing several bearings of the same construction and the same load, reliable data about the state of wear are obtained before failure occurs.” (Page 9 lines 1-4 with added emphasis) These measurements will be taken under the same conditions with the same changes in speed between the different components as discussed on page 3 lines 23-29 which states, “The monitoring is adaptive both when measuring values on different elements or groups as well as when measuring values at different times on the same element or group, i.e. it adapts to the circumstances of the moment (e.g. for rail vehicles: speed, condition of rail and Wheel tires). This is based on the fact that the analysis is not based on static reference values, but rather on comparison values that are taken in comparable operating states. The simultaneous determination of measured values takes place per se in comparable operating states.”
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the measurements of FRIESEN and compare them to the same measurements on other components in the system having the same structure because “the determination and comparison of measured values, which are determined at different times on different or the same elements or entities, enable an assessment of changes. Sudden changes, which may be due to damage due to a special event, can be determined by repeatedly taking samples at short intervals (e.g. seconds and less) and comparing the samples with each other” (page 3 lines 30-34 of KUEHN).
Regarding claim 8: FRIESEN discloses: receiving outputs from one or more temperature sensors (para. 41-42) and identifying the operating temperature variation based on the outputs (para. 41-42).
Regarding claim 9: FRIESEN discloses: the outputs received from the one or more temperature sensors include temperatures measured at the plurality of different operating speeds of the power-generating system (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66).
Regarding claim 10: FRIESEN discloses: the power transmitted through the first component is reduced by reducing torque applied to rotate a first axle of a vehicle that is the power-generating system (Braking as discloses in para. 80 also includes letting the engine wind down which will reduce the torque applied to the axles.).
Regarding claim 11: FRIESEN discloses: identifying the operating temperature variation responsive to a first temperature of the first component changing by a greater amount (FRIESEN uses predetermined thresholds as discussed in para. 77) than one or more additional temperatures of the one or more additional components between the plurality of different operating speeds of the power-generating system (Comparing the measured values of the components to each other instead of to a predetermined threshold is obvious based on the teaching of KEUHN as discussed in the rejection of claim 7.).
Regarding claim 12: FRIESEN discloses: one or more processors are configured to automatically control operation of the first component by reducing an amount of power generated by the power-generating system responsive to identifying the operating temperature variation (automatic braking in para. 80).
Regarding claims 13, 16, and 17: FRIESEN discloses: A system comprising: one or more sensors configured to measure temperatures (para. 41-42) of different axles of a vehicle (Para. 43; Please note that the bearings supporting the axle can be considered a part of the axle as discussed in the Terminology section above.); and one or more processors (microcomputer in para. 41) configured to obtain the operating temperatures that are measured and to analyze the temperatures of the different axles (Analysis is shown in para. 61-76. Please note that the bearings supporting the axle can be considered a part of the axle as discussed in the Terminology section above.) for identifying a deteriorated condition of at least one of the axles (para. 20, 77-80), wherein the one or more sensors are configured to measure the operating temperatures of the axles at different speeds of the vehicle (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66), and implement a responsive action (warning signal or alarm as discussed in para. 77-80) associated with the deteriorated condition based on the comparison of operating temperatures (warning signal or alarm as discussed in para. 77-80). FRIESEN also discloses that the vehicle can be a train (para. 21), thus meeting the limitations of claim 17.
FRIESEN discloses using various thresholds, but does not teach comparing measurements of one component to measurements of another component.
KUEHN however does teach monitoring the components of vehicles (abstract) which can be trains (page 2 lines 36-39) and monitoring temperature (page 5 lines 61-67; page 9 lines 1-4) to determine component damage (page 9 lines 1-4) and teaches performing measurements on different elements and comparing them to one another (page 3 lines 23-34). Tracking the temperatures and temperature gradients of the bearings during normal operation of the vehicle and comparing the measurements to one another as taught in these passages will reveal if one of the components increases in temperature relative to the other similar components when the vehicle changes speed. KEUHN states “Instead of a mere temperature measurement, the temperature gradient can be determined over time. This evaluation continuously provides a status message about the condition of the bearing in question. By comparing several bearings of the same construction and the same load, reliable data about the state of wear are obtained before failure occurs.” (Page 9 lines 1-4 with added emphasis) These measurements will be taken under the same conditions with the same changes in speed between the different components as discussed on page 3 lines 23-29 which states, “The monitoring is adaptive both when measuring values on different elements or groups as well as when measuring values at different times on the same element or group, i.e. it adapts to the circumstances of the moment (e.g. for rail vehicles: speed, condition of rail and Wheel tires). This is based on the fact that the analysis is not based on static reference values, but rather on comparison values that are taken in comparable operating states. The simultaneous determination of measured values takes place per se in comparable operating states.” KUHN also teaches that the vehicle can be an automobile (page 3 lines 45-49), thus meeting the limitations of claim 16.
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the measurements of FRIESEN and compare them to the same measurements on other components in the system having the same structure because “the determination and comparison of measured values, which are determined at different times on different or the same elements or entities, enable an assessment of changes. Sudden changes, which may be due to damage due to a special event, can be determined by repeatedly taking samples at short intervals (e.g. seconds and less) and comparing the samples with each other” (page 3 lines 30-34 of KUEHN).
Regarding claim 14: FRIESEN discloses: the one or more processors are configured to identify the deteriorated condition of at least one of the axles responsive to the temperature of a first axle of the axles changing by a different amount (FRIESEN uses predetermined thresholds as discussed in para. 77) than the temperatures of at least a second axle of the axles between the different speeds of the vehicle (Comparing the measured values of the components to each other instead of to a predetermined threshold is obvious based on the teaching of KEUHN as discussed in the rejection of claim 13.).
Regarding claim 15: FRIESEN discloses: the one or more processors are configured to examine the temperatures to identify the deteriorated condition of at least one of the axles responsive to the temperature of a first axle changing by a greater amount (FRIESEN uses predetermined thresholds as discussed in para. 77) between the different speeds of the vehicle (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66) than the temperature of at least a second axle between the different speeds of the vehicle (Comparing the measured values of the components to each other instead of to a predetermined threshold is obvious based on the teaching of KEUHN as discussed in the rejection of claim 13.).
Regarding claim 18: FRIESEN discloses: the one or more processors are configured to automatically control operation of the at least one of the axles responsive to identifying the deteriorated condition (automatic braking in para. 80).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIESEN and KEUHN in view of BARONE (US 2007/0208841).
Regarding claims 13: FRIESEN discloses: A system comprising: one or more sensors configured to measure temperatures (para. 41-42) of different components of a vehicle (para.37, 43); and one or more processors (microcomputer in para. 41) configured to obtain the temperatures that are measured and to monitor for temperature variations of the different axles (Analysis is shown in para. 61-76.) wherein the temperature variations indicate a deteriorated condition of at least one of the axles (para. 20, 77-80), wherein the temperature variations are determined based on a plurality of temperatures associated with the axle (para. 61-73) wherein each of the plurality of temperatures associated with the axle correspond to different speeds of the vehicle (change in velocity during ΔT as discussed in para. 63-66).
FRIESEN discloses measuring the temperature of bearings supporting the axle (1 supporting 2 in FIG. 1), and also discloses that other components in thermal contact with the bearings can be used to monitor temperature (para. 37). FRIESEN explicitly names one of these components as the bearing cover 6. Therefore, in a narrow interpretation (see Terminology section above) of the word “axle” (one that does not include the supporting bearings) FRIESEN does not explicitly teach measuring the temperature of the axle.
BARONE however does explicitly teach measuring the temperature of the axles (138 in FIG. 5) of a railway car (120 in FIG. 1) with a temperature array (155 in FIG. 5) which includes a temperature sensor (para. 96) in direct contact with the axle (para. 96).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use a sensor mounted with direct thermal contact to the axle as taught by BARONE for the temperature monitoring of FRIESEN because the “intimate contact with the wheel axle assembly yields superior performance” as discussed in para 243 of BARONE. Furthermore, some locations where a temperature sensor could be mounted are difficult (para. 5, 38, 57 of FRIESEN), therefore the end cap sensor mounting of BARONE shown in FIGS. 4 and 5, would be particularly convenient for installation and maintenance due to its exterior, easily-accessed location.
FRIESEN discloses using various thresholds, but does not teach comparing measurements of one component to measurements of another component.
KUEHN however does teach monitoring the components of vehicles (abstract) which can be trains (page 2 lines 36-39) and monitoring temperature (page 5 lines 61-67; page 9 lines 1-4) to determine component damage (page 9 lines 1-4) and teaches performing measurements on different elements and comparing them to one another (page 3 lines 23-34).
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the measurements of FRIESEN and compare them to the same measurements on other components in the system having the same structure because “the determination and comparison of measured values, which are determined at different times on different or the same elements or entities, enable an assessment of changes. Sudden changes, which may be due to damage due to a special event, can be determined by repeatedly taking samples at short intervals (e.g. seconds and less) and comparing the samples with each other” (page 3 lines 30-34 of KUEHN).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FRIESEN and KEUHN in view of MIAN.
Regarding claims 19 and 20: FRIESEN discloses that the invention is for preventing damage (para. 34), but does not disclose that their responsive action (para. 32-33) is associated with at least one of a repair, an inspection, and a replacement of the first component, or combinations thereof.
MIAN however teaches using temperature monitoring (abstract, para. 42, 62-63) to detect flaws or problems with the components of a rail vehicle (para. 4, 10) with the analysis of this temperature data (para. 62-63) leading to a scheduled repair (para. 57-58) or inspection (para. 57). This responsive action is communicated to a local rail shop (11B in FIG. 3) or other remote system (11C), thus meeting the limitations of claim 20.
One skilled in the art at the time the application was effectively filed would be motivated to use the scheduling of a repair at a local repair shop (para. 58 of MIAN) in combination with the alarms and warnings of FRIESEN (para. 32-33) so that the repair shop can make preparations for the arrival of a defective vehicle (para. 58 of MIAN), thus reducing equipment downtime and making rail operations more efficient.
Response to Amendment/Argument
The Applicant has argued (pages 7-11of the Response) that the combination of FRIESEN and KEUHN does not teach the added limitations of identifying that a temperature of a particular component increases by a certain amount while the vehicle changes speed while other similar components either do not increase in temperature or increase by a lesser amount. The argument has been fully considered and is not persuasive. The Applicant has stated that FRIESEN does not speak to using velocity information to identify a deteriorated component. The Examiner agrees with this statement as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above because KEUHN is relied upon to teach this limitation. The Applicant has stated FRIESEN does not teach comparing the measurements of components to each other. The Examiner also agrees with this statement as KEUHN is relied upon to teach this limitation. The Applicant again argues that FRIESEN does not compare measurements of a component to measurements from other components. Again, the Examiner agrees with this statement because KEUHN has been relied upon to teach this limitation. The Applicant then argues that KEUHN “diagnoses damage by comparing two components once, at one moment, and stopping there.” (page 9 para. 2 of the Response) This is not what KEUHN teaches. KEUHN teaches “Instead of a mere temperature measurement, the temperature gradient can be determined over time” on page 9 lines 1-4. KEUHN also teaches “The monitoring is adaptive…when measuring values at different times on the same…group i.e. it adapts to the circumstances of the moment e.g. for rail vehicles: speed” on page 3 lines 23-29. KEUHN continues “The invention is therefore particularly suitable for monitoring…vehicles…which are exposed to different operating states.” This means that because all the multiple components, such as wheel bearings, are all installed on the same vehicle, they all operate together under the same operating conditions. Therefore, the comparisons are always going to be valid even though the operating state of the vehicle keeps changing. The vehicle’s speed, ambient temperature, rail conditions, etc. will always be changing, but at any given time the bearings are always operating under the same conditions so over any stretch of time the bearings have operated under the same conditions as each other even though those conditions are constantly changing. The Applicant has cited the abstract of KEUHN for support that “Keuhn diagnoses damage by comparing two components once, at one moment, and stopping there” (page 9 of the Response). However the abstract states (emphasis added):
The invention relates to a method for continuously monitoring elements or units of any kind, especially elements or units which are subjected to varying operating conditions, for the appearance of changes. According to said method, measurement values of physical variables are determined simultaneously on different elements or units having identical and/or similar characteristics and/or at different times on the same element or same unit. Differences between the measurement values determined are detected and changes are deduced from the differences detected.
The Applicant has also cited page 3 lines 23-34 for support of the assertion that KEUHN only teaches instantaneous comparison, but this passage states (emphasis added):
The monitoring is adaptive both when measuring values on different elements or groups as well as when measuring values at different times on the same element or group, i.e. it adapts to the circumstances of the moment (e.g. for rail vehicles: speed, condition of rail and Wheel tires). This is based on the fact that the analysis is not based on static reference values, but rather on comparison values that are taken in comparable operating states. The simultaneous determination of measured values takes place per se in comparable operating states. When averaging over longer intervals is a prerequisite that this takes place under comparable operating conditions. The invention is therefore particularly suitable for monitoring machines, systems, vehicles and structures or their elements which are exposed to different operating states.
Therefore the passages of KEUHN cited by Applicant clearly teach monitoring over time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL J KOLB/Examiner, Art Unit 2855