DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kalm et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,345,500) in view of Ensor et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0298841).
Regarding claims 1 & 14: Kalm discloses a transport mechanism for engaging a pouch in an erect configuration at a first station of a packaging machine and transferring the pouch to a second station of the packaging machine, the transport mechanism comprising:
a carriage (Figs. 1-4; via carriage 106 and/or 308), that is moveable between the first station and the second station (via; “The picker 106 can be drivingly mounted to support frame 124 to move along the support frame…can move to one or more positions for picking the packages 104 and one or more positions for transferring the packages to the grabbing assembly”); and
a grip assembly (Figs. 1-4; via 234/310 and Figs. 5-8; via 402, 404, 406A, 406B) coupled to “below the carriage” (via gripping mechanism 234/310 positioned below carriage support 106), such that the carriage carries the grip assembly (via 106 carries 234/310), the grip assembly being at least partially moveable relative to the carriage between an engaged position for clamping the pouch in the erect configuration within the grip assembly, and a released position, see for example (Figs. 3-4; via grip mechanism 234 or 310 are movable in respect to the carriage support or beam 106), see annotated figure below.
Kalm does not suggest the use of grip assembly comprises a first grip for engaging a first side of the pouch and a second grip for engaging a second opposite side of the pout, wherein each of the first and the second grips comprise an inner clip for engaging an inner surface of the pouch and an outer clip for engaging an outer surface of the pouch, wherein the inner and outer clips are movable such that the inner and out clips move close to one another to apply pressure on the pouch to pinch the pouch therebetween. However, Ensor discloses similar mechanism with first and second grippers each comprises an inner and outer clip for engaging inner and outer surfaces of pouch, see for example (Figs. 7-9 & paragraph 0031; via bag holder mechanism 19 comprises clips 55-58 one in each side of the pouch; inherently holding clips will have two moving parts toward and away from each other to open and close in order to grip and apply pressure on the pouch from inner/outer surfaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention, to have modified Kalm’s grip assembly, by having first and second gripping mechanism each with an inner and outer clips to engage both sides of the pouch, as suggested by Ensor, in order to assure stronger grip and hold of the pouch and enhances the reliability of the bag handling process (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claims 2 & 15: Kalm discloses that wherein the first and second grip are each configured to clamp the pouch in the erected configuration at the first station to allow for loading of a product into the pouch through an open end of the pouch (Figs. 4-8; via opposite gripping mechanism 406A/406B).
Regarding claims 3 & 16: Kalm discloses that the carriage is moveable along a machine transfer direction between the first station and the second station, and wherein the grip assembly is rotatable about a rotational axis that is perpendicular to the machine transfer direction, see for example (Figs. 3-4; via movement of 106 and/or 308).
Regarding claim 7: Kalm further comprising a controller in communication with the transport mechanism and operable to automatically control operation of at least one of the grip assembly and the carriage, see for example (Fig. 9; via controller 902).
Regarding claim 8: Kalm discloses that the first station is an erecting station that includes a landing for receiving the pouch and a pulling assembly configured to engage the pouch, the pulling assembly being moveable relative to the landing for erecting the pouch on the landing (Figs. 3-8; via gripping and erecting the pouch mechanism), and wherein the second station is a sealing station that is configured to close the pouch (Fig. 2; via sealing station 118).
Regarding claim 9: Kalm suggests that the carriage is moveable along a machine transfer direction between the first station and the second station, and wherein the pulling assembly comprises at least one vacuum suction cup operable to selectively engage and erect the pouch, the at least one vacuum suction cup being moveable in a direction perpendicular to the machine transfer direction (via moving mechanism of 106/304).
Regarding claim 10: Kalm discloses that the packaging machine includes a frame at least partially defining the first station and the second station (Figs. 1-4; via the shown machine’s frame), and wherein the transport mechanism further comprises a track extending along the frame from the first station to the second station, the carriage being moveable along the track (via the shown movement of 106 along the machine’s frame).
Regarding claim 11: Kalm discloses that the carriage is moveable along a machine transfer direction between the first station and the second station (via movement of 106/304 between different positions), wherein the grip assembly comprises a first grip and second grip each rotatably coupled to the carriage, the first grip being offset from the second grip in a closing direction that is perpendicular to the machine transfer direction, the first and second grip being moveable relative to the carriage in the closing direction between a first configuration in which the first grip is spaced from the second grip and a second configuration in which the first grip contacts the second grip (via the rotating mechanism of 106; “The picker 106 can rotate to the transport orientation”).
Regarding claim 12: Kalm suggests that the second station comprises an adhesive applicator (via sealing devices 120) configured to dispense an adhesive onto an inner surface of the pouch while the grip assembly holds the pouch in the erected configuration (column 16, lines 27-33).
Regarding claim 13: Kalm discloses that the carriage is moveable along a machine transfer direction between the first station and the second station (via movement of 106/108), and wherein the second station comprises a pair of pressure bars offset from one another (Fig. 2, shows offset bars) in a closing direction that is perpendicular to the machine transfer direction, the pressure bars each being moveable in the closing direction for sealing the pouch, see for example (claim 1).
Regarding claims 4 & 17: Ensor discloses that the outer clip being positioned below the inner clip, (Fig. 19; via 141 structurally appears to be positioned below 131).
Regarding claims 5 & 18: Ensor discloses that the grip assembly further comprises a first rod rotatably coupled to the carriage and rotatable about a first rotational axis and a second rod rotatably coupled to the carriage and rotatable about a second rotational axis, the inner clip being coupled to the first rod and the outer clip being coupled to the second rod, see for example (Figs. 19-21; the shown rotating and supporting rod and/or mechanisms via conveyor and wheels 51/52).
Regarding claims 6 & 19: Ensor discloses that the grip assembly transitions from the released position to the engaged position, the first rod rotates in a first rotational direction and the second rod rotates in a second, opposite, rotational direction (Figs. 19-21 via the gripping and releasing positions of 131/141).
Regarding claim 21: Ensor discloses the first rod and the inner clip are positioned vertically above the respective second rod and outer clip, see for example (Figs. 19-21; via the shown orientations of vertical portion rod of 131 and/or 141).
Regarding claim 22: Kalm discloses that the packaging machine further comprises a tube conveyor for conveying a flattened tube of stock packaging material to a separator, wherein the separator separates a custom length of the flattened tube to form the container, see for example (Figs. 3-4 and “the package 104, e.g., which may separate sides of the package 104 that may have been incompletely opened or separated by action of the separators 406A and 406B alone”; the noted “package” could be considered as tube).
Regarding claim 23: Kalm further comprises a tube conveyor for conveying a flattened tube of stock packaging material to a separator, wherein the separator separates a custom length of the flattened tube to form the container, see for example (“The output station 122 can include a suitable receptacle, conveyor…transport the of package 104”; Figs. 3-4 and “the package 104”; again, it is noted that “package” 104 could be considered as tube).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant continue to argue similarly to the previously filed response on April 30, 2025 and latest conducted interview on June 15, 2026 that the secondary applied art of Ensor ‘841 discloses the use of clips 55/56 to be positioned on the front side of bag holder 19 and bag clips 57/58 positioned on back side of the bag holder 19. Applicant argues that ‘841 uses clips 55-58 positioned on the bag holder 19, therefore, they can only engage to hold the outer surface of the bag.
The Office after considering carefully applicant’s filed response in light of the latest conducted interview, continue to believes that ‘841 uses the mentioned clips 55-58 in combination of the holder members or sides 19 to grip and keep the bag open in a similar manner as suggested by the claimed invention.
The office believes that ‘841 shows each single clip member of 55-58 positioned in the outside surface of the bag to grip the bag, while holder 19 having four different members of surfaces to hold against the inner surfaces of the bag and to be corroborating with clips 55-58 to keep the bag open, see for example (paragraphs 0031-0032; clearly explaining that tabs 66/67 are to be pressed in to allow clips 55-58 to open then to be closed pressing against the outer bag surface while having holder 19 pressing against the inner surface of the bag).
It is noted that the bag sides are positioned and gripped using outer gripping clips 55-58 and inner holder members 19 (paragraph 0032; “In addition to strong clips 55, 56, 57, and 58, lighter duty clips 156 are used to hold bag 18 to bag holder 19”), see annotated figure below.
In respect to applicant’s arguments that the applied art ‘841 only help in holding the bag open after being positioned between the clips and holder not to actually open the bag. The office believes that such made arguments are more of an intended use of the claimed “grip assembly”. It is noted that, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Further, the Office believes that giving claims the broadest reasonable meaning it appears that no positive limitations are referring to the argued upon issue of using the “grip assembly” for the purpose of opening the bag, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMEH TAWFIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731