Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins et al. (US 20190109932 A1 dated 2015-05-23) in view of Jin et al. (US 20050101287 A1 dated 2003-11-10), hereinafter Higgins-Jin
As to Claim 1, Higgins et al. (US 20190109932 A1 dated 2015-05-23) discloses: A computer-implemented method comprising:
Higgins et al. (US 20190109932 A1 dated 2015-05-23) discloses determining, by the apparatus and based at least in part on the first message, whether to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system (Paragraph [0014] – “transmits an emergency message comprising of alert siren, images, videos, audio and geographic location of the smart phone to a central server/cloud in logical communication with DPDs of a law enforcement agency and other emergency responders over a wide area network (WAN)/Internet or directly to DPDs of a law enforcement agency and other emergency responders by using PSTN network and services such as but not limited to Phone call, SMS” Here the prior art would not transmit an emergency message without determining that the message is associated with an emergency service system);
in response to determining, based at least in part on the first message, to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system (Paragraph [0057] – “In these situations the emergency message may be transmitted via SMS (short message service) or via secondary medium such as bluetooth, wifi etc to the emergency responders/law enforcement and other agencies.” Here the prior art does not check if the message is associated with an emergency service system until the network quality is low),
determining by the apparatus that a connection quality for the wireless network does not satisfy a connection quality threshold, which determination would not have been made when the first message is not treated as being associated with an emergency service system (Paragraph [0011] – “Still it is a further object of the present invention is to provide a system which works when there is low network signal strength and when the data connection as such is not available on mobile communication device. In these situations the emergency message may be transmitted via SMS (short message service) or via secondary medium such as bluetooth, wifi etc to the emergency responders/law enforcement and other agencies.”)
Higgins teaches the step of determining that it is an emergency message, and the step of determining if low network quality happens. However, Higgins teaches first the step of determining if low network quality happens. Higgins does not teach the emergency determination occurring prior to the determination of low network quality. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to perform changing the sequence of the determination steps, since selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
Higgins et al. (US 20190109932 A1 dated 2015-05-23) discloses sending, by the wireless device and via the wireless network, the reduced-size message (Paragraph [0057] – “In these situations the emergency message may be transmitted via SMS (short message service) or via secondary medium such as bluetooth, wifi etc to the emergency responders/law enforcement and other agencies.”).
Higgins et al. (US 20190109932 A1 dated 2015-05-23) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jin et al. (US 20050101287 A1 dated 2003-11-10) discloses Receiving, by an apparatus that implements at least a portion of a wireless device, a request to send, over a wireless network, a first message comprising one or more phrases (Paragraph [0032] – “Notably, some subsystems, such as keyboard 232 and display 222, for example, may be used for both communication-related functions, such as entering a text message for transmission over a communication network,”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins et al. to include the means to sending a message comprising one or more phrases as taught by wireless network of Jin et al. in order to find whether the message needs to be reduced-size message or not.
Higgins et al. (US 20190109932 A1 dated 2015-05-23) does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Jin et al. (US 20050101287 A1 dated 2003-11-10) discloses generating, by the apparatus and responsive to determining that the connection quality threshold is not satisfied, a reduced-size message based at least in part on the one or more phrases (Paragraph [0050] – “These emergency text messages may be in the form of a short message service (SMS) message and/or an e-mail message, for example, which are communicated to some form of a Public-Safety Answering Point (PSAP) supporting messages.”); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins et al. to include the means to emergency text messages as taught by wireless network of Jin et al. in order to send reduced-size message when connection quality threshold is not satisfied.
Claim 2, 4, 6, 10, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins-Jin as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Proctor (US 20180181656 A1 dated 2018-06-28)
As to claim 2, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor (US 20180181656 A1 dated 2018-06-28) discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the connection quality threshold is not satisfied comprises determining that a network strength indicator associated with the wireless network does not satisfy a network strength indicator threshold. (See paragraph [0020] “channel availability for the verbose response”, “wherein the channel availability is based on channel bandwidth and channel occupancy” it can be wireless network channel availability, refer to broadband system in paragraph [0025]. To a person in the state of art, inherently it would mean to use the network strength indicator threshold to determine the channel availability).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to channel availability basing on channel bandwidth and channel occupancy as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to use the network strength indicator threshold to determine the channel availability.
As to claim 4, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor (US 20180181656 A1 dated 2018-06-28) discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein determining to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system is based at least in part on a destination address of the first message. (See paragraph [0062], “Prioritizing of a radio query, and its' subsequent response, may be based on context factors, such as radio user identity, rank of requestor, rank of other members of the talkgroup, number of members in the talkgroup. For example, a Fire Chief, a Police Officer, a Detective, to name a few.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to radio user identity meaning a destination address of the message as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to use radio user identity by a destination address of the message pointing to a Fire chief, a Police officer, a Detective, to name a few to prioritize the messages and enhance efficiency of operation.
As to claim 6, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: detecting a predefined phrase in the one or more phrases; and generating the reduced-size message comprising, in a body of the reduced-size message, a bit string that is mapped to the predefined phrase, the bit string having fewer bits than the predefined phrase. (see Paragraph [0017], “Adjusting verbosity through the use of a condensed response can be accomplished in many ways, for example by using acronyms instead of complete words, using alternative shorter words, removing extraneous words, and using predetermined codenames, to name a few.” It is considered that the use of acronyms instead of complete words and/or using a predetermined codename reads on the generated reduced-size message and wherein the predefined phrase inherently reads on the “complete words” and/or text associated with the predetermined codename)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to adjusting verbosity through the use of a condensed response as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to more efficiently use channel bandwidth for high priority messages.
As to claim 10, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: generating, using a compression engine that produces a human-readable summary from human-readable input, a human-readable summary corresponding to the one or more phrases, the human-readable summary having fewer bits than the one or more phrases; and including the human-readable summary in a body of the reduced-size message. (see Paragraph [0017], “for example by using acronyms instead of complete words, using alternative shorter words, removing extraneous words, and using predetermined codenames, to name a few.” “For example, condensing a response by removing less important information from the response”, here AI server is the engine that is running language processing and response capability of virtual assistance, See fig 1A 104)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to generating the reduced-size message through the use of a condensed response as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to more efficiently use channel bandwidth for high priority messages.
As to claim 11, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The method of claim 1, comprising: determining, after sending the reduced-size message, that an updated connection quality for the wireless network satisfies the connection quality threshold; and after sending the reduced-size message and based on determining that the updated connection quality for the wireless network satisfies the connection quality threshold, sending, by the wireless device via the wireless network, a second message based on the message, the second message having more bits than the reduced-size message. (See paragraph [0017], “For example, condensing a response by removing less important information from the response or sending less important information at a later time when channel availability has improved will enhance overall operational efficiency.” To a person in the state of art, it is also understood that the whole message including less important information can be sent at a later time when channel availability has improved)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to less important information sending when the connection quality is good as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to send less important information at a later time when channel availability has improved.
As to claim 12, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor further discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the first message and the second message comprise the same body. (See paragraph [0020] “channel availability for the verbose response”, if the channel is fully available, a verbose response is sent, if not, then adjusted message is sent; See paragraph [0017], “For example, condensing a response by removing less important information from the response or sending less important information at a later time when channel availability has improved will enhance overall operational efficiency.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to fully available channel for the verbose response by Proctor in order to send less important information at a later time when channel availability has improved, otherwise to send the adjusted message.
As to claim 13, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The method of claim 11, wherein the second message comprises a reduced-size message that does not include a human-readable summary. (See paragraph [0020] “channel availability for the verbose response”, if the channel is fully available, a verbose response is sent, if not, then adjusted message is sent; See paragraph [0017], “For example, condensing a response by removing less important information from the response or sending less important information at a later time when channel availability has improved will enhance overall operational efficiency.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to less available channel for the condense response as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to condense a response by removing less important information from the response to form a reduced-size message for less available channel.
As to claim 14, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: providing, as input to an encoder trained to generate a compressed bit stream using at least in part a model, the one or more phrases to cause the encoder to generate a compressed bit stream having fewer bits than the one or more phrases; and generating the reduced-size message comprising the compressed bit stream to enable a decoder to produce an uncompressed version of the one or more phrases based at least in part on the model. (Paragraph [0017], “forming condensed responses”, “for example by using acronyms instead of complete words, using alternative shorter words, removing extraneous words, and using predetermined codenames, to name a few.” Here AI server is the encoder, it compresses responses)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Higgins-Jin to include the means to generate the reduced-size message as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to more efficiently use channel bandwidth for high priority messages.
As to claim 15, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the request to send the first message requests that the first message be sent via a cellular network. (“communication system 200 may be a broadband system”, see paragraph [0025], to a person in the state of the art both cellular and satellite network are well known as part of the broadband system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Higgins-Jin to include the means to sending the message via broadband system including cellular network as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to send the message successfully.
As to claim 16, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the request to send the first message requests that the first message be sent via a satellite network. (“communication system 200 may be a broadband system”, see paragraph [0025], to a person in the state of the art both cellular and satellite network are well known as part of the broadband system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Higgins-Jin to include the means to sending the message via broadband system including satellite network as taught by wireless network of Proctor in order to send the message successfully.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins-Jin as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Gellens et al (US 20170374538, dated 2017-12-28)
As to claim 5, The combination of Higgins-Jin does not explicitly recite: The method of claim 1, wherein determining to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system is based at least in part on an indication that the wireless device attempted to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network.
Gellens et al discloses discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein determining to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system is based at least in part on an indication that the wireless device attempted to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network. (See Fig. 14 1415 where the emergency call server connection can not be established or it does not support a threshold bandwidth, threshold QoS. See Paragraph [0223]. See fig. 3C and 3D where the PS connection does not support a threshold quality. Paragraph [0144]. “At step 362, the terminal 110-f may receive a voice call-back from eCall server 205-f (or from the PSAP 210-f if the eCall server 205-f has communicated information received in the first signaling message at step 352 to the PSAP 210-f at step 366), for establishing a CS connection with the eCall server 205-f.” The callback is in response to a failed emergency call, which the Examiner views as equivalent to occurring within a "threshold period of time". It is noted that threshold period of time is not defined in the claim).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Higgins-Jin to include the means to emergency service system as taught by wireless network of Gellens et al. in order to prioritize emergency messages
Claim 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins-Jin as applied in claim 1 and further in view of Lafleur et al. (US 20100169441 A1 dated 2010-07-01), hereinafter Higgins-Jin-Lafleur
As to claim 7, The combination of Higgins-Jin teaches limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly recite: wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase satisfies a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is satisfied, encoding, in a body of the reduced-size message, a representation for the next phrase, the representation having fewer bits than the next phrase.
In an analogous art, Lafleur et al. discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises:
predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression)
determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase satisfies a threshold likelihood;
determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases;
and responsive to determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is satisfied, encoding, in a body of the reduced-size message, a representation for the next phrase, the representation having fewer bits than the next phrase. (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression; [0015], means for predictive text entry during composition of a message (MSG) in conjunction with means for compressing the composed message, Fig. 4A, 4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Higgins-Jin to include the means to predictive text entry and text compression as taught by wireless network of Lafleur et al. in order to reduce the size of the message which enables reducing the congestion in the network.
As to claim 9, The combination of Higgins-Jin teaches limitations of claim 1, but does not explicitly recite: wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase does not satisfy a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the likelihood that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is not satisfied, encoding, in the body of the reduced-size message, the phrase.
In an analogous art, Lafleur et al. further discloses The method of claim 1, wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression)
determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase does not satisfy a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the likelihood that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is not satisfied, encoding, in the body of the reduced-size message, the phrase. (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression; [0015], means for predictive text entry during composition of a message (MSG) in conjunction with means for compressing the composed message, Fig. 4A, 4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Higgins-Jin to include the means to predictive text entry and text compression as taught by wireless network of Lafleur et al. in order to reduce the size of the message which enables reducing the congestion in the network.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higgins-Jin-Lafleur as applied to claim 7 and further in view of Mori (US 10289356 A1 dated 2019-05-14)
As to Claim 8, The combination of Higgins-Jin-Lafleur et al. does not explicitly recite comprising: determining the threshold likelihood based at least in part on a number of characters included in the one or more phrases.
In an analogous art, Mori teaches a compression unit configured to generate compression data formed by compressing the data and discloses: comprising: determining the threshold likelihood based at least in part on a number of characters included in the one or more phrases. (Claim 14, “the threshold bandwidth value of the network relative to one of either a data size of the data or a page count of the data is used to determine whether the data is to be compressed, and whether the data is to be compressed is dynamically determined in accordance with the threshold bandwidth value of the network relative to the one of the data size of the data or the page count of the data that is used in determining the compression level.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Higgins-Jin-Lafleur to include the means to data compression based on the threshold bandwidth value as taught by wireless network of Mori in order to compress the size of the message using a threshold value depending on the number of characters in the message.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 20050101287 A1 dated 2003-11-10) in view of Krening et al. (US 20150304983 A1 dated 2014-04-22), hereinafter Jin-Krening
As to claim 17, Jin et al. (US 20050101287 A1 dated 2003-11-10) discloses: An apparatus comprising processing circuitry and memory on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the processing circuitry, to cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
Receiving, for a wireless device, that includes the processing circuitry, a request to send, over a wireless network, a first message comprising one or more phrases (Paragraph [0032] – “Notably, some subsystems, such as keyboard 232 and display 222, for example, may be used for both communication-related functions, such as entering a text message for transmission over a communication network,”);
in response to determining to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system, determining that a connection quality for the wireless network does not satisfy a connection quality threshold (Paragraph [0050] – “In general, the sending of the emergency text message is the only time that the transceiver is powered on in state 306.” Paragraph [0013] – “In one illustrative example, a predetermined condition such as an unsatisfactory temperature or a low battery voltage is detected at the mobile communication device”);
generating, responsive to determining that the connection quality threshold is not satisfied, a reduced-size message based at least in part on the one or more phrases (Paragraph [0050] – “These emergency text messages may be in the form of a short message service (SMS) message and/or an e-mail message, for example, which are communicated to some form of a Public-Safety Answering Point (PSAP) supporting messages.”); and
sending, via the wireless network, the reduced-size message (Paragraph [0050] – “In general, the sending of the emergency text message is the only time that the transceiver is powered on in state 306.”).
Jin does not explicitly recite detecting an indication that the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network; determining whether to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system based at least in part on an indication that the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network;
In an analogous art, Krening et al. (US 20150304983 A1 dated 2014-04-22) discloses detecting an indication that the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network (Paragraph [0095] – “If the access point 515f is unable to connect to the emergency mesh network after waiting a predetermined period of time, then the emergency mesh network plan may specify that access point 515f may next attempt to connect to the access point 515h in an attempt to connect to the emergency mesh network”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jin et al. to include the means to being unable to perform an emergency call as taught by wireless network of Krening et al. in order to find the wireless device not being able to perform an emergency call after waiting a period of time.
In an analogous art, Krening et al. (US 20150304983 A1 dated 2014-04-22) discloses: determining whether to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system based at least in part on an indication that the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network; (Paragraph [0095] – “If the access point 515f is unable to connect to the emergency mesh network after waiting a predetermined period of time, then the emergency mesh network plan may specify that access point 515f may next attempt to connect to the access point 515h in an attempt to connect to the emergency mesh network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless network of Jin to include the means to emergency service system as taught by wireless network of Krening et al. in order to deal with the emergency situation where the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call within a threshold time period.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin-Krening as applied in claim 17 and further in view of Proctor (US 20180181656 A1 dated 2018-06-28)
As to claim 18, The combination of Jin-Krening does not explicitly recite but in an analogous art, Proctor discloses: The apparatus of claim 17, wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: detecting a predefined phrase in the one or more phrases; and generating the reduced-size message comprising, in a body of the reduced-size message, a bit string that is mapped to the predefined phrase, the bit string having fewer bits than the predefined phrase. (see Paragraph [0017], “Adjusting verbosity through the use of a condensed response can be accomplished in many ways, for example by using acronyms instead of complete words, using alternative shorter words, removing extraneous words, and using predetermined codenames, to name a few.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Jin-Krening to adjusting verbosity mapping to the predefined phrase or acronyms as taught by wireless network of Proctor et al. in order to increase efficiency of operation and reduce congestion.
Claim 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin-Krening as applied in claim 17 and further in view of Lafleur et al. (US 20100169441 A1 dated 2010-07-01)
As to claim 19, The combination of Jin-Krening teaches limitations of claim 17, but does not explicitly recite: wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase satisfies a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is satisfied, encoding, in a body of the reduced-size message, a representation for the next phrase, the representation having fewer bits than the next phrase.
In an analogous art, Lafleur et al. discloses: wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression)
determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase satisfies a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is satisfied, encoding, in a body of the reduced-size message, a representation for the next phrase, the representation having fewer bits than the next phrase. (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression; [0015], means for predictive text entry during composition of a message (MSG) in conjunction with means for compressing the composed message, Fig. 4A, 4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Jin-Krening to include the means to predictive text entry and text compression as taught by wireless network of Lafleur et al. in order to reduce the size of the message which enables reducing the congestion in the network.
As to claim 20, The combination of Jin-Krening teaches limitations of claim 17, but does not explicitly recite: wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase does not satisfy a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the likelihood that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is not satisfied, encoding, in the body of the reduced-size message, the phrase.
In an analogous art, Lafleur discloses: wherein generating the reduced-size message comprises: predicting, using at least in part a natural language processing model, a likelihood of a next phrase following a phrase of the one or more phrases; (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression)
determining that the likelihood that the next phrase follows the phrase does not satisfy a threshold likelihood; determining that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases; and responsive to determining that the likelihood that the next phrase occurs after the phrase in the one or more phrases and that the threshold likelihood is not satisfied, encoding, in the body of the reduced-size message, the phrase. (See paragraph [0014], employing predictive text entry (PTE) and text compression; [0015], means for predictive text entry during composition of a message (MSG) in conjunction with means for compressing the composed message, Fig. 4A, 4B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless networks of Jin-Sennett-Krening to include the means to predictive text entry and text compression as taught by wireless network of Lafleur et al. in order to reduce the size of the message which enables reducing the congestion in the network.
Remarks/Arguments
All the remarks and arguments posted on 09/10/2025 have been reviewed.
In response to applicant’s arguments “The combination of Jin, Hassan, and Higgins does not teach or suggest in response to determining, based at least in part on the first message, to treat the first message as being associated with an emergency service system”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here Higgins first finds that there is low network signal strength, in that situation the emergency message is transmitted via SMS. On the other hand, the claim finds that a message is an emergency message, then it finds that a connection quality for the wireless network does not satisfy a connection quality threshold, then it sends reduced size emergency message. Here the sequence of activities of Higgins and the application are different, but the end result is the same. Both are sending reduced size emergency message when a connection quality for the wireless network does not satisfy a connection quality threshold. Please refer to MPEP 2144.04 C. Changes in Sequence of Adding Ingredients:
“Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.).”
In response to Applicant’s arguments “However, Krening’s disclosure that “[i]f the access point 515f is unable to connect to the emergency mesh network ...” (emphasis added) does not disclose or suggest “detecting an indication that the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call,” (emphasis added) as recited in claim 17.”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Here Krening is not able to connect to the emergency mesh network whereas the application claim says the same thing that the wireless device was unable to perform an emergency call.
In response to Applicant’s arguments “Further, Krening’s disclosure that of an inability “to connect to the emergency mesh network after waiting a predetermined period of time ...” (emphasis added) does not disclose or suggest “an emergency call within a threshold time period of receiving the request to send the first message via the wireless network,” (emphasis added) as recited in claim 17”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Krening after waiting a predetermined period of time specifies that it attempts to connect to the emergency mesh network. The claim in the application is referring to a predetermined period of time by threshold time period. Connecting to the emergency mesh network may mean making an emergency call or sending an emergency message that is claimed by the application.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAH AL MAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646