DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a second main panel described in claims 10 and 15 and the second main panel as well as the panels folded over must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). As best understood in figs.1 and 15, the binding device is divided into panels having a plurality of segments (104) and Applicant has not specifically designated which one would be considered a second main panel. For the purpose of examination, the office has subdivided the panels to comprise a first and second main panel as set forth in claim 10. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the second engagement feature" in line 12 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 7-10 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robins U.S. Patent No. (4,383,526).
With respect to claim 2, Robins discloses a binding device or splint (shown in figs.1-7) for compressing pelvic structures of a patient ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]) the binding device comprising:
a first main body or base panel (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) that is configured to encircle at least part of the pelvic structure (as shown in figs.5-6) and ([Col.2], lines 11-18), the first main body (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) having a first engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) and ([Col. 6], lines 27-31, one segment can be nestably received within another segment and the two segments can be held fast to each other as by cravats extended through aligned apertures] that is configured to engage with a first constriction tourniquet assembly (cravat C, figs.3-4 and 6-7) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63);
wherein the first main body or base panel (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) comprises a plurality of panels (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below) each panel being hingedly connected by a hinged connection via (fold lines 14 and 18, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 36-39) to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels (as shown in fig.1).
With respect to claim 7, Robins discloses a binding device or splint (shown in figs.1-7) for compressing pelvic structures of a patient ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]), the binding device comprising:
a first main body or base panel (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) that is configured to encircle at least part of the pelvic structure (as shown in figs.5-6) and ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]), the first main body (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) having a first engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) and ([Col. 6], lines 27-31, one segment can be nestably received within another segment and the two segments can be held fast to each other as by cravats extended through aligned apertures] that is configured to engage with a first constriction tourniquet assembly (cravat C, figs.3-4 and 6-7) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63);
wherein a proximal panel of a plurality of panels of the first main body (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 above) is configured to fold against a second panel of the plurality of panels, thereby reducing the length of the first main body (as shown in figs.2-4).
With respect to claim 8, Robins discloses the first engagement feature comprises a primary engagement slot (46, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63) defined by the primary panel, the primary engagement slot being configured to receive a portion of the constriction tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63).
With respect to claim 9, Robins discloses the second panel defines a secondary engagement slot (46, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63) that aligns with the primary engagement slot (46, fig.1) when the proximal panel is folded over the second panel (as shown in figs.2-4).
With respect to claim 10, Robins discloses a binding device or splint (shown in figs.1-7) for compressing pelvic structures of a patient ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]), the binding device comprising:
a first main body (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below) that is configured to encircle at least part of the pelvic structure (as shown in fig.5) and ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]), the first main body having a first engagement feature (46, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63) that is configured to engage with a first constriction tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63);
a second main body (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below) coupled to the first main body, wherein:
the tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63) comprises an elongated member (as shown in figs.3-4); the first engagement feature is a first engagement slot (46, fig.1) that is defined by a proximal panel (16a-c) of the first main body (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below), the first engagement slot (46) being configured to receive the elongated member of the tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63); and the second engagement feature is a second engagement slot (46, fig.1) that is defined by a distal panel (20a-c) of a plurality of panels of the second main body (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below), the second engagement slot (46) being configured to receive the elongated member or cravat (c) of the tourniquet assembly (as shown in figs.3-4).
With respect to claim 17, Robins discloses a binding device or splint (shown in figs.1-7) for compressing pelvic structures of a patient ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]) the binding device comprising:
a tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63);
a binding device comprising a first main body or base panel (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) that is configured to encircle at least part of the pelvic structure ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]) and (figs.5-6), the binding device having a first engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) and ([Col. 6], lines 27-31, one segment can be nestably received within another segment and the two segments can be held fast to each other as by cravats extended through aligned apertures] and ([Col.3], lines 53-63) engaged with the tourniquet assembly (cravat C, figs.3-4 and 6-7) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63);
wherein the first main body (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) comprises a plurality of panels (as shown in the image above), each panel being hingedly connected to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels via (fold lines 14 and 18, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 36-39), wherein a first panel of the plurality of panels of the first main body is configured to fold against a second panel of the plurality of panels of the first main body, thereby moving the first main body towards a stowable configuration; Note: fig.1 shows the splint in the expanded or flat position and figs.2-7 shows the splint in the assembled position in which the length of the main body has been shorten, hence, allowing it to be stowed, as for example, underneath a bed or sofa when not in use; ([Col.1], lines 17-22, the primary object of the invention is to provide a traction splint for use as soon as it could be applied to a fractured femur and held in place until the orthopedic surgeon could take corrective measures. The time consumed might range anywhere from five minutes to five hours]. Note: stowed position is being interpreted as “when not in use”;
each panel being hingedly connected by a hinged connection via (fold lines 14 and 18, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 36-39) to an adjacent panel of the plurality of panels (as shown in fig.1).
With respect to claim 18, Robins discloses a binding device or splint (shown in figs.1-7) for compressing pelvic structures of a patient ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]), the binding system comprising:
a tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63); and
a binding device comprising a first main body or base panel (10a, 10b and 10c, figs.1 and 3) that is configured to encircle at least part of the pelvic structure ([Col.2], lines 11-18, use in immobilizing such as a broken femur or a hip dislocation, note: the hips are a part of the pelvis]), the binding device having a first engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) and ([Col. 6], lines 27-31, one segment can be nestably received within another segment and the two segments can be held fast to each other as by cravats extended through aligned apertures] engaged with the tourniquet assembly (cravat C, figs.3-4 and 6-7) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63);
wherein the first engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) comprises a primary engagement slot defined by a proximal panel of a plurality of panels of the first main body (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below), and wherein the tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) comprises an elongated member (c) that is received by the first engagement slot (46, figs.3-5).
With respect to claim 19, Robins discloses wherein the tourniquet assembly is engaged with a second engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) and ([Col. 6], lines 27-31, one segment can be nestably received within another segment and the two segments can be held fast to each other as by cravats extended through aligned apertures] of the binding device (as shown in figs.3-5), the second engagement feature via apertures (46, fig.1) comprising a primary engagement slot defined by a distal panel (as shown in the reproduced image of fig.1 below) of one of the first main body and a second main body (16a-c).
With respect to claim 20, Robins discloses the plurality of panels of the first main body comprises a second panel hingedly coupled via (fold lines 14 and 18, fig.1) and ([Col.3], lines 36-39) to the proximal panel, the second panel defining a secondary engagement slot (46, fig.1) that aligns with the primary engagement slot (46, figs.1 and 3-5) of the proximal panel when the proximal panel is folded over onto the second panel such that the first engagement feature comprises the secondary engagement slot (as shown in figs.3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robins as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Grohs et al. U.S. Patent No. (6,250,713 B1).
With respect to claim 3, Robins substantially discloses the invention as claimed except the hinged connection is a living hinge.
Grohs et al. however, teaches a lifting member comprising side panels hinged to a main portion, such as by a living hinge ([Col.5], lines 64-67) and (figs.5-6).
In view of the teachings of Grohs et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the hinged connection of Robins by incorporating a living hinge in order to allow the panels to be able to bend or rotate.
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Robins/Grohs et al. substantially discloses the invention as claimed, Robins further discloses the first engagement feature is an engagement slot (46, fig.1) defined by a proximal panel of the plurality of panels, the first engagement slot being configured to receive an elongated member of the tourniquet assembly or cravat (c) and ([Col.3], lines 53-63).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Robins/Grohs et al. substantially discloses the invention as claimed. Robins further discloses a first panel of the plurality of panels of the first main body is configured to fold against a second panel of the plurality of panels of the first main body (as shown in figs.3-5), thereby moving the first main body towards a stowable configuration; as for example, underneath a bed or sofa when not in use ([Col.1], lines 17-22, the primary object of the invention is to provide a traction splint for use as soon as it could be applied to a fractured femur and held in place until the orthopedic surgeon could take corrective measures. The time consumed might range anywhere from five minutes to five hours]. Note: stowed position is being interpreted as “when not in use”.
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Robins/Grohs et al. substantially discloses the invention as claimed. Robins further discloses each of the plurality of panels of the first main body is folded against at least one other panel of the plurality of panels (as shown in figs.3-5), when the first main body is in the stowable configuration, as for example, underneath a bed or sofa when not in use ([Col.1], lines 17-22, the primary object of the invention is to provide a traction splint for use as soon as it could be applied to a fractured femur and held in place until the orthopedic surgeon could take corrective measures. The time consumed might range anywhere from five minutes to five hours]. Note: stowed position is being interpreted as “when not in use”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art drawn to Robins fails to show or make obvious the claimed combinations of elements particularly the limitations as set forth in independent claim 15 and dependent claims 14-15 which recite features not taught or suggested by the prior art drawn to Robins.
Robins fails to disclose or fairly suggest the steps of or method of using the device, in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the apparatus and method recited in the claims.
The indicated allowability of claims 2-10 and 17-20 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Robins. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow (see rejection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Conclusion
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786