DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2020/0079967).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-7
Xiao discloses an ink composition comprising: (a) greater than 60 wt % of a C5 ketone; (b) one or more binder resins; and (c) one or more colorants; and optionally contains ethanol up to 30 wt % ethanol (claim 1).
Xiao discloses that the one or more binder resins is cellulose acetate propionate (i.e., cellulose ester resin) (claim 10).
Xiao discloses that any suitable binder resin may be used, that more than one binder resin can be used, and that polyurethanes are a suitable binder resin (para 0044). As such it would have been prima facie obvious to use both the cellulose acetate propionate binder resin and a polyurethane binder resin, because combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Xiao discloses the use of methyl propyl ketone (MPK) as the C5 ketone solvent (claim 4).
Xiao discloses that the C5 ketone is greater than 60 wt %, and that the ethanol can be up to 30 % (claim 1). As such the ranges of ratio of MPK to Ethanol in the reference overlaps that claimed the instant invention (i.e., 4:1), and the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Xiao discloses that the binder resin can be used in amounts from about 5.0 to about 13.0 wt %. As such the amount of binder in the reference overlaps the claimed amount the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 8
Xiao discloses that the ink preferably contains less than 2 wt % water (para 0058).
Regarding claim 11
Although Xiao does not disclose the ratio of binders, Xiao does disclose or suggest the use of more than one binder including the use of a polyurethane binder. However, with no other teaching the most obvious ratio of two components would be a 50/50 mixture, which is within the claimed range, making the claimed range obvious.
Regarding claims 12-13
Xiao discloses the use of a conductive agent (claim 13), which broadly reads on a conductive dye.
Regarding claim 14
Xiao discloses the use of a silane based adhesion promoter in amounts up to 2 wt % (para 0057 and claim 13), which overlaps the claimed range making it obvious.
Regarding claim 15
Xiao discloses the use of a surfactant (claim 13).
Regarding claim 16
Xiao disclose the use of a defoamer (claim 13).
Regarding claims 17-18
As Xiao disclose the use of greater than 60 wt % ketone solvent and up to 30 wt % ethanol, the total solids of the reference would overlap the claimed range making it obvious.
Regarding claims 19-20
Although Xiao does not discloses a dry time or resistivity, Xiao does teach or suggest the claimed ink, and the dry time and resistivity are properties of the ink. When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § § 2112- 2112.02.
Regarding claim 21
It is noted that the term about allows for some leeway. For example greater than 60 wt % ketone of the reference is seen to read on about 60 wt % ketone claimed.
Xiao discloses that the ethanol can be used in amounts up to 15 wt % (para 0010).
Xiao discloses that the binder resin can be used in amounts from about 5.0 to about 13.0 wt %. As such the amount of binder in the reference overlaps the claimed amount, and about 6.5 wt % and about 5 wt %, is seen to read on or make obvious a 50/50 mixture of binder resins.
Xiao discloses that the ink is most preferably used in amounts from about 2 to about 8 wt % (para 0051), which is seen to read on or make obvious about 9 wt %.
Xiao discloses that the silane adhesion promoter is used in an amount from about 0.1 to about 2.0 wt %, overlapping the claimed amount, and making it obvious.
Xiao discloses that the surfactant may be used in amounts of about 0.1 wt % (para 0016).
Regarding claims 22-23
Xiao discloses that any suitable binder resin may be used, that more than one binder resin can be used, and discloses many suitable binders (para 0044). As such it would have been prima facie obvious to use both the cellulose acetate propionate binder resin and a polyurethane binder resin with a third resin, because combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 11-23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/834,216 (reference application). Here the reference discloses all of the required claim limitations of the instant invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that there is nothing is Xiao that teaches the claimed MPK to ethanol ratio. This is not persuasive and the teachings of Xiao is a range that overlaps the claimed ratio, as greater than 60 % and up to 30 % will have amounts where the ratio is 4:1, and applicant have still failed to present any evidence of new or unexpected results for the claimed ratio.
Applicants argue that Xiao does not address wet adhesion. While this may be true it is not persuasive as this is not claimed feature, and applicants have not shown that Xiao would be incapable of achieving such results.
Applicants argue that their table 5 shows new and unexpected results. This is not persuasive as some of the inventive examples (i.e., IE11) perform worse than the comparative example, and there is no showing that the closest prior art has been compared. Further, the results are not fully commensurate with the scope of the claims.
Applicants argue that Xiao discourages the use of ethanol. This is not persuasive as Xiao clearly teaches the use of ethanol, and even does such in the claims. Further, as Xiao explicitly discloses the use of ethanol, Xiao cannot and does not teach away from using ethanol. Further still, a reference is good for all that it teaches and is not limited to the specific examples or preferred embodiments.
Applicants argue that Xiao provides no specific teaching of the ratio of MPK to ethanol. While this may be true, the reference teaches amounts of MPK and ethanol, as even admitted by applicants, that inherently would form a range, and this range would include the ratio of 4:1.
Applicants argue that Xiao does not teach the use to 5 % polyurethane resin, along with 10 to 16 % of the polyurethane and cellulose resin combined. This is not persuasive as Xiao discloses the use of up to 13 % binders, and discloses that more than one binder can be used, and without more the most obvious ratio of the two binders would be 50/50, and as such would overlap with the claimed amounts. And applicants have not shown any evidence of new or unexpected results based on the binders used and their amounts, alone or in combination with the other limitations of the claim(s).
Applicants argue that Xiao only teaches polyurethane once in a list of 15 binders. While this may be true it is still a short finite list with predictable results.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734