DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
At the outset, the Examiner notes that independent claim 1 has been amended to include the limitations of claim 2 which was previously indicated as allowable subject matter. As such, claim 1, and claims depending from claim 1 are in condition for allowance. Applicant has amended claim 6 to be an independent claim that does not include the limitations of now cancelled claim 2, thus claim 6 does not recite the subject matter previously indicated as allowable. Applicant has amended claim 6 to recite a second lens spaced apart from a first lens in a vertical direction wherein the second lens is between the first lens and a light source, and argued that the combination of Rutter et al., in view of Petruno et al., do not meet the claim limitations. As detailed below, claim 6 now stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over the teachings of Rutter et al., in view of Straus (US 2003/0082516). Because reference to Straus is newly cited, the Examiner will not argue the merits of its teachings here, but will instead rely on the rejection detailed below. Therefore, in light of the teachings of the prior art, the Examiner contends that the limitations of independent claim 6 are taught by the combination of Rutter et al., in view of Straus, thus the claim is not in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rutter et al., (US 2010/0267049) in view of Straus (US 2003/0082516).
Regarding claim 6, Rutter et al., teach a lateral flow test strip reader (paragraphs 0244, 0247) comprising a lateral flow test strip receptacle (paragraph 0023), a light source (paragraph 0020), an optical detector (paragraph 0026), and at least one lens having a light transmission region (paragraph 0151). Rutter et al., do not teach a second lens spaced apart from a first lens in a vertical direction between the first lens and a light source.
Straus teaches an imaging system comprising first lens (Figure 4, focusing lens), a second lens spaced from the first lens in a vertical direction (Figure 4, collection lens) wherein the second lens is between a light source and the first lens (paragraph 0230, Figure 4). Straus teaches that it is advantageous to provide a first lens spaced vertically from a second lens as a means of allowing a filter wheel to be inserted into the path of a collection lens (paragraph 0229).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Rutter et al., in include a second lens spaced apart in a vertical direction from a first lens in order to allow a filter wheel to be inserted into the path of a collection lens as taught by Straus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10-18, and 36 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a lateral flow test strip reader comprising a housing, a lateral flow test strip receptacle, a light source, an optical detector, at least one lens in the housing between the optical detector and the lateral flow test strip wherein the lens has a an excitation light directing region and an excitation light transmission region wherein the excitation light transmission region comprises an aperture in the lens configured to allow passage of the excitation light to one of a test region and a control region. The prior art closest to the limitations of independent claim 1 is the combination of Rutter et al., in view of Petruno et al. Reference to Rutter et al., teach a lateral flow test strip reader comprising a lateral flow test strip receptacle, light source, optical detector, and at least one lens having a light transmission region. Reference to Petruno et al., teach a diagnostic test system comprising an illumination system having a light source, two light detectors, and two lenses wherein light from the light source transmits through the lenses to control and test regions of a test strip, and emissions from the control and test regions of a test strip transmits through the lenses to the detectors. Neither reference teaches a lens having an excitation light transmission region comprising an aperture, and therefore do not teach or suggest the limitations of independent claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DWAN A GERIDO/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/BRIAN R GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798