DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 6/16/2026 has been entered.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended. Claims 2, 7, 9, 14, and 16-20 are previously presented. Claims 3-6 and 10-13 are original. The current rejection relies on prior art previously relied upon in the December 3, 2024 Office Action. This prior art was not applied to the subsequent claims because the prior art lacked the preventing charging limitation, which the Board later affirmed as new matter. However, the prior art does read on the preventing a scheduled charging limitation of the currently amended claims as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 6/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of reconsideration of previous applied reference ICHIKAWA.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ICHIKAWA (Pub. No.: US 2012/0091958 A1; cited in office action with date 12/3/2024).
Regarding claim 1, ICHIKAWA discloses a method, comprising:
sensing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) charging coupler (310, Figs. 1, 4, & 5) coupled to an inlet (270, Figs. 1-3 & 5) of an electric vehicle (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0066: Vehicle ECU 170 receives a cable connection signal CNCT and a pilot signal CPLT from charging cable 300 via vehicle inlet 270; ¶ 0099: vehicle ECU 170 applies a voltage to connection signal line L3, and a potential of cable connection signal CNCT varies with connection of charging connector 310 to vehicle inlet 270 and operation of operation switch 314. Accordingly, by detecting the potential of cable connection signal CNCT, CPU 508 can detect a connection state of charging connector 310 and an operation state of operation switch 314), wherein the EVSE charging coupler comprises a user-actuated button (314, Figs. 4 & 5; ¶ 0077: operation switch 314 is a release button for operating latch unit 316 in order to prevent disengagement of charging connector 310) that actuates a switch (317, Fig. 5) of the EVSE charging coupler (¶ 0093: Limit switch 317 has a contact opened and closed in response to operation of operation switch 314);
detecting that the switch is actuated by the user-actuated button a certain number of times within an interruption threshold time (¶ 0201: the second modified example details a configuration further including a function of authenticating an operator in addition to the configuration of the first modified example described above. Such configuration can prohibit timer setting by a person other than an authenticated operator (operator to be allowed for operation), thereby preventing change in timer set value that is not intended by the operator who set the timer; ¶ 0205: operator authentication unit 750 determines whether or not an operation pattern of operation switch 314 by the operator matches a preset operation pattern (which corresponds to a security code) for authenticating the operator to be allowed for operation; ¶ 0218: In S1530, vehicle ECU 170 determines whether or not operation switch 314 of charging connector 310 has been operated based on cable connection signal CNCT; ¶ 0223: If operation switch 314 has not been operated (NO in S1530), vehicle ECU 170 determines that the person is not the operator to be allowed for operation; ¶ 0226: If the operator has not been authenticated (NO in S1406), on the other hand, the process proceeds to S1421. Then, vehicle ECU 170 does not allow timer setting operation with operation switch 314, and sets a previously set timer set value as timer time TIM; an “interruption threshold time” is implied in order to allow for operator authentication, and if the operator is not authenticated within said time, the operator is not allowed to perform the timer setting operation); and
in response to the detecting, temporarily preventing the electric vehicle from a scheduled charging (¶ 0105: setting of charging information such as setting of a timer until the start of charging may be made in a vehicle (e.g., a console unit of a driver's seat) or in a control device of the charging cable (e.g., CCID 330 in FIG. 4); ¶ 0108: charging timer setting control for setting a time to start charging; ¶ 0120: At time t7 which is after a lapse of the set timer time, CPU 508 activates control signal S1 in order to start charging operation; ¶ 0144: reset of timer time TIM means setting of a predetermined initial value. An arbitrary time can be set as the initial value; the start of charging occurs based on lapse of a timer, which is interpreted as scheduled charging, said timer having an initial preset value) by temporarily canceling a timer charge setting (i.e., the initial preset value of the timer) of the electric vehicle (¶ 0225: If the operator has been authenticated (YES in S1406), namely, if authentication flag CTF is on, the process proceeds to S1410. The same process as that of FIG. 12 is executed thereafter, and timer setting is performed with operation switch 314; ¶ 0175-0178: FIG. 10 shows a flowchart for illustrating details of the timer setting process of S1120 in FIG. 9. Referring to FIG. 10, in S1410, vehicle ECU 170 determines whether or not operation switch 314 of charging connector 310 has been operated. If operation switch 314 has not been operated (NO in S1410), timer setting has not been made, and so the process proceeds to S1425, where vehicle ECU 170 sets the initial value as timer time TIM. Then, the process returns to the flow shown in FIG. 9. If operation switch 314 has been operated (YES in S1410), on the other hand, time setting operation has been performed; ¶ 0171-0172: In S1060, vehicle ECU 170 performs a process to stop charging…Then, in S1070, vehicle ECU 170 sets the charging flag to be off. Further, in S1080, vehicle ECU 170 returns timer time TIM stored in charging information storage unit 720 to the initial value; the timer time initial value is “temporarily canceled” when the operator is authenticated and operates the switch in order to provide a new, temporary timer setting).
Regarding claim 2, ICHIKAWA discloses sensing by the electric vehicle an interruption signal emitted by an external device, and wherein the temporarily canceling the timer charge setting further comprises: temporarily canceling the timer charge setting based on the interruption signal (¶ 0118, 0155, 0213-0227).
Regarding claim 8, ICHIKAWA discloses a system (¶ 0022: charging system for a vehicle according to the present invention), comprising:
a processor (170, Figs. 1 & 5) that, when executing instructions stored in a memory (¶ 0065: Referring back to FIG. 1, vehicle ECU 170 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a storage device, and input/output buffers, although none is shown in FIG. 1, receives signals from the sensors and the like and outputs control instructions to the devices, and controls electrically powered vehicle 10 and the devices. Such control is not limited to software processing, but may be processed by building dedicated hardware (electronic circuitry); ¶ 0131: functional blocks illustrated in the functional block diagrams of FIGS. 8 and 13 are implemented by hardware or software processing by vehicle ECU 170), is configured to:
sense an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) charging coupler (310, Figs. 1, 4, & 5) coupled to an inlet (270, Figs. 1-3 & 5) of an electric vehicle (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0066: Vehicle ECU 170 receives a cable connection signal CNCT and a pilot signal CPLT from charging cable 300 via vehicle inlet 270; ¶ 0099: vehicle ECU 170 applies a voltage to connection signal line L3, and a potential of cable connection signal CNCT varies with connection of charging connector 310 to vehicle inlet 270 and operation of operation switch 314. Accordingly, by detecting the potential of cable connection signal CNCT, CPU 508 can detect a connection state of charging connector 310 and an operation state of operation switch 314), wherein the EVSE charging coupler comprises a user-actuated button (314, Figs. 4 & 5; ¶ 0077: operation switch 314 is a release button for operating latch unit 316 in order to prevent disengagement of charging connector 310) that actuates a switch (317, Fig. 5) of the EVSE charging coupler (¶ 0093: Limit switch 317 has a contact opened and closed in response to operation of operation switch 314);
detect that the switch is actuated by the user-actuated button a certain number of times within an interruption threshold time (¶ 0201: the second modified example details a configuration further including a function of authenticating an operator in addition to the configuration of the first modified example described above. Such configuration can prohibit timer setting by a person other than an authenticated operator (operator to be allowed for operation), thereby preventing change in timer set value that is not intended by the operator who set the timer; ¶ 0205: operator authentication unit 750 determines whether or not an operation pattern of operation switch 314 by the operator matches a preset operation pattern (which corresponds to a security code) for authenticating the operator to be allowed for operation; ¶ 0218: In S1530, vehicle ECU 170 determines whether or not operation switch 314 of charging connector 310 has been operated based on cable connection signal CNCT; ¶ 0223: If operation switch 314 has not been operated (NO in S1530), vehicle ECU 170 determines that the person is not the operator to be allowed for operation; ¶ 0226: If the operator has not been authenticated (NO in S1406), on the other hand, the process proceeds to S1421. Then, vehicle ECU 170 does not allow timer setting operation with operation switch 314, and sets a previously set timer set value as timer time TIM; an “interruption threshold time” is implied in order to allow for operator authentication, and if the operator is not authenticated within said time, the operator is not allowed to perform the timer setting operation); and
in response to it being detected that the switch was actuated the certain number of times, temporarily prevent the electric vehicle from a scheduled charging (¶ 0105: setting of charging information such as setting of a timer until the start of charging may be made in a vehicle (e.g., a console unit of a driver's seat) or in a control device of the charging cable (e.g., CCID 330 in FIG. 4); ¶ 0108: charging timer setting control for setting a time to start charging; ¶ 0120: At time t7 which is after a lapse of the set timer time, CPU 508 activates control signal S1 in order to start charging operation; ¶ 0144: reset of timer time TIM means setting of a predetermined initial value. An arbitrary time can be set as the initial value; the start of charging occurs based on lapse of a timer, which is interpreted as scheduled charging, said timer having an initial preset value) based on a temporary cancelation of a timer charge setting (i.e., the initial preset value of the timer) of the electric vehicle (¶ 0225: If the operator has been authenticated (YES in S1406), namely, if authentication flag CTF is on, the process proceeds to S1410. The same process as that of FIG. 12 is executed thereafter, and timer setting is performed with operation switch 314; ¶ 0175-0178: FIG. 10 shows a flowchart for illustrating details of the timer setting process of S1120 in FIG. 9. Referring to FIG. 10, in S1410, vehicle ECU 170 determines whether or not operation switch 314 of charging connector 310 has been operated. If operation switch 314 has not been operated (NO in S1410), timer setting has not been made, and so the process proceeds to S1425, where vehicle ECU 170 sets the initial value as timer time TIM. Then, the process returns to the flow shown in FIG. 9. If operation switch 314 has been operated (YES in S1410), on the other hand, time setting operation has been performed; ¶ 0171-0172: In S1060, vehicle ECU 170 performs a process to stop charging…Then, in S1070, vehicle ECU 170 sets the charging flag to be off. Further, in S1080, vehicle ECU 170 returns timer time TIM stored in charging information storage unit 720 to the initial value; the timer time initial value is “temporarily canceled” when the operator is authenticated and operates the switch in order to provide a new, temporary timer setting).
Regarding claim 9, ICHIKAWA discloses the processor is configured to: sense an interruption signal emitted by an external device, and when the processor temporality cancels the timer charge setting, the processor is further configured to: temporarily cancel the timer charge setting based on the interruption signal (¶ 0118, 0155, 0213-0227).
Regarding claim 15, ICHIKAWA discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions (¶ 0065: Referring back to FIG. 1, vehicle ECU 170 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a storage device, and input/output buffers, although none is shown in FIG. 1, receives signals from the sensors and the like and outputs control instructions to the devices, and controls electrically powered vehicle 10 and the devices. Such control is not limited to software processing, but may be processed by building dedicated hardware (electronic circuitry); ¶ 0131: functional blocks illustrated in the functional block diagrams of FIGS. 8 and 13 are implemented by hardware or software processing by vehicle ECU 170) that, when executed by a processor (170, Figs. 1 & 5; ¶ 0065, 0131: see above), cause the processor to perform:
sensing an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) charging coupler (310, Figs. 1, 4, & 5) coupled to an inlet (270, Figs. 1-3 & 5) of an electric vehicle (10, Fig. 1; ¶ 0066: Vehicle ECU 170 receives a cable connection signal CNCT and a pilot signal CPLT from charging cable 300 via vehicle inlet 270; ¶ 0099: vehicle ECU 170 applies a voltage to connection signal line L3, and a potential of cable connection signal CNCT varies with connection of charging connector 310 to vehicle inlet 270 and operation of operation switch 314. Accordingly, by detecting the potential of cable connection signal CNCT, CPU 508 can detect a connection state of charging connector 310 and an operation state of operation switch 314), wherein the EVSE charging coupler comprises a user-actuated button (314, Figs. 4 & 5; ¶ 0077: operation switch 314 is a release button for operating latch unit 316 in order to prevent disengagement of charging connector 310) that actuates a switch (317, Fig. 5) of the EVSE charging coupler (¶ 0093: Limit switch 317 has a contact opened and closed in response to operation of operation switch 314);
detecting that the switch is actuated by the user-actuated button a certain number of times within an interruption threshold time (¶ 0201: the second modified example details a configuration further including a function of authenticating an operator in addition to the configuration of the first modified example described above. Such configuration can prohibit timer setting by a person other than an authenticated operator (operator to be allowed for operation), thereby preventing change in timer set value that is not intended by the operator who set the timer; ¶ 0205: operator authentication unit 750 determines whether or not an operation pattern of operation switch 314 by the operator matches a preset operation pattern (which corresponds to a security code) for authenticating the operator to be allowed for operation; ¶ 0218: In S1530, vehicle ECU 170 determines whether or not operation switch 314 of charging connector 310 has been operated based on cable connection signal CNCT; ¶ 0223: If operation switch 314 has not been operated (NO in S1530), vehicle ECU 170 determines that the person is not the operator to be allowed for operation; ¶ 0226: If the operator has not been authenticated (NO in S1406), on the other hand, the process proceeds to S1421. Then, vehicle ECU 170 does not allow timer setting operation with operation switch 314, and sets a previously set timer set value as timer time TIM; an “interruption threshold time” is implied in order to allow for operator authentication, and if the operator is not authenticated within said time, the operator is not allowed to perform the timer setting operation); and
in response to the detecting, temporarily preventing the electric vehicle from a scheduled charging (¶ 0105: setting of charging information such as setting of a timer until the start of charging may be made in a vehicle (e.g., a console unit of a driver's seat) or in a control device of the charging cable (e.g., CCID 330 in FIG. 4); ¶ 0108: charging timer setting control for setting a time to start charging; ¶ 0120: At time t7 which is after a lapse of the set timer time, CPU 508 activates control signal S1 in order to start charging operation; ¶ 0144: reset of timer time TIM means setting of a predetermined initial value. An arbitrary time can be set as the initial value; the start of charging occurs based on lapse of a timer, which is interpreted as scheduled charging, said timer having an initial preset value) by temporarily canceling a timer charge setting (i.e., the initial preset value of the timer) of the electric vehicle (¶ 0225: If the operator has been authenticated (YES in S1406), namely, if authentication flag CTF is on, the process proceeds to S1410. The same process as that of FIG. 12 is executed thereafter, and timer setting is performed with operation switch 314; ¶ 0175-0178: FIG. 10 shows a flowchart for illustrating details of the timer setting process of S1120 in FIG. 9. Referring to FIG. 10, in S1410, vehicle ECU 170 determines whether or not operation switch 314 of charging connector 310 has been operated. If operation switch 314 has not been operated (NO in S1410), timer setting has not been made, and so the process proceeds to S1425, where vehicle ECU 170 sets the initial value as timer time TIM. Then, the process returns to the flow shown in FIG. 9. If operation switch 314 has been operated (YES in S1410), on the other hand, time setting operation has been performed; ¶ 0171-0172: In S1060, vehicle ECU 170 performs a process to stop charging…Then, in S1070, vehicle ECU 170 sets the charging flag to be off. Further, in S1080, vehicle ECU 170 returns timer time TIM stored in charging information storage unit 720 to the initial value; the timer time initial value is “temporarily canceled” when the operator is authenticated and operates the switch in order to provide a new, temporary timer setting).
Regarding claim 16, ICHIKAWA discloses sensing by the electric vehicle an interruption signal emitted by an external device, and wherein the temporarily canceling the timer charge setting further comprises: temporarily canceling the timer charge setting based on the interruption signal (¶ 0118, 0155, 0213-0227).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10, 12, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and further in view of ARAI (Pub. No.: US 2012/0299538 A1; cited in office action with date 12/3/2024).
Regarding claim 3, ICHIKAWA discloses the method as applied to claim 2, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a radio frequency (rf) signal indicating a double press of an unlock signal from a key fob paired with the electric vehicle.
ARAI discloses the interruption signal is a radio frequency (rf) signal indicating an unlock signal from a key fob (200, Figs. 1-2) paired with the electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0020). It would be obvious to provide the interruption signal as a double press of the unlock signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 5, ICHIKAWA discloses the method as applied to claim 2, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a double actuation of an unlock signal from a key inserted in a door lock of the electric vehicle.
ARAI discloses the interruption signal is an unlock signal from a key of the electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0020). It would be obvious to provide the interruption signal as a double actuation of the unlock signal from the key inserted in a door lock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 10, ICHIKAWA discloses the system as applied to claim 9, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a radio frequency (rf) signal that indicates a double press of an unlock signal from a key fob paired with the electric vehicle.
ARAI discloses the interruption signal is a radio frequency (rf) signal that indicates an unlock signal from a key fob paired with the electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0020). It would be obvious to provide the interruption signal indicates a double press of the unlock signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 12, ICHIKAWA discloses the system as applied to claim 9, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a double actuation of an unlock signal from a key inserted in a door lock of the electric vehicle.
ARAI discloses the interruption signal is an unlock signal from a key of the electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0020). It would be obvious to provide the interruption signal as a double actuation of the unlock signal from the key inserted in a door lock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 17, ICHIKAWA discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 16, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a radio frequency (rf) signal indicating a double press of an unlock signal from a key fob paired with the electric vehicle.
ARAI discloses the interruption signal is a radio frequency (rf) signal indicating an unlock signal from a key fob (200, Figs. 1-2) paired with the electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0020). It would be obvious to provide the interruption signal as a double press of the unlock signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 19, ICHIKAWA discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 16, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a double actuation of an unlock signal from a key inserted in a door lock of the electric vehicle.
ARAI discloses the interruption signal is an unlock signal from a key of the electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0020). It would be obvious to provide the interruption signal as a double actuation of the unlock signal from the key inserted in a door lock.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and further in view of HOU (Pub. No.: US 2022/0169141 A1).
Regarding claim 4, ICHIKAWA discloses the method as applied to claim 2, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a cellular signal indicating a press of a cancel timer charge button of a cellular phone paired with the electric vehicle.
HOU discloses the interruption signal is a cellular signal indicating a press of a cancel timer charge button of a cellular phone paired with the electric vehicle (¶ 0028, 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 7, ICHIKAWA discloses the method as applied to claim 2, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is at least one of: a verbal command, an rf signal, a cellular signal, a near field signal, or a key actuation signal.
HOU discloses the interruption signal is at least one of: a verbal command, an rf signal, a cellular signal (¶ 0028, 0030), a near field signal, or a key actuation signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 11, ICHIKAWA discloses the system as applied to claim 9, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a cellular signal that indicates a press of a cancel timer charge button of a cellular phone paired with the electric vehicle.
HOU discloses the interruption signal is a cellular signal that indicates a press of a cancel timer charge button of a cellular phone paired with the electric vehicle (¶ 0028, 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 14, ICHIKAWA discloses the system as applied to claim 9, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is at least one of: a verbal command, an rf signal, a cellular signal, a near field signal, or a key actuation signal.
HOU discloses the interruption signal is at least one of: a verbal command, an rf signal, a cellular signal (¶ 0028, 0030), a near field signal, or a key actuation signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 18, ICHIKAWA discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 16, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a cellular signal indicating a press of a cancel timer charge button of a cellular phone paired with the electric vehicle.
HOU discloses the interruption signal is a cellular signal indicating a press of a cancel timer charge button of a cellular phone paired with the electric vehicle (¶ 0028, 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ICHIKAWA as applied to claims 1-2, 8-9, and 15-16 above, and further in view of PENILLA (Pub. No.: US 2016/0297316 A1; cited in office action with date 12/3/2024).
Regarding claim 6, ICHIKAWA discloses the method as applied to claim 2, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a verbal command of a user paired with the electric vehicle to cancel the timer charge setting.
PENILLA discloses the interruption signal is a verbal command of a user paired with the electric vehicle to cancel the timer charge setting (¶ 0182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 13, ICHIKAWA discloses the system as applied to claim 9, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a verbal command of a user paired with the electric vehicle to cancel the timer charge setting.
PENILLA discloses the interruption signal is a verbal command of a user paired with the electric vehicle to cancel the timer charge setting (¶ 0182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Regarding claim 20, ICHIKAWA discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium as applied to claim 16, but fails to disclose the interruption signal is a verbal command of a user paired with the electric vehicle to cancel the timer charge setting.
PENILLA discloses the interruption signal is a verbal command of a user paired with the electric vehicle to cancel the timer charge setting (¶ 0182).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the interruption signal as recited in order to provide quick access to or remote operation of the interruption signal, and therefore provide increased user convenience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 9/9/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859