DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 9-12 and 14-15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0065951 A1) in view of Aoki et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0342341 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Arai teaches a multilayer coil component 1 (Figs. 1-5C) comprising:
an element body 10 including a plurality of insulator layers 11-11h (Fig. 3) that are laminated (“lamination structure” para. [0046]);
a coil 25 disposed in the element body; and
a pair of external terminals 23 and 24 electrically connected to the coil,
wherein
the element body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape and includes a pair of main surfaces (top and bottom surface) opposing each other in a first direction (T direction) a pair of end surfaces (left and right surfaces) opposing each other in a second direction (L direction) intersecting with the first direction, and a pair of side surfaces (front and back surfaces) opposing each other in a third direction (W direction) intersecting with the first direction and the second direction,
the pair of external terminals are separated from each other in the second direction and are embedded in the element body apart from the pair of end surfaces and the pair of side surfaces,
each of the pair of external terminals includes an exposed surface 24i (annotated Fig. 1) exposed from one of the main surfaces (bottom surface) and an inner surface 23i disposed in the element body (Fig. 3) (paras. [0025], [0046]-[0047] and [0071]).
Arai does not expressly teach
the exposed surface is formed of a single piece,
each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers that are laminated, and
the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights in the first direction are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions and protrusions on the inner surface.
Aoki et al., hereinafter referred to as “Aoki,” teaches a coil component 1 (Figs. 1-4), wherein
the exposed surface (lower surface of conductor portion 31) is formed of a single piece,
each of the pair of external terminals 3 includes a plurality of electrode layers 13b-13g that are laminated, and
the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights (heights of depressions 21a and protrusions 21b from the exposed surface, annotated Fig. 3A) in the first direction D3 are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions 31a and protrusions 31b on the inner surface (upper surface of conductor portion 31) (para. [0031]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode layers having depressions and protrusions as taught by Aoki to the coil component of Arai to provide steps between the electrode layers and the element body to increase adhesion area, thereby improving adhesion between the external terminals and the element body (para. 0074]).
With respect to claim 2, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein
the inner surface includes an opposing surface (upper surface) opposing the exposed surface and a connecting surface (side surface) connecting the exposed surface and the opposing surface, and
the connecting surface includes the depressions or the protrusions (Arai, para. [0047], Aoki, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 7, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein
the inner surface includes an opposing surface (upper surface) opposing the exposed surface, and
the opposing surface includes the depressions or the protrusions (Arai, para. [0047], Aoki, paras. [0031]).
With respect to claim 9, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers (Arai, L1a-L1f and L2a-L2f, or Aoki, 13b-13) that are laminated (Arai, para. [0047], Aoki, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 10, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 9, wherein the plurality of electrode layers 33a and 33b, and 43a and 43b are laminated in such a way that electrode layers having different sizes when viewed from a lamination direction are adjacent to each other (Aoki, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 11, Arai in view of Aok teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein
the plurality of insulator layers that are laminated in the second direction or in the third direction (Arai, para. [0046]).
With respect to claim 12, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 3, wherein
the plurality of insulator layers that are laminated in the third direction (Arai, para. [0046]).
With respect to claim 14, Arai teaches a multilayer coil component 1 (Figs. 1-5C) comprising:
an element body 10 including a plurality of insulator layers 11-11h (Fig. 3) that are laminated (“lamination structure” para. [0046]);
a coil 25 disposed in the element body; and
a pair of external terminals 23 and 24 electrically connected to the coil,
wherein
the element body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape and includes a pair of main surfaces (top and bottom surface) opposing each other in a first direction (T direction) a pair of end surfaces (left and right surfaces) opposing each other in a second direction (L direction) intersecting with the first direction, and a pair of side surfaces (front and back surfaces) opposing each other in a third direction (W direction) intersecting with the first direction and the second direction,
the pair of external terminals are separated from each other in the second direction and are embedded in the element body apart from the pair of end surfaces and the pair of side surfaces,
each of the pair of external terminals includes an exposed surface 24i (annotated Fig. 1 above) exposed from one of the main surfaces (bottom surface) and an inner surface 23i disposed in the element bod (paras. [0025], [0046]-[0047] and [0071]).
Arai does not expressly teach
the exposed surface does not include an unevenness,
each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers that are laminated, and
the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights in the first direction are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions and protrusions on the inner surface.
Aoki teaches a coil component 1 (Figs. 1-4), wherein
the exposed surface (lower surface of conductor portion 31) does not include an unevenness,
each of the pair of external terminals 3 includes a plurality of electrode layers 13b-13g that are laminated, and
the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights (heights of depressions 21a and protrusions 21b from the exposed surface, annotated Fig. 3A) in the first direction D3 are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions 31a and protrusions 31b on the inner surface (upper surface of conductor portion 31) (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode layers having depressions and protrusions as taught by Aoki to the coil component of Arai to provide steps between the electrode layers and the element body to increase adhesion area, thereby improving adhesion between the external terminals and the element body (para. 0074]).
With respect to claim 15, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 14, wherein
the inner surface includes an opposing surface (upper surface) opposing the exposed surface and a connecting surface (side surface) connecting the exposed surface and the opposing surface, and
the connecting surface includes the depression or the protrusion (Arai, para. [0047], Aoki, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 17, Arai teaches a multilayer coil component 1 (Figs. 1-5C) comprising:
an element body 10 including a plurality of insulator layers 11-11h (Fig. 3) that are laminated (“lamination structure” para. [0046]);
a coil 25 disposed in the element body; and
a pair of external terminals 23 and 24 electrically connected to the coil,
wherein
the element body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape and includes a pair of main surfaces (top and bottom surface) opposing each other in a first direction (T direction) a pair of end surfaces (left and right surfaces) opposing each other in a second direction (L direction) intersecting with the first direction, and a pair of side surfaces (front and back surfaces) opposing each other in a third direction (W direction) intersecting with the first direction and the second direction,
the pair of external terminals are separated from each other in the second direction and are embedded in the element body apart from the pair of end surfaces and the pair of side surfaces,
each of the pair of external terminals includes an exposed surface 24i (annotated Fig. 1) exposed from one of the main surfaces (bottom surface) and an inner surface 23i disposed in the element body (Fig. 3) (paras. [0025], [0046]-[0047] and [0071]). Arai does not expressly teach
each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers that are laminated and directly connected to each other without vias.
each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers that are laminated, and
the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights in the first direction are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions and protrusions on the inner surface.
Aoki teaches a coil component 1 (Figs. 1-4), wherein
each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers 13b-13g that are laminated and directly connected to each other without vias.
the exposed surface (lower surface of conductor portion 31) does not include an unevenness,
each of the pair of external terminals 3 includes a plurality of electrode layers that are laminated, and
the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights (heights of depressions 21a and protrusions 21b from the exposed surface, annotated Fig. 3A) in the first direction D3 are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions 31a and protrusions 31b on the inner surface (upper surface of conductor portion 31) (para. [0031]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the electrode layers as taught by Aoki to the coil component of Arai to provide steps between the electrode layers and the element body to increase adhesion area, thereby improving adhesion between the external terminals and the element body (para. 0074]).
With respect to claim 18, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 17, wherein
the inner surface includes an opposing surface (upper surface) opposing the exposed surface and a connecting surface (side surface) connecting the exposed surface and the opposing surface, and
the connecting surface includes the depression or the protrusion (Arai, para. [0047], Aoki, para. [0031]).
With respect to claim 20, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein the coil includes a plurality of coil conductors that are connected to each other without vias (Aoki, para. [0031]).
Claims 3, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai in view of Aoki, as applied to claims 2, 15 and 18 above, and further in view of Tobita et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0348214 A1).
With respect to claims 3, 16, and 19, Arai in view of Aoki teaches the multilayer coil component according to claims 2, 15 and 18, respectively, wherein
the connecting surface includes a pair of first connecting surfaces 24c2 and 24c3 opposing each other in the second direction (Arai, para. [0047]). Arai in view of Shimoda does not expressly teach
each of the pair of first connecting surfaces includes the depression or the protrusion.
Tobita et al., hereinafter referred to as “Tobita,” teaches a multilayer coil component (Fig. 7B), wherein
each of the pair of first connecting surfaces 34a1 and 34a2 (annotated Fig. 7B) includes the depression 34a or the protrusion 24a3 and 34a4 (para. [0070]).
\
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the connecting surfaces having depression and or protrusion as taught by Tobita to the multilayer coil component of Arai in view of Aoki to control a decrease in a Q-value since it’s possible to reduce loss due to an eddy current by providing depression in the external terminals (para. [0008]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837