CTNF 17/590,888 CTNF 86431 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114 07-42-04 AIA A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 02/12/2026 has been entered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 1-3, 7, 10-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding claims 1, 14 and 17 , the originally written description does not disclose “the inner surface of the pair of external terminals does not include the depressions and the protrusions in a cross-section perpendicular to the lamination direction” as amended. The originally filed drawings are part of the specification, so if applicant can explain how the original drawings discloses the amendment feature, this 112(a) rejection will be withdrawn. 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-3, 7, 10-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 14 and 17 each recites the limitation "the lamination direction" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It’s not also clear what’s intended by “the inner surface of the pair of external terminals does not include the depressions and the protrusions in a cross-section perpendicular to the lamination direction” as amended. The examiner does not clearly understand the intended limitations. Applicant does not state where in the written description supports the amended features. In addition, no explanation is made as to how the drawings has the amended limitations. The 112 rejection as a whole would be withdrawn if applicant can explain where and how the drawings/written description has the amended claim features. For examination purpose, the limitation in question is interpreted as there is no protrusion or depression in the pair of external terminals when viewed in the lamination direction, which is D3 direction. Claims 2, 3, 7, 10-12, 15, 16 and 18-20 are rejected as being directly or indirectly dependent on claim 1, 14 or 17. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 7, 10-12 and 14, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Shimoda et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2019/0051450 A1, hereinafter “Shimoda”) . With respect to claim 1 , best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection , Shimoda teaches a multilayer coil component 1 (annotated Fig. 1) comprising: an element body 10 including a plurality of insulator layers 11 that are laminated; a coil 20 disposed in the element body; and a pair of external terminals 30 and 40 electrically connected to the coil, wherein the element body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape and includes a pair of main surfaces 17 and 18 opposing each other in a first direction (z axis direction), a pair of end surfaces 15 and 16 opposing each other in a second direction (x axis direction) intersecting with the first direction, and a pair of side surfaces 13 and 14 opposing each other in a third direction (y axis direction) intersecting with the first direction and the second direction, the pair of external terminals are separated from each other in the second direction and are embedded in the element body apart from the pair of end surfaces and the pair of side surfaces, each of the pair of external terminals includes an exposed surface (lower exposed surface at surface 17) exposed from one of the main surfaces and an inner surface (side surface and or upper surface) disposed in the element body, the exposed surface is formed of a single piece, each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers 33a and 33b, and 43a and 43b that are laminated, the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights (different height in z axis direction when viewed in x axis direction) in the first direction are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions and protrusions on the inner surface, and the inner surface of the pair of external terminals does not include the depressions and the protrusions in a cross-section perpendicular to the lamination direction (the external terminals have no depressions or protrusions when viewed in y axis direction) (paras. [0032], [0035], [0041]-[0043]). PNG media_image1.png 436 654 media_image1.png Greyscale With respect to claims 2, 15 and 18 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claims 1, 14 and 17, respectively, wherein the inner surface includes an opposing surface (upper surface) opposing the exposed surface and a connecting surface 310 connecting the exposed surface and the opposing surface, and the connecting surface includes the depressions or the protrusions (para. [0046]). With respect to claim 7 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1,wherein the inner surface includes an opposing surface (upper surface) opposing the exposed surface, and the opposing surface includes the depressions or the protrusions (paras. [0041]-[0043]). With respect to claim 10 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of electrode layers are laminated in such a way that electrode layers having different sizes when viewed from a lamination direction are adjacent to each other (paras. [0041]-[0043]). With respect to claim 11 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of insulator layers are laminated in the second direction or in the third direction (para. [0034]). With respect to claim 12 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of insulator layers are laminated in the third direction (para. [0034]). With respect to claim 14 , best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection , Shimoda teaches a multilayer coil component 1 (annotated Fig. 1) comprising: an element body 10 including a plurality of insulator layers 11 that are laminated; a coil 20 disposed in the element body; and a pair of external terminals 30 and 40 electrically connected to the coil, wherein the element body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape and includes a pair of main surfaces 17 and 18 opposing each other in a first direction (z axis direction), a pair of end surfaces 15 and 16 opposing each other in a second direction (x axis direction) intersecting with the first direction, and a pair of side surfaces 13 and 14 opposing each other in a third direction (y axis direction) intersecting with the first direction and the second direction, the pair of external terminals are separated from each other in the second direction and are embedded in the element body apart from the pair of end surfaces and the pair of side surfaces, each of the pair of external terminals includes an exposed surface (lower exposed surface at surface 17) exposed from one of the main surfaces and an inner surface (side surface and or upper surface) disposed in the element body, the exposed surface does not include an unevenness, each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers 33a and 33b, and 43a and 43b that are laminated, the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights (different height in z axis direction when viewed in x axis direction) in the first direction are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions and protrusions on the inner surface, and the inner surface of the pair of external terminals does not include the depressions and the protrusions in across-section perpendicular to the lamination direction (the external terminals have no depressions or protrusions when viewed in y axis direction) (paras. [0032], [0035], [0041]-[0043]). With respect to claim 17 , best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection , Shimoda teaches a multilayer coil component 1 (annotated Fig. 1) comprising: an element body 10 including a plurality of insulator layers 11 that are laminated; a coil 20 disposed in the element body; and a pair of external terminals 30 and 40 electrically connected to the coil, wherein the element body has a rectangular parallelepiped shape and includes a pair of main surfaces 17 and 18 opposing each other in a first direction (z axis direction), a pair of end surfaces 15 and 16 opposing each other in a second direction (x axis direction) intersecting with the first direction, and a pair of side surfaces 13 and 14 opposing each other in a third direction (y axis direction) intersecting with the first direction and the second direction, the pair of external terminals are separated from each other in the second direction and are embedded in the element body apart from the pair of end surfaces and the pair of side surfaces, each of the pair of external terminals includes an exposed surface (lower exposed surface at surface 17) exposed from one of the main surfaces and an inner surface (side surface and or upper surface) disposed in the element body, each of the pair of external terminals includes a plurality of electrode layers 33a and 33b, and 43a and 43b that are laminated and directly connected to each other without vias, and the plurality of electrode layers are laminated and arranged such that electrode layers having different heights (different height in z axis direction when viewed in x axis direction) in the first direction are adjacent to each other, so as to form alternating depressions and protrusions on the inner surface, and the inner surface of the pair of external terminals does not include the depressions and the protrusions in across-section perpendicular to the lamination direction (the external terminals have no depressions or protrusions when viewed in y axis direction) (paras. [0032], [0035], [0041]-[0043]). With respect to claim 20 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claim 1, wherein the coil includes a plurality of coil conductors that are connected to each other without vias (paras. [0041] and [0042]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimoda, as applied to claims 2, 15 and 18 above, in view of Shiga et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0280362 A1, hereinafter “Shiga”) . With respect to claims 3, 16 and 19 , Shimoda teaches the multilayer coil component according to claims 2, 15 and 18, respectively, wherein the connecting surface includes a pair of first connecting surfaces (surface 310 and opposite to surface 310) and surface opposing each other in the second direction (para. [0046]). Shimoda does not expressly teach each of the pair of first connecting surfaces includes the depressions or the protrusions. Shiga teaches a multilayer coil component 1A (Fig. 6A), wherein each of the pair of first connecting surfaces (surfaces in D2 direction) includes the depressions (recesses) or the protrusions (projections) (para. [0070]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporate the depressions and protrusions at the connecting surfaces as taught by Shiga to the multilayer coil component of Shimoda to increase the adhesive force the electrode and the element body (para. [0071]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MANGTIN LIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5729. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 0800-1700. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Shawki S. Ismail can be reached at 571-272-3985. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 2 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 3 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 4 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 5 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 6 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 7 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 8 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 9 Art Unit: 2837 Application/Control Number: 17/590,888 Page 10 Art Unit: 2837