DETAILED ACTION
This office action response the amendment application on 03/19/2026.
Claims 9-10, 12, 23-25, 27, 30, 37-40, and 43-50 are presented for examination.
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on March 19, 2026. Claims 9, 24, and 30 have been amended. Claims 1-8, 13-22, 28-29, 31-36, and 41-42 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 9-10, 12, 23-25, 27, 30, 37-40, and 43-50 are pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9, 24, and 30 have been carefully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10, 24-25, 30, 37, 39-40, 43-44, and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20200236528 A1), (“D1” hereinafter), in view of Yu et al. (US 20190116526 A1), (“D2” hereinafter).
As per Claim 9, D1 discloses a processor ([see, [0177] The control unit 740]), comprising:
memory storing instructions that, when executed, cause a network device, configured for use in a first cellular network ([see, [0176], and Fig. 7, a non-volatile memory for a base station includes a wireless communication unit disclosed]), to:
receive, from a user equipment (UE) and via the first cellular network, a packet data network (PDN) connectivity request message for connection establishment with the first cellular network (MME) ([see, [0012, 0049-0051, 0147-0151], and Fig. 4, 10, the UE 410 may transmit a PDN connectivity request message to the MME 420 (corresponding to cellular network)]);
wherein, based at least in part on a UE route selection policy (URSP) ([see, [0147], the received slice information with slice policy information (for example, UE route selection policy (URSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), UE local policy, etc.) previously stored in the UE]),
the PDN connectivity request message includes a first single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) ([see, [0124, 0145], PDN connection-related information may include requested NSSAI which is slice information requested by the UE, which to be included in allowed NSSAI of the registration accept message]), in a protocol configuration options (PCO) information element (IE) ([see, 0149], the PCO received by the UE includes an “S-NSSAI” value (for example, S-NSSAI 1)]), comprised in the PDN connectivity request message ([see, [0124], PDN connection-related information included in the registration request message]), and
wherein the first S-NSSAI is for use in a second network ([see, [0012], he UE's at least one subscribed S-NSSAI; transmitting, to a second BS, a registration request message including a requested NSSAI in which the first S-NSSAI is included]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: determine, based at least in part on the first S-NSSAI, an updated single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI); and transmit, via the first cellular network, the updated S-NSSAI to the UE in a first PCO IE of a first message for use in UE registration with the second cellular network.
However, D2 discloses determine, based at least in part on the first S-NSSAI, an updated single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) ([see, [0023-0026], determining, by the access and mobility management function network element based on the first configured network slice selection assistance information, the subscribed network slice selection assistance information, and a mapping relationship between the first configured network slice selection assistance information and configured network slice selection assistance information of a home public land network of the terminal device, whether the first configured network slice selection assistance information needs to be updated]); and
transmit, via the first cellular network, the updated S-NSSAI to the UE in a first PCO IE of a first message for use in UE registration with the second cellular network ([see, [0027-0030, 0077], wherein determining that no transmission o update indication information to an access and mobility management function, sending the update indication information to the access and mobility management function network element, send updated configured network slice selection assistance information to the terminal device, and the access and mobility management function network element is located in a visited public land mobile network that camps on the second PLMN]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide NSSAI of the first PLMN used by the terminal device is updated results improving user experience of the terminal device and saving network resources (D2, [0009]).
As per Claim 30, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 9 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claim 30 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the apparatus above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 9.
As per Claim 24, D1 discloses a method, comprising:
by network device configured for use in a first cellular network ([see, [0176], and Fig. 7, a base station includes a wireless communication unit disclosed]):
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) and via the first cellular network, a packet data network (PDN) connectivity request message for connection establishment with the first cellular network ([see, [0012, 0049-0051, 0147-0151], and Fig. 4, 10, the UE 410 may transmit a PDN connectivity request message to the MME 420 (corresponding to cellular network)]),
wherein, based at least in part on a UE route selection policy (URSP) ([see, [0147], the received slice information with slice policy information (for example, UE route selection policy (URSP), network slice selection policy (NSSP), UE local policy, etc.) previously stored in the UE]),
the PDN connectivity request message includes a first single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) ([see, [0124, 0145], PDN connection-related information may include requested NSSAI which is slice information requested by the UE, which to be included in allowed NSSAI of the registration accept message]), in a protocol configuration options (PCO) information element (IE) ([see, 0149], the PCO received by the UE includes an “S-NSSAI” value (for example, S-NSSAI 1)]), comprised in the PDN connectivity request message ([see, [0124], PDN connection-related information included in the registration request message]), and
wherein the first S-NSSAI is for use in a second network ([see, [0012], he UE's at least one subscribed S-NSSAI; transmitting, to a second BS, a registration request message including a requested NSSAI in which the first S-NSSAI is included]).
D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: determining, based at least in part on the first S-NSSAI, an updated single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI); and transmitting, via the first cellular network, the updated S-NS SAI to the UE in a first PCO IE of a first message for use in UE registration with the cellular network.
However, D2 discloses determining, based at least in part on the first S-NSSAI, an updated single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) an updated single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) ([see, [0023-0026], determining, by the access and mobility management function network element based on the first configured network slice selection assistance information, the subscribed network slice selection assistance information, and a mapping relationship between the first configured network slice selection assistance information and configured network slice selection assistance information of a home public land network of the terminal device, whether the first configured network slice selection assistance information needs to be updated]); and
transmitting, via the first cellular network, the updated S-NS SAI to the UE in a first PCO IE of a first message for use in UE registration with the cellular network ([see, [0027-0030, 0077], wherein determining that no transmission o update indication information to an access and mobility management function, sending the update indication information to the access and mobility management function network element, send updated configured network slice selection assistance information to the terminal device, and the access and mobility management function network element is located in a visited public land mobile network that camps on the second PLMN]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide NSSAI of the first PLMN used by the terminal device is updated results improving user experience of the terminal device and saving network resources (D2, [0009]).
As per Claims 10, 25, D1 further discloses wherein the updated S-NSSAI is the first S-NSSAI ([see, [0164], Upon determining (or obtaining, from the NSSF 1025,) the allowed NSSAI and rejected S-NSSAIs in procedure 6 (operation 1060), the AMF 1020 may allow at least one of the allowed NSSAI (corresponds to “updated NSSAI”) and rejected S-NSSAIs to be included in the registration accept message transmitted to the UE 1010 in procedure 7 (operation 1065). The registration accept message of procedure 7 (operation 1065) may be transmitted to the UE 1010 via the base station 1015 in procedure 8 (operation 1070]).
As per Claim 37, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D2 further discloses wherein the URSP is not supported in the first cellular network ([see, [0192, 0197], and Fig. 7, terminal device registers with a first PLMN, and receives an updated UE route selection policy (URSP), that the URSP is not supported in the first PLMN before updated]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide NSSAI of the first PLMN used by the terminal device is updated results improving user experience of the terminal device and saving network resources (D2, [0009]).
As per Claim 39, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 further discloses wherein the instructions are further executable to cause the network device to: assign the updated S-NSSAI with a PDN connection ([see, [0012, 0133], wherein the PDN connections for second Base station (BS), assign the updated S-NSSAI wherein the registration accept message including an allowed NSSAI in which a second S-NSSAI mapped to the first S-NSSAI disclosed]).
As per Claim 40, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 39, and D1 further discloses wherein assignment of the S-NSSAI is based at least in part on a combination of a session management function (SMF), a packet data network gateway control plane function (PGW-C) address and an Access Point Name (APN) ([see, [0012], a first single-network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) selected by a combination of a packet data network gateway control plane entity (PGW-C) and a session management function (SMF) from among the UE's at least one subscribed S-NSSAI]).
As per Claim 43, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 further discloses wherein the second S-NSSAI is based at least in part on the first S-NSSAI ([see, [0012, 0133], wherein the PDN connections for second Base station (BS), assign the updated S-NSSAI wherein the registration accept message including an allowed NSSAI in which a second S-NSSAI mapped to the first S-NSSAI disclosed]).
As per Claim 44, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 further discloses wherein the second S-NSSAI is the first NSSAI ([see, [0012, 0133], wherein the PDN connections for second Base station (BS), assign the updated S-NSSAI wherein the registration accept message including an allowed NSSAI in which a second S-NSSAI mapped to the first S-NSSAI disclosed]).
As per Claim 47, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 further discloses wherein the second S-NSSAI is useable for when the UE transitions to a second cellular network that does support network slicing ([see, [0012, 0133], PDN connection information that the UE configures in the EPS, and S-NSSAI information supported by PDN connection including an allowed NSSAI in which a second S-NSSAI mapped to the first S-NSSAI disclosed]).
As per Claim 48, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 further discloses wherein the first cellular network is a 4G network and wherein the second cellular network is a 5G network ([see, [Abstract, 0014], a pre-5.sup.th-Generation (5G) or 5G communication system to be provided for supporting higher data rates Beyond 4.sup.th-Generation (4G) communication system such as Long Term Evolution (LTE) for the network system architecture for providing a network slice function disclosed]).
Claims 12, 23, 27, and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of RAMLE et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0359291), (“D3”, hereinafter).
As per Claim 12, D1 and D2 disclose the processor of claim 9, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first message is an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message transmitted to the UE.
However, D3 discloses wherein the first message is an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message transmitted to the UE ([see, [0068-0069], and Fig. 1: S107, the UE 101 received via the eNodeB 102 in Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request in step S107]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a PDU session created for an application while in 5GS results improve efficiency of establishing of connection for packet data transfer for a wireless communication device (D3, ¶ [0021]).
As per Claims 23, 46, D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, however D3 further discloses wherein the instructions are further executable to cause the network device to:
receive, in response to the Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message, an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Accept message from the UE ([see, [0068-0069], and Fig. 1: S107, the UE 101 received via the eNodeB 102 in Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request in step S107]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a PDU session created for an application while in 5GS results improve efficiency of establishing of connection for packet data transfer for a wireless communication device (D3, ¶ [0021]).
As per Claim 27, D1 and D2 disclose the method of claim 24, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the network device is configured to transmit the updated S-NSSAI in an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message to the UE.
However, D3 discloses wherein the network device is configured to transmit the updated S-NSSAI in an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message to the UE ([see, [0068-0069], and Fig. 1: S107, the UE 101 received via the eNodeB 102 in Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request in step S107]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a PDU session created for an application while in 5GS results improve efficiency of establishing of connection for packet data transfer for a wireless communication device (D3, ¶ [0021]).
As per Claim 45, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the first message is an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message. .
However, D3 discloses wherein the first message is an Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request message ([see, [0068-0069], and Fig. 1: S107, the UE 101 received via the eNodeB 102 in Activate Default EPS Bearer Context Request in step S107]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a PDU session created for an application while in 5GS results improve efficiency of establishing of connection for packet data transfer for a wireless communication device (D3, ¶ [0021]).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of LEE et al. (US 20200359271 A1), hereinafter “D4”
As per Claim 38, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the updated S-NSSAI comprises at least one of a slice/service type (SST) and a slice differentiator (SD).
However, D4 discloses wherein the updated S-NSSAI comprises at least one of a slice/service type (SST) and a slice differentiator (SD) ([see, [0101], The updating of the relevant PDU session context may mean the determining the value of the VPLMN S-NSSAI mapped to the HPLMN S-NSSAI of the above-described Allowed NSSAI, that is, the VPLMN SST-E and VPLMN SD-E, as values of the SST 415 used in the target PLMN and the SD 416 used in the target PLMN]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide support an access by a large number of UEs within a cell that required updating of the relevant PDU session context with the determining the value Allowed NSSAI results improve a UE coverage, improve battery life, and reduce UE costs (D4, [0059]).
Claims 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of Zong et al. (US 20210105328 A1), hereinafter “D5”
As per Claim 49, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the PCO IE is an Extended PCO IE.
However, D5 discloses wherein the PCO IE is an Extended PCO IE ([see, [0013], [0072], a protocol configuration option (PCO) message to the control plane function entity, where the PCO message carries the capability indication]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the PCO message for extended capability indication results improve a UE enables switching the established PDN connection to a network slice in the 5G (D5, [0007]).
As per Claim 50, D1 and D2 disclose the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 30, and D1 doesn’t appear to explicitly disclose: wherein the instructions are further executable to cause the network device to: perform, as part of the UE transitioning to the second cellular network, an inter-radio access technology (IRAT) transfer from a fourth generation (4G) network to a fifth generation (5G) network.
However, D5 discloses wherein the instructions are further executable to cause the network device to: perform, as part of the UE transitioning to the second cellular network, an inter-radio access technology (IRAT) transfer from a fourth generation (4G) network to a fifth generation (5G) network ([see, [0009-0010], terminal establishes one or more PDN connections in a 4G network and the corresponding network-slice S-NSSAI used for transferring the first PDN connection to the 5G network is the network-slice S-NSSAI received by the terminal from the control plane function entity]).
In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide the PCO message for extended capability indication results improve a UE enables switching the established PDN connection to a network slice in the 5G (D5, [0007]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BERHANU D BELETE/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418