Response to Amendments
The amendment filed 12th August 2026 has been entered. Claims 42-53 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12th May 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 42-53 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 42 line 6, “…the airport airside area…” should read “…an airport airside area…”.
In claim 42 line 13, “…with the limited numbers of standard aircraft parking locations…” should read “…with limited numbers of standard aircraft parking locations…”.
In claim 42 line 21, “…parked at one of the…” should read “…parked at the…”.
In claim 42 line 23, “…in the one of the…” should read “…in the…”.
In claim 42 line 25, “…in the nose-in…” should read “…in a nose-in…”.
In claim 42 line 30, “…in the nose-out…” should read “…in a nose-out…”.
In claim 42 line 31, “…of the one of the…” should read “…out of the…”.
In claim 42 line 33, “…the one arrangement…” should read “…the arrangements…”.
In claim 43 line 3, “…maintain the safe clearances…” should read “…maintain safe clearance…”.
In claim 44 line 2, “…in one of the arrangements…” should read “…in the arrangements…”.
In claim 45 line 2, “…locating an arrangement…” should read “…location the arrangements…”.
In claim 45 line 10, “…oriented toward the…” should read “…oriented towards the…”.
In claim 46 line 2, “…locating an arrangement…” should read “…location the arrangements…”.
The above are only examples of such informalities. The Applicant is required to review the entire claims 42-53 and correct all such informalities
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42-44, 46-51 and 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2017/0008643) in view of Cox et al. (US 2015/0151834).
Regarding claim 42, Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) a method that increases airport airside remote parking capacity for multiple aircraft equipped with electric taxi drive systems at airports with both limited numbers of standard aircraft parking locations adjacent to and directly connected to a terminal building and unused ramp tarmac areas considered otherwise unusable for aircraft parking locations located remotely from the standard aircraft parking locations within an airport airside area without adding physical infrastructure and without interfering with existing airport ramp ground operations comprising:
providing multiple aircraft (clearly seen in figure 1) operable to maneuver on ground within parking stands (clearly shown in the figure below) sized to provide minimum spacing and clearances with adjacent aircraft simultaneously maneuvering within adjacent ones of the sized parking stands (clearly seen in the figure below; aircraft maneuver within parking stand to park the aircraft; multiple aircraft can maneuver simultaneously to their respective parking stands) (Para 0015);
at an airport (10) with limited numbers of standard aircraft parking locations/loading-unloading area (12) adjacent to and directly connected to a terminal building (23), and the unused ramp tarmac areas/expansion areas (21-22) considered otherwise unusable for aircraft parking locations (Para 0015-0016; standard aircraft parking locations/loading-unloading area (12) has fixed number of parking stands; unused ramp tarmac areas/expansion areas (21-22) are considered unusable as active permanent arrangements of aircraft parking locations are not provided)
but it is silent about the method comprising:
providing arrangements of multiple sized parking stands within each of the unused ramp tarmac areas considered otherwise unusable with space sufficient to accommodate the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands in configurations that provide minimum spacing with safe clearances between adjacent aircraft simultaneously maneuvering completely within the multiple sized parking stands;
driving each of the aircraft arriving at the airport to be parked at the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands forward nose-in to one of the multiple sized parking stands in the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands, maneuvering the aircraft in the nose-in orientation along an internal linear path completely within the one of the multiple sized parking stands; and
driving each of the aircraft departing from the one of the multiple sized parking stands in the nose-out orientation forward out of the one of the arrangements without interference with others of the multiple equipped aircraft simultaneously arriving at, maneuvering completely within, and departing from others of the multiple sized parking stands in the one arrangement or with ramp ground travel of other aircraft arriving at and departing from the standard parking locations adjacent to and directly connected to the airport terminal building.
Takeuchi ‘643 further teaches (figure 1) the expansion areas (20-22) being usable to provide additional passenger loading/unloading or aircraft servicing positions and an arrangement of multiple sized parking stands within a loading/unloading area (12) (clearly seen in figure 1) with space sufficient to accommodate the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands in configurations that provide minimum spacing with safe clearances between adjacent aircraft simultaneously maneuvering completely within the multiple sized parking stands (clearly seen in the figure above; each parking stand has space to accommodate aircraft; adjacent aircraft can simultaneously maneuver completely within the parking stand);
driving each of the aircraft arriving at the airport to be parked at one of the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands forward nose-in to one of the multiple sized parking stands in the one of the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands, maneuvering the equipped aircraft in the nose-in orientation along an internal linear path completely within the one of the multiple sized parking stands (clearly shown in the figure above); and
driving each of the aircraft departing from the one of the multiple sized parking stands in a nose-out orientation forward out of the one of the arrangements without interference with others of the multiple aircraft simultaneously arriving at, maneuvering completely within, and departing from others of the multiple sized parking stands in the arrangement or with ramp ground travel of other aircraft (clearly seen in the figure above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeuchi ‘643 to configure the method comprising:
providing arrangements of multiple sized parking stands within each of the unused ramp tarmac areas considered otherwise unusable with space sufficient to accommodate the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands in configurations that provide minimum spacing with safe clearances between adjacent aircraft simultaneously maneuvering completely within the multiple sized parking stands;
driving each of the aircraft arriving at the airport to be parked at the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands forward nose-in to one of the multiple sized parking stands in the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands, maneuvering the aircraft in the nose-in orientation along an internal linear path completely within the one of the multiple sized parking stands; and
driving each of the aircraft departing from the one of the multiple sized parking stands in the nose-out orientation forward out of the one of the arrangements without interference with others of the multiple equipped aircraft simultaneously arriving at, maneuvering completely within, and departing from others of the multiple sized parking stands in the one arrangement or with ramp ground travel of other aircraft arriving at and departing from the standard parking locations adjacent to and directly connected to the airport terminal building.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would organize aircraft in the expansion areas.
Modified Takeuchi ‘643 is silent about the method comprising:
aircraft equipped with pilot-controllable landing gear wheel mounted electric taxi drive systems operable to maneuver the equipped aircraft through tight 180 degree turns within parking stands with adjacent equipped aircraft simultaneously maneuvering through tight 180 degree turns within adjacent ones of the sized parking stands; and
turning each of the aircraft arriving at the airport to be parked at one of the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands 180 degrees along the internal linear path completely within the one of the multiple sized parking stands to a nose-out orientation ready for departure.
Cox et al. ‘834 teaches (figures 3A-3H) an aircraft (42) comprising landing gear wheel non-engine drive means/electric taxi drive system controlled by the aircraft pilot to move the aircraft in a forward direction,
wherein the aircraft is drove into the area next to the terminal building in the nose-in orientation to enter the area next to the terminal building along a linear path (fig. 3A), and completely within the area next to the terminal building, a nose end of the equipped aircraft is turned with the electric taxi drive systems at a first angle and direction away from the linear path (figs. 3B-3D), further the nose end of the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems is turned at a second angle different from the first angle and in a second direction toward the linear path (fig. 3G-3H), thus maneuvering the equipped aircraft 180 degrees with the electric taxi drive systems (clearly shown in figures 3A-3E; aircraft approaches the terminal building (22) and makes a 180 degree turn to depart the terminal building) (Para 0007, 0048-0049, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘834 to configure the method comprising:
aircraft equipped with pilot-controllable landing gear wheel mounted electric taxi drive systems operable to maneuver the equipped aircraft through tight 180 degree turns within parking stands with adjacent equipped aircraft simultaneously maneuvering through tight 180 degree turns within adjacent ones of the sized parking stands (parking stands have space to fit aircraft; multiple aircraft can maneuver within parking stands at the same time); and
turning each of the aircraft arriving at the airport to be parked at one of the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands 180 degrees along the internal linear path completely within the one of the multiple sized parking stands to a nose-out orientation ready for departure.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reduce sound pollution during ground operation (engine is louder than motor) and provide flexibility in parking i.e., aircraft can approach the parking location defined area linearly from different angles and rotate, as needed, for departure in the nose-out orientation.
Regarding claim 43, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method wherein each of the multiple sized parking stands in the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands has a configuration of a circle sized to maintain safe clearances between each of the multiple equipped aircraft as each of the multiple equipped aircraft are simultaneously maneuvered with the electric taxi drive systems along the internal linear paths completely within adjacent ones of the multiple sized parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834; an aircraft fits within a circular outline enclosing wings, head and tail, thus a parking stand has a circular configuration ensuring safe clearances between other aircraft; parking stands are sized and spaced to fit aircraft enabling multiple adjacent aircrafts to maneuver simultaneously in their respective parking stand)
Regarding claim 44, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising driving each of the equipped aircraft to one of the sized parking stands in the arrangements of the multiple sized parking stands and precisely maneuvering each of the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems to turn the equipped aircraft through a 180-degree tight turn completely within the one of the sized parking stands by turning a nose end of the equipped aircraft to a first angle and in a first direction away from the internal linear path, then turning the nose end of the equipped aircraft to a second angle different from the first angle and in a second direction toward the internal linear path so that the nose end of the equipped aircraft is oriented 180 degrees from the nose-in orientation, and parking the equipped aircraft along the internal linear path with the nose end oriented ready to drive forward to exit the one of the sized parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 46, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising locating the arrangements of the sized parking stands in one of the unused ramp tarmac areas/expansion areas (21-22) considered otherwise unusable, the arrangement comprising a configuration of rows (clearly shown in the figure above) of the sized parking stands and multiple travel lanes/aisles (30-34) providing entrance to and exit from the sized parking stands, each one of the sized parking stands being adjacent to others of the sized parking stands in the rows and to one of the multiple travel lanes/aisle (30-34), driving the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems from an adjacent travel lane nose-in onto the internal linear path in one of the sized parking stands (aircraft in travel lane/aisle (32) enters from travel/lane (32) nose-in onto the internal linear path), maneuvering and turning the equipped aircraft 180 degrees with the electric taxi drive systems completely within the sized parking stand, parking the equipped aircraft nose-out towards the adjacent travel lane ready for passenger transfer, and then driving each equipped aircraft forward into the adjacent travel lane without risk of interference or collision with others of the arriving and departing equipped aircraft driving between the travel lanes and the multiple sized parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 47, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method wherein the internal linear path completely within each of the multiple sized parking stands is oriented toward one of the multiple adjacent travel lanes (clearly seen in the figure above), and each one of the equipped aircraft enters the internal linear path nose-in from the adjacent travel lane (aircraft in travel lane/aisle (32) enters from travel/lane (32) nose-in onto the internal linear path) and exits the internal linear path nose-out into the adjacent travel lane while maintaining the safe clearances between each of the equipped aircraft maneuvering and parking in the adjacent ones of the multiple sized parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 48, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising precisely maneuvering each of the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems to turn the equipped aircraft through a 180 degree tight turn completely within the one of the sized parking stands by turning a nose end of the equipped aircraft to a first angle and in a first direction away from the internal linear path, then turning the nose end of the equipped aircraft to a second angle different from the first angle and in a second direction toward the internal linear path so that the nose end of the equipped aircraft is oriented 180 degrees from the nose-in orientation, and parking the equipped aircraft along the internal linear path with the nose end oriented toward the adjacent travel lane ready to exit the one of the sized parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 49, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method of claim 42 but it is silent about the method further comprising inactivating the electric taxi drive systems of each the equipped aircraft parked nose-out in one of the sized parking stands and cooling the electric taxi drive systems while the equipped aircraft is parked during passenger transfer, then activating the cooled electric taxi drive systems and driving each of the equipped aircraft forward out of the one of the sized parking stands to a departure taxiway with the activated cooled electric taxi drive systems.
Cox et al. ‘834 further teaches (figures 7A-7B) when departing passengers have boarded and the aircraft has been cleared for departure; the aircraft pilot may activate and control the nose wheel non-engine drive means/electric taxi drive system to turn the aircraft (114) (Para 0052; inactive nose wheel non-engine drive means is activated only to turn the aircraft before departure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘834 to configure the method further comprising inactivating the electric taxi drive systems of each the equipped aircraft parked nose-out in one of the sized parking stands and cooling the electric taxi drive systems while the equipped aircraft is parked during passenger transfer, then activating the cooled electric taxi drive systems and driving each of the equipped aircraft forward out of the one of the sized parking stands to a departure taxiway with the activated cooled electric taxi drive systems (the electric taxi drive system cools when it is not activated).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure passenger safety by ensuring the aircraft is fully parked during aircraft unloading and loading.
Regarding claim 50, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising driving each of the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems during taxi-in and arriving at the one of the sized parking stands in the arrangements with warmed up electric taxi drive systems (electric taxi drive system warms up when used) and precisely maneuvering each of the equipped aircraft in the nose-in orientation (aircraft in aisle 32 is maneuvering to enter a parking stand in a nose-in orientation) along the internal linear path to turn the 180 degrees to the nose-out orientation along the internal linear path while the electric taxi drive systems are warmed up, and parking each of the equipped aircraft completely within the one of the sized parking stands in the nose-out orientation (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834),\
but it is silent about the method further comprising:
inactivating the electric taxi drive system after parking each of the equipped aircraft.
Cox et al. ‘834 further teaches (figures 7A-7B) when departing passengers have boarded and the aircraft has been cleared for departure; the aircraft pilot may activate and control the nose wheel non-engine drive means/electric taxi drive system to turn the aircraft (114) (Para 0052; inactive nose wheel non-engine drive means is activated only to turn the aircraft before departure i.e., nose wheel non-engine drive means is inactive during parking).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘834 to configure the method further comprising:
inactivating the electric taxi drive system after parking each of the equipped aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure passenger safety by ensuring the aircraft is fully parked during aircraft unloading and loading.
Regarding claim 51, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising locating the arrangement of the sized parking stands in one of the unused ramp tarmac areas/expansion areas (21-22) considered otherwise unusable as aircraft parking locations at an edge of the unusable ramp tarmac area or at an edge of a taxiway, the arrangement comprising a linear arrangement of the sized parking stands, and maneuvering and parking the multiple equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems within the sized parking stands in the linear arrangement (clearly seen in the figure above) (aircrafts are maneuvered and parked in the parking stands).
Regarding claim 53, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising maneuvering the equipped aircraft completely within the linear arrangement of the sized parking stands and parking the equipped aircraft in a head-to-tail orientation linearly spaced and offset from adjacent ones of the equipped aircraft (clearly shown in the figure above; nose and tail of two adjacent aircrafts do not line up in a straight line i.e., they are offset)) (Para 0015-0017; aircraft takes a linear/straight path during parking).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2017/0008643), and Cox et al. (US 2015/0151834) as applied to claim 42 above, and further in view of Smith (US 6,155,003).
Regarding claim 45, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising locating an arrangement of the sized parking stands in one of the unused ramp tarmac areas/expansion areas (21-22) considered otherwise unusable (Para 0015), driving the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems nose-in onto the internal linear path in one of the sized parking stands, maneuvering and turning the equipped aircraft 180 degrees with the electric taxi drive systems completely within the sized parking stand, parking the equipped aircraft nose-out along the internal linear path ready for passenger transfer, and then driving each equipped aircraft forward to exit the one of the sized parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834),
but it is silent about the method further comprising the arrangement comprising a circular configuration with the sized parking stands positioned circumferentially adjacent to each other around a central circular space, driving the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems nose-in to the central circular space onto the internal linear path in one of the sized parking stands, maneuvering and turning the equipped aircraft 180 degrees with the electric taxi drive systems completely within the sized parking stand, parking the equipped aircraft nose-out along the internal linear path with a tail of the equipped aircraft oriented toward the central space.
Smith ‘003 teaches (figure 1) a vehicle storage building (10) wherein aircrafts are parked in multiple parking stands / aircraft stalls (26) occupied by the aircraft positioned circumferentially around a central space in a nose-out orientation from the central space with tail of the aircraft oriented toward the central space i.e., circular configuration (clearly shown in the figure below) (Col. 4 Line 65; Col 5 Line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Smith ‘003 to configure the method further comprising the arrangement comprising a circular configuration with the sized parking stands positioned circumferentially adjacent to each other around a central circular space, driving the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems nose-in to the central circular space onto the internal linear path in one of the sized parking stands, maneuvering and turning the equipped aircraft 180 degrees with the electric taxi drive systems completely within the sized parking stand, parking the equipped aircraft nose-out along the internal linear path with a tail of the equipped aircraft oriented toward the central space.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable compact organization and movement of the aircraft from parking location defined areas.
Claim(s) 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2017/0008643) and Cox et al. (US 2015/0151834) as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Cox et al. (US 2015/0129712).
Regarding claim 52, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising maneuvering the equipped aircraft completely within the linear arrangement of the sized parking stands and linearly spaced from adjacent ones of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft (clearly seen in the figure above) (as modified by Cox et al.’ 834)
but it is silent about the method further comprising parking the equipped aircraft in a diagonal orientation with a longest axis of the equipped aircraft positioned diagonally relative to the edge of the ramp tarmac area or the edge of the taxiway and linearly spaced from adjacent ones of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft.
Cox et al. ‘712 teaches (figure 2) an airport ramp operation area (10) outside an airport terminal (12) wherein several aircrafts (24s) are parked in a diagonal orientation in the ramp area remote from the terminal (12) (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0031-0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘712 to configure the method further comprising parking the equipped aircraft in a diagonal orientation with a longest axis of the equipped aircraft positioned diagonally relative to the edge of the ramp tarmac area or the edge of the taxiway and linearly spaced from adjacent ones of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to park more aircraft within a given area.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12th August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642