Response to Amendments
The amendment filed December 16th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 20, 26-27, and 32-40 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 25th, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 27 and 33-34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 27 line 8, “…the internal linear path…” should read “…the linear path…” for the purpose of consistency in the use of a term.
In claim 33 lines 15-16, “…exit the defined area remote parking stand…” should read “…exit the remote parking stand…” for the purpose of clarity.
In claim 34 line 9, “…multiple parked electric taxi…” should read “…multiple electric taxi…”.
In claim 34 line 13, “at an identified unused remote tarmac area…” should read “at the identified unused remote tarmac area…” as recited in in line 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20, 26-27, and 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites “active aircraft” in line 7 which renders the claim indefinite as the scope of the limitation is unclear.
Claims not addressed above are rejected due to their dependency on rejected base claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 26-27, 32-34, 36-37 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2017/0008643) in view of Cox et al. (US 2015/0151834).
Regarding claim 34, Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) a method that increases airport airside ramp parking locations and expands active aircraft parking capacity for pilot-controllable electric taxi drive system-equipped aircraft at airports with limited numbers of standard aircraft parking locations without adding physical infrastructure and interfering with airport ramp ground operations comprising:
at an airport (10) with limited numbers of standard aircraft parking locations/ loading/unloading area (12) and servicing areas (13-14) for aircraft (clearly seen in figure 1; loading/unloading area (12) and servicing areas (13-14) have limited parting locations), identifying unused remote tarmac areas/ expansion areas (21-22) without direct connections to an airport terminal building (23) located within an airport airside area (clearly shown in the figure below) and sized to provide multiple remote parking stands for multiple aircraft with safe clearances and without risk of collision between the multiple aircraft arriving, maneuvering and parking within, and departing from adjacent ones of the multiple remote parking stands (Para 0015; areas (21-22) are big enough to provide multiple remote parking stands with safe clearances);
but it is silent about the method comprising:
at the identified unused remote tarmac area without direct connections to the airport terminal building, defining an arrangement of adjacent multiple remote parking stands that provides and maintains the safe clearances between the multiple aircraft entering, maneuvering, parking completely within, and departing from each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands, wherein each of the multiple remote parking stands comprises an area sized to drive each aircraft in a nose-in orientation into the remote parking location,
upon arrival of each of the aircraft at the identified remote unused ramp tarmac area, driving the arriving aircraft in only a forward direction to enter one of the multiple remote parking stands in the nose-in orientation, continuing to maneuver the arriving aircraft forward along a linear part completely within the remote parking stand, and
transferring passengers between the aircraft parked in the nose-out orientation in the remote parking stand and the airport terminal building without direct connections to the remote parking stand, and, upon departure, driving the aircraft forward out of the remote parking stand without interference with others of the multiple aircraft entering and leaving other of the multiple remote parking stands or with ramp ground travel of other aircraft arriving at and departing from standard airport terminal parking locations.
Takeuchi ‘643 further teaches (figure 1) the method comprising remote tarmac area/ landing/unloading area (12) with an arrangement of adjacent multiple remote parking stands (clearly shown in the figure above; aircraft are parked in parking stands) that provides and maintains the safe clearances between the multiple aircraft entering, maneuvering, parking completely within, and departing from each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands, wherein each of the multiple remote parking stands comprises an area sized to drive each aircraft in a nose-in orientation into the remote parking location (clearly shown in the figure above; aircraft in aisle 32 is approaching a parking stand in a nose-in orientation; aircraft is operable to drive and maneuver as needed in the parking stand; multiple parking stands are present in an arrangement of multiple parking stands which enable multiple aircraft to maneuver, turn and park while maintaining safe clearances),
upon arrival of each of the aircraft at the ramp tarmac area/ landing/unloading area (12), driving the arriving aircraft in only a forward direction to enter one of the multiple remote parking stands in the nose-in orientation (clearly seen in aisle 32), continuing to maneuver the arriving aircraft forward along a linear part completely within the remote parking stand (clearly shown in the figure above), and
upon departure, driving the aircraft/aircraft in aisle 33 forward out of the remote parking stand without interference with others of the multiple aircraft entering and leaving other of the multiple remote parking stands or with ramp ground travel of other aircraft arriving at and departing from standard airport terminal parking locations (clearly see in figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takeuchi ‘643 to configure the method comprising:
the method comprising:
at the identified unused remote tarmac area without direct connections to the airport terminal building, defining an arrangement of adjacent multiple remote parking stands that provides and maintains the safe clearances between the multiple aircraft entering, maneuvering, parking completely within, and departing from each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands, wherein each of the multiple remote parking stands comprises an area sized to drive each aircraft in a nose-in orientation into the remote parking location,
upon arrival of each of the aircraft at the identified remote unused ramp tarmac area, driving the arriving aircraft in only a forward direction to enter one of the multiple remote parking stands in the nose-in orientation, continuing to maneuver the arriving aircraft forward along a linear part completely within the remote parking stand, and
transferring passengers between the aircraft parked in the nose-out orientation in the remote parking stand and the airport terminal building without direct connections to the remote parking stand (aircraft carries passenger; passenger can walk/transfer to the terminal building when the aircraft is parked in a nose-out orientation), and, upon departure, driving the aircraft forward out of the remote parking stand without interference with others of the multiple aircraft entering and leaving other of the multiple remote parking stands or with ramp ground travel of other aircraft arriving at and departing from standard airport terminal parking locations.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would increase airport parking capacity.
Modified Takeuchi ‘643 is silent about the method comprising multiple aircraft as the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft,
wherein each electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft turn 180 degrees, and park in a nose-out orientation completely within the remote parking stand, and
turning the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft the 180 degrees, and parking the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft along the linear path in the remote parking stand in the nose-orientation for passenger transfer and departure while maintaining the safe clearances with others of the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft entering, maneuvering, and parking completely within the adjacent remote parking stands.
Cox et al. ‘834 teaches (figures 3A-3H) an aircraft (42) comprising landing gear wheel non-engine drive means/electric motor assembly controlled by the aircraft pilot to move the aircraft in a forward direction,
wherein the aircraft is drove into the area next to the terminal building in the nose-in orientation to enter the area next to the terminal building along a linear path (fig. 3A), and completely within the area next to the terminal building, a nose end of the equipped aircraft is turned with the electric taxi drive systems at a first angle and direction away from the linear path (figs. 3B-3D), further the nose end of the equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems is turned at a second angle different from the first angle and in a second direction toward the linear path (fig. 3G-3H), thus maneuvering the equipped aircraft 180 degrees with the electric taxi drive systems (clearly shown in figures 3A-3E; aircraft approaches the terminal building (22) and makes a 180 degree turn to depart the terminal building) (Para 0007, 0048-0049, 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘834 to configure the method comprising multiple aircraft as the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft,
wherein each electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft turn 180 degrees, and park in a nose-out orientation completely within the remote parking stand, and
turning the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft the 180 degrees, and parking the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft along the linear path in the remote parking stand in the nose-orientation for passenger transfer and departure while maintaining the safe clearances with others of the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft entering, maneuvering, and parking completely within the adjacent remote parking stands.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would reduce sound pollution during ground operation (engine is louder than motor) and provide flexibility in parking i.e., aircraft can approach the parking location defined area linearly from different angles and rotate, as needed, for departure in the nose-out orientation.
Regarding claim 20, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method wherein each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands has a circular configuration sized to maintain the safe clearances between the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft as adjacent ones of each of the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft drive into, maneuver completely within, and drive out of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands (an aircraft fits within a circular outline enclosing wings, head and tail, thus a parking stand has a circular configuration ensuring safe clearances between other aircraft).
Regarding claim 26, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising driving the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft to one of the multiple adjacent remote parking stands and maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft to park in the one of the multiple adjacent remote parking stands for passenger transfer (arriving aircraft are parked in parking stands),
but it is silent about the method further comprising inactivating each of the parked electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft’s electric taxi drive systems during passenger transfer, cooling the electric taxi drive systems, then activating the cooled electric taxi drive systems, and driving the departing electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft forward out of the multiple adjacent remote parking stand to a taxiway with the activated cooled electric taxi drive systems.
Cox et al. ‘834 further teaches (figures 7A-7B) when departing passengers have boarded and the aircraft has been cleared for departure, the aircraft pilot may activate and control the nose wheel non-engine drive means/ electric motor assembly to turn the aircraft (114) (Para 0052; inactive nose wheel non-engine drive means is activated only to turn the aircraft before departure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘834 to configure the method further comprising inactivating each of the parked electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft’s electric taxi drive systems during passenger transfer, cooling the electric taxi drive systems, then activating the cooled electric taxi drive systems, and driving the departing electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft forward out of the multiple adjacent remote parking stand to a taxiway with the activated cooled electric taxi drive systems (the electric taxi drive system cools when it is not activated).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure passenger safety by ensuring the aircraft is fully parked during aircraft unloading and loading.
Regarding claim 27, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising driving each of the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive system during taxi-in, and arriving at one of the multiple adjacent remote parking stands with warmed up electric taxi drive systems (electric taxi drive system warms up when used), and the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft in the nose-in orientation (aircraft in aisle 32 is maneuvering to enter a parking stand in a nose-in orientation), and while the electric taxi drive system are warmed up, precisely maneuvering the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft completely within the one of the multiple adjacent remote parking stands to drive forward along the linear path, turning the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft 180 degrees, and parking the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft in the one of the multiple adjacent remote parking stands in the nose-out orientation (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 36, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method wherein the defined arrangement of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands comprises an arrangement of multiple rows (clearly shown in the figure above) of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands remote from and without direct connections to the airport terminal building with travel lanes/aisles (30-34) adjacent to each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands in the defined arrangement, and the method further comprises driving each of the multiple arriving electric taxi drive systems equipped aircraft in the forward direction nose-in (clearly seen in aisle 32) to one of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands from the adjacent travel lane, maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft along the linear path completely within the remote parking stand to turn 180 degrees and park nose-out toward the adjacent travel lane ready for passenger transfer (as modified by Cox et al ‘834), and driving each departing electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft/aircraft in aisle 33 forward from the remote parking stand into the adjacent travel lane without risk of interference or collision with others of the arriving and departing multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft driving between the travel lanes and the adjacent multiple parking stands.
Regarding claim 32, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method wherein the linear path completely within each of the remote parking stands is oriented toward one of the multiple adjacent travel lanes/aisles (30-34) (clearly shown in the figure above) so that each of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft enters the remote parking from the adjacent travel lane and exits the remote parking stand into the adjacent travel lane while maintaining the safe clearances between each of the equipped aircraft maneuvering and parking in the adjacent multiple remote parking stands (as modified by Cox et al. 834).
Regarding claim 33, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising precisely maneuvering each of the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft driven nose-in forward to enter the linear path (clearly seen in the figure above) and to turn the arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft from the nose-in to the nose-out orientation completely within the remote parking stand by turning the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft nose end to a first angle and in a first direction away from the linear path, then turning the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft nose end to a second angle different from the first angle and in a second direction toward the linear path so that electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft nose end is oriented 180 degrees from the nose in orientation, and further maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive system to park along the linear path with the nose end oriented toward the adjacent travel lane ready to drive forward into the one the adjacent travel lane, and driving the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive system to exit the remote parking stand upon departure (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 37, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method wherein the identified unused remote tarmac areas/ expansion areas (21-22) comprise at an edge of the ramp tarmac area or at an edge of a taxiway (clearly seen in the figure above) sized to provide a linear arrangement of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands, and the method further comprises maneuvering and parking the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft with the safe clearances in the linear arrangement (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834).
Regarding claim 39, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising maneuvering the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft completely within the linear arrangement of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands and parking the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft in a head-to-tail orientation linearly spaced and offset from adjacent ones of the other electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft (clearly shown in the figure above; nose and tail of two adjacent aircrafts do not line up in a straight line i.e., they are offset)) (Para 0015-0017; aircraft takes a linear/straight path during parking).
Regarding claim 40, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising driving each of the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft with the electric taxi drive systems forward into one of the multiple remote parking stands in a nose-in orientation to enter the remote parking stand linear path, and, completely within the remote parking stand (clearly seen in the figure above), turning a nose end of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft at a first angle and direction away from the linear path, further turning the nose end of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft at a second angle different from the first angle and in a forward direction toward the linear path, maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems equipped aircraft, and parking the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft along the linear path in a nose-out orientation with the nose end oriented 180 degrees from the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft's nose-in orientation upon entering the remote parking stand and the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft ready to exit the remote parking stand upon departure (as modified by Cox ‘834).
Claim(s) 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2017/0008643), and Cox et al. (US 2015/0151834) as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Smith (US 6,155,003).
Regarding claim 35, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprises driving each arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft in the forward direction nose-in, and maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft along the linear path completely within the remote parking stand to turn 180 degrees and park nose-out ready for passenger transfer, and driving each departing electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft forward to exit the remote parking stand (as modified by Cox et al. ‘834),
but it is silent about the method wherein the defined arrangement of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands comprises each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands being positioned circumferentially adjacent to others of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands around a central circular space, and the method further comprises driving each arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft into one of the circumferentially adjacent multiple remote parking stands in the forward direction nose-in to the central space, and maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft to park nose-out from the central space with a tail of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft oriented toward the central space ready for passenger transfer.
Smith ‘003 teaches (figure 1) a vehicle storage building (10) wherein aircrafts are parked in multiple parking location defined areas/ aircraft stalls (26) occupied by the aircraft positioned circumferentially around a central space in a nose-out orientation from the central space with tail of the aircraft oriented toward the central space i.e., circular configuration (clearly shown in the figure below) (Col. 4 Line 65; Col 5 Line 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Smith ‘003 to configure the method wherein the defined arrangement of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands comprises each of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands being positioned circumferentially adjacent to others of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands around a central circular space, and the method further comprises driving each arriving electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft into one of the circumferentially adjacent multiple remote parking stands in the forward direction nose-in to the central space, and maneuvering the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft to park nose-out from the central space with a tail of the electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft oriented toward the central space ready for passenger transfer.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable compact organization and movement of the aircraft from parking location defined areas.
Claim(s) 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2017/0008643) and Cox et al. (US 2015/0151834) as applied to claim 37 above, and further in view of Cox et al. (US 2015/0129712).
Regarding claim 38, modified Takeuchi ‘643 teaches (figure 1) the method further comprising maneuvering the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft completely within the linear arrangement of the adjacent multiple remote parking stands and parking the multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft (clearly seen in the figure above)
but it is silent about the method further comprising parking multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft in a diagonal orientation with a longest axis of the equipped aircraft positioned diagonally relative to the edge of the ramp tarmac area or the edge of the taxiway and linearly spaced from the adjacent ones of other multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft.
Cox et al. ‘712 teaches (figure 2) an airport ramp operation area (10) outside an airport terminal (12) wherein several aircrafts (24s) are parked in a diagonal orientation in the ramp area remote from the terminal (12) (clearly shown in the figure below) (Para 0031-0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Takeuchi ‘643 to incorporate the teachings of Cox et al. ‘712 to configure the method further comprising parking multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft in a diagonal orientation with a longest axis of the equipped aircraft positioned diagonally relative to the edge of the ramp tarmac area or the edge of the taxiway and linearly spaced from the adjacent ones of other multiple electric taxi drive systems-equipped aircraft.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enable to park more aircraft within a given area.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 16th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “none of the cited art suggests or otherwise discloses providing remote parking stands”, however as explained in the rejection above Takeuchi ‘643 teaches expansion areas (21-22) which are remote/at a distance from the terminal building (23).
In response to applicant's argument regarding modification of expansion areas (21-22) of Takeuchi ‘643 with the loading/unloading area (12) and servicing areas (13-14) of Takeuchi ‘643, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As explained in the rejection above, only the arrangement/layout of the loading/unloading area (12) without passenger servicing in connection to underground areas is considered for arranging the parking stands in the expansion areas (21-22). Since, only the arrangement/layout of the loading/unloading area (12) without passenger servicing in connection to underground areas is considered there is no need of adding physical infrastructure.
Other arguments are clearly explained and shown in the annotated figure above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642