DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following claim(s) is/are pending in this office action: 1, 3-8, 10-18, 20-23, 25-32
The following claim(s) is/are amended: 1, 4-6, 10-11, 13-14, 18, 30
The following claim(s) is/are cancelled: 2, 9, 19, 24
The following claim(s) is/are new: -
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-18, 20-23, 25-32 is/are rejected.
Previous Rejections Withdrawn
The 35 USC 112(b) rejection to claim(s) 18, 20-23, 25-29 is/are withdrawn based on the amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed 12/19/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant’s Invention as Claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 20-23, 26-27 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri (US Pub. 2011/0228666) in view of Asterjadhi (US Pub. 2021/0007168) and further in view of Patil (US Pub. 2019/0141631).
With respect to Claim 1, Barbieri teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at an access point (AP), comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: (para. 110; processor and memory for a base station. Para. 24; base station may also be referred to as an access point.)
receive, while communicating with at least one station on a first set of channels, (Fig. 1, paras. 24-28; UE, which is a mobile station, communicates with base stations such as Node Bs of WAN. The UE is a station and the Node B is an apparatus.)
information regarding a second set of channels not currently being used by the apparatus; (paras. 30-32; WAN may be on a licensed frequency band. Paras. 33-34; unused bands such as TV white space may be used to support P2P communication. Therefore, they are not currently used by the apparatus. para. 44, 50-51; UE can sense unlicensed channels to see if they are open for use.)
wherein the first set of channels is associated with infrastructure communications (Fig. 1, paras. 24-30; WAN communication between a UE and a base station operates on one or more licensed frequency channels. Para. 33; WAN may use some unlicensed spectrum. Paras. 36-39; tv communication on unlicensed channels in particular locations or with particular sensings.)
and the second set of channels is associated with non-infrastructure communications, including peer-to-peer (P2P) communications; (Fig. 1, paras. 30-35; P2P communications over unlicensed bands. Paras. 36-39; P2P on unlicensed channel with no primary or secondary users.)
transmit, an off-channel indication to the at least one station that identifies one or more of the second set of channels that are recommended to the at least one station for P2P communications with at least one other station; (para. 33; unlicensed users can transmit when no primary users are transmitting. Para. 40; UE detects if any primary and/or secondary users are using a channel. Therefore, the statement that nobody is using a channel is a recommendation to use the channel. para. 50-52; UEs report sensing results to the station. Station determines that P2P communication can take place between UEs and provides the channel to them for them to engage in P2P.)
But Barbieri does not explicitly teach a service period availability.
Asterjadhi, however, does teach transmit, a service period availability indication to the at least one station that indicates when the at least one station is permitted to use the one or more of the second set of channels that are recommended to the at least one station for P2P communications, (Barbieri previously taught transmitting an indication of a channel to use, see above, especially at para. 52, but did not teach an indication of timing (“when”). For when, see Asterjadhi, para. 138; system may negotiate target wake time service periods which schedules particular links for particular times. Para. 166-167; system sends a target switch time of a link state.)
wherein the service period availability indication comprises a start time, a service period duration, (paras. 21-23, 165-167; start or end time of a link. Para. 152; duration field.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of Barbieri with the service period availability in order to schedule communications to avoid interference.
But modified Barbieri does not explicitly teach a persistence field.
Patil, however, does teach periodicity, (paras. 35, 98; periodicity.)
and a persistence field that indicates a duration for which the permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels by the at least one station remains valid. (para. 74; lifetime information, persistence information. Para. 91-93; persistence subfield.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the persistence field in order to communicate a guaranteed validity of the TWT schedule. (Patil, para. 91)
With respect to Claim 3, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Barbieri also teaches wherein: the information regarding the second set of channels comprises channel loading information for the second set of channels; (para. 40; UE detects if any primary and/or secondary users are using a channel, which is loading information.)
and the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to select the one or more of the second set of channels to be recommended in the off-channel indication based on the channel loading information. (para. 49; system determines an unlicensed channel is available based upon if no primary users are transmitting on the unlicensed channel.)
With respect to Claim 4, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and Barbieri also teaches wherein the channel loading information is received via an auxiliary radio separate from a radio used for communicating with the at least one station on the first set of channels. (para. 63; UE may have multiple transceivers, one of which is used for communicating with the base station and the other of which is used for the unlicensed channel. Examiner asserts that the statement is anticipatory of the claim language, but in the event it is not, Examiner finds the claim obvious because it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to use an auxiliary radio in order to maintain communication with the station while other channels are sensed, see Barbieri, para. 63.)
With respect to Claim 5, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and Barbieri also teaches wherein the channel loading information is received from at least one of: one or more stations; or one or more other apparatuses. (para. 39; centralized database may store unlicensed channels available based on geographic location. UE or base station may access the geolocation database to find unlicensed channels available.)
With respect to Claim 6, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the off-channel indication is transmitted in an information element (IE) via at least one of a broadcast frame or a unicast frame. (Fig. 13, paras. 181-184; frame for multi-link communication includes information elements. para. 104, 115; signaling of an auxiliary link may be done by broadcast messaging. Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of Barbieri with the information element in order to provide a standardized mechanism for providing link information and capabilities. (Asterjadhi, paras. 110, 183-184)
With respect to Claim 7, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 6, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the IE includes one or more fields that collectively specify at least one of a channel frequency or bandwidth for each of the second set of channels. (para. 19; second link has parameters including bandwidth, frequency band.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 6 applies.
With respect to Claim 8, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 6, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein at least one of: the broadcast frame comprises a beacon frame or a probe response frame; (para. 3, 115; periodic broadcasting of beacon frames)
or the unicast frame comprises a response frame sent in response to a request for the off-channel indication. (Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 6 applies.
With respect to Claim 11, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: receive, from the at least one station, an indication that the at least one station is capable of participating in P2P communications during an off-channel schedule determined by the service period availability indication; (para. 105, 131, 168; system confirms a device supports the communication features. See also Barbieri, para. 51; system only selects P2P communication when devices are capable of performing it.)
and transmit the off-channel indication and service period availability indication after receiving the indication. (para. 138; scheduling and signaling a target wake time)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 1 applies.
With respect to Claim 13, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein transmitting, the service period availability indication comprises transmitting the service period availability indication via at least one of: a target wakeup time (TWT) element, a parameter set, or an information element. (para. 138; scheduling and signaling a target wake time)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 1 applies.
With respect to Claim 14, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: receive, from the at least one station, a request frame, wherein the service period availability indication is transmitted in an information element (IE) via a response to the request frame. (Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed. para. 138; system may negotiate target wake time service periods which schedules particular links for particular times. Fig. 13, paras. 181-184; frame for multi-link communication includes information elements.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 1 applies.
With respect to Claim 16, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 14, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the response indicates additional information related to operation on the one or more second set of channels. (Fig. 13, paras. 181-184; frame for multi-link communication includes information elements with additional information such as warm up time.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 1 applies.
With respect to Claim 17, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to select non-overlapping service period allocations for different stations. (para. 138; scheduling may be not aligned. See also Barbieri, para. 40, 43, 50; channel selection is based on no users using the channel or upon amount of interference. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to select non-overlapping service periods for different stations to avoid interference with other stations’ communications.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 1 applies.
With respect to Claim 18, Barbieri teaches an apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: (para. 109; processor and memory)
obtain, while communicating with at least one access point (AP) on a first set of channels, (Fig. 1, paras. 24-28; UE, which is a mobile station, communicates with base stations such as Node Bs of WAN. The UE is a station and the Node B is an access point.)
an off-channel indication that identifies a second set of one or more channels not currently being used by the APP&S Ref. No. QUAL/2201895USQUALCOMM Ref. No.: 220189540 (paras. 30-32; WAN may be on a licensed frequency band. Paras. 33-34; unused bands such as TV white space may be used to support P2P communication. Therefore, they are not currently used by the apparatus. para. 44, 50-51; UE can sense unlicensed channels to see if they are open for use.)
that are recommended to the apparatus for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications with at least one other apparatus; (Paras. 39, 43-46, 50-52; base station provides UEs with an unlicensed and unused channel for P2P communication. para. 49; system determines an unlicensed channel is available based upon if no primary users are transmitting on the unlicensed channel. See also para. 33; unlicensed users can transmit when no primary users are transmitting. Para. 40; UE detects if any primary and/or secondary users are using a channel. Therefore, the statement that nobody is using a channel is a recommendation to use the channel.)
and participate in P2P communications with the at least one other apparatus on the one or more of the second set of channels (para. 52; UEs establish P2P communication using assigned channel.)
But Barbieri does not explicitly teach a service period availability.
Asterjadhi, however, does teach obtain, from the AP, a service period availability indication that indicates when the apparatus is permitted to use the one or more of the second set of channels that are recommended to the apparatus for P2P communications, and (Barbieri previously taught outputting an indication of a channel to use, see above, especially at para. 52, but did not teach an indication of timing (“when”). For when, see Asterjadhi, para. 138; system may negotiate target wake time service periods which schedules particular links for particular times. Para. 166-167; system sends a target switch time of a link state.)
wherein the service period availability indication comprises a start time, a service period duration, (paras. 21-23, 165-167; start or end time of a link. Para. 152; duration field.)
in accordance with the service period availability. (para. 138; system may negotiate target wake time service periods which schedules particular links for particular times.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of Barbieri with the service period availability in order to schedule communications to avoid interference.
But modified Barbieri does not explicitly teach a persistence field.
Patil, however, does teach periodicity, (paras. 35, 98; periodicity.)
and a persistence field that indicates a duration for which the permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels by the apparatus remains valid; (para. 74; lifetime information, persistence information. Para. 91-93; persistence subfield.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the persistence field in order to communicate a guaranteed validity of the TWT schedule. (Patil, para. 91)
With respect to Claim 20, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 18, and Barbieri also teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to output, for transmission to the AP, channel loading information for selecting the one or more of the second set of one or more channels. (para. 40; UE detects if any primary and/or secondary users are using a channel, which is loading information.)
With respect to Claim 21, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 18, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein obtaining the off-channel indication comprises obtaining the off-channel indication from the AP in an information element (IE) via at least one of a broadcast frame or a unicast frame. (Fig. 13, paras. 181-184; frame for multi-link communication includes information elements. para. 104, 115; signaling of an auxiliary link may be done by broadcast messaging. Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of Barbieri with the information element in order to provide a standardized mechanism for providing link information and capabilities. (Asterjadhi, paras. 110, 183-184)
With respect to Claim 22, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 21, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the IE includes one or more fields that collectively specify at least one of a channel frequency or bandwidth for each of the one or more of the second set of channels. (para. 19; second link has parameters including bandwidth, frequency band.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 21 applies.
With respect to Claim 23, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 21, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein at least one of: the broadcast frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame or a probe response frame; (para. 3, 115; periodic broadcasting of beacon frames)
or the unicast frame comprises a response frame sent in response to a request for the off-channel indication. (Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 21 applies.
With respect to Claim 26, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 18, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein obtaining the service period availability indication comprises obtaining the service period availability indication, from the AP, in an information element (IE) via a unicast frame. (Fig. 13, paras. 181-184; frame for multi-link communication includes information elements. Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 18 applies.
With respect to Claim 27, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 26, and Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: output, for transmission to the AP, a request frame, wherein the unicast frame comprises a response to the request frame that also includes the off-channel indication. (Paras. 102, 125, 143; request/response frames that are individually addressed.)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 18 applies.
With respect to Claim 30, Barbieri teaches an access point (AP), comprising: (Fig. 1, paras. 24-28; UE, which is a mobile station, communicates with base stations such as Node Bs of WAN. The UE is a station and the Node B is an access point.)
at least one transceiver; (Fig. 10, paras. 112-115; base station has a plurality of antennas that transmit and receive data, which are transceivers.)
one or more memories comprising instructions; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively configured to execute the instructions and cause the AP P&S Ref. No. QUAL/2201895USQUALCOMM Ref. No.: 220189542 to: (para. 110; processor and memory for a base station.)
receive, via the at least one transceiver while communicating with at least one station on a first set of channels, (Fig. 1, paras. 24-28; UE, which is a mobile station, communicates with base stations such as Node Bs of WAN. The UE is a station and the Node B is an access point.)
information regarding a second set of channels not currently being used by the AP; (paras. 30-32; WAN may be on a licensed frequency band. Paras. 33-34; unused bands such as TV white space may be used to support P2P communication. Therefore, they are not currently used by the apparatus. para. 44, 50-51; UE can sense unlicensed channels to see if they are open for use.)
and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, an off-channel indication that identifies one or more of the second set of channels that are recommended to the at least one station for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications with at least one other station. (para. 33; unlicensed users can transmit when no primary users are transmitting. Para. 40; UE detects if any primary and/or secondary users are using a channel. Therefore, the statement that nobody is using a channel is a recommendation to use the channel. para. 50-52; UEs report sensing results to the station. Station determines that P2P communication can take place between UEs and provides the channel to them for them to engage in P2P.)
But Barbieri does not explicitly teach a service period availability.
Asterjadhi, however, does teach output, for transmission, a service period availability indication that indicates when the at least one station is permitted to use the one or more of the second set of channels that are recommended to the at least one station for P2P communications. (Barbieri previously taught outputting an indication of a channel to use, see above, especially at para. 52, but did not teach an indication of timing (“when”). For when, see Asterjadhi, para. 138; system may negotiate target wake time service periods which schedules particular links for particular times. Para. 166-167; system sends a target switch time of a link state.)
wherein the service period availability indication comprises a start time, a service period duration, (paras. 21-23, 165-167; start or end time of a link. Para. 152; duration field.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the access point of Barbieri with the service period availability in order to schedule communications to avoid interference.
But modified Barbieri does not explicitly teach a persistence field.
Patil, however, does teach periodicity, (paras. 35, 98; periodicity.)
and a persistence field that indicates a duration for which the permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels by the at least one station remains valid. (para. 74; lifetime information, persistence information. Para. 91-93; persistence subfield.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the access point of modified Barbieri with the persistence field in order to communicate a guaranteed validity of the TWT schedule. (Patil, para. 91)
With respect to Claim 31, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of Claim 1, and Barbieri also teaches wherein the service period availability indication orthogonalizes P2P communications on the one or more of a second set of channels. (paras. 54-57; detection of interference and usage of channels to avoid interference, which is an orthogonalization of P2P communications. See also para. 5; Orthogonal FDMA networks. See also Asterjadhi, para. 138; system may negotiate target wake time service periods which schedules particular links for particular times. Para. 166-167; system sends a target switch time of a link state. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to indicate availability in an orthogonal manner in order to prevent interference.)
With respect to Claim 32, it is substantially similar to Claim 31 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
Claims 10, 15 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Barbieri (US Pub. 2011/0228666) in view of Asterjadhi (US Pub. 2021/0007168), in view of Patil (US Pub. 2019/0141631) and further in view of Seok (US Pub. 2020/0120603).
With respect to Claim 10, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and Barbieri also teaches receive, from the at least one station, a request (para. 48; UE may request a certain channel or other resources. Para. 54; handover to other channels. Scheduling was previously taught. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to request a modification of the scheduling in order to adapt to changing communication needs.)
But modified Barbieri does not explicitly teach a request to suspend or terminate a schedule.
Seok, however, does teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: obtain, from the at least one station, a request to suspend or terminate an off-channel schedule determined by the service period availability indication; (Examiner notes that Patil may suggest this limitation by itself, see Patil, paras. 57-59; STA may subscribe to a particular TWT schedule. Para. 61, 97; AP may suspend, modify or suggest alternate TWT schedules. This suggests that the STA can unsubscribe from a TWT to move to another TWT schedule, which would be a request to terminate or suspend the first schedule. Regardless, Examiner cites Seok, paras. 69-70; device terminates a service period.)
and communicate independent of the off-channel schedule in response to the request. (para. 70; device communicates the termination of the service period in the second band by communicating in the first band.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the termination of a service period in order to allow for negotiation according to automatic power saving.
With respect to Claim 15, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach operation classes.
Seok, however, does teach wherein the request frame indicates one or more operating classes that the at least one station supports. (para. 49-50; 5GHz transceiver and 2.4 GHz transceiver. Para. 67; band information includes operating class.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the operation classes in order to allow for negotiation according to supported capabilities.
With respect to Claim 29, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 15, and Barbieri also teaches further comprising at least one transceiver configured to receive the off-channel indication, (Fig. 10, paras. 112-115; base station has a plurality of antennas that transmit and receive data, which are transceivers. See also para. 63; UE with single or multiple transceivers.)
And Asterjadhi also teaches wherein the apparatus is configured as a wireless station. (para. 39; non-AP multi-link device for wireless communication. Application of a known technique to similar elements for predictable results and benefits is obvious, see MPEP 2143(I)(C) and (D).)
The same motivation to combine as Claim 1 applies.
Claims 12 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri (US Pub. 2011/0228666) in view of Asterjadhi (US Pub. 2021/0007168) in view of Patil (US Pub. 2019/0141631) and further in view of Patil (hereinafter “Patil2”, US Pub. 2018/0110046).
With respect to Claim 12, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach a field that specifies one or more spatial reuse parameters.
Patil2, however, does teach wherein the service period availability indication further comprises a field that specifies one or more spatial reuse parameters. (Examiner asserts that Patil teaches the limitation because Patil teaches Wifi 6 (i.e. 802.11ax) see para. 37, which is defined to include spatial reuse. Regardless, to explicitly teach spatial reuse, Examiner cites Patil2, paras. 46-47, 57; Spatial reuse in BSS color.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the spatial reuse parameters in order to power save by quickly distinguishing overlapping communications. (Patil2, para. 46)
With respect to Claim 25, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 18, but does not explicitly teach a field that specifies one or more spatial reuse parameters.
Patil2, however, does teach wherein the service period availability indication further comprises a field that specifies one or more spatial reuse parameters. (Examiner asserts that Patil teaches the limitation because Patil teaches Wifi 6 (i.e. 802.11ax) see para. 37, which is defined to include spatial reuse. Regardless, to explicitly teach spatial reuse, Examiner cites Patil2, paras. 46-47, 57; Spatial reuse in BSS color.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the spatial reuse parameters in order to power save by quickly distinguishing overlapping communications. (Patil2, para. 46)
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Barbieri (US Pub. 2011/0228666) in view of Asterjadhi (US Pub. 2021/0007168) in view of Patil (US Pub. 2019/0141631), and further in view of Chu (US Pub. 2021/0266891).
With respect to Claim 28, modified Barbieri teaches the apparatus of claim 18, and Barbieri also teaches and participate in P2P communications with the at least one other apparatus on one or more of the second set of channels (para. 52; UEs establish P2P communication using assigned channel.)
But modified Barbieri does not explicitly teach a synchronization timer.
Chu, however, does teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to execute the instructions and cause the apparatus to: obtain medium synchronization on the one or more of the second set of channels; (para. 10-12; NAVSyncDelay timer for synchronization)
without waiting for expiration of a medium synchronization timer after obtaining the medium synchronization. (para. 10; link state is maintained by either backing off until NAVSyncDelay passes or until a PPDU with TXOP duration information is received. The latter allows for participating in communication without waiting for a medium synchronization.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the without waiting for a medium synchronization timer in order to allow for faster communication establishment.
Alternate Grounds
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, 13-14, 16-18, 20-23, 26-27 and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbieri (US Pub. 2011/0228666) in view of Asterjadhi (US Pub. 2021/0007168) and further in view of IEEE Std 802.11ax-2021 (“Part 11: Wireless LAN Medium Access Control (MAC) and Physical Layer (PHY) Specifications, Amendment 1: Enhancements for High-Efficiency WLAN,” hereinafter “IEEE Std,” IEEE Standards Association, Approved 2/9/2021).
With respect to Claim 1, Barbieri and Asterjadhi teach as above but under this ground of rejection do not explicitly teach a persistence field.
IEEE Std, however, does teach periodicity, (pg. 284; Periodicity field. Table 27-20, pg. 551; Midamble Periodicity field set in bits B8-B10)
and a persistence field that indicates a duration for which the permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels by the at least one station remains valid. (pg. 174, 393-394; broadcast TWT has persistence subfield.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date to combine the apparatus of modified Barbieri with the persistence field in order to communicate a guaranteed validity of the TWT schedule.
The same citation would apply, mutatis mutandis, to all other claims.
Remarks
Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 9-10 that the 112b should be withdrawn. Examiner agrees and withdraws the rejection.
Applicant amends “a persistence field that indicates duration for which the service period availability remains valid” to “a persistence field that indicates a duration for which the permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels by the at least one station remains valid.” Applicant argues at Remarks, pgs. 10-12 that Claim 1 is nonobvious over the new language.
Applicant’s amendment in the complained-of language merely swaps “service period availability” for “permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels.” Claim 1 previously, and still now, contains the limitation “a service period availability indication [] that indicates when the at least one station is permitted to use the one or more of the second set of channels that are recommended to the at least one station for P2P communications.” Applicant does not dispute the citation for the teaching of this feature. Therefore, all this part of the amendment does is swap a previously defined term for its definition. The feature remains obvious for the same reasons it was previously obvious.
Nevertheless, Examiner will respond to the arguments – Applicant does not appear to dispute that Patil teaches a persistence field (see Remarks, pgs. 11-12; “Paragraphs [0091] – [0093] of Patil describe ‘a broadcast TWT persistence subfield 416’ that ‘indicates a guaranteed validity of the broadcast TWT parameter set 422 associated with the broadcast TWT schedule identified by the broadcast TWT ID 418.’” … “Patil discloses periodic broadcasts and persistence-related information in the context of TWT or DTIM scheduling.”). Nor does Applicant appear to dispute that the function of the persistence subfield is to guarantee the parameters. Applicant merely argues that Patil, on its own, does not teach the service period availability indication that was previously taught and is not currently disputed. In other words, Applicant improperly piecemeal attacks the rejection. Notably, Applicant does not argue that the persistence field as used in the instant invention has any structural difference than was known in the art, nor does Applicant argue that the function of the persistence field is any different.
The claim appears to use the TWT scheduling parameters disclosed in the IEEE standard (cited in the alternate grounds) in their conventional way to perform TWT scheduling. At pg. 393 of IEEE the “alternate TWT” element in Table 26-6 identifies that “some of the parameters of the broadcast TWT schedule [] will change [] after the Broadcast TWT Persistence field of that broadcast TWT parameter set reaches 0.” This shows that the persistence field has conventionally been used to guarantee the other parameters. Thus, whether described as validity of “a service period” that includes parameters or described as “permission to use the one or more of the second set of channels” defined by parameters, the conventional functionality of the persistence field is to indicate that no changes will be made while it is active. Consequently, the feature as amended remains obvious.
At Remarks, pg. 12, Applicant argues that in combination the teaching is feature is still not obvious because Barbieri and Asterjadhi don’t disclose a persistence field. But this is not considering the references in combination, it is considering each of the references individually in isolation. Barbieri and Asterjadhi disclose a system by which channels are scheduled to stations. Patil or IEEE disclose that the art understood that a persistence field could be used to identify that scheduling parameters will remain valid. The combination therefore teaches using a persistence field to indicate permission for a station to use a channel for a duration of validity.
At Remarks, pgs. 12-13, Applicant argues the additional references fail to cure the deficiency of Patil. The argument is moot. At Remarks, pg. 14, Applicant argues IEEE in a similar manner to Patil. Applicant acknowledges “IEEE Std generally discusses a persistence field” but does not explain how Applicant has made a different structure or how the persistence field is being used in anything other than the standards-manner of guaranteeing parameters.
All claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449