DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 12, 14, 18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert (US 2015/0129906) in view of Bass et al. (US 2007/0297750).
Regarding claim 1, Weigert teaches an integrated circuit package (light emitter of the embodiment of the LED light emission on both the front side and on the back side as disclosed in [0037]), comprising: first and second active dies (308a and 308b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]), wherein the first active die (308a) is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation from a top surface (light emission from the top surface of 308a seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, i.e. the backside of the LED described in [0037]) that comprises a first wavelength (red; [0033]) and the second active die (308b) is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation from a top surface (light emission from the top surface of 308b seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, i.e. the backside of the LED described in [0037]) that comprises a second wavelength (green; [0033]) different from the first wavelength (red), and further wherein each of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b) comprises a top contact (324; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0036]) disposed on the top surface of each of the first and second active dies (the top surfaces of 308a and 308b; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down; [0036], 308b is similar to 308a) and a bottom contact (328; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0036]) disposed on a bottom surface of each of the first and second active dies (the bottom surfaces of 308a and 308b; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down; [0036], 308b is similar to 308a); and a via die (312; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]) comprising first and second vias (344 in 318a and 344 in 318b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0038]) that each extends between a top contact (332; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0038]) disposed on a top surface (a top surface of 312 seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down) of the via die (312) and a bottom contact (336; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0038]) disposed on a bottom surface of the via die (312 seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down), wherein the bottom contact of the first active die (328 of 308a) is electrically connected to the bottom contact of the first via of the via die (336 of 344 of 312 in 318a; Figs. 3A-3C, [0038]) and the bottom contact of the second active die (328 of 308b) is electrically connected to the bottom contact of the second via of the via die (336 of 344 of 312 in 318b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0038]).
Weigert does not teach wherein at least one of the first wavelength or the second wavelength is an infrared wavelength.
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Bass et al. teach wherein at least one of the first wavelength or the second wavelength (the wavelength of radiation emitted by one of the semiconductor light sources; Fig. 3, [0029, 0037]) is an infrared wavelength (near-infrared wavelength, the near infrared wavelength belongs to the infrared wavelength is evident from paragraphs [0031] of Horng et al., US 20110108862 A1); [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert and Bass et al., and to further include the semiconductor light sources emitting near-infrared as taught by Bass et al. ([0029]), because the near-infrared semiconductor light sources can maximize the performance of the selected red, green and blue emitters ([0029] of Bass et al.).
Regarding claim 3, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the first and second active dies (308a and 308b) and the via die (312) are disposed in a molded encapsulant (304; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]).
Regarding claim 4, Weigert teaches the package of claim 3, wherein the encapsulant (304) is disposed between the first and second active dies (308a and 308b) and the via die (312; Figs. 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 5, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, further comprising a patterned conductive layer (316; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]) disposed on the bottom surface of each of the first active die (308a), the second active die (308b), and the via die (312; see Figs. 3A-3C upside down; [0036], 308b is similar to 308a), wherein the patterned conductive layer (316) electrically connects the bottom contact of the first active die (328 of 308a) to the bottom contact of the first via of the via die (336 of 344 of 312 in 318a; Figs. 3A-3C, [0038]) and the bottom contact of the second active die (328 of 308b) to the bottom contact of the second via of the via die (336 of 344 of 312 in 318b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0038]).
Regarding claim 6, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, further comprising solder bumps (320; Figs 3A-3C, [0030]) disposed on the top contact of each of the first and second active dies (324s of 308a and 308b; see Figs. 3A-3C) and the via die (332 of 312; see Figs. 3A-3C).
Regarding claim 7, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]) comprises a light emitting diode (LED; [0033, 0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]) comprises a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser ([0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]) may be pulsed in a sequential manner (308a and 308b have separate electrical connections as shown in Fig. 3A-3C and can be pulsed in a sequential manner).
Regarding claim 14, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the first active die (308a) comprises a second top contact (320; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0030]) and a second bottom contact (316 electrically connected to 308a; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0030]), and further wherein the second active die (308b) comprises a second top contact (320; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0030]) and a second bottom contact (316 electrically connected to 308b; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0030]).
Regarding claim 18, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the first and second active dies (308a and 308b) and the via die (312) are disposed on (on the sidewalls of) a substrate (304, which can be considered as a substrate which provides the support of the dies, electrical connections and electrical terminals; [0030]).
Regarding claim 22, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein the first wavelength (red) and the second wavelength (green).
Weigert does not teach the first wavelength is an infrared wavelength and the second wavelength is a near-infrared wavelength.
In the same field of endeavor of light emitting devices, Bass et al. teach the first wavelength (the wavelength of radiation emitted by one of the semiconductor light sources, which can be one of the different near infrared wavelengths disclosed in [0039]; Fig. 3, [0029, 0037]) is an infrared wavelength (the near infrared wavelength belongs to the infrared wavelength is evident from paragraphs [0031] of Horng et al., US 20110108862 A1) and the second wavelength (the wavelength of radiation emitted by another one of the semiconductor light sources, which can be another one of the different near infrared wavelengths disclosed in [0039]; Fig. 3, [0029, 0037]) is a near-infrared wavelength ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert and Bass et al., and to further include multiple semiconductor light sources emitting different near-infrared wavelengths as taught by Bass et al. ([0029]), because the near-infrared semiconductor light sources can maximize the performance of the selected red, green and blue emitters ([0029] of Bass et al.).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert and Bass et al. as applied to claims 1 above.
Regarding claim 2, Weigert teaches further comprising a third active die (308c; Figs. 3A-3C, [0030]), wherein the third active die (308c) is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation from a top surface (light emission from the top surface of 308c seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, i.e. the backside of the LED described in [0037]) that comprises a third wavelength (blue; [0033]), wherein the bottom contact of the third die (328 of 308c; seeing Figs. 3B and 3C upside down, [0036]) is electrically connected to bottom contacts of a third vias of the via die (336 of 344 of 312 in 318c; Figs. 3A-3C, [0038]).
Weigert does not teach fourth, and fifth active dies, the fourth active die is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation from a top surface that comprises a fourth wavelength, and the fifth active die is adapted to emit electromagnetic radiation from a top surface of the fifth active die that comprises a fifth wavelength; wherein the bottom contact of each of the fourth, and fifth active dies is electrically connected to bottom contacts of third, fourth, and fifth vias respectively of the via die.
In the same reference of Weigert, Weigert teaches that the integrated circuit package (300) can have more light sources (308; [0033]).
Weigert discloses the claimed invention except for the duplications of the fourth and fifth active dies and their related structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the fourth and fifth active dies and their related structures as taught by Weigert, because Weigert teaches more active dies can be included in the device ([0033]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the fourth and fifth active dies, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claims 10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert and Bass et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0052466).
Regarding claim 10, Weigert teaches wherein each of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b).
Weigert does not teach each of the first and second active dies comprises an aperture disposed on the top surface of the die, wherein the electromagnetic radiation emitted by each of the first and second active dies is directed through the respective aperture.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Chen et al. teach a light emitting device (100; Fig. 1A, [0035]) comprises an aperture (the aperture of 107; Fig. 1A, [0035]) disposed on the top surface of the die (101/102/108; Fig. 1A, [0035]), wherein the electromagnetic radiation (109; Fig. 1A, [0035]) emitted by the light emitting device (100) directed through the respective aperture (the aperture of 107; see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert, Bass et al. and Chen et al. and to have each of the first and second active dies comprises an aperture disposed on the top surface of the die, wherein the electromagnetic radiation emitted by each of the first and second active dies is directed through the respective aperture, because Weigert teaches that the first and the second dies can be a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser ([0025]), and Chen et al. teach that the VCSEL is one type of the light emitting devices that have the properties as claimed ([0035]).
Regarding claim 21, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, further comprising the top surfaces of the first and second active dies (the top surfaces of 308a and 308b).
Weigert does not teach a masking layer disposed on the top surfaces of the first and second active dies, wherein the masking layer defines an aperture associated with the top surface of the first active die and an aperture associated with the top surface of the second active die.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing, Chen et al. teach a masking layer (107; Fig 1A, [0035]) disposed on the top surfaces of the first and second active dies (the top surfaces of two of the 101/102/108s of the VCSEL arrays; Fig. 1A, [0035]), wherein the masking layer (107 in Fig. 1A) defines an aperture (the aperture of 107; Fig. 1A, [0035]) associated with the top surface of the first active die (the top surface of one of the 101/102/108s of the VCSEL arrays) and an aperture (the aperture of 107; Fig. 1A, [0035]) associated with the top surface of the second active die (the top surfaces of another one of the 101/102/108s of the VCSEL arrays).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert, Bass et al. and Chen et al. and to have each of the first and second active dies comprises an aperture disposed on the top surface of the die, wherein the electromagnetic radiation emitted by each of the first and second active dies is directed through the respective aperture, because Weigert teaches that the first and the second dies can be a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser ([0025]), and Chen et al. teach that the VCSEL is one type of the light emitting devices that have the properties as claimed ([0035]).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert and Bass et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dummer et al. (US 2016/0352073 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b).
Weigert does not teach a bandwidth of the electromagnetic radiation emitted by each of the first and second active dies is no greater than 20 nm full-width at half-maximum.
In the same field of endeavor of LEDs, Dummer et al. teach a bandwidth (spectral width; [0064]) of the electromagnetic radiation emitted by each of the first and second active dies (the VCSEL dies of a plurality of VCSELs in a VCSEL array; [0010, 0024, 0064]) is no greater than 20 nm full-width at half-maximum (less than 1 nm in FWHM; [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert, Bass et al. and Dummer et al., and to have a bandwidth of the electromagnetic radiation emitted by each of the first and second active dies being no greater than 20 nm full-width at half-maximum, because Weigert teaches that the first and the second dies can be a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser ([0025]), and Dummer et al. teach that the VCSELs are generally have a bandwidth less than 1 nm in FWHM ([0064]).
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert and Bass et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bonnin et al. (US 2012/0050682 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first or second dies (308a and 308b).
Weigert does not teach at least one of the first or second dies comprises a cone angle of emission of no greater than 90 degrees.
In the same field of endeavor of LEDs, Bonnin et al. teach the VCSELs comprises a cone angle of emission of no greater than 90 degrees (less than 10 degrees; [0067]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert, Bass et al. and Bonnin et al., and to have at least one of the first or second dies comprises a cone angle of emission of no greater than 90 degrees, because Weigert teaches that the first and the second dies can be a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser ([0025]), and Bonnin et al. teach that the VCSELs are usually have a cone angle of a cone angle of emission of no greater than 90 degrees (less than 10 degrees; [0067]).
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weigert and Bass et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Atkins (US 2009/0322800 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Weigert teaches the package of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second active dies (308a and 308b) comprises a white light LED ([0033])
Weigert does not teach a white light LED is a broadband emitter that utilizes re-emission of phosphorous materials.
In the same field of endeavor of LEDs, Atkins teaches a white light LED is a broadband emitter that utilizes re-emission of phosphorous materials (yellow phosphor; [0328]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the inventions of Weigert, Bass et al. and Atkins, and to use a blue LED with a yellow phosphor as the first and second active dies, because Weigert teaches the first and second active dies can be white LEDs ([0033]), but is silent how to form the white LEDs, while Atkins teaches that a blue LED with a yellow phosphor can be used to form the white LEDs ([0328]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of " wherein the second top contact of the first active die is electrically connected to the second top contact of the second active die" as recited in claim 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 10/16/2025, overcome the rejections to claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-18 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 1-8, 10-15, 17-18 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 1/23/2026