DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 24 December 2025, applicants amended 1, 11, and 20.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11-13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momchilov et al. (US 2019/0278616 A1) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2012/0179744 A1), and further in view of Bhatia et al. (US 2018/0349283 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Momchilov discloses: a method comprising:
accessing, by a client device, a shared remote computing session using a remote desktop protocol with use of a web browser executable on the client device (i.e., single session to launch multiple applications using a remote desktop protocol (RDP); running virtual applications in corresponding browser tags in Momchilov, ¶0002, ¶0021, ¶0057),
the shared remote computing session configured to provide the client device with a functionality to select different tabs in the web browser to switch between applications hosted by a remote computing device (i.e., first and second browser tabs corresponding to more than one virtual applications in Momchilov, ¶0021),
wherein the different tabs and the applications are running within the shared remote computing session (i.e., session is shared to and secure to share protocol state with another receiver instance in Momchilov, ¶0002, ¶0038)
intercepting, by the client device, a request to launch a remote application hosted by the remote computing device (i.e., in response to a request to launch multiple applications from the secure session, share protocol state between a first and second instance of the applications corresponding to the browser tabs in Momchilov, ¶0179-0180),
wherein the intercepting prevents the request from reaching the remote computing session (i.e., request to launch application is received in a first instance and the second browser tab is brought into focus and shared the protocol state of the session instead in Momchilov, ¶0180);
determining, by the client device, if the remote application corresponds to a remote application that is already running in a tab of the web browser by determining if an input initiating the request is directed to a remote session that is already running in the tab (i.e., in response to interacting with a first browser tab, request to launch another instance brings into focus an existing browser tab in Momchilov, ¶0180);
after determining that the remote application is already running in the tab of the web browser, directing the request to the remote application that is already running in the tab of the web browser (i.e., interacting with a first browser tab to launch an application/instance of HTML 5 receiver, an existing browser tab is brought into focus and the protocol state is shared from the first browser tab to the second browser tab in Momchilov, ¶0179-¶0180),
in a top-level tab of the web browser (i.e., HTML 5 receivers running in corresponding browser tabs running corresponding HDX applications in Momchilov, ¶0021),
wherein the top-level tab is located outside the tab of the web browser running the shared remote computing session (i.e., distinct browser level tabs in Momchilov, ¶0021).
Momchilov discloses applications may be launched from a single secure session or establishing a new session (¶0002). Momchilov do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sullivan, in order to improve handling of state changes and lifecycle of browser tabs (¶0004-0005), discloses:
after determining that the remote application is not already running in a tab of the web browser, sending, from the client device and to the remote computing device, a request to launch a new instance of the application within the shared remote computing session (i.e., if the window / tab is a new browser tab, determining that request is originating from a new browser window and corresponding window identifier to propose; client side sends second request that includes the proposed window identifier in Sullivan, ¶0046, ¶0048),
wherein the request to initiate the new instance of the application includes an identifier for a tab of the web browser on which to render, at least one image of the new instance of the application indicated by the intercepted request (i.e., the client-side includes the proposed window identifier in a request corresponding to the new window in Sullivan, ¶0046, ¶0048).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sullivan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to improve handling of state changes and lifecycle of browser tabs.
Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov and Sullivan do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Bhatia, in order to improve display of embedded video in virtual desktop applications (¶0012), discloses:
receiving, by a native process executing on the client device, utilizing the remote desktop protocol and via a virtual channel, the at least one image of the new instance of the application from the remote computing device (i.e., a native client, may include a plugin, for providing remote desktop protocol channel to receive visual display information such as frame data corresponding to a server-side virtual desktop agent running on the guest OS in Bhatia, ¶0019);
sending, by the native process and to the web browser, the at least one image (i.e., within the corresponding container window the client receives the video content which is recognized as image data in Bhatia, ¶0067)
and the identifier for the tab of the web browser (i.e., passing along the HWND or windows handle identifier corresponding to the window associated with the instance in Bhatia, ¶0066),
rendering, by the client device and based on the identifier for the tab, the at least one image within the tab of the web browser (i.e., video is rendered corresponding to the identified browser window and video window to render the image content in the web browser in Bhatia, fig. 2, ¶0063, ¶0067).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan, and further in view of Bhatia, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Bhatia to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to improve display of embedded video in virtual desktop applications.
With respect to claim 2, Momchilov discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein there is a plurality of applications or web pages hosted by the remote computing device in a plurality of web browser tabs, each associated with a respective identifier for the tab and respective images are displayed on each of the respective web browser tabs associated with respective identifiers (i.e., displaying application output graphically on corresponding browser tabs; user working and interacting with both tabs capable of bringing either into focus; applications have certificates that may be used by the browser to identify client agents authorized use in Momchilov, ¶0021, ¶0086, ¶0112-0114).
With respect to claim 3, Momchilov discloses applications may be launched from a single secure session or establishing a new session (¶0002). Momchilov do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Sullivan, in order to improve handling of state changes and lifecycle of browser tabs (¶0004-0005), discloses:
the method of claim 2, wherein the respective images are received from a plurality of tabs hosted by the remote computing device and one of the plurality of tabs from the remote computing device is active and another of the plurality of tabs from the remote computing device is inactive (i.e., server can host resources for the corresponding browser windows and determine inactivity based on time and free resources accordingly for inactive windows in Sullivan, ¶0005, ¶0036, ¶0007).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Sullivan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to improve handling of state changes and lifecycle of browser tabs .
With respect to claim 8, Momchilov discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the client device uses an HTML5 client to intercept the request to launch the application hosted by the remote computing device (i.e., HTML 5 receiver on the client endpoint corresponding to the cloud service hosting in Momchilov, ¶0017).
With respect to claim 11, the limitation(s) of claim 11 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 3.
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 8.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 14, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momchilov et al. (US 2019/0278616 A1) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2012/0179744 A1) and Bhatia et al. (US 2018/0349283 A1), and further in view of Haas et al. (US 2017/0109124 A1) and Relan et al. (US 2013/0013671 A1).
With respect to claim 4, Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan and Bhatia do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Haas, in order to in order to associate actions and data with the correct corresponding tab using a paired session and window ID (¶0034), discloses: the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the native process running on the client device, the identifier for the tab of the web browser (i.e., computer receives window ID corresponding to browser tabs that displays a control panel; displaying the control panel by the browser tab in Haas, ¶0169, ¶0163);
accessing, by the native process using the request, the shared remote computing session consequent to receiving the identifier for the tab of the web browser (i.e., determine the control panel and corresponding browser based on window ID of reference table; transmitting changes in a push channel to the synchronized browser in Haas, ¶0231, ¶0233);
receiving, by the native process, the at least one image of the new instance of the application from the remote computing device (i.e., delivering control panel as a markup language file for display within the browser; the markup language file including images interpreted via HTML5 in Haas, ¶0017, ¶0149).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan and Bhatia, and further in view of Haas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Haas to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to in order to associate actions and data with the correct corresponding tab using a paired session and window ID.
Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan, Bhatia, and Haas do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Relan, in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device (¶0007-0008), discloses:
sending, by the native process, the at least one image of the new instance of the application to the web browser along with the identifier for the tab of the web browser (i.e., capturing A/V from the stream and incorporates an identifier to the video frame to be displayed via the player in Relan, ¶0142).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan, Bhatia, and Haas, and further in view of Relan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Relan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device.
With respect to claim 5, Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan and Bhatia do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Haas, in order to in order to associate actions and data with the correct corresponding tab using a paired session and window ID (¶0034), discloses: the method of claim 4, wherein the at least one image is received by the native process operating the shared remote computing session (i.e., establishing web sockets between the master computer interface and the client computers in Haas, ¶0066-0067).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan and Bhatia, and further in view of Haas, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Haas to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to in order to associate actions and data with the correct corresponding tab using a paired session and window ID.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 1 and 4. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1 and 4.
Claim(s) 6-7, 9, 10, 16, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momchilov et al. (US 2019/0278616 A1) in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2012/0179744 A1) and Bhatia et al. (US 2018/0349283 A1), and further in view of Relan et al. (US 2013/0013671 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan and Bhatia do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Relan, in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device (¶0007-0008), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the client device intercepts inputs from a peripheral input device and redirects them to the shared remote computing session (i.e., receiving user input via keyboard or mobile device gestures; sending them to the control server for interacting with the applications in Relan, ¶0143-0144).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan and Bhatia, and further in view of Relan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Relan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device.
With respect to claim 7, Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan and Bhatia do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Relan, in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device (¶0007-0008), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the client device uses a browser extension to intercept the request to launch the application hosted by the remote computing device (i.e., a player on the client device receives the selection of an application and sends the request to the server for the application; utilizing a browser extension to create socket with control server for performing actions and sending data in Relan, ¶0062, ¶0064, ¶0128).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan and Bhatia, and further in view of Relan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Relan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device.
With respect to claim 9, Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan and Bhatia do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Relan, in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device (¶0007-0008), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein a browser native protocol of the web browser has been extended to enable the sending of the identifier and the request to the shared remote computing session (i.e., utilizing a browser extension to create socket with control server for performing actions and sending data in Relan, ¶0062, ¶0064).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan and Bhatia, and further in view of Relan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Relan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device.
With respect to claim 10, Momchilov discloses running multiple HDX applications corresponding to displaying the applications in different browser tabs (¶0021). Momchilov, Sullivan and Bhatia do(es) not explicitly disclose the following. Relan, in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device (¶0007-0008), discloses: the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one image is displayed by painting a bitmap image on a canvas of the tab associated with the identifier (i.e., output of application as video frames captured and streamed to the remote device, "video capture and streamer 226 module is a module that captures video frames output by the virtual screen 224 module. After the frames are captured, the video capture and streamer 226 module subsequently encodes and streams the video to the mobile device" in Relan, ¶0078).
Based on Momchilov in view of Sullivan and Bhatia, and further in view of Relan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Relan to improve upon those of Momchilov in order to simplify deployment of existing applications to wider audience utilizing multiple devices by leveraging a simple player for accessing hosted applications on a mobile device.
With respect to claim 16, the limitation(s) of claim 16 are similar to those of claim(s) 6. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 6.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 7.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 9. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 9.
Conclusion
Sherman Lin
1/23/2026
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447