DETAILED ACTION
This detailed action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed on 11/12/2024, and any subsequent filings.
Notations “C_” and “L_” are used to mean “column_” and “line_”. Notation “Pr_” is used to mean “paragraph_”.
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 stand rejected. Claim 11 is cancelled. Claims 1-9 and 12-17 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/12/2024, that reference Liu does not disclose, in a reactor for filtration by adsorption followed by electrolysis, the chamber comprising an anode and a cathode for electrolysis: a recirculation circuit of an electrolyte solution for the electrolysis, connecting the outlet of the reactor and the inlet of the reactor, and passing through an open buffer volume allowing the evacuation of gas bubbles generated during electrolysis; e the recirculation circuit ensuring an upward flow of the electrolyte solution within the chamber in order to facilitate the evacuation of gas bubbles formed during electrolysis in the open buffer volume of the recirculation circuit (pg. 18, Pr3-4 and pg. 19, Pr1-4) are persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments that reference Liu does not disclose a continuous filtration mode without an electrical power supply (pg. 19, last Pr and pg. 20, Pr3) or an electrolysis mode with continuous recirculation of electrolyte solution through the recirculation circuit (pg. 20, Pr2) are persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Liu discloses a system on which biofouling and chemical fouling are constantly removed by the oxidation process (pg. 21, Pr2), whereas electrolysis mode is a different operating mode in the claimed device (pg. 20, Pr5) as the continuous filtration mode and the electrolysis mode cannot be simultaneous (pg. 20, Pr6). This is persuasive.
The Applicant argues that Liu discloses temporary switch of voltage polarity of electrodes, which cannot be considered as a change between a filtering mode without an electric power supply and an electrolysis mode (pg. 21, Pr3). This is persuasive.
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Due to the Applicant’s amendments, the previous claim objection has been removed.
Claim Interpretation
Due to the Applicant’s amendments, claim 1 no longer invokes 35 USC § 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3
Due to the Applicant’s amendments, the previous 35 USC § 112(a) rejection has been removed.
Claims 1-9 and 11-17
Due to the Applicant’s amendments, the previous 35 USC § 112(b) rejections have been removed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20180222781A1) in view of Gonzalez-Martin (US6149810A) and in further view of Alwin (US20180072593A1) and in further view of Vecitus (US20120234694A1) and in further view of Huang (US20190185351A1).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards a device.
Regarding Claims 1-3, 7, and 14-17, Liu teaches a column reactor (continuous water purification system 10 that includes an anode 14 and a cathode 16 ([0037], Fig. 1) allowing the continuous frontal filtration ([0037]) of a flowing fluid by adsorption of organic pollutants contained in the flowing fluid on a filter (as water 20 passes through the cathode 16 made of porous carbon material (PCM) 52 (Fig. 2), contaminants are adsorbed onto the material ([0062])),
followed by electrolysis for regeneration of the filter ([0065-0066]) and degradation ([0061]) and mineralization of organic pollutants (as the contaminants move down the PCM cathode 16, they are either mineralized into water and carbon dioxide or into lesser toxic species during the process ([0062])), the column reactor comprising:
a vertically positioned chamber (Fig. 1), with at least one inlet (inlet 22, Fig. 1, [0038]) delivering a fluid into the chamber and at least one outlet (outlet 24, Fig. 1, [0038]) for evacuating the fluid from the chamber ([0038], Fig. 1);
an electrical power supply ([0042]);
a circuit for circulating a fluid to be treated by adsorption of organic pollutants on the filter, allowing the passage of the fluid to be treated through the chamber (system 10 includes a vessel 12 for holding an aqueous medium 20, which flows into the vessel 12 through inlet 22, passes through the anode 14 and cathode 16, and out of the vessel 12 through outlet 24 ([0038]));
a fluid transport system (a water pump 214 may be any suitable device for moving incoming water through the stages of the system (Liu, [0073]));
all the fluid to be treated during filtration as well as the electrolyte solution and organic pollutants desorbed during electrolysis pass successively through all the elements of the chamber which comprises for the fluid transport system at least (the aqueous medium 20 which flows into the vessel 12 through inlet 22, passes through the anode 14 and cathode 16, and out of the vessel 12 through outlet 24 ([0038]) includes contaminants 114 ([0060], note flow in Fig. 1). The electrolyte is also included as in the electrolyte, H2O2 is produced ([0089]) and this H2O2 is generated from the reduction of water solution oxygen ([0063]) from the electrolyte ([0089]) by the PCM cathode 16 to oxidize contaminants ([0063])):
a porous filter (porous carbon material 52, [0040]), having activated carbon layers allowing the adsorption of organic pollutants (chemical fouling, [0066]) during the flow of fluid to be treated ([0038]);
the activated carbon layers being electrically connected to the electrical power supply ([0042]), in order to polarize them during electrolysis ([0042]), the filter being only the cathode during electrolysis ([0042]) and
the passage of the electrolyte solution and desorbed organic pollutants allowing desorption ([0094]) of adsorbed organic pollutants, regeneration of the filter ([0094]) and degradation ([0066]) and mineralization of organic pollutants ([0062]);
the activated carbon layers being filters during a continuous filtration mode of the fluid circulating through the circulation circuit for adsorption of organic pollutants on the filter (as the water 20 passes through the PCM cathode 16, contaminants are adsorbed to the material, [0062]);
an anode (anode 14, Fig. 1, [0037]), upstream or downstream of the activated carbon layers (Fig. 1) and which is separated from the anode (there is a spacer 106 between the anode 14 and cathode 16 to prevent electrical contact between the anode 14 and cathode (Liu, [0059], Fig. 5)),
the anode comprising at least one layer of anode material ([0041]) and openings ([0038] and [0041]) allowing:- the flow of fluid during filtration ([0038]) and - the flow of electrolyte solution and desorbed organic pollutants during electrolysis when the activated carbon layers is a cathode (the aqueous medium 20 which flows into the vessel 12 through inlet 22, passes through the anode 14 and cathode 16, and out of the vessel 12 through outlet 24 ([0038]) includes contaminants 114 ([0060], note flow in Fig. 1). The electrolyte is also included as in the electrolyte, H2O2 is produced ([0089]) and this H2O2 is generated from the reduction of water solution oxygen ([0063]) from the electrolyte ([0089]) by the PCM cathode 16 to oxidize contaminants ([0063])),
the anode material and the activated carbon layers being electrically connected to the electrical power supply ([0042]), in order to polarize them during electrolysis for degradation and mineralization of desorbed organic pollutants from the activated carbon layers (during operation of the system 10, a potential is applied sufficient to generate reactive species at the cathode 16 ([0042]) to oxidize contaminants ([0063]). As desorbed contaminants ([0094]) moved down the PCM cathode 16, they are either mineralized into water and carbon dioxide or into lesser toxic species during the process ([0062])),
the anode and the filter are placed horizontally within the vertically positioned chamber of the column reactor (Fig. 1),
a separator element, located between the anode and the activated carbon layers, (there is a spacer 106 between the anode 14 and cathode 16 to prevent electrical contact between the anode 14 and cathode (Liu, [0059], Fig. 5)) allowing the activated carbon layer used as a cathode and the anode to be electrically connected by the electrolyte solution during electrolysis ([0089]),
the column reactor including a control unit (control unit 211, [0068], Fig. 6) connected to the circulation circuit to the fluid transport system ([0077] and [0081]) and the electrical power supply ([0077] and [0081]), so that a continuous filtration operating mode or an electrolysis operating mode can be set up ([0077] and [0081]), by action of the control unit on the circulation circuit and as well as on the fluid transport system and electrical power supply ([0077] and [0081]), so as to operate in said two modes ([0077] and [0081]):
continuous filtration mode of the fluid circulating through the circulation circuit for adsorption of organic pollutants on the filter (continuous removal of chemical and biological contaminants is achieved via the adsorption of contaminants inside the PCM 52, [0065]), or
electrolysis mode, for desorption of organic pollutants regeneration of the filter and degradation and mineralization of organic pollutants, by applying an electric current between the filter used as a cathode and the anode (after a period of time, regeneration may be performed to flush adsorbed contaminants by temporarily switching the voltage polarity of the PCM electrodes so the adsorbed contaminants will be desorbed and flushed away, allowing water purification to proceed, [0094]). As contaminants moved down the PCM cathode 16, they are either mineralized into water and carbon dioxide or into lesser toxic species during the process, [0062]).
However, Liu does not teach a recirculation circuit of an electrolyte solution for electrolysis, connecting the outlet to the inlet, and passing through an open buffer volume allowing the evacuation of gas bubbles generated during electrolysis; the anode and the activated carbon layers only being polarized during electrolysis; the recirculation circuit ensuring an upward flow of the electrolyte solution and the desorbed organic pollutants within the chamber comprising the anode and the activated carbon layers which is the cathode during the electrolysis, in order to facilitate the evacuation of gas bubbles formed during electrolysis in the open buffer volume of the recirculation circuit; with continuous recirculation of the electrolyte solution and desorbed organic pollutants through the filter and the anode of the chamber and then through the recirculation circuit.
Gonzalez-Martin also relates to a column reactor (abstract and cell 150, C31, L34-39, Fig. 13), comprising:
a recirculation circuit of an electrolyte solution for electrolysis, connecting the outlet to the inlet (Fig. 14), and passing through an open buffer volume allowing the evacuation of gas bubbles generated during electrolysis (the gas-laden water flows into a gas/liquid separator tank 74, then the gas disengages from the water 80 and rises into a vapor space 82 of tank 74, C22 L55-58, Fig. 6),
the recirculation circuit ensuring an upward flow of the electrolyte solution (C21 L32-34) within the chamber during the electrolysis in order to facilitate the evacuation of gas bubbles formed (water flow is typically directed upward so that gaseous oxidation products do not become trapped in the cell, C21 L32-34) during electrolysis in the open buffer volume of the recirculation circuit (the gas-laden water flows into a gas/liquid separator tank 74, then the gas disengages from the water 80 and rises into a vapor space 82 of tank 74, C22 L55-58, Fig. 6),
with continuous recirculation of the electrolyte solution through the filter and the anode of the chamber and then through the recirculation circuit (C23, L17-19 and C24, L33-38, Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the recirculation circuit of Gonzalez-Martin in the column reactor of Liu, so that the water can pass through the column reactor multiple times and therefore per pass needs only be purified by a lesser degree, which contributes to operating efficiency (Alwin, [0010]). Furthermore, the open buffer volume allows gas to disengage from the water (Gonzalez-Martin, C22 L55-58), which provides a benefit as gas bubbles can disrupt the filtration process by clogging pores (Vecitis, [0379]).
However, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, and Vecitis does not teach that the anode and the cathode are only polarized during electrolysis.
Huang also relates to a column reactor (Figs. 23-25, [0005]), where the anode and the cathode are only polarized during electrolysis (a first electrode/membrane can be used to electrostatically filter contaminants and to concentrate them, [0074]. After passing this first filter, the concentrated composition can proceed to a second electrode/membrane acting as an anode to adsorb and mineralize PFASs, [0074-0075], see Fig. 25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to polarize the anode and cathode of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, and Vecitis only during electrolysis, as demonstrated by Huang, to operate in different modes and combinations that couple filtration, sorption and electrochemical reactions in a synergistic manner to achieve efficient and cost-effective removal and degradation of contaminants (Huang, [0074] and [0150]).
Additional Disclosures Included:
Claim 2: wherein the anode comprises a perforated material or a mesh screen on which the anode material is deposited (the anode 14 may be any suitable electrode for use in an electrochemical water treatment process (Liu, [0041]). For example, the anode 14 may be a titanium plate having holes formed therein for passing the aqueous medium 20 at a desired rate of flow (Liu, [0041]). The perforated titanium plate may be coated with IrO2 (Liu, [0041])).
Claim 3: wherein an electrode placed downstream of another electrode relative to the direction of fluid flow during regeneration is:
the anode, thus comprising a perforated material or a mesh screen with openings/mesh greater than 0.15 cm2 allowing the passage of gas bubbles formed during electrolysis;
or the filter used as a cathode (the cathode 16 is downstream of the anode 14 (Liu, Fig. 1)),
and the fluid transport system is configured to allow the recirculation circuit to reach a filtration velocity of electrolyte solution through the filter greater than 2 m/h during electrolysis (water to be treated flowed at a flow rate of 10 mL/min, or 10 cm3/min, during desalination (Liu, [0096]), where Na+ and Cl- ions are electrosorbed onto the PCM electrodes (Liu, [0093])).
The PCM electrodes had a 0.6” diameter, or 1.524 cm, resulting in an area of A=πr2=1.824 cm2.
F
l
o
w
r
a
t
e
F
i
l
t
e
r
a
r
e
a
=
10
c
m
3
m
i
n
1.824
c
m
2
×
60
m
i
n
h
r
×
1
m
100
c
m
=
3.3
m
h
r
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1, including that the anode material allows the degradation and mineralization of organic pollutants (water is split at the anode 14 (Liu, [0064]) to generate O2 120 (Liu, [0060]) which is used to generate H2O2 for oxidizing contaminants (Liu, [0063]), which are eventually mineralized (Liu, [0062])).
However, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang as described in the analysis of Claim 1 did not include a description of the anode material as being made of boron-doped diamond or sub-stoichiometric titanium oxide.
Vecitus teaches boron-doped diamond (BDD) anodes (Vecitus, [0443]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the BDD anodes of Vecitus in the reactor of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang because BDD anodes have electrooxidative performance enhancements towards some organic pollutants (Vecitus, [0390] and [0443]) and do not generate harmful active chlorine species (Vecitus, [0004]).
Alternatively, Huang teaches anode material ([0085]) is made of sub-stoichiometric titanium oxide ([0049]) allowing the degradation and mineralization of organic pollutants ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the sub-stoichiometric titanium oxide anodes of Huang in the reactor of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang because such anodes have high conductivity, chemical inertness, and low cost of production (Huang, [0056]).
Claim 7: wherein the chamber comprises a plurality of anode/filter pairs, connected in series, the two faces of an electrode being polarizable during electrolysis (Liu teaches that for the purposes of simplification, only a pair of electrodes 14, 16 are illustrated in Fig. 1, but additional electrodes 14, 16 can be employed (Liu, [0037])).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1.
However, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang as described in the analysis of Claim 1 does not include a description of the control unit as being able to reverse the direction of circulation flow in the reactor between the passage of fluid in the reactor in the filtration mode, and the passage of electrolyte solution in electrolysis mode.
Alwin teaches that the system allows reversing a flow direction when desired ([0013]), controlled by a control unit configured to control a flow generation system and valves ([0058] and [0083]). For instance, the control unit may switch from regeneration to purification by using a switching unit ([0058]), where regeneration may include a reverse flow direction to a flow direction included in purification ([0022] and [0025]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the control unit of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang to be able to reverse the direction of circulation flow in the reactor when reversing a flow direction is desired (Alwin, [0013]).
Claim 14: wherein the fluid is a gas or a liquid (the reactor of Liu treats water (Liu, abstract) but can be used to purify other fluids (Liu, [0039])).
Claim 15: a system comprising reactors according to Claim 1 (Liu teaches a modular water purification system 200 which includes a filter 204, an electrochemical reactor (ECR) 206, a polishing filter 208, an air pump 210, an ozone generator 212, a water pump 214, a control unit 211, and a power supply 216 (Liu, [0068], Fig. 6). The ECR 206 includes an anode 14 and a cathode 16 arranged as shown in Figs. 1-4 (Liu, [0071]). Additional electrodes 14, 16 can be employed, Liu, [0037]).
Claim 16: wherein the fluid recirculation circuits of the reactors are connected, so as to provide a shared open buffer volume (the system 1000 may include a recirculation loop 100 including a plurality of electrosorption cell units 300 (Alwin, [0026]), where the recirculation loop 100 comprises elements such as a buffer reservoir 1500 (Alwin, [0016], Fig. 4).
Claim 17: wherein the reactors are placed in series or in parallel with respect to the flow of the fluid to be treated (Liu teaches that for the purposes of simplification, only a pair of electrodes 14, 16 are illustrated in Fig. 1, but additional electrodes 14, 16 can be employed (Liu, [0037]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20180222781A1) in view of Gonzalez-Martin (US6149810A) and in further view of Alwin (US20180072593A1) and in further view of Vecitus (US20120234694A1) and in further view of Huang (US20190185351A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oturan (FR3078899A1, the machine translation used in the writing of this prior art rejection has been provided by the Examiner with the previous office action, the referenced pages are as indicated at the bottom of each page).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1, but said combination does not teach that at least one of the activated carbon layers is formed of activated carbon fibers.
Oturan also relates to adsorption of organic pollutants contained in the flowing fluid on a filter followed by electrolysis for regeneration of the filter and degradation and mineralization of organic pollutants (electrochemical cell (pg. 6, Pr2) using activated carbon (AC) fibers as a cathode and an anode coated with boron-doped diamond (BDD) both for the regeneration of the AC and mineralization of organic pollutants (pg. 4, Pr1)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use activated carbon fibers in the reactor of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang, because porous fibers’ shape reduces the resistance to intra-particle diffusion and gives this material mechanical and geometric characteristics suitable for the design of electrochemical reactors (Oturan, pg. 3, Pr2). AC fibers is an effective material for adsorption of organic compounds and generation of H2O2 during water treatment and porous AC fibers enable a better level of interconnection at the microstructure level and thus reduces ohmic drops as well as dead zones (non-electro-active zones) (Oturan, pg. 3, Pr2).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20180222781A1) in view of Gonzalez-Martin (US6149810A) and in further view of Alwin (US20180072593A1) and in further view of Vecitus (US20120234694A1) and in further view of Huang (US20190185351A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clifford (US5702587A).
The Applicant’s claims are directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1, but said combination does not teach that at least one of the activated carbon layers is formed of granular activated carbon.
Clifford also relates to a column reactor allowing the continuous frontal filtration of a flowing fluid by adsorption of organic pollutants contained in the flowing fluid on a filter followed by electrolysis for regeneration of the filter and degradation of organic pollutants (electrolytic cells 20, 30 used for adsorption of contaminants from aqueous waste streams using activated carbon beds 80, 90 (C8 L33-39), where the activated carbon beds serve as the cathode (C4 L27-28). Then, a potential is applied to the carbon mass to effect contaminant desorption (C4 L56-62) and the desorbed contaminants are destroyed or decomposed by the generation of hydroxyl ions in situ (C9 L36-40)). Clifford teaches a cathode made from granular activated carbon (C7 L17-19).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use granular activated carbon in the reactor of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang because industrial wastes containing organic materials that are not easily biodegraded are usefully removed from process streams by adsorption on activated carbon, such as granular activated carbon, and activated carbons contain a high surface area (Clifford, C1 L13-16 and C1 L22-25).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1, but said combination does not specify the pH of the electrolyte solution being adjusted to a pH higher than 9 in order to promote the desorption of organic pollutants during electrolysis.
Clifford teaches that desorption of organic pollutants adsorbed on a mass of carbon can be accomplished by conducting electrolysis at an alkaline pH having a pH of about 10 or higher (C5, L45-53).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the pH of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang to a pH higher than 9, as demonstrated by Clifford, to accomplish desorption of organic pollutants adsorbed on a mass of carbon (Clifford, C5, L45-53), stripping the organic pollutants from the carbon adsorbent into the electrolyte and making the organic pollutants more amenable to destruction (Clifford, C11, L45-47). Furthermore, by performing desorption as a high pH, the organic pollutants can be formed into more water-soluble forms and, accordingly, are desorbed from the carbon (Clifford, C15, L1-4).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20180222781A1) in view of Gonzalez-Martin (US6149810A) and in further view of Alwin (US20180072593A1) and in further view of Vecitus (US20120234694A1) and in further view of Huang (US20190185351A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Carson (US9499422B1).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1, but said combination does not teach at least one anode, at least one cathode and the electrical power supply are included in the open buffer volume.
Carson also relates to an electrochemical reactor allowing degradation of organic pollutants (C14, L35-43), including at least one anode, at least one cathode and the electrical power supply (power supply 85, Fig. 10) are included in the open buffer volume (feed material to be decomposed may be introduced into either an anolyte reaction chamber (ARC) 5 or a catholyte reaction chamber (CRC) 6 (C14, L43-46, Fig. 1). The anolyte 3 and catholyte 4 solutions containing electrolyte are circulated to the anolyte 1 and catholyte 2 cells in the electrochemical cell 15, respectively (C14, L46-51, Fig. 1), then the solutions are returned to the ARC 5 and CRC 6 (C37, L13-15), where gas handling systems 13, 14 handle gases produced by the electrochemical process (C15, L26-31 and C27, L47-49)). Carson teaches an ultraviolet energy source 22 used to enhance the decomposition process in the ARC 5 (C39, L29-31) by cleaving hydrogen peroxide molecules into hydroxyl free radicals (C7 L30-34 and C9 L34-38, note that the anode 14 and cathode 16 of Liu also produce hydroxyl radicals from hydrogen peroxide (Liu, [0063])).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include at least one anode, at least one cathode and the electrical power supply are included in the open buffer volume of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang to enhance the decomposition process in the open buffer volume (Carson, C39, L29-31) by cleaving hydrogen peroxide molecules into hydroxyl free radicals (Carson, C7 L30-34 and C9 L34-38, and Liu, [0063]), which may also oxidize contaminants (Liu, [0063]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US20180222781A1) in view of Gonzalez-Martin (US6149810A) and in further view of Alwin (US20180072593A1) and in further view of Vecitus (US20120234694A1) and in further view of Huang (US20190185351A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nyberg (US8562803B2).
The Applicant’s claim is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang teaches the reactor of Claim 1, but said combination does not teach the control unit is connected to a sensor for measuring the concentration of organic pollutants at the outlet, the electrolysis mode being activated when the organic pollutant concentration goes above a given value, the filtration mode being activated when the organic pollutant concentration goes below a given value.
Nyberg also relates to an electrochemical reactor apparatus for fluid treatment (abstract). Nyberg teaches a controller 170 that controls the operation of the apparatus 100 and is capable of generating and receiving signals and instructions to individually and collectively operate components of the apparatus (C9, L23-25 and L34-36). A sensor 160 measures the concentration of ions in the fluid being treated and the sensor 160 may be placed at certain points in the fluid stream, such as, for example, at the inlet 146 or the outlet 148 (C13, L31-38). The controller 170 receives signals from the sensor 160 and can generate a polarity selection signal in response to conditions in the apparatus 100 sensed by the sensor 160 (C12, L27-39) or can control the electrical power supplied to the electrodes 106, 108 in response to an ion concentration signal received from a sensor 16 (C13 L, L54-58), such as by reversing the direction of the current applied through the cell and the direction of fluid flow during regeneration (C44, L30-32).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the control unit of the combination of Liu, Gonzalez-Martin, Alwin, Vecitis and Huang to be connected to a sensor for measuring the concentration of organic pollutants at the outlet, the electrolysis mode being activated when the organic pollutant concentration goes above a given value, the filtration mode being activated when the organic pollutant concentration goes below a given value because if a fluid with a high concentration of dissolved ions is allowed to remain in the electrochemical cell, the ion concentrate could precipitate out and deposit as scale on the internal surfaces of the cell or even clog the filter (Nyberg, C47 L27-36), so the concentration of residual ions in the cell 102 should be reduced prior to initiating filtration (Nyberg, C51 L67-C52 L1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BOI-LIEN THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779