CTFR 17/592,741 CTFR 99538 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Amendment The Amendment filed 4/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-21 remain pending in the application, and no claims have been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every 103 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 1/16/2026. The new grounds of rejection presented below are necessitated by the amendments. Accordingly, this Office Action is made Final. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 4/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant submits on pages 5-6 of Remarks, in regards to rejections under 112, that support exists in the specification and drawings for the claim features in question. The applicant points to paragraphs 0021-0024 [0021] Thus, a notable change is that the IBC 56 has a variable output voltage that tracks the battery output 54 (e.g., a separate node on the system). Traditionally, the output voltage is determined and fixed during the design phase. The change proposed is to set the output voltage of the IBC 56 to the system voltage, which based on the charging stages could be slightly higher than the battery voltage (e.g., value based on being in the constant current (CC) phase or the constant voltage (CV) phase). [0023] The circuit 50 therefore enhances performance at least to the extent that varying the voltage level of the system power input 60 based on the battery output allows the bypass of the charger implementation which increases the overall system efficiency while also reducing latency when the battery supplements the power supply due to the use of the BATFET path for power delivery instead of the reverse boost path. More particularly, the system power does not go through an inductor or switching FETs of the charger controller 52, as in the NVDC architecture. This reduces power loss in the system. The component sizes are also controlled (e.g., based on the charge-rate expectations in the design), with a lower PCB (printed circuit board) area requirement compared to an NVDC charger architecture meeting the same requirements. The applicant states that one way for this to be implemented is illustrated in Fig. 4 (reproduced below). The IBC 70 includes a first comparator (not labeled) with an inverting (reference) input coupled to the battery output through a filter and a non-inverting feedback input coupled to the system voltage input (Vout) through resistor voltage divider (R3/R4), which provides a reduced version of the system input to the non-inverting, feedback input of the comparator. The compared result controls the buck regulator (through the driver and switches Q1, Q2) to control the system input voltage to track, at a higher level, the battery output voltage. This was all part of the originally filed application and thus, it is urged that the claim amendments do not add any new matter or are otherwise unclear under Section 112. PNG media_image1.png 641 506 media_image1.png Greyscale The examiner submits that the 112 rejections in the previous Office Action for lack of written description were applied to the terms “reference input,” “feedback input,” and “reduced version of the system power input.” Paragraphs 0021-0024 do not appear to address the issue. The applicant relies on Fig. 4 and explains that IBC 70 includes a first comparator with an inverting input coupled to the system voltage input through resistor voltage divider R3/R4, which provides a reduced version of the system input to the non-inverting, feedback input of the comparator. Though this explanation does not appear to be provided in highlighted paragraphs 0021-0024 nor elsewhere in the specification, the examiner considers applicant’s explanation above as overcoming 112a rejections for the lack of written description for terms “reference input,” “feedback input,” and “reduced version of the system power input.” However, the specification is objected to for failing to provide proper antecedent basis. As for the 112 rejections for indefiniteness, claim language is not limited to explanations in specifications but to explanation provided in claim language. Claim language remains unclear for the phrase “a reduced version of the system power input” on whether “a reduced version” is a battery voltage measurement, a signal carrying information about the battery voltage, or something else related to the generic term, “reduced version.” The term “higher level” does not appear to clarify but rather further confuses what is a “reduced version.” It is unclear to what quantity the term “level” is referring. Please see the 112(b) rejection below for how the examiner interprets the terms for the purposes of advancing prosecution. The applicant submits on pages 6-7 that references Wei and Batson, either alone or in combination, do not teach an IBC that controls a system input voltage to track a battery output but at a higher level. Batson does not disclose regulating a system input voltage based on the battery voltage. Batson does not disclose controlling a system (e.g., compute system) input voltage to track a supplying battery level (e.g., but at a higher level, effectively applying an offset). Rather, Batson is regulating battery charge current to track a desired charging target rate. The examiner submits that Wei and Batson reads on the limitation “the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track, at a higher level, the battery output.” For details, please see the 103 rejection below . Specification 07-44 AIA The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claims 1, 9, and 17 recite terms “reference input,” “feedback input,” and “reduced version of the system power input” which do not appear to be in the Specification . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Independent claim 1 recites “the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track, at a higher level, the battery output.” The terms “a reduced version of the system power input” and “higher level” are unclear whether “a reduced version” is a battery voltage or current measurement, a signal carrying information about the battery voltage, or something else related to the generic term, reduced version. It is generally unclear what is the quantity of level and what it is being compared to in the term “higher level.” Alternatively, “higher level” might mean higher confidence of the voltage or current measurement from the system power input. However, this is not clearly outlined for one of ordinary skill in the art to ascertain. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the phrase “reduced version of the system power input” as a signal carrying information about a parameter of the battery. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets “reduced version” and “higher level” respectively as “voltage based signal” and “voltage level.” Independent claims 9 and 17 also recite “reduced version of the system power input” and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons as explained above for claim 1. Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-21 inherit the deficiencies noted with the respective independent claims above and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20180076647 A1) in view of Batson (US 20080238356 A1) . Regarding independent claim 1 , Wei teaches a computing system (Fig. 1: 100) comprising: a host processor (CPU 116) ; and a power delivery circuit (charger 102) coupled to the host processor, the power delivery circuit including: a charger controller (Fig. 2 and ¶0023: integrated circuit 202) coupled to a battery output (battery 104) , and an intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) coupled to an external adapter output (¶0024: input node 204) , a system power input (¶0025: output node 210) and the battery output, wherein the intermediate bus converter is to vary a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶0034, 0036-0039, and 0053: constant charging current mode implies a variation of voltage higher than battery voltage, which is supplied to both the battery and the output node 210) . Wei does not explicitly teach the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track, at a higher level, the battery output. Batson teaches a control circuit (Fig. 3: power storage and charging module 16) with a reference input coupled to the battery output (Fig. 3: connection between battery 20 and controller 70) and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input (Fig. 3: load battery 18 connected to microprocessor 72 via line 82) to control a voltage level of the system power input to track, at a higher level, the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶[84, 86, 90]: the controller 50 monitors the voltage of battery 20, and controller 70 monitors the voltage of and applies constant voltage to external battery 18. As battery 18 is being charged, its current and voltage will inherently be larger than the digital voltage value processed by the microprocessor 72 to determine voltage the battery 18) . Wei and Batson teach the management of batteries as a backup source of power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the feedback adjustment mechanism in Batson into Wei to ensure current and voltage supplied to the load is accurately maintained. Regarding claim 2 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the voltage level of the system power input is to be one or more of a percentage value or an absolute value greater than a voltage level of the battery output (¶0058: constant charging current mode is well known in the art to have charging voltage level greater than one percentage value of the battery voltage at least at some point of time during charging) . Regarding claim 3 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is to connect the battery output (104) to the system power input whenever a voltage level of the system power input falls below a voltage level of the battery output (¶0020 and Fig. 1: when the power adapter is not plugged into port 106, the battery 104 is used to power the load 118) . Regarding claim 4 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is coupled to the battery output (104) via a charging power path (Fig. 2: integrated circuit 202 is couple to the charging power path in various places, 204, Q1, Q4, and 214) . Regarding claim 5 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) is coupled to the system power input (210) via a bypass power path (switch 252) . Regarding claim 6 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the charger controller is a hybrid power buck-boost (HPBB) charger (Fig. 2 and ¶0006: integrated circuit 202 comprises narrow voltage DC buck-boost module 220 and turbo buck-boost module 222) . Regarding claim 7 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 6, wherein the HPBB charger is to operate in a narrow voltage direct charger mode (¶0006: narrow voltage DC (NVDC) buck-boost charger mode) . Regarding claim 8 , Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the adapter output is one of an extended power range output or a standard power range output (¶0031-0032: various USB adapters with limited or greater power range) . Regarding independent claim 9 , Wei teaches a power delivery circuit (charger 102) comprising: a charger controller (Fig. 2 and ¶0023: integrated circuit 202) coupled to a battery output (battery 104) ; and an intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) coupled to an external adapter output (¶0024: input node 204) , a system power input (¶0025: output node 210) and the battery output, wherein the intermediate bus converter is to vary a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶0034, 0036-0039, and 0058: constant charging current mode implies a variation of voltage higher than battery voltage, which is supplied to both the battery and the output node 210) . Batson teaches a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶[94]: measured voltage value received by battery 18 (the load) is sent to the controller 80 using line 82 so the controller 70 adjusts current flowing to the battery 18 and the current converges to a value substantially equal to the charging current level) . Wei and Batson teach the management of batteries as a backup source of power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the feedback adjustment mechanism in Batson into Wei to ensure current and voltage supplied to the load is accurately maintained. Regarding claim 10 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the voltage level of the system power input is to be one or more of a percentage value or an absolute value greater than a voltage level of the battery output (¶0058: constant charging current mode is well known in the art to have charging voltage level greater than one percentage value of the battery voltage at least at some point of time during charging) . Regarding claim 11 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is to connect the battery output (104) to the system power input whenever a voltage level of the system power input falls below a voltage level of the battery output (¶0020 and Fig. 1: when the power adapter is not plugged into port 106, the battery 104 is used to power the load 118) . Regarding claim 12 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is coupled to the battery output (104) via a charging power path (Fig. 2: integrated circuit 202 is couple to the charging power path in various places, 204, Q1, Q4, and 214) . Regarding claim 13 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) is coupled to the system power input (210) via a bypass power path (switch 252) . Regarding claim 14 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the charger controller is a hybrid power buck-boost (HPBB) charger (Fig. 2 and ¶0006: integrated circuit 202 comprises narrow voltage DC buck-boost module 220 and turbo buck-boost module 222) . Regarding claim 15 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 14, wherein the HPBB charger is to operate in a narrow voltage direct charger mode (¶0006: narrow voltage DC (NVDC) buck-boost charger mode) . Regarding claim 16 , Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the adapter output is one of an extended power range output or a standard power range output (¶0031-0032: various USB adapters with limited or greater power range) . Regarding independent claim 17 , Wei teaches a method comprising: controlling, by an intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) , a voltage level of a system power input (¶0025: output node 210) based on a battery output (battery 102) , wherein the intermediate bus converter is coupled to an external adapter output (¶0024: input node 204) , the system power input (210) and the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶0034, 0036-0039, and 0058: constant charging current mode implies a variation of voltage higher than battery voltage, which is supplied to both the battery and the output node 210) ; and connecting, by a charger controller, the battery output to the system power input responsive to a voltage level of the system power input falling below a voltage level of the battery output (¶0020 and Fig. 1: when the power adapter is not plugged into port 106, the battery 104 is used to power the load 118) . Wei does not teach tracking, at a higher level, a battery output using a reduced version of the system power input. Batson teaches tracking, at a higher level, a battery output using a reduced version of the system power input (Fig. 3 and ¶[84, 86, 90]: the controller 50 monitors the voltage of battery 20, and controller 70 monitors the voltage of and applies constant voltage to external battery 18. As battery 18 is being charged, its current and voltage will inherently be larger than the digital voltage value processed by the microprocessor 72 to determine voltage the battery 18) . Wei and Batson teach the management of batteries as a backup source of power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the feedback adjustment mechanism in Batson into Wei to ensure current and voltage supplied to the load is accurately maintained. Regarding claim 18 , Wei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the voltage level of the system power input is one or more of a percentage value or an absolute value greater than a voltage level of the battery output (¶0058: constant charging current mode is well known in the art to have charging voltage level greater than one percentage value of the battery voltage at least at some point of time during charging) . Regarding claim 19 , Wei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the charger controller is coupled to the battery output via a charging power path. Regarding claim 20 , Wei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is coupled to the battery output (104) via a charging power path (Fig. 2: integrated circuit 202 is couple to the charging power path in various places, 204, Q1, Q4, and 214) . Regarding claim 21 , Wei teaches the method of claim 17, further including operating the charger controller in a narrow voltage direct charger mode, wherein the charger controller is a hybrid power buck-boost (HPBB) charger (Fig. 2 and ¶0006: integrated circuit 202 comprises narrow voltage DC buck-boost module 220 and turbo buck-boost module 222) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bourilkov (US 20030155887 A1) teaches a circuit for allowing a narrow voltage range at the device power supply terminal which makes the device internal voltage regulation more efficient (¶0008) and adjustable output voltage via resistors based on feedback input of a converter (¶0020). THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Ryu-Sung Peter Weinmann whose telephone number is (703)756-5964. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman, can be reached at (571) 272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272-1000. /Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 May 21, 2026 /JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 17/592,741 Page 15 Art Unit: 2859