DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-21 remain pending in the application, and no claims have been canceled. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every and 102 rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed 9/10/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 recites, “the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track the system power input based on the battery output.”
The written specification does not appear to describe the following recited terms from claim 1 as recited: “reference input,” “feedback input,” and “reduced version of the system power input.” The closest concept the examiner can find is in Fig. 3 of the drawings which depicts a feedback voltage Vfb for load & line regulation, and Fig. 4 and ¶[28] describing voltage 72 being used as the reference, post filtering. Consistent terminology is requested to ensure clarity.
Independent claim 9 recites similar language as claim 1, “the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output.”
Independent claim 17 recites, “controlling, by an intermediate bus converter, a voltage level of a system power input to track a difference between a battery output and a reduced version of the system power input.”
The recitation “track a difference between a battery output and a reduced version of the system power input” does not appear to be in the specification.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-21 do not appear to solve the deficiencies noted with respective independent claims 1, 9, and 17 above and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
— — — — — — — — — —
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Independent claim 1 recites “the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track the system power input based on the battery output.”
The term “a reduced version of the system power input” is unclear whether “a reduced version” is a battery voltage measurement, a signal carrying information about the battery voltage, or something else related to the generic term, reduced version.
For the purposes of compact prosecution, the examiner interprets the phrase “reduced version of the system power input” as a signal carrying information about a parameter of the battery.
Independent claims 9 and 17 also recite “reduced version of the system power input” and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons as explained above for claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, and 18-21 inherit the deficiencies noted with the respective independent claims above and are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (PGPub US 20180076647 A1, published Mar. 15, 2018) in view of Batson et al. (US 20080238356 A1), hereinafter referred to respectively as Wei and Batson.
Regarding independent claim 1, Wei teaches a computing system (Fig. 1: 100) comprising:
a host processor (CPU 116); and
a power delivery circuit (charger 102) coupled to the host processor, the power delivery circuit including:
a charger controller (Fig. 2 and ¶0023: integrated circuit 202) coupled to a battery output (battery 104), and
an intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) coupled to an external adapter output (¶0024: input node 204), a system power input (¶0025: output node 210) and the battery output, wherein the intermediate bus converter is to vary a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶0034, 0036-0039, and 0053: constant charging current mode implies a variation of voltage higher than battery voltage, which is supplied to both the battery and the output node 210).
Wei does not explicitly teach the intermediate bus converter includes a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track the system power input based on the battery output.
Batson teaches a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input to track the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶[94]: measured voltage value received by battery 18 (the load) is sent to the controller 80 using line 82 so the controller 70 adjusts current flowing to the battery 18 and the current converges to a value substantially equal to the charging current level).
Wei and Batson teach the management of batteries as a backup source of power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the feedback adjustment mechanism in Batson into Wei to ensure current and voltage supplied to the load is accurately maintained.
Regarding claim 2, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the voltage level of the system power input is to be one or more of a percentage value or an absolute value greater than a voltage level of the battery output (¶0058: constant charging current mode is well known in the art to have charging voltage level greater than one percentage value of the battery voltage at least at some point of time during charging).
Regarding claim 3, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is to connect the battery output (104) to the system power input whenever a voltage level of the system power input falls below a voltage level of the battery output (¶0020 and Fig. 1: when the power adapter is not plugged into port 106, the battery 104 is used to power the load 118).
Regarding claim 4, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is coupled to the battery output (104) via a charging power path (Fig. 2: integrated circuit 202 is couple to the charging power path in various places, 204, Q1, Q4, and 214).
Regarding claim 5, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) is coupled to the system power input (210) via a bypass power path (switch 252).
Regarding claim 6, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the charger controller is a hybrid power buck-boost (HPBB) charger (Fig. 2 and ¶0006: integrated circuit 202 comprises narrow voltage DC buck-boost module 220 and turbo buck-boost module 222).
Regarding claim 7, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 6, wherein the HPBB charger is to operate in a narrow voltage direct charger mode (¶0006: narrow voltage DC (NVDC) buck-boost charger mode).
Regarding claim 8, Wei teaches the computing system of claim 1, wherein the adapter output is one of an extended power range output or a standard power range output (¶0031-0032: various USB adapters with limited or greater power range).
Regarding independent claim 9, Wei teaches a power delivery circuit (charger 102) comprising:
a charger controller (Fig. 2 and ¶0023: integrated circuit 202) coupled to a battery output (battery 104); and
an intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) coupled to an external adapter output (¶0024: input node 204), a system power input (¶0025: output node 210) and the battery output, wherein the intermediate bus converter is to vary a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶0034, 0036-0039, and 0058: constant charging current mode implies a variation of voltage higher than battery voltage, which is supplied to both the battery and the output node 210).
Batson teaches a control circuit with a reference input coupled to the battery output and a feedback input coupled to a node with a reduced version of the system power input to control a voltage level of the system power input based on the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶[94]: measured voltage value received by battery 18 (the load) is sent to the controller 80 using line 82 so the controller 70 adjusts current flowing to the battery 18 and the current converges to a value substantially equal to the charging current level).
Wei and Batson teach the management of batteries as a backup source of power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the feedback adjustment mechanism in Batson into Wei to ensure current and voltage supplied to the load is accurately maintained.
Regarding claim 10, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the voltage level of the system power input is to be one or more of a percentage value or an absolute value greater than a voltage level of the battery output (¶0058: constant charging current mode is well known in the art to have charging voltage level greater than one percentage value of the battery voltage at least at some point of time during charging).
Regarding claim 11, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is to connect the battery output (104) to the system power input whenever a voltage level of the system power input falls below a voltage level of the battery output (¶0020 and Fig. 1: when the power adapter is not plugged into port 106, the battery 104 is used to power the load 118).
Regarding claim 12, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is coupled to the battery output (104) via a charging power path (Fig. 2: integrated circuit 202 is couple to the charging power path in various places, 204, Q1, Q4, and 214).
Regarding claim 13, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212) is coupled to the system power input (210) via a bypass power path (switch 252).
Regarding claim 14, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the charger controller is a hybrid power buck-boost (HPBB) charger (Fig. 2 and ¶0006: integrated circuit 202 comprises narrow voltage DC buck-boost module 220 and turbo buck-boost module 222).
Regarding claim 15, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 14, wherein the HPBB charger is to operate in a narrow voltage direct charger mode (¶0006: narrow voltage DC (NVDC) buck-boost charger mode).
Regarding claim 16, Wei teaches the power delivery circuit of claim 9, wherein the adapter output is one of an extended power range output or a standard power range output (¶0031-0032: various USB adapters with limited or greater power range).
Regarding independent claim 17, Wei teaches a method comprising:
controlling, by an intermediate bus converter (Fig. 2 and ¶0025: field-effect transistors, Q1-Q4, and nodes, 206, 208, 216, and 212), a voltage level of a system power input (¶0025: output node 210) based on a battery output (battery 102), wherein the intermediate bus converter is coupled to an external adapter output (¶0024: input node 204), the system power input (210) and the battery output (Fig. 3 and ¶0034, 0036-0039, and 0058: constant charging current mode implies a variation of voltage higher than battery voltage, which is supplied to both the battery and the output node 210); and
connecting, by a charger controller, the battery output to the system power input responsive to a voltage level of the system power input falling below a voltage level of the battery output (¶0020 and Fig. 1: when the power adapter is not plugged into port 106, the battery 104 is used to power the load 118).
Wei does not teach tracking a difference between a battery output and a reduced version of the system power input.
Batson teaches tracking a difference between a battery output and a reduced version of the system power input (Fig. 3 and ¶[94]: measured voltage value received by battery 18 (the load) is sent to the controller 80 using line 82 so the controller 70 adjusts current flowing to the battery 18 and the current converges to a value substantially equal to the charging current level. The examiner interprets “converges” as tracking and closing the distance between the target charging current and ).
Wei and Batson teach the management of batteries as a backup source of power. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the feedback adjustment mechanism in Batson into Wei to ensure current and voltage supplied to the load is accurately maintained.
Regarding claim 18, Wei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the voltage level of the system power input is one or more of a percentage value or an absolute value greater than a voltage level of the battery output (¶0058: constant charging current mode is well known in the art to have charging voltage level greater than one percentage value of the battery voltage at least at some point of time during charging).
Regarding claim 19, Wei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the charger controller is coupled to the battery output via a charging power path.
Regarding claim 20, Wei teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the charger controller (Fig. 2: 202) is coupled to the battery output (104) via a charging power path (Fig. 2: integrated circuit 202 is couple to the charging power path in various places, 204, Q1, Q4, and 214).
Regarding claim 21, Wei teaches the method of claim 17, further including operating the charger controller in a narrow voltage direct charger mode, wherein the charger controller is a hybrid power buck-boost (HPBB) charger (Fig. 2 and ¶0006: integrated circuit 202 comprises narrow voltage DC buck-boost module 220 and turbo buck-boost module 222).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The US Patent Publication of Bourilkov et al. (PGPub US 20030155887 A1, published Aug. 21, 2003) teaches a circuit for allowing a narrow voltage range at the device power supply terminal which makes the device internal voltage regulation more efficient (¶0008) and adjustable output voltage via resistors based on feedback input of a converter (¶0020).
/Ryu-Sung P. Weinmann/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 January 5, 2026
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859